Customer Reviews for LEUPOLD Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes

LEUPOLD Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes

Experience vastly superior optical quality   Penetrate the gloom of early mornings and dusky evenings with innovative Xtended Twilight™ lens technology that targets and amplifies the light wavelengths most commonly found in near-dark and twilight conditions. VX-3 scopes have a wide field of view, lockable fast-focus eyepieces with noncritical eye relief, and rugged construction for long-term reliability. Its precisely machined housing and components are precision-fitted for rock-solid structural integrity in extreme conditions. The scope is charged with second-generation argon/krypton gas for complete waterproof reliability and thermal shock immunity that’s guaranteed for life. Edge-blackened lenses improve resolution and contrast by cutting diffusion and reducing glare. Abrasion-resistant DiamondCoat 2™ external lens coating provides long-lasting clarity and greater light transmission. Precision twin-spring erector with cryogenically treated adjustments for pinpoint long-distance accuracy. The dedication to excellence in both optics and construction makes the VX-3 perfect for everything from close encounters with big game to long-range competitive target shooting, which is why there are three different finishes – matte, gloss and silver – and so many reticle options. 1/4-MOA windage and elevation adjustments. Made in USA.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.874 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(111 Reviews) 111
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 111 reviews
5 Stars
102
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
108 out of 111(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
24 Questions | 57 Answers
Customer Reviews for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Review 61 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

VX-3 LR

Date:November 28, 2012
I have the VX-3 long range 41/2-14-50 and love it, I use it to shoot my DPMS LR 308 out to 1200 yards and it works perfect. Optics are bright and holds zero like it should. Yes the LR model is worth the price if you want to shoot 5 inch clays at 1000 yards like I do, not easy but the scope will always go to my 1000 yard MOA and back time after time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 62 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Leupold 3 X 9 VX-3 Scope

Date:November 26, 2012
I own a number of the Leupold Scopes; I also own some other brands which frankly cost more. This scope offers the best bang for your hard earned dollar. I highly recommend the scope!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 63 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great for huning out wes

Date:November 24, 2012
Took this out to Wyoming for a Antelope/Mule deer hunt. Great clearity during the day. Also great for early dawn & dusk. The Boone & Crocked redical worked perfectly. Was able to bag both animals with one shot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 64 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

still new

Date:October 31, 2012
Picked this up a couple weeks ago. Bought because I needed a scope on my .22. It seems to be a nice scope. The glass is very clear. The adjustable objective ring is a tad loose, but everything functions correctly. It was a display model (last one in the store) so it may have been adjusted alot and maybe over adjusted a time or two. Cabela's doesn't knock much off the price for display model, which I think they should. especially for something like optics that could be damaged by misuse. The scope (vx-3 4.5-14X40 AO) seems to be nice for a midrange priced scope. I would give 5 stars if the AO didn't seem loose to me. I have AO on a VX-II and a VX-2 model, and neither of those adjustment rings seems to be loose. It functions fine but still, seems like possibly poor quality control or abuse by customers or salespeople. I like Leupold's reputation for customer service and the lifetime warranty. I have very few scopes that are not Leupold.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 65 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Top Ranked Optics

