Customer Reviews for LEUPOLD Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes

LEUPOLD Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes

Experience vastly superior optical quality   Penetrate the gloom of early mornings and dusky evenings with innovative Xtended Twilight™ lens technology that targets and amplifies the light wavelengths most commonly found in near-dark and twilight conditions. VX-3 scopes have a wide field of view, lockable fast-focus eyepieces with noncritical eye relief, and rugged construction for long-term reliability. Its precisely machined housing and components are precision-fitted for rock-solid structural integrity in extreme conditions. The scope is charged with second-generation argon/krypton gas for complete waterproof reliability and thermal shock immunity that’s guaranteed for life. Edge-blackened lenses improve resolution and contrast by cutting diffusion and reducing glare. Abrasion-resistant DiamondCoat 2™ external lens coating provides long-lasting clarity and greater light transmission. Precision twin-spring erector with cryogenically treated adjustments for pinpoint long-distance accuracy. The dedication to excellence in both optics and construction makes the VX-3 perfect for everything from close encounters with big game to long-range competitive target shooting, which is why there are three different finishes – matte, gloss and silver – and so many reticle options. 1/4-MOA windage and elevation adjustments. Made in USA.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.877 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(130 Reviews) 130
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 130 reviews
5 Stars
119
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
127 out of 130(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
29 Questions | 62 Answers
Customer Reviews for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Review 61 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Top Quality

Date:September 17, 2013
This is the 3rd VX-3 4.5-14X50 that I have purchased. 2 are mounted on .300 WinMags and the other a .308. Eye relief is very good, and they have performed exceptionally well on a belted Mag gun. I recommend you also use the Leupold Lumina scope covers, as well a Leupold bases and rings. The scope covers are well worth the money if you ever hunt in rain or snow.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 62 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best scope I have ever owned

Date:September 17, 2013
I have a couple of VX-ll 3x9x50 scopes which are great but the VX-3 is clearly ahead of the VX-ll. I would highly recommend this scope.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 63 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Leopold

Date:August 27, 2013
Excellent scope for the money, this is my 2nd 3.5x10,and every scope I own is a Leupold. Excellent clarity, light gathering ability and very rugged.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 64 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love Leupold

Date:August 20, 2013
This is my 2nd Leupold scope and I love them both. This is mounted on a Remington 700 Mountain Rifle in 7mm08. The quality associated with the Leupold name is evident especially in the clarity, brightness, and ease to the eye. Easy to recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 65 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

buy the best optics you can afford

Date:June 25, 2013
Excellent scope, I have several and never had problems with any of them, even the ones mounted on hard kickers like a 338 mag.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 66 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Leupold Scopes

Date:June 4, 2013
Excellent choice for a scope to put on a rifle!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 67 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great but

Date:April 23, 2013
Vary clear comparable to German optics
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 68 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Mississippi
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great product

Date:March 19, 2013
excellent product. company has the great customer service
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 69 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best hunting scope I've ever owned

Date:February 5, 2013
I've owned several different scopes before, none have been as clear or as bright, especially in low light conditions. The B&C reticle is amazing for long distance shots. Lifetime warranty, you cannot beat it.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 70 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

8.5 - 25 X LR - VARMINT RETICLE

Date:January 26, 2013
Scope sighted in at 100 yds - Barrett 98B .338 Lapua Mag w/ 250 gr. Hornady and with 5 shot group I had 4 overlapping rounds horizontally through dead center of bullseye and one at edge of red. Proof positive that combo of Barrett/Leupold VXIII/Hornady is superb. Of course using 25x at 100 yds makes bullseye look as big as a pizza!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 71 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tops in quality

Date:January 23, 2013
I have tried several different brands of scopes including some of the four figure brands. The VX III performs as well as the more expensive scopes, for much less money. They are rugged and dependable and last for years. I have carted them via car and plane on many U.S. hunts.
I want to buy another but Cabelas no longer offers my favorite reticle--the heavy duplex.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 72 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Leupold VX-3 Riflescope

Date:January 2, 2013
The best for the money!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 73 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Kinda' strange package I got

Date:December 18, 2012
The box with the scope was sealed when it arrived but inside was a handwritten note - so it had apparently been returned and someone forgot to take the note out before re-sealing the box and shipping it out again (to me). The note said the rubber eyepiece was loose in one spot, and it was. Rather than send it back to Cabela's I'm going to try to Magic Glue it since I'm in the midst of the hunting season and I was replacing the scope I'd been using. So far I'm very happy with the Leupold scope (and I have another one that's very old but still serves me well).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 74 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

