Customer Reviews for BSA BSA Sweet .223 Riflescope

BSA BSA Sweet .223 Riflescope

Taking the technology applied in sniper trajectory scopes, the BSA Sweet 223 takes the guesswork out of varmint hunting with your .223. The three included elevation drums are precisely calculated to compensate for the elliptical drop of 50-, 55- or 62-grain bullets. The trajectory is compensated to any given distance between 100 and 400 yards by turning the elevation drum to the desired distance.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.081 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 37 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
4
32 out of 37(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for BSA Sweet .223 Riflescope
Review 1 for BSA Sweet .223 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2012

Sweet .223

By
Country: United States
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Mounted scope on Savage Axis, and used old school method of bore sighting.Using 55gr FMJs,6shots later was cutting center.Easiest scope to zero that I have ever used.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BSA Sweet .223 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 16, 2012

Great for the beginner

By
Location: Amery, WI
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
A fine entry level scope. For the price it is has decent glass and holds zero for the caliber it was intended for.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BSA Sweet .223 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2012

Just not very good

By
Location: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I'm surprised the reviews are as good as they are for this scope; maybe I just got a bad one. The first problem is that the click adjustments arent even close to accurate, or even consistent for that matter. With a lot of testing and tuning, and hundreds of rounds, I have some slight idea of how to adjust for yardage, but I pay no attention to the markings on the target turrets. Basically, that makes the whole thing pointless because you can use any click adjusted scope the same way. Besides that, the eye relief is poor and too close for me. In fact it's a good thing I've got it on a heavy varminter AR; any more recoil and it would've cut my eye more than once. The view thru the scope isn't particularly clear, but what is clear is the glue or grease they used when it was built; you can see big globs of it inside the tube when looking thru it. The part that bothers me the most about this unit is that I've got a comparable scope from another better known manufacturer whose name also starts with a B, which I paid $7 less for, but the difference in quality is huge. After this and the red dot sight that migrates all over with every shot, I'll never give BSA any of my money again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BSA Sweet .223 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 21, 2012

great scope

By
Best bang for the dollars on the market. This product has no downside when installed and adjusted properly by someone who understands proper rifle set-up and delicate treatment of optics. After site-in I covered six shots at 100yds with a dime from a model 722, 222, with reload 52 grain match bullets on a calm day.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BSA Sweet .223 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2012

Good buy.

By
Location: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Good optics for the price and easy to use.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BSA Sweet .223 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2012

Good Buy but Elevation Markings are in Error

By
Location: North Idaho
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
The scope is of good quality construction and the clarity is good. BSA has made an error in the elevation markings on the elevation turret. The way the turret is marked, one 1/4 minute click is worth 1/4 inch at 100 yards, and also worth 1/4 inch at 400 yards. In reality, 1/4 minute click is worth 1 inch at 400 yards. If you use the turret as marked after zeroing at 100 Yards, you will be about 2.5 feet over the target at 400 yards. I made a click value cheat sheet for my shooting bag that shows the right number of clicks to use at 100-400 yards . I verified these with actual rounds down range and then marked the turret with white finger nail polish for 200, 300, 400 yards. I am surprised that BSA has not corrected this issue. I have a BSA Sweet 17 mounted on a Savage 17 HMR and that is calibrated correctly.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BSA Sweet .223 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2012

ABOVE EXPECTATIONS

By
Location: WASHINGTON, GA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I WAS IN NEED FOR A NEW SCOPE ON MY RUGER MINI-14 RANCH RIFLE. ALTHOUGH I IDEALLY WANTED A LEAPOLD GEN 3, I NEEDED SOMETHING FAIRLY INEXPENSIVE SINCE I'M LOOKING TO GET AN AR15 BEFORE ELECTION TIME. UPON RECEIVING MY NEW BSA I WAS PLEASANTLY SURPRISED AT WHAT I RECEIVED FOR THE MONEY. I HAVE ONLY SHOT IT A FEW TIMES & HAVE BEEN LIMITED TO ONLY 100 YARDS. I HOPE IN THE FUTURE TO NOT HAVE ISSUES WITH THE TURRET SCREWS SOME OTHERS HAVE NOTED, BUT AS I SAID... TO DATE I'M PLEASED WITH WHAT I GOT FOR THE PRICE!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BSA Sweet .223 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2012

Sweet Scope

By
Location: Kansas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Great scope for the money! Mounted this scope to a AR for varmint hunting and is working better than expected.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BSA Sweet .223 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2012

Good scope for the price.