Date:October 25, 2012
I have been shooting for over 30 years and fortunate enough to have hunted the world and I feel that these new VX-3 scopes are some of the best scopes on the market. I am comparing these scopes to my other scopes which include Nikon, Burris, Bushnell, Swarovski, and Meopta. I use the BDC type reticle on all of my scopes which equates to the Boone & Crockett reticle on the Leupold VX-3. Although all of the above scopes have served me well and really are excellent these days, the Leupold has several features that set it apart from the others. First, the optics compare very favorably with the others- the new Leupolds are very bright, clear, sharp, and contrasty. During my night time tests, the Leupold performed as well or slightly better than any other scope except for the European brands which would be the Swarovski and Meopta and it sure gave them a run for the money- as a matter of fact, I had an extremely hard time distinguishing any difference! That's impressive considering the quality and price of the European optics. The eye relief is another important feature of a scope and the Leupold scored number one in this department- no other scope offered better eye relief than the Leupold VX-3. The field of view is another thing that folks look at and the Leupold compared favorably here too- not much difference noted amongst the scopes with the Meopta Meopro scoring the very best in this department but probably not enough to make much difference in the field in real life hunting. The reticle itself is another important feature and often overlooked. Is the reticle made well enough and thick enough to show up against a dark animal like a black bear or a sable? Can you see the reticle when it is almost dark (or in some cases fully dark) outside? The Leupold reticle scored number one in this department- it held up very well in my low light experiments! Another thing to think about is the eye piece- is it a fast focus type or does it lock? I personally like the locking type because I have found that the fast focus eyepieces always move while hunting. I dont like my scope out of focus when it is time for a shot- no time for that! The VX-3 has a locking ring and I love it. Most of my other scopes have a fast focus eyepiece and I can tell you they are a pain in the neck in real world hunting. Another thing I look at is how well the scope supresses glare. I am talking about trying to shoot a deer while looking in the same direction as the rising sun! Some scopes will not allow you to shoot because it just looks like fog when looking towards the early morning sun. I found the Leupold to score very high in this department offering very good (actually excellent) ability to reduce glare. Only the Meopta Meopro could cut through the morning sun's glare better. These two were so close, it wouldn't make a true difference in real world hunting- both were more than satisfactory. Lastly, the B&C reticle really works well as advertised. With practice, I can get this thing to shoot well out to 800+ yards and in some cases out to 1000 yards! (This is with a 300 Win Mag). You have to play around with it and actually lower the magnification to shoot this far!). It's really designed more for the 500 to 600 yard range. Also of note, is that the Leupold is one of the lightest scopes on the market and of course I have found them to be as tough as nails. Extremely hard to find a scope better than this one when all factors are considered- weight, eye relief, eye piece, glare/flare supression, reticle quality/performance in low light, sharpness etc. You will pay more for a Leupold but you will have it forever.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 66 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

leupold scopes

Date:October 15, 2012
i own 6 leupold scopes and have recently ordered the vx 3 1-5 scopes they are rugged clear and perfect for woods hunting that i do i have owned leupold scopes for 20 years and will buy nothing else
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 67 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

VX 3 scope

Date:September 12, 2012
I was a little disapppointed trying to sight the scope in. IT took 25 clicks plus to get the scope to move 2 inches to the right
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 68 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

vx-3

Date:September 11, 2012
put it on a 22-250 great for long range shooting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 69 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

VX-3

Date:September 11, 2012
The absolute best scope for the money!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 70 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The bet of the best.

Date:July 22, 2012
I purchased a "Zeiss Conquest" and couldn't wait to get back to the store and get my "Leupold".
Should have known better to start with, but took the advise of a so called expert.
There will be nothing from here on out but "Leupold".
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 71 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

VXIII & M4's GREAT scopes

Date:June 5, 2012
I have 8 Leupold Scopes now.
FXII 2.5x28 Scout works great on my Marlin 1895 XLR .45-70 The perfect eye relief and optical power for 150 yards and less for quick shots.
VXIII 1.75 - 6 is very compact, lightweight, durable sitting on top of a Ruger #1 .45-70. Excellent light transmission for bear hunting at low light.
VXIII & Mark 4's in 2.5-8 x36. Probably my favorite scope for hunting 150 to 400 yards. Compact and light for a mountain rifle. I have them on several bolt actions of various calibers, with the Mark 4 on an AR-10. The illuminated reticles are perfect for the first few, and last few minutes of shooting time. Also for seeing the reticle against the camoflauged Coyotes. Nice, affordable glass that doesn't fog in the rain or cold.
Mark 4 4.5-14 x40 is superb for my high desert, long-range bolt gun. Side focus is quick and easy, more convenient than adjustable objectives on the front bell when trying to focus on an animal right before taking the shot. I have put a lot of miles on this scope, with many dings to show for it. It's been dropped many times, and taking some hard hits but with quality rings it maintains zero. Confidence in your zero is important when hiking in or just starting your hunt and you don't have time to check your zero everytime it get knocked around.
Long-Range Mark 4, 6.5-20 x 50mm offers crystal clear glass for long range, doesn't fog, stays zero'ed even on heavy magnum's.
Leupold customer service is top notch no matter what your questions are.
BEWARE of China replicas when shopping Leupold on unfamiliar websites.
Thank you Leupold for offering a quality, USA product!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 72 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Leuy 3.5x10 50mm

Date:March 4, 2012
Just got this and what can I say its the best
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 73 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Denver, CO
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Buy with Alumina Flip Caps!!!