VX-3 LR

Date:November 28, 2012
I have the VX-3 long range 41/2-14-50 and love it, I use it to shoot my DPMS LR 308 out to 1200 yards and it works perfect. Optics are bright and holds zero like it should. Yes the LR model is worth the price if you want to shoot 5 inch clays at 1000 yards like I do, not easy but the scope will always go to my 1000 yard MOA and back time after time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 75 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Leupold 3 X 9 VX-3 Scope

Date:November 26, 2012
I own a number of the Leupold Scopes; I also own some other brands which frankly cost more. This scope offers the best bang for your hard earned dollar. I highly recommend the scope!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 76 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great for huning out wes

Date:November 24, 2012
Took this out to Wyoming for a Antelope/Mule deer hunt. Great clearity during the day. Also great for early dawn & dusk. The Boone & Crocked redical worked perfectly. Was able to bag both animals with one shot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 77 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Top Ranked Optics

Date:October 25, 2012
I have been shooting for over 30 years and fortunate enough to have hunted the world and I feel that these new VX-3 scopes are some of the best scopes on the market. I am comparing these scopes to my other scopes which include Nikon, Burris, Bushnell, Swarovski, and Meopta. I use the BDC type reticle on all of my scopes which equates to the Boone & Crockett reticle on the Leupold VX-3. Although all of the above scopes have served me well and really are excellent these days, the Leupold has several features that set it apart from the others. First, the optics compare very favorably with the others- the new Leupolds are very bright, clear, sharp, and contrasty. During my night time tests, the Leupold performed as well or slightly better than any other scope except for the European brands which would be the Swarovski and Meopta and it sure gave them a run for the money- as a matter of fact, I had an extremely hard time distinguishing any difference! That's impressive considering the quality and price of the European optics. The eye relief is another important feature of a scope and the Leupold scored number one in this department- no other scope offered better eye relief than the Leupold VX-3. The field of view is another thing that folks look at and the Leupold compared favorably here too- not much difference noted amongst the scopes with the Meopta Meopro scoring the very best in this department but probably not enough to make much difference in the field in real life hunting. The reticle itself is another important feature and often overlooked. Is the reticle made well enough and thick enough to show up against a dark animal like a black bear or a sable? Can you see the reticle when it is almost dark (or in some cases fully dark) outside? The Leupold reticle scored number one in this department- it held up very well in my low light experiments! Another thing to think about is the eye piece- is it a fast focus type or does it lock? I personally like the locking type because I have found that the fast focus eyepieces always move while hunting. I dont like my scope out of focus when it is time for a shot- no time for that! The VX-3 has a locking ring and I love it. Most of my other scopes have a fast focus eyepiece and I can tell you they are a pain in the neck in real world hunting. Another thing I look at is how well the scope supresses glare. I am talking about trying to shoot a deer while looking in the same direction as the rising sun! Some scopes will not allow you to shoot because it just looks like fog when looking towards the early morning sun. I found the Leupold to score very high in this department offering very good (actually excellent) ability to reduce glare. Only the Meopta Meopro could cut through the morning sun's glare better. These two were so close, it wouldn't make a true difference in real world hunting- both were more than satisfactory. Lastly, the B&C reticle really works well as advertised. With practice, I can get this thing to shoot well out to 800+ yards and in some cases out to 1000 yards! (This is with a 300 Win Mag). You have to play around with it and actually lower the magnification to shoot this far!). It's really designed more for the 500 to 600 yard range. Also of note, is that the Leupold is one of the lightest scopes on the market and of course I have found them to be as tough as nails. Extremely hard to find a scope better than this one when all factors are considered- weight, eye relief, eye piece, glare/flare supression, reticle quality/performance in low light, sharpness etc. You will pay more for a Leupold but you will have it forever.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 78 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

leupold scopes

Date:October 15, 2012
i own 6 leupold scopes and have recently ordered the vx 3 1-5 scopes they are rugged clear and perfect for woods hunting that i do i have owned leupold scopes for 20 years and will buy nothing else
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 79 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

vx-3

Date:September 11, 2012
put it on a 22-250 great for long range shooting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 80 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

VX-3

Date:September 11, 2012
The absolute best scope for the money!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 61-80 of 130