Customer Reviews for LEUPOLD Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes

LEUPOLD Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes

Experience vastly superior optical quality   Penetrate the gloom of early mornings and dusky evenings with innovative Xtended Twilight™ lens technology that targets and amplifies the light wavelengths most commonly found in near-dark and twilight conditions. VX-3 scopes have a wide field of view, lockable fast-focus eyepieces with noncritical eye relief, and rugged construction for long-term reliability. Its precisely machined housing and components are precision-fitted for rock-solid structural integrity in extreme conditions. The scope is charged with second-generation argon/krypton gas for complete waterproof reliability and thermal shock immunity that’s guaranteed for life. Edge-blackened lenses improve resolution and contrast by cutting diffusion and reducing glare. Abrasion-resistant DiamondCoat 2™ external lens coating provides long-lasting clarity and greater light transmission. Precision twin-spring erector with cryogenically treated adjustments for pinpoint long-distance accuracy. The dedication to excellence in both optics and construction makes the VX-3 perfect for everything from close encounters with big game to long-range competitive target shooting, which is why there are three different finishes – matte, gloss and silver – and so many reticle options. 1/4-MOA windage and elevation adjustments. Made in USA.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.87 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(100 Reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 100 reviews
5 Stars
92
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
97 out of 100(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 51 Answers
Customer Reviews for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Review 61 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Leuy 3.5x10 50mm

Date:March 4, 2012
Just got this and what can I say its the best
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 62 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Denver, CO
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Buy with Alumina Flip Caps!!!

Date:February 28, 2012
Buy this scope, then immediately purchase the leupold alumina flip caps to go with it and you will be so happy you did. The scope combined with those flip caps are awesome and not even higher end scopes make as good of a setup. I own 3 of these scopes. Two with 40mm objective, one with 50mm objective. The 50mm one also has the BC reticle. It is awesome...but takes some practice to work well. Nothing about this process is cheap, and it shouldn't be. Pay for quality, and receive quality with leupold.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 63 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Sugar Land, Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

VXIII $ Best Value

Date:January 22, 2012
VXIII Great light transmission in low light conditions, clear optics, nitrogen filled will not fog, B&C recticels, great craftmenship. You can spend twice as much or more but, what do you gain?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 64 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Martin Tn.
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

VX-3 rifle scope

Date:January 12, 2012
I have found the VX-3 to be excelent under all weather conditions and to remain in zero even when kept in the truck and used daily for an entire season. After several seasons i have had no problems with it.
Teal
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 65 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: MI
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nothing But The Best

Date:January 1, 2012
Just mounted the 4x14x40 AO on my T/C Icon 300. Fantastic, but then again what else would you expect from Leupold. I own 5 Leupolds. Quality all the way..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 66 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Nebraska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The Standard

Date:December 14, 2011
I have purchased two of the 2.5x8 scopes and find them to be the best value in scopes on the market. I've tried Burris, Bushnell, Kahles, and others over the years but always go back to my VX-3's.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 67 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: CHEYENNE,WY
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

VX3 Long shot

Date:October 25, 2011
This year I took a long shot, in fact a very long shot on an elk. The shot was 451 yds via laser. I have been hunting for over 50 years. Without the B&C reticle on the VX3, I never would have taken this shot. It was hit hard with a 180 gr XP3. The rack was a nice 5x6 and it was a big bodied elk. The rifle is a great shooter, a Weatherby Vanguard 30-06 with a glass bedded McMillen Stock. This VX3 scope made the rifle even better. The B&C reticle makes it easier to hit a long shot if you have the correct shooting techniques and a good rest.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 68 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Auburn, Ca
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sight it in and let er' rip!!!

Date:September 30, 2011
When we were at the store and my wife said "Just get the one you want now, so you don't regret buying something cheap later", I went straight for the Leupold VX 3 with the Boone and Crockett reticle. When you get up before the sun, hike miles to get to the perfect spot and then wait for hours, sitting quietly for the perfect shot, why would you put your trust in anything less than Leupold. Clear and bright optics are highly important in any hunting situation. I've paired mine with a 7mm RemMag and boy will this dog hunt!!. After sighting in at 200yds at my local range, my first big game hunt was a Pronghorn hunt in Wyoming. Lots of wide open spaces going up against animals that are perfectly suited to evade me. When the opportunity arose to take a shot at these antelope, the VX 3 didn't let me down. Even after initially being skeptical of the accuracy of the Boone and Crockett reticle,(only because I hadn't really used it yet), I had a speed goat in my sights at 430 yds, placed the appropriate notch directly on the animals vitals and pulled the trigger. You want to talk about accuracy. I don't ever have to question the accuracy of the bullet drop compensation of my scope again. I am proud to call myself an ethical hunter and I now have the confidence to take longer shots without the fear of wounding an animal and making it suffer needlessly. Do yourself a favor and don't skimp on your scope. It is often said that you should spend as much on your scope as you do on your rifle. Do yourself a favor and go spend the money for a Leupold. You will not be sorry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 69 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Silver Springs, Florida
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

