Customer Reviews for BURRIS Burris AR Prism Sight

BURRIS Burris AR Prism Sight

Rail-mounted sights with Burris reticles calibrated for .223-caliber ballistics for super-fast target acquisition and accuracy at multiple ranges. The Ballistic/CQ™ close-quarters reticle functions like a red-dot sight, but also offers bullet-drop compensation marks for long-range shots. Use the black reticle setting, or switch to a red or green illuminated reticle as conditions warrant. Compact, rugged and waterproof to 5 meters with integrated Picatinny rail mounts on the sight. Multicoated lenses deliver superb clarity. Integrated lens covers.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.527 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 55 reviews
5 Stars
40
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
50 out of 55(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
27 Questions | 76 Answers
Customer Reviews for Burris AR Prism Sight
Review 1 for Burris AR Prism Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Spot on optics

Date:December 16, 2014
I've been a Burris fan for a long time now. From bigger scopes for prairie dog shoots - to small reflex goodies like the Burris FastFire line.
Always sharp and clear glass, clean and well defined housings with great looks.
And about looking - these tools are made for looking, with accuracy and clarity for my target shooting.
This AR-536 looks great and is the right fit for my AR-10. If I do want to take a longer shot, which the 308 can do of course, this one has the mag to fit the task, while still doing closer work any time.
Solid, good looks, reliable and predictable, so far has held settings with about 100 rounds of 150gr Win. I'm not looking anywhere else but Burris for my next glass.
As to some comments about cross hair tilt - this one is perfect.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Burris AR Prism Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Poor Man's ACOG

Date:December 9, 2014
Does everything the big boys do, at a quarter the price (if you find it on sale). With battery you get red or green illumination. Without power, you still get the aiming reticle. Clear, accurate and dead on. I like the option of adding a small reflex or red-dot to the top or side of the optic. Those who complain about the optic reticle being canted haven't taken the time to mount it on their rifle. If you place it flat on a table it will appear canted because the mounts rails are different heights. Put it on the rifle and its perfect.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Burris AR Prism Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice sight

Date:November 18, 2014
I bought this on somewhat of a whim but am glad I did. The great part was that I found out there was a $100 rebate while checking out... bonus! I would have paid the full price.
Great features, 3X mag is good enough for some close up but perfect for my normal shooting range, displays the reticle in red or green and at varying intensities but I like the black reticle which is always shown. This is also good if the batteries die off.
If I can make one recommendation, and this goes for most any optic, use some thread locker on the mounting studs. We knocked this one off in about 50 rounds of .223 - no damage but you hate to see it laying there on the ground.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Burris AR Prism Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not this one

Date:October 14, 2014
Installed the Burris AR 536 on my M&P15. The recticle was not vertical as the scope was fastened to the base off center. Then after several rounds downrange the settings would not stay. Each shot moved farther away from the previous. Shots were all off a bench rest and rifle sled. Finally gave up, put on iron sights and called it a day. Sent the Burris back to Cabela's for refund.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Burris AR Prism Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A little heavy.

Date:October 7, 2014
It's just what I expected. It's a little heavier than I expected but will work just fine on my M-4.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Burris AR Prism Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

burris ar prism sight

Date:September 17, 2014
very nice
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Burris AR Prism Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Burris Sight

Date:September 9, 2014
I was looking for a reliable sight for my new AR. I didn't want to spend a small fortune on something that I wasn't too sure about (I still have yet to find a conceal carry holster I like). I came across this Burris sight along with a nice manufacturer's rebate and I thought this was worth a look (no pun intended). The reviews were good and after getting it home and installing it on my rifle, I was ready to take it to the range and sight it in. I admit, I had to make several adjustments to the elevation before I was getting it on the target. Once I had it sighted, I was placing it on paper with nice groupings. This is a nice red/green dot sight for the money with what seems to be a good warranty. I would recommend this to anyone who doesn't want to spend as much as they have for their rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Burris AR Prism Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Poor mans acog, but don't be fooled!

