Customer Reviews for DEER RIDGE Deer Ridge Gun and Bow Camera Mount

DEER RIDGE Deer Ridge Gun and Bow Camera Mount

Nothing tells the story of a hunt better than video of live action. Capture the excitement and challenges of all your hunts with a Deer Ridge gun and bow camera mount. Attaches to any rifle, shotgun or bow and the shock-absorbing system helps protect and stabilize the video camera. With this easy-to-use camera mount, and your video camera, you can have control of your own outdoor show at your fingertips. Don't just tell family and friends about your hunt, show them! With very little practice and a few helpful tips, you can produce professional looking hunting videos. A hunting and instructional DVD is included. Note: To attach to a bow, The Gun And Bow Camera Mount requires a stabilizer with a threaded female insert.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.127 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 55 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
5
49 out of 55(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Deer Ridge Gun and Bow Camera Mount
Review 1 for Deer Ridge Gun and Bow Camera Mount
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2009

Broke first time used ( 1 shot )

By
Location: NJ
I was goose hunting and could not wait to use it. I use a Sony DVD305 camcorder , it is real small. First flock of geese came in I fired once and felt something hit my hand. The little plastic shock bracket broke. I was upset that it broke on the first shot.
As with any thing with Cabelas they stood behind it and will refund or replace. Thank you Cabelas !!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Deer Ridge Gun and Bow Camera Mount
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2009

Not a good experience

By
Attached the mount as directed by the instructions to a Benelli Shotgun upon the second shot the plastic shock absorbers broke dislodging and dropping the camera. The rig was being used for a hunting show, this episode duck hunting, and the footage on the camera would have been lost had it not been for the gun users lack of faith in the product and insight to zip tie it to the firearm catching it in case of a fall. I would not recommend the product. Especially not for cold weather use, being entirely plastic.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Deer Ridge Gun and Bow Camera Mount
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 14, 2008

TOO MUCH SHOCK

By
COULD NOT GET IT TO WORK FOR ME
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Deer Ridge Gun and Bow Camera Mount
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 23, 2008

average!

By
Location: australia
The shock the of the bow firing destroys the most important part of your footage!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Deer Ridge Gun and Bow Camera Mount
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 30, 2007

Gun Bow mount

By
Very unstable which allows camera to become misalligned. All video I have shot is completely jumbled due to recoil of my rifle (.223 with little recoil). No visualization of bullet impact only before and after clarity. Not the ticket for good video of actual bullet impact
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Deer Ridge Gun and Bow Camera Mount
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 29, 2011

Used this on my Marauder .25 PCP air rifle

By
Location: Reno, NV
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
If you need to mount a video camera on your gun, this will do the job. There are MUCH better mounts out there but they are difficult to find sometimes.
One thing about this particular mount is the little knob that helps anchor your camera in place...since the rest of the mount dies NOT adjust left or right, this knob had to be shaved down some to provide enough adjustment so that my camera was pointing the same as my scope.
Another minor pain is in placing the mount on the gun stock. It takes some fiddling around to get the vertical alignment right but...it can be done and gets easier with practice.
Like I said, it does the job and yes I would suggest it as an option for anyone wanting to video a hunt...just be aware that it is not perfect and adjusting position takes patience.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Deer Ridge Gun and Bow Camera Mount
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 7, 2009

Bow Mount is good, Gun Mount is better

By
Location: Semora, NC
Good product. Sweet inovation!!! Only downside, is that the bow mount combined with a light video camera is still very heavy and difficult to hold a tight shot. Will do great come turkey season as a gun mount. Just a little disappointed in how much the system combined with a camera on a bow weighed. Not the products fault more my expectations. Will still use it and recommend it! Happy Hunting!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Deer Ridge Gun and Bow Camera Mount
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 14, 2008

Good but no great

By
Location: Washington State
I recieved the deer ridge mount and have used it in the field to capture video of predator hunts. I am extremely happy with the shotgun mout and can't wait to use it for turkey season. The way the shotgun mount works is rock solid and provides a good platform for the camera. I was however disapointed with the rifle set up and this is mostly what I bought it for. The rifle mount method is not very stable or solid and thus it is very hard to get dialed in just right. It also will not accept a very heavy camera at all. They recommend hard drive camers yet the mount simply can't handle one very well. Overall is a very inovative product that has its place but if you are buying it just for the rifle mount I would think hard about using a VERY light camera.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Deer Ridge Gun and Bow Camera Mount
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2008

camera mount review

By
i think the concept is great however having your camera on your gun makes it very heavy and isn't all that great for certain types of hunting, ie: ducks or squirrels.
only other complaint is that after reviewing my first deer kill on video i noticed that the video went blue right when i pulled the trigger so i was not able to get the actual shot captured...but all in all i would encourage others to get it...and i will be using it come spring when i start chasing turkeys.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Deer Ridge Gun and Bow Camera Mount
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2012

Good on bow but gun was different

By
Location: West Virginia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I got this so I could bring home some of my hunts. I practiced with it on my bow and it was fine but when I practiced before turkey hunting last year it messed up my camera (small digital camera). I guess my 12 gauge had too much shock. My wife won't let me put put our camera back on any gun so I'm just using it bow hunting. It would probably work better on my gun if I had a different camera besides our family camera.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Deer Ridge Gun and Bow Camera Mount
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 8, 2010

I video my hunts...