By
Location: Kentucky
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Purchased for AR-15 and for the money very satisfied. Have not had a chance to use the turrets but for a plinking gun it works well inside 100 yards.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BSA Sweet .223 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 12, 2012

quality scope

By
Location: Oregon Coast
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I have been impressed with the easy install and adjustment of this scope.Strait forward and easy to use and the clarity is also great for this affordable scope...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BSA Sweet .223 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2012

One of the best purchases

By
Works great and on target after sighting in with bore sighter.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BSA Sweet .223 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2012

What a steal!

By
saw this price on the black friday ad and that was it... slapped it on my rem 700 SPS and at 100 yds i am shooting 1/2 inch groups
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BSA Sweet .223 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 4, 2011

Nice Scope

By
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
bought this scope the other day and got it mounted and boresighted going to zero it in and go shoot some prarie dogs with it very clear and nice scope
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BSA Sweet .223 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 1, 2011

Good purchase

By
Location: PILOT MTN. NC
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Very clear, light weight, very easy to zero. Very good scope.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BSA Sweet .223 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 31, 2010

Mostly works

By
The company made an error with the bullet trajectory compensation drum. They measured the bullet drop for 200, 300, and 400 at 100 yards. This makes the bullet hit way high above your target. If you by one the correct formula is distance/100*.25= click value, then (hears where they messed up) You take the trajectory drop at the distance and devide by the click value. Example: 300/100*.25=.75 11.1/.75=14.8 so about 15 clicks will do the trick at 300 yds. Other than that the scope workes fine.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BSA Sweet .223 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 2, 2010

Sweet BSA for a .223

By
Location: Central Illinois
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Nice scope for the price. It was easy to mount and easy to sight in. The scope was clear and all targets were easily visable near dusk. I ahve not had a chance to shoot it at 200 yards or beyond yet, but the zero was right on at 100 then when I adjusted the scope to 200 yards it shot 2" high at 100 yds. as expected.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BSA Sweet .223 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2010

Sweet .223 needs more sugar

By
Location: Milton, VT
I was very pleased with the service I received from Cabella's, and overall am relatively satisfied with the BSA Sweet .223 scope; "most" of the quality and workmanship is impressive.
However, I want to point out one glaring flaw in the design of the interchangeable "bullet trajectory compensation drums": The pointed set screws are a very poor idea from a design/engineering viewpoint as the screws damage the elevation screw body, and when (a) drum is removed and reinstalled, there is no guarantee the pointed set screws will "bottom out" in the indentations previously made. This will cause error in the elevation setting previously made and make it that much harder to control elevation adjustment accuracy. It would be a much better design if the drum were in two pieces, with the top cap keying into the elevation screw slot of the scope (perhaps by a pin, giving a positive drive) and a less severe securing method on the screw body rather than the pointed set screws used at present. If the cap were separate from the drums, each drum could be adjusted and secured to its own cap by a slight interference fit or similar method. As I mentioned, overall I like this scope, but the "bullet trajectory compensation drums" leave a lot to be desired from an end-user's standpoint; they are just not user-friendly.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BSA Sweet .223 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 30, 2009

Sweet 223 works for me

By
Location: Copake, NY
This scope is a good deal for the money. Once I got my gun sighted in properly, the 3-12x40mm scope has been deadly accurate at 75 to 175 yards in combination with my Savage 223. The four woodchucks formerly making swiss cheese out of my property have been summarily eliminated.
The one criticism I have is that the instructions for sighting-in that come with this scope are generic for several different models BSA makes, and could be a bit confusing. The instructions for windage adjustment (turn clockwise to move point of impact to right) are not correct. Go by the arrow marked on the dial of the scope itself which indicates turning counterclockwise to R.
A great scope for varmint hunting at a sweet price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BSA Sweet .223 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2009

BSA Sweet .223 Riflescope

By
Location: Molokai, Hawaii
GREAT SCOPE
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BSA Sweet .223 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 24, 2009

nice scope

By
Location: fla
good weight, solid construction,easy to swap drums, no complaints for the money.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 37