Customer Reviews for BARSKA BARSKA® SKS Riflescopes

BARSKA BARSKA® SKS Riflescopes

Built to maximize your SKS' accuracy and performance. Choose the 4x32 compact, 3-9x42 or the 3-9x42 with Range/Trajectory turret. All have fully coated optics for superior clarity, extremely long eye relief and are 100% waterproof and fogproof. Extra-rigid shockproof construction. SKS base included. Matte finish.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.203 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(69 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 69 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
9
1 Star
16
45 out of 69(65%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for BARSKA® SKS Riflescopes
Review 1 for BARSKA® SKS Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 23, 2006

I have the mount not the scope

By
Location: woodland CA
i only have the scope mount not the scope. I have a different scope on the weapon. I have tried a few different scope mounts on this weapon and finally this is the one that worked the best. it has a good fit and does not move around. Also with this mount as compaired to others has the mounting rail. other mounts only have rings attached to the reciever cover. I have used this with a scope and a red dot.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BARSKA® SKS Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 14, 2006

Average Scope for Short Money

By
All in all, this is a good scope for short money!
The Barska SKS scope has some nice features, including 3 - 9 power variable, easy to adjust windage and elevation for zero, and a great multi-brightness reticle setting for varying degrees of darkness.
Even though this is a bolt carrier cover mounted scope, it does a good job of holding zero - something I thought might be a problem.
There were some downsides to this scope (for an inexpensive scope one would expect some). The carrier plate cover that was supplied with this seems to be designed for the Chinese SKS, and did not fit on the Yugo SKS without help.
The optics of the scope, while OK, aren't great. You have to be in just the right position to find that sweet spot in the eyepiece otherwise you'll get a double black ring. This may be due to a long eye relief (I found it longer than advertised).
Using the scope (on the Yugo SKS anyway) means that you can no longer use stripper clips to load the rifle as the scope covers the stripper clip guide machined into the bolt carrier.
Really, for this small of an investment, the scope has some great features, and you can't go wrong.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BARSKA® SKS Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2006

Mounting

By
Location: Lindale, Texas
With ony one stationary fixed mount, experiencing lateral scope movement.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BARSKA® SKS Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2006

SKS scope

By
Location: Farmington, N.M.
It's just what my rifle needed. I'm very pleased with it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BARSKA® SKS Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2006

owner

By
Location: searcy,ar
Good clear scope suits this gun well.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BARSKA® SKS Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 27, 2006

Barska SKS Rifle Scope

By
Location: Saint Paul ,MN
I Purchased a Barska SKS Rifle scope from Cabela's. It is very accurate, high quality and had easy to follow instruction's.
The reciever part was slightly over sized & did require some filing to fit my gun however, I did want it to fit tightly.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BARSKA® SKS Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 30, 2006

first lessons in gunsmithing

By
to mount this scope you have to replace the bolt carrier cover. right out of china, the instructions are very basic and required quite a bit of filing to fit. I was a little concerned I may not have understood the directions and was ruining the piece I just purchased. It finally went together and works well
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BARSKA® SKS Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2007

works great

By
Location: Dallas, Tx.
The mount took a little filing to fit my Chinese SKS but this really wasnt a big deal. The scope works great. Very clear. I also have not had any problems with the scope staying sighted in. This was a concern due to the fact that the scope is mounted to the reciever cover. The eye relief is alittle more than stated. If you have a Chinese SKS you may have to put a longer American stock on the rifle. If I had my orig. short stock it may have been to close. Great buy though, I would recomend it for anyone who is looking to put a quality scope on there SKS.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BARSKA® SKS Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2007

My Son loves it.