Date:July 11, 2014
I love this sight! Before I decided to purchase, I read several forums, reviews, etc.... I was in debate about buying an acog scope but I didn't want to dish out the price. I wanted a durable, clear, tactical sight, something from 0 to 150 yard or so engagements. This sight was on point. I love the fact that u can choose between a red, green and black recticle. This is good when u have different colored targets. I sighted in at 100yds and use my own handloads. This sight is perfect for 100 yards as it is easy to see the target and go right for the bullseye. Very good eye relief. It was easy to see and shoot closer targets also (25 yards) for close encounters. I used the bdc to shoot 300 yard paper. Ended up with a nice group but at 300 it looks like a 100yd target with iron sights. I can not see using this sight past 300 even though the bdc goes to 500. It has a solid, secure base for mounting. I would highly recommend this sight to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Burris AR Prism Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great purchase

Date:May 14, 2014
Went to Cabela's to purchase another scope that I had been looking at for my AR, but after checking out the Burris I was sold on the clarity and the bright green and red color reticles.BE SURE to take any scope you are interested in purchasing outside of the store into the natural sunlight before making your decision , that is what made me decide on the Burris 3 pwr.it beat the other scope I was going to buy by a long shot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Burris AR Prism Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

so far so good.

Date:April 29, 2014
After buying one of those cheap reflex sights and found it impossible to sight in at any distance. We bought this one and it was easy to mount. It was easy to sight in and so far has been very accurate at the range even at 200 yards. I would buy it again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Burris AR Prism Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Sight for any AR

Date:April 16, 2014
This sight has spoiled me. I have a sig sight for my X-Five and am going to replace it with one of these. Easy to target in.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Burris AR Prism Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The perfect sight

Date:April 15, 2014
I got this sight for my Rock River AR15. I decided I wanted an optic to increase accuracy and was debating between a scope or red dot. I noticed this sight on sale at the time and was impressed with some of the reviews. I really was drawn to the fact that you could buy it at 1x 3x or 5x fixed zoom. I got the 3x and I am extremely happy with my purchase. Two clicks up and two clicks to the right and I was hitting the bullseye at 100yds. Amazing clarity with or without the red or green dot on. I took a friend shooting for his first time and he was shooting just as accurate as me. I was shooting 5.56 but it's got little dots for calculated drop in distance using .223 ammo. Can't wait to utilize that feature.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Burris AR Prism Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good quality optic

Date:April 15, 2014
easy install, easy sight in. good at CQ and out further as well. Like Burris quality and reliability, would recommend this optic to anyone
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Burris AR Prism Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A great scope

Date:December 31, 2013
Scope is made very well, and with the fixed zoom
Is what I wanted , time and sighting is a critical issue when hunting, can't always catch them standing and poseing for you to shoot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Burris AR Prism Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good sight, reticle a little coarse

Date:October 22, 2013
It seems to adjust and keep zero well. I wish it had a little finer reticle for more precision in aiming. The illumination works well too. I have it mounted on a 9mm Beretta Storm and it groups about 3-4" at 100 yards with this optic.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Burris AR Prism Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

COMPLETELY SASTIFIED

Date:October 8, 2013
REALLY LIKE THIS SIGHT. VERRY CLEAR, EASY TO SET UP AND ZERO IN AND VERY ACCURATE,
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Burris AR Prism Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great optic

Date:September 27, 2013
The 3 power is great, other red dot style optics that I have tried don't magnify, so I really like this one, also in daylight you don't need to illuminate the crosshairs, another plus. I am very happy with it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Burris AR Prism Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Burris AR Prism

Date:September 4, 2013
Great optic for close to mid range. Everything seems to function flawlessly. I have sent a couple hundred rounds downrange since I installed and no complaints. I like the fact that even if the batteries die you still have a sight. I prefer the green lighted function over the red.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Burris AR Prism Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Disappointed

Date:June 29, 2013
This was partially my fault. I researched quite a bit before going to the store - OTHER sites. I fell in love with this one. I did some quick searches in the store on my phone and found good reviews. What I didn't find was this site has many instances of the reticle being rotated to the left. The one in the store was perfect.
Got it home and opened up and bamm, it was off. I then when online to see if it was an adjustment or something, and bamm. It's a real issue and many of these have that issue. I liked the site and it looks cool and rugged enough, but the reticle is a show stopper. I also don't know if this is shipping error or mfg. error - if I get a good one, will it rotate over time?
So, I'll try something else. LESSON - before you bring YOURS home, open the box, check it out on a gun in the store so you don't rotate it your self while holding it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Burris AR Prism Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Burris AR Prism Sight

Date:April 9, 2013
Went pig hunting this past Saturday. First time to use the sight other than targets. Shot two pigs. The 2nd at 85 - 95 yards running right to left and away. Using a Windham AR with the Burris 332 sight. For the money, it can't be beat!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 55