By
Location: Aurora, CO
...just for fun! This accessory helped me not only film my goose hunts, but actually shoot while filming. It adapted easily to my shotgun, but only after I had to make an additional purchase of a magazine thread extender directly from the manufacturer. I wish I had been aware of the possibility of needing the extender at the time of my original purchase as I would have orded it then. This additional purchase cost me almost 2 weeks of hunt/video time. Even then, I would still recommend the product. I can't wait to try it on a bowhunt!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Deer Ridge Gun and Bow Camera Mount
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2009

great

By
Location: Sweden
Works great on my Benelli semiautomatic shotgun. I would like another model to my rifle. This model is first of all designed to semiautomatic shotgun, it can be mounted to most guns, but it will be placed longer from the gun and effect the balance much more...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Deer Ridge Gun and Bow Camera Mount
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 10, 2009

strong camera mount

By
Location: South Central Pennsylvania
it doesnt seem cheap but i havent used it much i cant wait to use it in spring turkey season
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Deer Ridge Gun and Bow Camera Mount
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 3, 2008

Decent

By
Location: Fargo, ND
It is a good design but would not fit the camera I wanted to use with my shotgun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Deer Ridge Gun and Bow Camera Mount
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 14, 2008

Bow Camera Mount

By
Location: Evansville, IN
This mount was easy to attach to my bow and has a unique shock absorbent system built into the camera carriage. It is designed to be used with more conventional cylindrical stabilizers. I purchased an extra stabilizer damper which was not necessary since the mount comes with one. I put it on my bow in the afternoon and shot my deer that evening. Unlike some of the other reviews in which it was used with a firearm, you will definitely see the bow recoil in the digital video when you hit the release. Although I left room for improvement in my 4 star rating I really liked this product for its easy installation and use. You will need one of the newer, smaller digital video cameras to use with it and I suggest that you select the memory stick as your movie media storage in stead of the hard disk if your camera gives you the option. All of my videos were of good uninterrupted quality due to the fact that the recoil did not negatively affect the recording process which might be expected should you consider the mechanical nature of internal hard disk storage. It has opened a whole new facet of hunting for me and my only recommendation is make sure that the digital video camera you purchase does not make a noise when you turn it on or select a stand by mode. I will tell you about gun season in a few more weeks!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Deer Ridge Gun and Bow Camera Mount
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 12, 2008

Deer Ridge Gun and Bow Camera Mount

By
Location: Lake City, MN
Unfortunately was not able to test under firing conditions so unable to fully rate, but I would say that mounting was simple and appears functional. I was planning to use on a turkey hunt in Florida, but those birds are tricky.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Deer Ridge Gun and Bow Camera Mount
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 29, 2008

Deer ridge camera mount

By
Location: Michigan
This product doesnt take the place of a camera man but good enough to get footage of your hunt
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Deer Ridge Gun and Bow Camera Mount
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 14, 2007

Archery Hunt with the camera mount

By
This unit seems to work pretty well. I shot two deer while using it on my trip to Wisconsin, but because of operator error and not being completely familiar with the thing, I didn't get actual shot video. Practice first, like the directions say. I did get some good video of deer I passed on, including an the arrow on my rest. It works as a pointer and makes for an interesting view.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Deer Ridge Gun and Bow Camera Mount
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 5, 2007

camera mount

By
Location: western massachusetts
i bought this product for use with turkey and deer hunting. i have shot it with lighter loads but have not yet used it with a slug or a magnum turkey load. but it worked very well and the camera held up fine.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Deer Ridge Gun and Bow Camera Mount
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 24, 2007

Deer Ridge Gun & Bow Camera Mount

By
Location: Maryland
Very easy to install on Bow, Muzzleloader & Shotgun. I first utilized this product during the early muzzleloader season in Maryland, Oct. 18th. - Oct. 20th. and filmed myself taking a nice 6 point. I recommend users to practice filming something first, deer, birds, or something to get acustom to the unit and the needed alignment. If utilizing a scope I would reccommend to set-up of your camera at the power setting on the scope you attend to use. In the heat of the moment it's easy to crank up the power of the scope or the zoom on your camera and not get the field of view needed for a good result.
Practice does make perfect!!
Terry
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 55