LEUPOLD VX-3 ARE EXCELLENT SCOPES

Date:December 13, 2010
I have eight VX-3's from 1.5x6x32 up to a 6.5x20x50 on 7mm08 up to Weatherby 300 mag and they all perform flawlessly. I did have an adjustment problem with a 3.5x10x40 and Leupold fixed that, warranty was excellent and I had the scope back in ten days. My hunting buddy dropped my 30.06 with a 3.5x10x50 out of a 40ft tree stand, bending the bell, but the scope still worked flawlessly and Leopold fixed the bell on that also. They stand behind their warranty.My scopes endure hard service from Florida to Canada in the worst weather and never a problem. I have compared Leupold to other brands including Zeiss and Steiner etc and Leupold is the best for the money, not to mention their outstanding service.
I like things that work and people that back up what they say they will do. And Leopold does just that.
I have aslo found some of the best pricing and real bargains on these scopes in Cabelas Bargin Cave.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 70 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fall City,WA
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome Scope

Date:September 13, 2010
I recently purchased this scope for my Browning X-Bolt 7mm Rifle, and love this scope. The optics are so clear and crisp. I also purchased the Intensifier Kit and Flip Back Caps for the scope. This is the best scope I own.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 71 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Upstate, New York
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Leupold makes the best scopes available

Date:June 19, 2010
I bought a 4.5-14 x 40mm and it is now the 8th Leupold scope I own. I will buy nothing else. These scopes are the best available in terms of low-light conditions, ruggedness and they're made in America!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 72 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Boise, Idaho
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outstanding scope!

Date:May 31, 2010
I went into the Boise Cabelas store with the intentions of walking out with a Zeiss Conquest in 4.5x14x44. After looking through the Zeiss in the light of the store at all powers, I found it difficult to even see the reticle. I then looked through the Leupold VX3 3.5x10x40 and it was like night and day. The amount of light the Leupold gathered was amazing. And the Boone & Crockett reticle was easy to see. Needless to say, I took the Leupold home with me. And the $300.00 difference in price was a big bonus. I mounted the Leupold VX3 3.5x10 on my Browning A-bolt in 300 win mag, bore sighted it and went off to the range. The scope was even more clear and amazed me once out in the light of the range. Once I got it dialed in to 200 yards, I was able to place 2 different 3 round groups (with my own reloads) in one group measuring .690" and the other .810" at 100 yards. The clarity of this scope is fantastic. I also really like the Boone & Crockett reticle for the ability to use it as a range finder. Just an added plus to an amazing scope.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 73 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Gautier, MS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good but I returned it for the ZEISS

Date:March 30, 2010
I was in the market for two good scopes so I bought the 3.5-10 VX-3 and a 3-9 Conquest, both in 50mm. When I compared the two, the differences were enough that I returned the Leupold for another ZEISS. It came down to two reasons for the return: Resolution and reticle.
I found that both scopes transfer light well. I viewed through both until the sun was completely down and saw no difference in light transmission. The Leupold seem to focus a little slower than the Conquest. Contrast was good but not as good. Objects did not appear as sharp on the Leupold.
As for the reticle, it was not as visible as the Conquest...which slowed down my target acquisitions. This became more apparent when the sun started to go down. The reticle seemed to be on par with my Nikons...not bad, just not as good. The heavy duplex reticle might be the answer...
I preferred the turrets and caps on the Leupold. The high quality of Leupold's craftsmanship was obvious in the details here. The longer eye relief also goes to the Leupold. However, Leupold takes a big hit for magnification. This scope does not appear to be a true 3.5-10 power. The magnification seems to be about 1x behind the Zeiss and my other Nikon scopes. For instance, 5x on the VX-3 equates to 4x on all of my other scopes. I seem to recall reading that the Leupold VX series was not a true-to-power scope...now I believe it.
All-in-all, this is still a good scope, I just preferred the ZEISS. It was hard for me to send it back b/c I trust Leupold's dependability. The two Conquests are my first from ZEISS and only time will tell if they are as dependable as the Leupolds they are replacing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 74 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Albany, OR
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Leupold VX3 4.5x14 AO

