Customer Reviews for .30-06 OUTDOORS Cabela's Caliber-Specific Scopes

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

.30-06 OUTDOORS Cabela's Caliber-Specific Scopes

Specifically built for your favorite plinking gun, these scopes take the guesswork out of shooting with our new EXT bullet-drop reticle. The crosshairs are precisely calibrated to match the bullet-drop of your caliber. Once you've determined the range, simply take the correct crosshair or dash, put it on your target and squeeze the trigger. Waterproof, fogproof and shockproof. Fully multicoated lenses. 1/4-MOA adjustments. Matte finish.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.05 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
8
10 out of 20(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Caliber-Specific Scopes
Review 1 for Cabela's Caliber-Specific Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good solid product

Date:November 26, 2012
Overall this is a sound and reliable product for the price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's Caliber-Specific Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

You can make this work

Date:August 6, 2012
This scope came with my rifle. At first I was real pleased. The optics are good and its functions all work well except Parallax! If I had a perfect cheek weld I could shoot .75 in groups prone. As soon as I sat at the bench or leaned over my car everything changed. It took me a long time to figure it out but the scope has a fair paralax problem. Like I said, you can make this scope work. I can hit milk jugs at 300 yards everytime if I get my cheek weld just right.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's Caliber-Specific Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Junk

Date:January 16, 2012
I read the reviews... Maybe I didn't believe them, I don't know. Got the .223 version of this scope. Mounted up, lazer sighted it in. 60 rounds later I'm still getting 5-6 inch groups. Tried 40 rounds of PMC, then 20 rounds of green box Remington just to make sure it wasn't the ammo. It wasn't. This scope is a piece of junk. After re-zeroing after every 3 group shot, the first shot would be fairly accurate, then the next two were way off. Happened every time. Took the scope off and put on a Leupold I had saved for another gun. Got it sighted in in 9 shots. I wasted alot of ammo on this scope, should have just believed the reviews... Scope is on it's way back to Cabela's. JUNK!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's Caliber-Specific Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ordered 2nd

Date:January 9, 2012
Liked first. Ordered 2nd. Used in youth shooting sports. Makes use easier for youth.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's Caliber-Specific Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Billings, MT
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Pleased....

Date:November 22, 2011
I purchased the 22LR version of this scope at the local store, and took them up on their offer to mount and bore site it. I was off to the range right after to site it in... First shot to see where it was hitting... a couple of clicks adjustment, second shot dead on! Spent the rest of the day shooting dime size ten shot groups. The scope is clear and bright and their customer service was outstanding I could not be more pleased with this scope purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's Caliber-Specific Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Cheshire, OR.
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Maybe I just got the bad one.

Date:September 19, 2011
I saved my pennys and saved my dimes. Here it comes. My new Cabela's 3-9x40 EXT 22 LR scope, tactical solutions picatinny rail and weaver mounts. Now the fun part. 45 minutes and 100 plus round later. Nothing! WILL NOT ZERO! No up, no down, no left and no right. Beautiful optics, looked great. I love Cabela's. They're people in store are top notch. The scope not so much. I hope I just got that one bad one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's Caliber-Specific Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Va
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.22lr

Date:September 19, 2011
Great scope for the price,,I picked up the 22 version,,Holds zero well with no issues.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's Caliber-Specific Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Saltlick, KY
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shoots Great

Date:August 26, 2011
Bought the 22lr scope for my 10/22.I sighted in at 50 yards with cci minimags 1225fps 40 gr round nose. Holding 1/2 in groups at 50 yards. The scope works great at the 50, 75 and 100 yard marks. This scope is very clear and i like the rubberized power adjustment. The turrets have finger adjustable windage and elevation knobes. Had to try for the money, pleased so far.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's Caliber-Specific Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: South Dakota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

223 specific 3-12x40

Date:March 26, 2011
Scope seamed like a good deal when i bought it. If you want to waste a lot of ammo trying to site in, buy this scope.
The adjustments were loose. a 2moa ajustment would result in a 3-4 inch change. it was very sparatic and not reliable at all.
Took it back and spent an extra $100. problem solved
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's Caliber-Specific Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mayetta, Kansas
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Scope

Date:March 7, 2011
I bought this scope for my Savage model 93R17GLV I bought both of them the same exact day. I got home mounted the scope on the gun, I used CCI 17 grain polymer tip V-MAX bullets to sight it in. I sighted it in at 100 yards in 7 shots an it hit right on the money. The bullet drop compensating reticles are very useful. I would definatly recommend this scope.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's Caliber-Specific Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Austin, Tx.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Scope

Date:February 27, 2011
Purchase two .22 lr scopes for two Ruger 10/22 that my kids shoot in 4-H and after about 12 shoots had the scope zero in at 50 yds. Was shooting the center out of the bullseye don't be fooled by reviews people write. You need to give this scope a shot you will always find people that can't shoot. My kids also shot the center out with this scope on a bullseye target.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's Caliber-Specific Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

WORST. SCOPE. EVER.

