Customer Reviews for Cabela's Cabela's Slugger EXT Shotgun Scope

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Cabela's Cabela's Slugger EXT Shotgun Scope

The popularity of the new Hornady slugs makes them an ideal candidate to match with our EXT bullet drop reticle. The Slugger is calibrated to compensate for bullet drop out to 200 yards. Just sight in the main reticle at 100 yards and the other reticle aiming points will match the drop at 150 and 200 yards. The scopes are waterproof, shockproof and fogproof with high-quality, multicoated lenses and 1/4-MOA click-adjustments for windage and elevation. Tubes are rugged, 1" machined aluminum. The extra-long, 3.75" eye-relief facilitates mounting on shotguns.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.941 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
14 out of 17(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Slugger EXT Shotgun Scope
Review 1 for Cabela's Slugger EXT Shotgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

won't hold zero

Date:October 23, 2011
bought this scope a year ago, mounted it on my ultraslughunter and it lasted about 15 rounds, now on every shot the POI rises about 1/2" on a good note you have to love cabelas customer service...called and they are taking it back.
the scope is actually really clear and I like the bullet compensation reticle, I much prefer the hash marks over the circles like that on the nikon.
I ordered a leupold VX-II today from cabela's for a replacement
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's Slugger EXT Shotgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: davenport ia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

NOT FOG PROOF

Date:December 23, 2010
Used this scope on a couple of hunts preformed flawless every time after that it FOGS UP...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's Slugger EXT Shotgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Scope

Date:December 20, 2010
Mounted on a Rossi 20ga single-shot. Zeroed at 100 yards with Remington Accutips - touching holes. 150 yard dot was exactly on - 3" group. 200 yard line was 6" low - 5" group.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's Slugger EXT Shotgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Durability Issue

Date:December 13, 2010
Ordered 2 of these, one for my 12ga Rem Wingmstr. and the other for my son's brand new Mossberg 505 bantam combo, using 24" ported FR barrel. First the shipment came with next to no packing material in the box, one scope box was slightly damaged, mounted this one on my gun, using existing mounts, the other I mounted on my sons. We spent 3 sessions on the range zeroing the guns, everything seemed satisfactory. No one likes to admit missing but I missed a buck at 45 yrds. my son at 32 yrds, unbelievable Took the guns back out to the range mine was shooting 3" low at 30 yrds my sons was 6" low at the same distance, windage on each gun was still on. After toggling the elevation on one and adding a couple clicks of elevation the next round proceeded to shoot over the entire target. Lesson learned, spend over $200 to get a well built scope that will last for years. I'm reinstalling my 30 year old Weaver for now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's Slugger EXT Shotgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

It was ok

Date:November 27, 2010
Dont know what it was but I end up with a good scope after 3 it was about time but I have not had a promble with this one yet
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's Slugger EXT Shotgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: windsor,NY
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awsome scope for a great price

Date:November 26, 2010
After my tasco broke last week i ordered this to replace it. first off cabelas shipped this really fast. im really impressed by how fast it got to me from the day i ordered.
now i love how the BDC is set up. i like the dot alot for 100yds. im using a mossburge 500 with light field 2 3/4 exp shells and sighted it in at 50 yds with like 3 shots and had bulltets going through the same hole. at 100 yds i put the dot on it and bam perfect hit then shot again and the holes were touching. the glass is very clear and it collect light very well. i took it out side at night and could still see the cross hairs pretty good. adjustments were smooth and i like the turrets they use instead of having to use a dime to adjust it. finish seems nice, theres a ton of eye relief so no worries about smacking your eye with a heavy recoil gun like mine is.
all in all i very happy. i didnt give it 5 stars because i need to see how it holds up over time. my last scope started good then dead. after seeing how nice this is i think im going to save the cash and order there .223 scope for the gun im buying. great product and i would deffinatly buy it again
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's Slugger EXT Shotgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: WV
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Impressive

Date:January 16, 2010
Super clear and very good looking scope. Can't beat the price either. Quality product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's Slugger EXT Shotgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Easton Pa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabelas Slugger

Date:January 16, 2010
The scope was set up by the staff at Hamburg Pa store
I had it mounted on the Savage 220 The clearity of the scope is as good as most higher end scopes I really like the EXT
For the price to get 3 shooting positions Its a great deal
I was amazed at how fast the scope adjusted to hit dead center
at 100 yds also very good light gathering at dusk
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's Slugger EXT Shotgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Dorr,mi
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabelas Slugger

Date:January 6, 2010
Very good clear picture and easy to see reticles
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's Slugger EXT Shotgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The right one for the money !!!!!

