Customer Reviews for LEUPOLD Leupold® RX-IV Boone and Crockett Laser Rangefinder

LEUPOLD Leupold® RX-IV Boone and Crockett Laser Rangefinder

This ultimate big-game rangefinder not only ranges out to 1,500 yards, but uses Trophy Scale™ technology to measure the animal's antler spread! Program the RX-IV B&C for your rifle caliber, it will range an animal, and then it will display a dot on the B&C display corresponding to the proper aim point on your rifle's B&C scope reticle. This waterproof, fully armored, 8X monocular also has TBR, an inclinometer and click-diopter focus. FOV 23 ft. at 100 yards.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.4 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
4
1 Star
4
16 out of 25(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Leupold® RX-IV Boone and Crockett Laser Rangefinder
Review 1 for Leupold® RX-IV Boone and Crockett Laser Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 1, 2007

RX-IV Boone and crocket Laser Range finder

By
Location: Az Guiding Lots of hunting, Hand loader
The unit performed well so far. Still learning how to use all the abilities.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Leupold® RX-IV Boone and Crockett Laser Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 3, 2007

Work Great

By
Location: Denver, Co
They take a bit of time getting used to the functionality, but me and my hunting buddy had a pair of them recently and both were very happy with the performance, and we look forward to using them on upcoming deer and elk hunts.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Leupold® RX-IV Boone and Crockett Laser Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 4, 2007

LEUPOLD BOONE & CROCKETT RANGE FINDER

By
Location: MEDFORD, OREGON
OUTSTANDING PRODUCT!! I HAVE A LEUPOLD BOONE & CROCKETT SCOPE & THE RANGE FINDER WORKS THE SAME AS MY SCOPE.
VIC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Leupold® RX-IV Boone and Crockett Laser Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2008

Not all leupold products have the same quality

By
Location: Langley, B.C., Canada
I have recently purchased a top end Leupold riflescope with a Boone and Crockett reticle which I am extremely happy with. To accompany this reticle I purchased a rangefinder that compliments the scope. I field tested the rangefinder and found it right on for line of sight distances. At 500 yds. the target image started to turn fuzzy. Upon close inspection of the rangefinder I was disapointed to see it was not made in the US and observed the steel ring holding one of the lenses in was gouged and a lot of scraped metal was showing. Although this was cosmetic, I would never be able to sell it if I so desired. I returned the brand new rangefinder to Leupold and was sent a refurbished one in return. I expected better than that. I also observed the replacement rangefinder had the same metal gouging which was painted over to make it less visible. I find the features of this rangefinder very usefull but I regret buying it. Since it was a mail order item, I am not able to return it for refund or exchange to another brand.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Leupold® RX-IV Boone and Crockett Laser Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 8, 2008

Range Finder

By
Location: Los Angeles
Very hard to use. I found it impossible to use all the features. I will probably return it to Cabelas.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Leupold® RX-IV Boone and Crockett Laser Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 11, 2008

works great

By
Location: anchorage ak
does everything it says very happy with this product
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Leupold® RX-IV Boone and Crockett Laser Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 16, 2008

easy instructions

By
Location: Ruidoso, New Mexico
The Leupold RX-IV Boone and Crockett rangefinders are light weight and compact. I also love the fact that they come with an easy to understand instruction booklet and a the quick reference guide is and absolute must when a split second decision must be reached.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Leupold® RX-IV Boone and Crockett Laser Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 4, 2008

rangefinder

By
Location: Idaho
product has a lot of useful features, but the numbers in the view are difficult to read
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Leupold® RX-IV Boone and Crockett Laser Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 7, 2008

leopold RX-IV Boone and Crocket Laser Rangefinde

By
Location: Qesnel, British Clumbia Canada
I would recomen this product to any one who wants to take the time to learn how to use all its features, as it has alot of them. Also there is a very helpful video at leopolds web site. If youwant a point and shoot range finder this may a bit to technical for some. All in all this rangefinder lives up to the smart styling and quality I have come to expect in Leupold optics.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Leupold® RX-IV Boone and Crockett Laser Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 17, 2008

Owner's Manual Required

By
Location: Minnesota
This is a great rangefinder once you learn how to use it.
Not the most intuitive unit and there are so many options that it takes some time and patience to be able use it to its potential. I have used it bow hunting, rifle hunting and at the range and find it to be an accurate and dependable unit.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Leupold® RX-IV Boone and Crockett Laser Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 18, 2008

