Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Alpha Extreme 8x42 Binoculars

CABELA'S Cabela's Alpha Extreme 8x42 Binoculars

Combine the two great features of quality and high-performance with affordability and you get Cabela's Alpha Extreme 8x42 Binoculars. The sleek, open-bridge design creates a binocular that is not only compact in size but also comfortable to hold. These fully multicoated optics with phase-correction coatings deliver excellent resolution throughout the field of view and increase transmission across the visible spectrum. And when the conditions worsen, rest assured that your binoculars will take the punishment since they're O-ring sealed and nitrogen filled, making them both fogproof and waterproof. Whether you wear glasses or not, the long, comfortable eye relief makes glassing easy and convenient. The patent pending diopter technology allows for a single, large center focus wheel for easy adjustment, even when wearing bulky gloves. Includes case, lens covers, strap and lens-cleaning cloth.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.412 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
16 out of 17(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Alpha Extreme 8x42 Binoculars
Review 1 for Cabela's Alpha Extreme 8x42 Binoculars
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 21, 2012

You Wont be Sorry

By
Country: Canada
Province: Ontario
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
These are very well made and do the job very well, even in low light (8 X 42). Excellent product from CABELAS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's Alpha Extreme 8x42 Binoculars
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 11, 2012

Great buy

By
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
As good as my leupold cascades and half the price. Will work fine for my hunting needs for western deer and elk, Works even better in the billfold.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's Alpha Extreme 8x42 Binoculars
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 11, 2012

nice

By
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
well made but would prefer double focus as single is convenient but if eyes are not the same you can only focus for one
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's Alpha Extreme 8x42 Binoculars
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 14, 2012

Great performance

By
I have had these bino's for several years now and love them. I bought the 8 x 42 because I wanted the extra light that they let in. I do a lot of archery still hunting and was not concerned about seeing far, just needed to see clearly in low light situations. They do a great job of just that! The locking diopter knob works great and I never have to worry about knocking it out of adjustment by accident. This is my first really good pair of bino's and I would highly recommend them.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's Alpha Extreme 8x42 Binoculars
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2012

Great Bino's

By
Location: NV, ID, UT border
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I have had these bino's for a couple weeks and have already put them through the paces. The eye relief works great, the adjustments all work well and stay put. I have been in low and wet temps with no problems with fog. The designers hit one out of the park with the lens caps, they are a tight fit and are attached to the bino's so you don't have to worry about them falling off in the field. I do wish they had a warranty comparable to the other big name brands though.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's Alpha Extreme 8x42 Binoculars
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 7, 2011

Best for the $

By
Location: Idaho
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
These are the best binoculars I found in the price range. I used them this year for bow hunting and will be taking them out for the general season in a few days. They aren't $1000 binoculars but they out do anything else I found at the price point of $200 or less. I got mine on sale but I would have no problem buying them at full price if I had to.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's Alpha Extreme 8x42 Binoculars
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 4, 2011

10X42

By
Location: Northern Utah
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Bought these because I had a $100 off coupon hoping they would be acceptable. Well, Cabelas came through, they are excellent! They aren't ED glass quality but they aren't $600 to a $1000 either. What they are is a great set of binoculars for a great price. If you are looking for ED quality then buy it but if you are looking for a solid, well built, set of binoculars then give them a try. Clarity is excellent, didn't have fogging issues in light rain, and the arnor on the housing is good and easy to hang on to. If I had to conplain about anything it would probably be the weight, but that is just looking for something to Wine about. Cabelas you changed my mind about your optics, keep up the good work, I'll be back for more. Thanks!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's Alpha Extreme 8x42 Binoculars
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 7, 2011

Great Value for the Money

By
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
For the price you cannot beat these binoculars...especially with them being on sale. Going up the price latter there is only slight difference between the Nikon Monarchs, the Alaskan Guide, Leupold Mojave, and these. Are the other ones better? Yes, but not $100-$300 better. The next real step in quality would be the Cabela's Euro Binoculars. Either save for those or stick with these. I prefer to take these and spend the other extra money on bettering other equipment.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's Alpha Extreme 8x42 Binoculars
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 1, 2011

Good Deal

By
Location: WA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Clear, bright and easy to handle. Have yet to hunt with them in extreme conditions. Overall a great buy.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's Alpha Extreme 8x42 Binoculars
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 13, 2010

great bino's

By
Location: northern Utah
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
With the Alpha Xtreme 12 power you get a lot for your money. I hunt mule deer in the high country and do a lot of glassing. I am able to see deer at 2000 yards and tell if there are antlers on them (at least a 3 point or bigger). The glasses are clear, stay focused and are rugged. Cabelas really backs their own stuff if you have a problem with it I LOVE THAT. They work well in low light conditions however ...they do tend to fog on the outside of the lense from your brow on a freezing morning. Almost all binos have that problem though.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's Alpha Extreme 8x42 Binoculars
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 16, 2010

Love these

By
Location: Prescott, AZ
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I bought these a year ago and have used them on two elk hunts and a deer hunt and they performed very well. Compared side by side with 2 high end binos, the diffrence is little. would buy them again!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's Alpha Extreme 8x42 Binoculars
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 24, 2010

Not field tested yet

By
Location: Crawford County, WI
Good binos for the money. Got the black 10X42's on sale at Cabelas PDC, WI store, and so far, so good. Light, and easy to adjust. The only concern that I have with these are the caps. The ones over the eye pieces seem to slip off to easy, and the ones on the end seem to get in the way. No big deal. Overall a good product from Cabelas. The only reason a 4 star and not a five, is not field tested.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's Alpha Extreme 8x42 Binoculars
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 15, 2009

10x42 binoculars

By
Location: napa, ca.
good value for the price, easy to use.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's Alpha Extreme 8x42 Binoculars
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2009

Cabela's Quality

By
Location: Beckley, WV
You can not beat the quality for this price. Many features on these binos you only find on more expensive brands and models. 8 x 42's are great for hunting and 3-D shooting. Enjoy!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's Alpha Extreme 8x42 Binoculars
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 25, 2009

Great deal

By
Location: Olympic Peninsula, WA
I got the 10x42 version and I feel I got a great deal. The focusing mechanism is quick and easy to manipulate with gloves. They have great eye relief. Also, they're suprisingly bright in low light. I haven't had any issues in the rain.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's Alpha Extreme 8x42 Binoculars
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2008

Cabelas Alpha Extreme Binoculars

By
Location: Florissant, Colorado
Extremely clear and lightweight, easy adjust focus, and seem to be durable. A great buy.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's Alpha Extreme 8x42 Binoculars
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 23, 2008

Extreme?

By
Location: Alaska
I am an Alaska hunter. Moose hunting is usually a rainy season. Once the binos get a rain drop or 2 on the lense they are foggy. Wasn't impressed with the eye relief design. Lense covers fell off while in the field.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.