Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Alpha Extreme 8x42 Binoculars

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

CABELA'S Cabela's Alpha Extreme 8x42 Binoculars

Combine the two great features of quality and high-performance with affordability and you get Cabela's Alpha Extreme 8x42 Binoculars. The sleek, open-bridge design creates a binocular that is not only compact in size but also comfortable to hold. These fully multicoated optics with phase-correction coatings deliver excellent resolution throughout the field of view and increase transmission across the visible spectrum. And when the conditions worsen, rest assured that your binoculars will take the punishment since they're O-ring sealed and nitrogen filled, making them both fogproof and waterproof. Whether you wear glasses or not, the long, comfortable eye relief makes glassing easy and convenient. The patent pending diopter technology allows for a single, large center focus wheel for easy adjustment, even when wearing bulky gloves. Includes case, lens covers, strap and lens-cleaning cloth.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.412 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
16 out of 17(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Alpha Extreme 8x42 Binoculars
Review 1 for Cabela's Alpha Extreme 8x42 Binoculars
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Canada
Province: Ontario
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

You Wont be Sorry

Date:September 21, 2012
These are very well made and do the job very well, even in low light (8 X 42). Excellent product from CABELAS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's Alpha Extreme 8x42 Binoculars
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great buy

Date:September 11, 2012
As good as my leupold cascades and half the price. Will work fine for my hunting needs for western deer and elk, Works even better in the billfold.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's Alpha Extreme 8x42 Binoculars
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nice

Date:September 11, 2012
well made but would prefer double focus as single is convenient but if eyes are not the same you can only focus for one
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's Alpha Extreme 8x42 Binoculars
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great performance

Date:May 14, 2012
I have had these bino's for several years now and love them. I bought the 8 x 42 because I wanted the extra light that they let in. I do a lot of archery still hunting and was not concerned about seeing far, just needed to see clearly in low light situations. They do a great job of just that! The locking diopter knob works great and I never have to worry about knocking it out of adjustment by accident. This is my first really good pair of bino's and I would highly recommend them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's Alpha Extreme 8x42 Binoculars
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NV, ID, UT border
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Bino's

Date:January 18, 2012
I have had these bino's for a couple weeks and have already put them through the paces. The eye relief works great, the adjustments all work well and stay put. I have been in low and wet temps with no problems with fog. The designers hit one out of the park with the lens caps, they are a tight fit and are attached to the bino's so you don't have to worry about them falling off in the field. I do wish they had a warranty comparable to the other big name brands though.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's Alpha Extreme 8x42 Binoculars
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Idaho
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best for the $

Date:October 7, 2011
These are the best binoculars I found in the price range. I used them this year for bow hunting and will be taking them out for the general season in a few days. They aren't $1000 binoculars but they out do anything else I found at the price point of $200 or less. I got mine on sale but I would have no problem buying them at full price if I had to.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's Alpha Extreme 8x42 Binoculars
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northern Utah
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

10X42

Date:October 4, 2011
Bought these because I had a $100 off coupon hoping they would be acceptable. Well, Cabelas came through, they are excellent! They aren't ED glass quality but they aren't $600 to a $1000 either. What they are is a great set of binoculars for a great price. If you are looking for ED quality then buy it but if you are looking for a solid, well built, set of binoculars then give them a try. Clarity is excellent, didn't have fogging issues in light rain, and the arnor on the housing is good and easy to hang on to. If I had to conplain about anything it would probably be the weight, but that is just looking for something to Wine about. Cabelas you changed my mind about your optics, keep up the good work, I'll be back for more. Thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's Alpha Extreme 8x42 Binoculars
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Value for the Money

Date:May 7, 2011
For the price you cannot beat these binoculars...especially with them being on sale. Going up the price latter there is only slight difference between the Nikon Monarchs, the Alaskan Guide, Leupold Mojave, and these. Are the other ones better? Yes, but not $100-$300 better. The next real step in quality would be the Cabela's Euro Binoculars. Either save for those or stick with these. I prefer to take these and spend the other extra money on bettering other equipment.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's Alpha Extreme 8x42 Binoculars
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: WA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Deal

Date:April 1, 2011
Clear, bright and easy to handle. Have yet to hunt with them in extreme conditions. Overall a great buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's Alpha Extreme 8x42 Binoculars
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: northern Utah
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great bino's

Date:October 13, 2010
With the Alpha Xtreme 12 power you get a lot for your money. I hunt mule deer in the high country and do a lot of glassing. I am able to see deer at 2000 yards and tell if there are antlers on them (at least a 3 point or bigger). The glasses are clear, stay focused and are rugged. Cabelas really backs their own stuff if you have a problem with it I LOVE THAT. They work well in low light conditions however ...they do tend to fog on the outside of the lense from your brow on a freezing morning. Almost all binos have that problem though.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's Alpha Extreme 8x42 Binoculars
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Prescott, AZ
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love these

Date:July 16, 2010
I bought these a year ago and have used them on two elk hunts and a deer hunt and they performed very well. Compared side by side with 2 high end binos, the diffrence is little. would buy them again!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's Alpha Extreme 8x42 Binoculars
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Crawford County, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not field tested yet

Date:February 24, 2010
Good binos for the money. Got the black 10X42's on sale at Cabelas PDC, WI store, and so far, so good. Light, and easy to adjust. The only concern that I have with these are the caps. The ones over the eye pieces seem to slip off to easy, and the ones on the end seem to get in the way. No big deal. Overall a good product from Cabelas. The only reason a 4 star and not a five, is not field tested.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's Alpha Extreme 8x42 Binoculars
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: napa, ca.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

10x42 binoculars

Date:June 15, 2009
good value for the price, easy to use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's Alpha Extreme 8x42 Binoculars
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Beckley, WV
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Quality

Date:February 6, 2009
You can not beat the quality for this price. Many features on these binos you only find on more expensive brands and models. 8 x 42's are great for hunting and 3-D shooting. Enjoy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's Alpha Extreme 8x42 Binoculars
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Olympic Peninsula, WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great deal

Date:January 25, 2009
I got the 10x42 version and I feel I got a great deal. The focusing mechanism is quick and easy to manipulate with gloves. They have great eye relief. Also, they're suprisingly bright in low light. I haven't had any issues in the rain.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's Alpha Extreme 8x42 Binoculars
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Florissant, Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabelas Alpha Extreme Binoculars

Date:December 5, 2008
Extremely clear and lightweight, easy adjust focus, and seem to be durable. A great buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's Alpha Extreme 8x42 Binoculars
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Alaska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Extreme?

Date:September 23, 2008
I am an Alaska hunter. Moose hunting is usually a rainy season. Once the binos get a rain drop or 2 on the lense they are foggy. Wasn't impressed with the eye relief design. Lense covers fell off while in the field.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.