Date:August 30, 2009
For the money this scope performs very well. I placed it up against several more exspensive scopes of various top brand names, and I have to tell you that the clarity of this one to my surprise, was equal or better. The reticle is a little different and some don't like it because of the 150yd dot in between the crosshairs and the 200yd line. In my opinion this breaks it up and makes it easy to determin the range you want to use in the heat of the moment. Good luck & good hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's Slugger EXT Shotgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: cannon vt
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

hawk eye

Date:August 9, 2009
my son just got marlins new 338 special with pine ridge,s 35 whelen range finder scope, and he got great results with the scope out to 3 hundred yards. so i got the slugger ext and i got real good results out to 2 hundred yards .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's Slugger EXT Shotgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Slugger EXT :)

Date:August 4, 2009
This scope is very clear,appears to be well made,and has a price tag that cant be beat.....I wasnt upset or shocked about what other reviews said about the reticle...I like how its setup with the crosshairs,then dot,then another smaller crosshairs.
I would have given 5 stars but I have to wait to see if it holds up from the punishment of a slug gun after many,many shots.
Overall it is a great slug gun scope.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's Slugger EXT Shotgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: C'ville Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Scope for the money

Date:August 4, 2009
I like the looks of this scope. I have not had a chance to shoot with it yet but it has plenty of eye relief which is more or less what I was after. I don't really care for the black dot used for the 150 yard mark. I think that a thin crosshair would have been better --just like the 200 yard mark.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's Slugger EXT Shotgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: East Peoria, Illinois,
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Cabela's slugger EXT scope review

Date:May 4, 2009
The only thing that kept this product from getting a 5 star was the reticle. Not what was expected compared to othere BDC type scopes. Expectation was a reticle simular to the many BDC type scopes on the market. This was a set of Crosshairs then below the intersection of both crosshairs a dot, then below that a horizontal line across the vertical cross hair. Totally unexpected and unconventional. Would not have been as disappointed had a picture of the reticle been in the catalog. It bothered me so much I considered a 3 star rating. The idea is simple distance ranging. Why mix lines with dots two dots or two lines giving consistancy would have made more sence. The one dot is easily overlooked by your eye seeing two horizontal lines above and below.
Once focused the clearity is as good as any scope at twice the price. Only put about 15 slugs through the shotgun since purchase to get it sighted in. If the durability is as good as the clearity I would expect a long life and happy hunting for many years. The price was right and a value for the money if you can get past the unusual reticle. Just be aware it may not be what you expect the first time you look through it. No problems and would consider purchasing another except I have problems getting past the reticle issue. Don't like supprises, unconventionality. like show me the reticle in the catalog or on the web site so you get what you expect.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's Slugger EXT Shotgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Finally focused...

Date:April 20, 2009
Finally a high quality scope for my slug gun at an affordable price. My slug gun and ammo can make that long late shot. I can actually see the buck at twilight and be confident to take that shot out to 200 yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's Slugger EXT Shotgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: DAVIE COUNTY, N.C.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SLUGGER SHOT GUN SCOPE

Date:February 11, 2009
NOT A BAD LITTLE SCOPE FOR THE MONEY!!!
AFTER JUST A VISUAL BORE SIGHT, IT TOOK JUST A FEW
SHOTS TO GET IT ON TARGET @ 50YDS. THEN A FEW MORE
TO CHECK IT @100YDS. I TOOK A WILD HOG W/ A HEAD
SHOT @ 47YDS ON ITS 1ST TRIP TO THE FIELD MOUNTED TO
AN ENCORE W/20GA, W/ HORNADY SST AMMO. THE SCOPE
GAVE ENOUGH ADDITIONAL BRITENESS TO MAKE A TWILITE
SHOT THAT I COULD NOT HAVE MADE W/OPEN SIGHTS. IF
THE SCOPE HOLDS UP TO THE PUNISHMENT THAT A SLUG GUN DISHES OUT, THEN IT'S WELL WORTH THE MONEY.
I WOULD SUGGEST THAT CABELAS LIST THE APPROPRIATE
SIZED AFTER MARKET SCOPE COVERS THAT WOULD FIT THIS. I HATE THE BUNGEE CORD COVERS SUPPLIED AND
WOULD HAVE ORDERED THE FLIP UP COVERS AT THE SAME
TIME I ORDERED THE SCOPE IF THAT INFO WAS AVAILABLE!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's Slugger EXT Shotgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Indiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

not as described

Date:January 27, 2009
This scope is very clear and mounted up nice but, the description of the scope is wrong. On the description online said sight at 50 yards then you would have one at 100, 150, and 200. but you have to sight it at 100 yards then you only have 150 and 200 after that. there are only 3 aim points not 4. i was a little disappointed about that since most shots of a shotgun are less than 75 yards. But other than that it looks like its going to be a good scope. they need to change the description.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.