Customer Reviews for NIKON Nikon ProStaff 550 Laser Rangefinder

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

NIKON Nikon ProStaff 550 Laser Rangefinder

Nikon has a complete line of optics   Nikon's engineers built the ProStaff 550 rangefinder for hunters who appreciate gear that stands up to in-field use. These pocket-sized workhorses features a 6X multicoated monocular for a bright, clear view of your target. Its waterproof, fogproof and boast a generous 18mm of eye relief. Fast and accurate ranging in 1/2-yd. increments to 99.5 yds. and in 1-yd. increments to 550 yds. CR-2 lithium battery and case included.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.344 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(96 Reviews) 96
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 96 reviews
5 Stars
65
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
8
1 Star
5
83 out of 96(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nikon ProStaff 550 Laser Rangefinder
Review 1 for Nikon ProStaff 550 Laser Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Item

Date:September 4, 2012
This range finder is one of the best I have ever used.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nikon ProStaff 550 Laser Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Spend more for quality optic

Date:July 9, 2012
I read some good reviews about the simplicity and ease of use of this product.
With the price I thought I couldn't go wrong. Unfortunately, I was in fact wrong. This product wouldn't pick up cattle 300 yards behind my house. It would pick up huge objects such as large homes up to about 345 yards.
This product went back the following day and switched to the Nikon Rifle Hunter. Great switch!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nikon ProStaff 550 Laser Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My first rangefinder

Date:May 28, 2012
Myself, my 16 year old and my 12 year old all bow hunt so I was looking for something to get us started as far as a range finder goes. So far this works great. I have used it to range 3d targets and styrofoam blocks we shoot at. Ranging from a 15 foot ladder stand is only off by half a yard when I range same object from ground. Looks like I need two more for my kids.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nikon ProStaff 550 Laser Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great buy

Date:May 18, 2012
light and easy to use. can,t beat the price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nikon ProStaff 550 Laser Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: WA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good product good service

Date:April 11, 2012
I bought this rangefinder because I wanted a reliable rangefinder to take bowhunting for elk. The rangefinder performed great until one day I was pulling it out of its case and the eyepiece snapped right off. It took no pressure at all to break it. If the eyepiece were made from sugar cookie dough it would have lasted longer. However, even though Nikon's warrantee would have left the possibility that they would decide whether or not to honor the warrantee, they honored the warranty. They did not fix my rangefinder, but sent me a newer and better rangefinder because it was the closest thing to this rangefinder. I would say that is good service and if the thing did not break it was all the rangefinder I could have wanted. Nikon turned out to be a trustworthy company, and a good company to deal with.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nikon ProStaff 550 Laser Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Mexico
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Top customer service

Date:November 15, 2011
During my recent mule deer hunt in the mountains of New Mexico, the eye-piece on my rangefinder came loose. I sent it to Nikon for repair and received a new rangefinder instead...all in less than 10 days. This Nikon 550 served me well while hunting elk, white tail and mule deer...and I look forward to using it again for my upcoming barbary sheep hunt.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nikon ProStaff 550 Laser Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Nebraska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Never again

Date:November 5, 2011
Just like LTrain2 - Worked for 2 years then would not register over 88 yards. Only used it for ranging targets so no rough use. I was thinking of sending it in but then read LTrain's review. Not worth sending it in. Will not buy another Nikon product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nikon ProStaff 550 Laser Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Sonoma, Ca
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great for Hunting

Date:October 31, 2011
I've was able to take this with me on my last hunt. It got down to 10 degrees and it still worked great. I was able to get it to 499 yards but not 500. Every time it was the yardage was instant. Very nice piece.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nikon ProStaff 550 Laser Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

disappointed

Date:October 26, 2011
Worked up to about 300 yards past that hard to get a reading unless you have a very big target. Dont think 550 yards is realistic at all with this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nikon ProStaff 550 Laser Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Leipzig, ND
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quality Hunting Accessory