Date:February 19, 2010
Very sweet glass. I have some other good brands of glass, like my Bausch & Lomb 6x24x40 AO, but this is my fifth Leupold. I've been very happy with the others and this scope is no exception. This is the first Leupold I've owned that goes as high as 14x and the glass is so bright, crisp and clear, you would think you were only a few yards away from the target. As the sun begins to go down in the west, the scope continues to keep images sharp and clear till only a faint light is on the western horizon. An IR/starlight scope it ain't. But while the sun is up, this is one great scope. I'm putting this on my Savage 93R17 .17 HMR HB Accu Trigger, strictly to see how far I can push the little pill and maintain a group, on a windless still day. This new Leupold will help me keep any sighting error "out of the picture." I highly recommend this scope, and my friends who have checked out my scope say the same thing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 75 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Leupold VX-3 3.5-10x50mm B&C

Date:February 16, 2010
This scope is great. You will be amazed at what you will be able to see in low light. For the quality and legacy of the Leupold name, I am very impressed with their new line. The B&C is a great reticle for long distance shots, very easy to understand and can be used quickly. But it doesn't beat Leupold's new creation, the CDS reticle system. Long distance shots=EASY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 76 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Douglas, Wyoming
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Amazing Product

Date:January 8, 2010
Leupold has done it again. i bought one of these scopes in a gunmetal gray color to match my stainless barrel and gray laminate stock on my 50th aniversery .280 and it matched up perfectly. i also bought this because my dad had always used leupold optics and highly recommend them. now after owning two scopes from leupold and now i am leupold for life. i bought this scope thinking it would be great as a hunting scope for the extended twilight lense system and the fact that it has a 4.5-14 power zoom. the lense system has performed flawlessly. i just recently shot a mule deer at 420 yards at 15 minutes after dark and it looked like he was just standing in a shadow during miday. my friend was with me when i shot it and he only saw the muzzle flash and never even could see the deer until we got about 50 yards away from him. i love the versitility of the 4.5-14 power zoom on it also. it is just right for hunting because you can turn the power clear up to 14 power and see a bull elks antlers clearly at 1000 yards and it is also great to keep on 4.5 power to for general hunting situations and you wont ever have to turn the power up to see something again. you wont ever be disapponted with this scope. it is a little pricy but it is the best investment i have ever made. you shouldnt think twice about purchacing this scope never.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 77 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Beaumont, Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

6.5 - 20 LR AO 50 mm Varmit Hunter Reticle

Date:January 2, 2010
I mounted this scope on a Browning 22-250 A-bolt micro-hunter rilfe for turkey hunting. My first animal harvested was not a turkey but a boar hog taken in December 2009 in Junction, Texas. A single shot to the neck dropped the animal in its tracks. My next project will be to purchase a Boone & Crocket reticle in 50 mm for my Browning BAR 30-06.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 78 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Gardnerville, NV
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

VX III Scope 3-10X40

Date:December 30, 2009
I have used Leupold scopes for the last 40 years with absolutely no problems. Even my older VX III scopes never fog up in rain, snow or freezing rain. This last VX III zeroed in easy. It seems to have a sharper image than I have seen with my other scopes. These scope are the ones I put on my son's and daughter's rifles. I highly recommend them. You will never need to replace them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 79 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: SLC, Utah
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Leupold VX3

Date:December 17, 2009
Puchased this scope in August and used on one Elk and Mule deer hunt. Scope fogged up every day that it rained which was almost 5 out of 7 days. Optics are clear unless you are hunting in the elements. I have a Swarovski on another rifle of mine and it has never fogged up in the elements in the 3 years that I have had it. Spend a little more money and do it right. Get a swarovski.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 80 for Leupold® VX-3 Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: belgrade, mt.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Leupold vx 3 riflescope

Date:November 23, 2009
I bought the 4.5-14x40 in matte with the boone crocket reticle for my 338 mag. last hunting season. They are a more expensive scope but you defitnetely get your money worth. I shoot this rifle every year before i go elk hunting an have never had to adjust it since the day i sighted it in. It has been in rain an snow never fogs up, been bounced around in the rifle scabbord on the side of a horse, and the big recoil of a 338 mag has never knocked it off sight. It is great in really low light conditions. I have zeroed in on bull elk at over 1500 yds. away to count tines, an it works better than my expensive pair of binochulars.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 61-80 of 100