By
Location: Manteca, Ca.
I bought this scope for my Sons 22LR rifle. It works great. You might have to get diffrent mounting clips, there only about $10.00.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BARSKA® SKS Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2007

Barska Riflescope

By
Location: Raleigh, NC.
I actually mounted this scope on a Bushmater M4-A3 so I did not use the SKS mounting bracket. I installed a saperate mounting rail onto the carry handle of the rifle but did use the mounting rings that came with the scope. For target shooting and plinking, this scope is more than adequate and complimtns this type of rifle very well. I am also pleased with the accuracy.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BARSKA® SKS Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 17, 2007

Good Scope

By
Location: Iowa
Good scope.
Scope mount has to be fitted to rifle.
Follow the instructions and you should have no trouble.
Tip: Use a black Sharpy to color the ends after filing. When you hammer the mount the shiny areas you need to file are easier to see. Take your time remove a little metal at a time. DO NOT remove too much material or scope mount will move.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BARSKA® SKS Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 8, 2007

Jury is still out.

By
Location: Great Falls, MT
Looked promissing when first installed on gun. After five shots it started to blur and after 5 more it looked like a lense inside the scope fell out and you could see it sitting in the bottom of scope. Sent it back for a new one with hopes this was a one time defect.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BARSKA® SKS Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 30, 2007

good scope bad mount

By
Location: Alabama
The scope is the best part of this package it is not as clear as it should be but the crosshair is great and in low light the red or green light on this scope makes it where u can still see the crosshair. The receiver cover scope mount is trash to me because it mounts on the sks with the pin at the back of the cover and even if u make it a tight fit it has some side to side movement and when u fire the gun it will move and make it where u will never get good groups. I can tell you that my marlin .22 rifle has the scope from this package on it and the mount from this package is in a drawer where it will sit for a long time.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BARSKA® SKS Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 4, 2007

Gunsmithing Needed

By
Location: Anaheim, CA
Product is very good for the price, but I did need to do some filing to get it to fit on my rifle.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BARSKA® SKS Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 31, 2007

Barska SKS Riflescopes

By
Location: Iowa
Easy to install. Needed to do a little machine work to make it fit right on my gun. Works great.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BARSKA® SKS Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 6, 2007

Just for now

By
I ordered this scope about three weeks ago and tried mounting the rear reciever on my own, but I was scared of filing to much metal off so I took my chinese SKS and the mount to a gun smith. I originally had gotten the reviever to fit, but it was to tight and the bolt would not pull to the rear. When I mounted the scope it looked very promising. I finally got my rifle back last week and went to the local gun range and tried sighting in my scope. Being a Marine I'd like to think I can shoot, but I was having trouble getting a good group with the scope. Finally after shooting about 40 rounds I noticed the two screws that keep the scope rail mount on the receiver started to loosen. The vibration after every shot loosened the screws. Even with a loose mount the scope was keeping me on paper, but I was not able to keep a good group to get a good zero. I fixed the problem by buying some threadlock (blue) at the local auto store. I am really excited to get back to the range this weekend and try agian to sight in my scope. I have high hopes for its performance....after all it keep my on paper when it was not working properly. I will write again and keep you up dated on what happens.
USMC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BARSKA® SKS Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 26, 2007

its ok

By
Location: Northern vermont
The scope is a fairly good one, but the receiver cover that came with it, i noticed, had very ruff and jagged bits of metal on the inside that the bolt slided in, now that cant be to good. the inside looked like sand paper of a low grit. so if u have good files to fit in there, it shouldnt take to long to fix that.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BARSKA® SKS Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 28, 2007

Broke Scope 3-9x IR

By
Location: Barrigada Guam
I bought this product for my sks, I must say that I was dissapointed, first the scope did not come with a receiver cover/mount. (by no fault of cabelas) At a later time the manufacturer sent the cover/mount and in no time I was at the range. The illuminated recticle gave up after less than 100 rounds of targeting, not rapid firing. The scope sits too far back on my chineese sks when using the original wood stock and must be corrected for a good sight picture. Through all this, Cabelas customer service went above and beyond to address all my concerns, Thanks...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BARSKA® SKS Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 8, 2007

poor quality

By
Location: Georgia
The scope works well the first couple of times you fire with it, then it starts to fall apart.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BARSKA® SKS Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 11, 2007

works well

By
After some minor filing on the bottom of the new housing it fit well...but you must be careful on how much you file, it is real easy to file too much and be too lose...just a few strokes at a time and then check it..very pleased with it
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 69