Date:April 17, 2011
Digital display in the viewfinder was easy to read. I looked at the Chuck Adams signature Bushnell and it was really hard to see the readout. This Nikon is simple, easy, and quick to use. Stalked turkeys last weekend and it is precise because I could pick out the tom's head from 80 yards on down to 47.5 in tall grass before the hens busted me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nikon ProStaff 550 Laser Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Quit Working

Date:March 13, 2011
After the second season with this range finder it stopped working. I sent it in for repair. It was past warranty. The cost to repair the unit was $178.00. I can buy a new one for the same price. I was very unhappy with how customer service handled me when I called and expressed my displeasure with the cost of repairing. Basically this is a disposable range finder. If it breaks, buy a new one and throw the old one away. I have been a loyal Nikon customer for years. Scopes, Binos and range finder. I will be rethinking my next purchase of optics.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nikon ProStaff 550 Laser Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Western Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great

Date:September 29, 2010
This rangefinder has been excellent for me so far. I've used other brands that have some options that are completely unnecessary and even confusing at times. For the money this basic rangefinder is great for just about anything. I haven't used this set out west in the open country yet but in my opinion if you can't get a range on it with this unit, it's too far away. Great product and I would suggest it to anybody.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nikon ProStaff 550 Laser Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Oklahoma
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gets the job done

Date:September 24, 2010
I also have the archers choice for bow hunting and both units haven't let me down yet. The price on the Pro 550 makes it worth the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nikon ProStaff 550 Laser Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: wa
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

quit working

Date:September 19, 2010
Had this rangefinder 6 months past warranty, and just quit working. Of couse will cost just as much to fix it as to buy another. Not impressed with Nikon at all. Leopold from now on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nikon ProStaff 550 Laser Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ProsStaff 550

Date:September 17, 2010
This is a good Range Finder for the money, only ranges out to 550yds no more. The only draw back is that for those of us that wear eyeglasses the eye cup will not stay folded back but this is the only thing that I have found wrong with this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nikon ProStaff 550 Laser Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great product

Date:August 28, 2010
Nikon doesn't disappoint. It does just what it's supposed to do and it's not going to beak on you. Mine went through some serious heat in a house fire and guess what, after a little wipe off it worked just fine
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nikon ProStaff 550 Laser Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: elkview,wv
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

throw away when broken

Date:June 19, 2010
I bought my range finder in aug. of 08 and it worked fine until this spring and qiit working past 35 yds. so I sent it to calf. for repairs but of course the warenty had expired and would cost 170.00$ to repair. So no more nikon products for me and anyone else I can turn away.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nikon ProStaff 550 Laser Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Streetsboro, Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Product

Date:June 19, 2010
I finally broke down and bought a range finder for myself. I heard a lot of good things about the Nikon ProStaff 550, So I bought one and used it. It worked great. Even in damp wet weather. I like how clear the view lens is and have not had any problems with the lens fogging up. I also like how quick it reads the distance as soon as you push the button. No more guess work with this one. I highly recommend the Nikon ProStaff 550. The battery life last a long time, haven't yet had to change it. I strongly feel you won't go wrong if you were to purchase this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nikon ProStaff 550 Laser Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: roswell, new mexico
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nice little range finder

Date:April 30, 2010
had it for a few month now. got readings out to 550, you wont get nothing past that. not to sure how accurate it is, but it should do well this hunting season. its quick and clear and very compact, fits in a pocket pretty easy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nikon ProStaff 550 Laser Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Lakewood, WA.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Nikon ProStaff 550 Laser Rangefinder

Date:December 1, 2009
Purchased summer 2009 took it to the range a couple of times to get familiar.
Worked well in the day light but had some problems when some fog rolled in
Rangefinder could not read the distance to the target at about 15 to 20 yards
Second day of hunting the Battery Chamber Door was Missing.........
( Battery Chamber Door is NOT ATTACHED TO THE RANGFINDER )
Now Ordering Battery Door from Nikon.
FYI
Rap black tape around the rangefinder and the battery Door
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 96