Date:February 12, 2011
I bought the .223 version. When I fired the bullet wasn't even on the paper.Reduced the range and I still wasn't even on the paper. I tried to adjust it, but when I did the scope didn't move at all. Judging by some of the other comments on here, I see I'm not alone when I say don't buy this scope.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's Caliber-Specific Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Palmer, PA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Can't Count On It

Date:February 8, 2011
I mounted this scope on my Ruger 77/22. I had tested the rifle with a Weaver K8 so I knew it shot well. First, adjustments were very inconsistant. Finally got it sighted in. Shot at 50 and 100 yds. The balistic plex was right on. Shot a few weeks later and had to make a small zero adjustment. Then, planning on going hunting and took to range to check zero. WAY off. Would not group or adjust consistantly. Removed scope and mounted an old Bushnell 3-9. Problems went away, and so will this scope. I'm sending it back for a refund.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's Caliber-Specific Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Caliber Spec 17 scope

Date:January 10, 2011
I bought this for my savage model 93 it is a good scope. The crosshairs are bright and you can see them well. I got it zeroed in about 20 shots it has keep its zero very well. I zeroed it in at 25 yards the reason behind that is the zero is the same at 25 yards as it is at 150 yards. The only reason i gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is i wish that they would offer a 3-12 or a 6-18 in this scope.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's Caliber-Specific Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: marengo, iowa
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

WOULDN'T SIGHT IN

Date:December 14, 2010
i bought this scope for a 223 AR15. Could not shot a group less than 6 " in diameter at 100 yrds. Very frustrated I asked a couple marksmen to try. They said it was definately the scope. Hopeing I can trade it in but now we're in the time I needed it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's Caliber-Specific Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Reticle broken after 1 clip

Date:December 13, 2010
I bought the .22 cal. specific scope for my Ruger 10/22. I loved the reticle in that I like a fine cross hairs at the center.
Anyway, the first time at the range, I zeroed it in quickly but after about 1 25 round clip I noticed the crosshairs had rotated clockwise about 1/4 turn. The scope body hadnt moved at all, it was the reticle that moved.
So, its going back tomorrow. I hope this isnt indicative of the quality of Cabelas scopes.
Very disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's Caliber-Specific Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: WALLINGFORD, CT
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GOOD DAY AT THE RANGE

Date:September 28, 2010
WELL, I WAS A LITTLE OPTOMISTIC ABOUT THIS SCOPE... BUT I LOVE 17HMR CAL., AND IT FIT GREAT ON MY HENRY FRONTIER. THE FIRST DAY AT THE RANGE IT DIALED IN GREAT AND I WAS GETTING AMAZING GROUPS AT 65 YARDS, NOT BAD AT ALL FOR AN HOUR WORHT OF SHOOTING. VERY EASY TO USE, SIMPLE, AFFORTABLE, AND EFFECTIVE. CAN'T WAIT TO TAKE IT OUT TO 100 YARDS AND THEN SOME! CABELAS MEANS NOTHING BUT QUALITY TO ME...
THANKS FOR A GREAT IDEA IN A SCOPE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabela's Caliber-Specific Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: WI
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfect Scope for my Rem Model 5

Date:August 10, 2010
I didn't have any problems sighting this scope in on my .22LR like some of the previous posters. After a quick boresight, I was about 2" low and 4" left. A few clicks later and I was right on the bullseye at 50 yards. No problem holding that spot either. I haven't had a chance to see if the scope is on at 75 and 100 yards yet, but overall I'm very happy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabela's Caliber-Specific Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Lempster, N.H.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Cabela's Caliber Specific Scope

Date:July 20, 2010
I recently purchased this scope to put on my new Ruger 17 HMR so that my 11 year old grandson, who is fairly new to shooting, would not have to guess on holdover when varmit hunting. Once on paper I started making adjustments. Each click is suppose to equal 1/4 MOA. 8 clicks down would move the point of impact only 1 inch so I gave it 8 more down and fired a group. Now it would impact 4" low. Adjust and adjust and the point of impact either would not move or moved drastically. After many hours at the shooting bench and burning over 100 rounds of ammo from three different manufacturers trying to zero this at 100 yards, I gave up and called my brother who works at Sturm Ruger, thinking there must be something wrong with the rifle. He said if it won't hold zero then it's the scope, not the rifle. I changed the scope to a new Nikon 2x7 and the combination shoots terrific groups with any ammo. I have returned this to Cabela's for a refund. They have a terrific , no questions asked, return policy, staffed by great people !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabela's Caliber-Specific Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Nice optics, but won't zero.

Date:July 20, 2010
I bought the .22 LR version to mount on my Henrey .22 Lever. I mounted it with a good set of medium Millet dovetail rings. These rings allow the scope to clear the rear sight (barely) but the scope cap would not fit. I modified the front scope cap with a notch to fit around the rear sight.
The Optics are bright and clear, eye relief is good, no observeable parallelax at 50 yards. The BDC reticle is clear and easy to use. But The scope would not zero.
At 50 yards with the turrents at mid-point it was not even on the paper. I ran out of elevation adjustment while still almost 5" low. Swapping rings (both front-to-back, and with a new set) and using the paper shims supplied with the rigs still did not get me to zero. I had to file almost 0.010" off the bottom of the front ring mount to get the elevation to zero with some adjustment left in the scope.
I was pressed for time, otherwise I would have sent this back for a refund.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.