Leupold RX-IV

By
Location: Bonnyville Alberta
This range finder is excellent with the Leupold Boone and Crockett scopes. It takes a while to get used to but after that it's awesome.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Leupold® RX-IV Boone and Crockett Laser Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 20, 2008

To many options

By
Location: Calgary AB
The RX is a quality but I found it had to many functions I bought both the RX-IV and the Nikon 1200 Realtree for comparison and the Nikon out Ranged the RX by 200meters but the main reasons the Nikon out performs is the clarity of optics and ease of use.The RX would be better suited for the individuals that are gadget or Technically driven it has all the bells and whistles.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Leupold® RX-IV Boone and Crockett Laser Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 25, 2008

owner

By
Location: Washington
This is a great range finder, along with the Leupold VX-7 scope. I can make shoots up to 500 yards with the Boone and Crockett reticle in the scope. These two go hand and hand with each other on my 7MM mag.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Leupold® RX-IV Boone and Crockett Laser Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 25, 2008

range finder

By
Location: Salt Lake city, UT
The only draw back to this product is tha in archery setting 60 yards is the max range.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Leupold® RX-IV Boone and Crockett Laser Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 29, 2008

Stick with the RX-IV

By
Location: Soldotna, AK
the size estimater in this thing was not even close to the actual size of the animal. I was using it for moose and the estimations were off by 10 to 30 inches at all ranges I have seen enough big bulls to tell size and I was using a tripod and looking at a stationary moose, I have also set up various size things with known widths at various ranges and had the same results with way off estimations I understand it is an estimation but 20 inches at 300 yds come on...
I own a RX-II and liked that range finder and the features but I wanted something with a little more range capabilities, with the boon and crocket edition you loose some of the features that were on the regular RX-IV that I liked my advice is to buy the regular RX-IV and forget about the boon and crocket version it is more of a pain than it is worth it is getting a lower score because of the width estimater was so far off and the loss of features that I was not aware of
The regular RX-IV i would give that 5 stars
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Leupold® RX-IV Boone and Crockett Laser Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2008

Great rangefinder

By
Location: Outback, All over Northern Nevada!
I bought this unit to compliment my Mark4/BORS system on my M82. So far it had performed great! A bit heavy on the bells and whistles, but a good overall addition to my range bag.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Leupold® RX-IV Boone and Crockett Laser Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2008

Leupold B&C Range finder

By
Location: West Texas
I upgraded to these after using an entry level RF for about 10 years. The menu options are complicated for an old guy, but after a couple of hunts everything falls into place. Ranging whitetails to 400 yds was easy. Cedar bushes to about 800 yds. depended on density and color. Measuring the antler spread past 100 yds. was difficult, the deer need to stand still and pose.
The B&C reticule feature was not used. Maybe next year I will get a scope to match.
Bottom line a good RF with great features for the guy who appreciates the latest in gadgets.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Leupold® RX-IV Boone and Crockett Laser Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2008

Boone&Crockett addition....

By
Location: Greenville, MS
As far as optics are concerned, I am sold on Leupold. I have multiple items already and just made a new additon with this rangefinder. I bought the range finder only because i am firm believer in the Leupold name brand. The rangefinder is excellent! it takes some getting use to and a little bit of training to learn the functions and all of its capabilities. I thoroughly enjoy them but for some hunters they just need a plain set with an on/off switch. Me on the other hand, i do not mind learning the technological part of new things.....
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Leupold® RX-IV Boone and Crockett Laser Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 21, 2009

Not for the technically challenged

By
Location: Louisiana
This is probably a great product for a computer nerd. The instruction manual left a lot to be desired and was not easy to follow or navigate. I thought the fact that I was over 60 was the problem but my son 30+ and his two friends could not seem to master the basics of this rangefinder either.
It needs some easy to follow directions or tech support to be a viable product. Just my opinion. Remember the old Army saying of KISS (keep it simple stupid) would apply to this product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Leupold® RX-IV Boone and Crockett Laser Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2009

Complicated

By
Location: Rogue Valley,Oregon
This was a good product until I started to use it past 300 yds. I know how far it is supposed to work and I pointed it at a red car at 450 yds 12 times and got nothing. After purchasing this I realized the RX-IV has more options than the b&c. I would try to laze a mountain at 500 for 20 min and not get anything. I use a lot of leupold products but I will not use them when I buy another range finder.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 25