Date:February 28, 2012
Buy this scope, then immediately purchase the leupold alumina flip caps to go with it and you will be so happy you did. The scope combined with those flip caps are awesome and not even higher end scopes make as good of a setup. I own 3 of these scopes. Two with 40mm objective, one with 50mm objective. The 50mm one also has the BC reticle. It is awesome...but takes some practice to work well. Nothing about this process is cheap, and it shouldn't be. Pay for quality, and receive quality with leupold.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 74 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Sugar Land, Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

VXIII $ Best Value

Date:January 22, 2012
VXIII Great light transmission in low light conditions, clear optics, nitrogen filled will not fog, B&C recticels, great craftmenship. You can spend twice as much or more but, what do you gain?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 75 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Martin Tn.
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

VX-3 rifle scope

Date:January 12, 2012
I have found the VX-3 to be excelent under all weather conditions and to remain in zero even when kept in the truck and used daily for an entire season. After several seasons i have had no problems with it.
Teal
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 76 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: MI
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nothing But The Best

Date:January 1, 2012
Just mounted the 4x14x40 AO on my T/C Icon 300. Fantastic, but then again what else would you expect from Leupold. I own 5 Leupolds. Quality all the way..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 77 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Nebraska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The Standard

Date:December 14, 2011
I have purchased two of the 2.5x8 scopes and find them to be the best value in scopes on the market. I've tried Burris, Bushnell, Kahles, and others over the years but always go back to my VX-3's.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 78 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: CHEYENNE,WY
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

VX3 Long shot

Date:October 25, 2011
This year I took a long shot, in fact a very long shot on an elk. The shot was 451 yds via laser. I have been hunting for over 50 years. Without the B&C reticle on the VX3, I never would have taken this shot. It was hit hard with a 180 gr XP3. The rack was a nice 5x6 and it was a big bodied elk. The rifle is a great shooter, a Weatherby Vanguard 30-06 with a glass bedded McMillen Stock. This VX3 scope made the rifle even better. The B&C reticle makes it easier to hit a long shot if you have the correct shooting techniques and a good rest.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 79 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Auburn, Ca
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sight it in and let er' rip!!!

Date:September 30, 2011
When we were at the store and my wife said "Just get the one you want now, so you don't regret buying something cheap later", I went straight for the Leupold VX 3 with the Boone and Crockett reticle. When you get up before the sun, hike miles to get to the perfect spot and then wait for hours, sitting quietly for the perfect shot, why would you put your trust in anything less than Leupold. Clear and bright optics are highly important in any hunting situation. I've paired mine with a 7mm RemMag and boy will this dog hunt!!. After sighting in at 200yds at my local range, my first big game hunt was a Pronghorn hunt in Wyoming. Lots of wide open spaces going up against animals that are perfectly suited to evade me. When the opportunity arose to take a shot at these antelope, the VX 3 didn't let me down. Even after initially being skeptical of the accuracy of the Boone and Crockett reticle,(only because I hadn't really used it yet), I had a speed goat in my sights at 430 yds, placed the appropriate notch directly on the animals vitals and pulled the trigger. You want to talk about accuracy. I don't ever have to question the accuracy of the bullet drop compensation of my scope again. I am proud to call myself an ethical hunter and I now have the confidence to take longer shots without the fear of wounding an animal and making it suffer needlessly. Do yourself a favor and don't skimp on your scope. It is often said that you should spend as much on your scope as you do on your rifle. Do yourself a favor and go spend the money for a Leupold. You will not be sorry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 80 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Silver Springs, Florida
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

LEUPOLD VX-3 ARE EXCELLENT SCOPES

Date:December 13, 2010
I have eight VX-3's from 1.5x6x32 up to a 6.5x20x50 on 7mm08 up to Weatherby 300 mag and they all perform flawlessly. I did have an adjustment problem with a 3.5x10x40 and Leupold fixed that, warranty was excellent and I had the scope back in ten days. My hunting buddy dropped my 30.06 with a 3.5x10x50 out of a 40ft tree stand, bending the bell, but the scope still worked flawlessly and Leopold fixed the bell on that also. They stand behind their warranty.My scopes endure hard service from Florida to Canada in the worst weather and never a problem. I have compared Leupold to other brands including Zeiss and Steiner etc and Leupold is the best for the money, not to mention their outstanding service.
I like things that work and people that back up what they say they will do. And Leopold does just that.
I have aslo found some of the best pricing and real bargains on these scopes in Cabelas Bargin Cave.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 61-80 of 111