Customer Reviews for LEUPOLD Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes

LEUPOLD Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes

Experience vastly superior optical quality   Penetrate the gloom of early mornings and dusky evenings with innovative Xtended Twilight™ lens technology that targets and amplifies the light wavelengths most commonly found in near-dark and twilight conditions. VX-3 scopes have a wide field of view, lockable fast-focus eyepieces with noncritical eye relief, and rugged construction for long-term reliability. Its precisely machined housing and components are precision-fitted for rock-solid structural integrity in extreme conditions. The scope is charged with second-generation argon/krypton gas for complete waterproof reliability and thermal shock immunity that’s guaranteed for life. Edge-blackened lenses improve resolution and contrast by cutting diffusion and reducing glare. Abrasion-resistant DiamondCoat 2™ external lens coating provides long-lasting clarity and greater light transmission. Precision twin-spring erector with cryogenically treated adjustments for pinpoint long-distance accuracy. The dedication to excellence in both optics and construction makes the VX-3 perfect for everything from close encounters with big game to long-range competitive target shooting, which is why there are three different finishes – matte, gloss and silver – and so many reticle options. 1/4-MOA windage and elevation adjustments. Made in USA.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.877 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(130 Reviews) 130
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 130 reviews
5 Stars
119
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
127 out of 130(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
29 Questions | 62 Answers
Customer Reviews for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Review 61 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

AWESOME SCOPE

Date:November 12, 2013
Leupold VX-3 with side focus was the perfect scope for my new 300 WIN MAG. Awesome clarity. High Quality. Glad I went with the 4.5X14 instead of a 3X9. Made that 377 yard shot seem easy. Thanks Leupold.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 62 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not What I Needed

Date:November 5, 2013
This was an excellent scope, but simply lacked the magnification necessary for benchrest shooting in the 600 yard game. Clarity of this scope was awesome. Colors were brighter than any scope I tried, or have looked through at the range. I could pick dust particles up as they floated through the air. It focused well and tracked as it should. The only drawback was that it would not focus any closer than 40 yards. Because it did not serve the purpose I needed it for, I returned it for a full refund. Cabelas is a no risk purchase and my first store to go to for these types of purchases.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 63 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Leupold

Date:October 22, 2013
The Leupold VX-3 is a great scope for the price. I own 2 and both are accurate and dependable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 64 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent low-light performance

Date:October 8, 2013
This scope has excellent low light performance which makes the difference between getting a shot late in the evening or early morning. The light gathering of the 50mm lens makes an amazing difference. The lens is clear all the way to the edge and has none of the color distortion of lesser scopes. I did my homework, researching less expensive as well as more expensive scopes before purchasing this scope. It is clearly better than the less expensive scopes and nearly as good as those scopes costing two to three times more. A great value for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 65 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great for my .17

Date:September 18, 2013
I mounted this 4.5-14 VX3 varmint scope on my Weatherby Anchuietz .17 HMR and has great clarity. It helps and allows me to shoot 3 shot groups at 100 yards you can cover with a dime. Leupold is a Great product, especially rifle scopes. Just remember, "You get what you pay for." Save up your money and purchase a Great product because if you are not satisfied with a product, you will probably not keep it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 66 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Top Quality

Date:September 17, 2013
This is the 3rd VX-3 4.5-14X50 that I have purchased. 2 are mounted on .300 WinMags and the other a .308. Eye relief is very good, and they have performed exceptionally well on a belted Mag gun. I recommend you also use the Leupold Lumina scope covers, as well a Leupold bases and rings. The scope covers are well worth the money if you ever hunt in rain or snow.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 67 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best scope I have ever owned

Date:September 17, 2013
I have a couple of VX-ll 3x9x50 scopes which are great but the VX-3 is clearly ahead of the VX-ll. I would highly recommend this scope.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 68 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Leopold

Date:August 27, 2013
Excellent scope for the money, this is my 2nd 3.5x10,and every scope I own is a Leupold. Excellent clarity, light gathering ability and very rugged.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 69 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love Leupold

Date:August 20, 2013
This is my 2nd Leupold scope and I love them both. This is mounted on a Remington 700 Mountain Rifle in 7mm08. The quality associated with the Leupold name is evident especially in the clarity, brightness, and ease to the eye. Easy to recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 70 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

poor

Date:July 28, 2013
I recently purchased this scope for my upcoming moose hunt. I purchased the 3.5x10-40. After the 2nd time at the range I noticed a black type substance beginning to appear on the edge of the internal lens. I called leupold and they said the lens most likely was not properly installed and I could send it back to leupold for repair. They said it was lens grease. I didn't spend $500 on a scope for it to break after 20 shots. I returned it to cabelas this weekend and bought a Zeiss.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 71 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

buy the best optics you can afford

Date:June 25, 2013
Excellent scope, I have several and never had problems with any of them, even the ones mounted on hard kickers like a 338 mag.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 72 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Leupold Scopes

Date:June 4, 2013
Excellent choice for a scope to put on a rifle!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 73 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great but

Date:April 23, 2013
Vary clear comparable to German optics
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 74 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Mississippi
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great product

Date:March 19, 2013
excellent product. company has the great customer service
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 75 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best hunting scope I've ever owned

Date:February 5, 2013
I've owned several different scopes before, none have been as clear or as bright, especially in low light conditions. The B&C reticle is amazing for long distance shots. Lifetime warranty, you cannot beat it.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 76 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

8.5 - 25 X LR - VARMINT RETICLE

Date:January 26, 2013
Scope sighted in at 100 yds - Barrett 98B .338 Lapua Mag w/ 250 gr. Hornady and with 5 shot group I had 4 overlapping rounds horizontally through dead center of bullseye and one at edge of red. Proof positive that combo of Barrett/Leupold VXIII/Hornady is superb. Of course using 25x at 100 yds makes bullseye look as big as a pizza!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 77 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tops in quality

Date:January 23, 2013
I have tried several different brands of scopes including some of the four figure brands. The VX III performs as well as the more expensive scopes, for much less money. They are rugged and dependable and last for years. I have carted them via car and plane on many U.S. hunts.
I want to buy another but Cabelas no longer offers my favorite reticle--the heavy duplex.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 78 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Leupold VX-3 Riflescope

Date:January 2, 2013
The best for the money!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 79 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Kinda' strange package I got

Date:December 18, 2012
The box with the scope was sealed when it arrived but inside was a handwritten note - so it had apparently been returned and someone forgot to take the note out before re-sealing the box and shipping it out again (to me). The note said the rubber eyepiece was loose in one spot, and it was. Rather than send it back to Cabela's I'm going to try to Magic Glue it since I'm in the midst of the hunting season and I was replacing the scope I'd been using. So far I'm very happy with the Leupold scope (and I have another one that's very old but still serves me well).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 80 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

VX-3 LR

Date:November 28, 2012
I have the VX-3 long range 41/2-14-50 and love it, I use it to shoot my DPMS LR 308 out to 1200 yards and it works perfect. Optics are bright and holds zero like it should. Yes the LR model is worth the price if you want to shoot 5 inch clays at 1000 yards like I do, not easy but the scope will always go to my 1000 yard MOA and back time after time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 61-80 of 130