Customer Reviews for WOLVERINE Nikon ProStaff Spotting Scope

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

WOLVERINE Nikon ProStaff Spotting Scope

The ProStaff Spotting Scope is equipped with a peep sight to get you on target fast. Waterproof, fogproof performance in a compact low-profile design with rubber armor to ensure a firm grip and provide resistance to bumps. Multiple lens coatings for optimal light transmission. Camo pattern: Black, Realtree Hardwoods Green® HD™ .
Overall Customer Rating:
4.528 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 53 reviews
5 Stars
37
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
48 out of 53(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nikon ProStaff Spotting Scope
Review 1 for Nikon ProStaff Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Expected more from Nikon

Date:August 12, 2012
I wanted a scope that could make out bullet holes out to 200 yards, sadly this one wasn't it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nikon ProStaff Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

To big

Date:July 9, 2012
If your into getting off the ATV or out of the truck to do some serious hiking and packing in, this is not the scope for you.
The clarity is good, has a decent range but its too big, long, and heavy. I would suggest getting a compact scope and spend the extra cash doing it.
This scope stayed locked in my ATV as it wasn't feasable to pack it around with me. I just pack my Cabela Euro bino's now which seem to do anything I want them to anyways.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nikon ProStaff Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Ortonville, MN
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Its a deal

Date:January 18, 2012
If your looking to do mostly scouting with out alot of travel on the leg, this unit is great for its price range. I purched this after returning one of the smaller leupold models, and its night and day over that. Great value for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nikon ProStaff Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Reno NV.
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best spotter for the money

Date:January 11, 2012
Let me start by saying WOW! This thing is incredible,so glad i chose it. Couldn't make up my mind between the Nikon or the Vortex. After months of debating and reading every review i could find on both,i chose the Nikon. The nice thing about buying it from Cabelas was being able to check it out for myself. The guy behind the counter was great. He set both scopes up on tri-pods and let me play for what seemed like a hour. After comparing the two and it wasn't easy. Both are excellent, and affordable. But in the end i chose the Nikon and i love it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nikon ProStaff Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lancaster Pa
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent

Date:January 10, 2012
The zoom and clarity is excellent. Nikon always has a great product as I own many other Nikon Products all rated excellent!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nikon ProStaff Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Lehi, UT
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

I'd rather use my binos

Date:October 14, 2011
I purchased this spotting scope at the store and tried it out on the hills behind our home for testing. I could hardly see anything out of it, I could see more detail with my binos so I quickly returned it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nikon ProStaff Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: EASLEY SOUTH CAROLINA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great !

Date:September 22, 2011
I love this! It really helped me see the wolf's in yellowstone close up.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nikon ProStaff Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good scope

Date:September 19, 2011
Excellent optics for the money. Easy to setup and use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nikon ProStaff Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Harrisonville, MO
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Scope!

Date:September 6, 2011
This is an excellent scope! I researched several scopes and decided on the Nikon for my price range. I actually bought the 16x48x65 and the 20x60x82 in order to narrow down my decision. I liked the clarity and the size of the 16x48, but when trying them at dusk the 20x60 clearly brought in more light and was usable for much longer. It is a little heavier, but I think the weight difference will be worth it for the extra visibility in low light conditions.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nikon ProStaff Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CLEAR & SHARP - EXCELLENT SPOTTING SCOPE

Date:May 4, 2011
After a ton of "hands-on" research I ended up buying this spotting scope and it has exceeded all my expectations. It's light weight, easy to carry and has the best optics (sharpness and clarity) I have ever used or seen. EXCELLENT product and price. Compared to other spotting scopes it's quality and performance is far better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nikon ProStaff Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Purchase

Date:February 2, 2011
I thought it was a great scope and preformed very well at 11,000 feet and didn't fog up at all in the cold temps.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nikon ProStaff Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: sw colo
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nikon spotter

Date:January 26, 2011
i live in sw colo.
we look in miles not yards at a lot of game
the clearity of this scope is amazing
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nikon ProStaff Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Maryland
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Can't beat the price and quality

Date:January 24, 2011
Great optical quality for the money. I highly recommend this producy for anyone wanting a quality scope but not wanting to spend over $1000.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nikon ProStaff Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nikon Prostaff 20-60X80

Date:January 18, 2011
After owning a top quality pair of binos I have been lusting over a better spotter for a couple of years. I do not use a spotter enough to justify paying big bucks, but on my duck trip it really helps to know if that pod of ducks in the distance are mallards, or coots. I ordered this scope due to the good reviews, the price, also the delayed financing deal at the time. When it first arrived I was a bit hesitant due to its size, but it is not going to be back packed as most of the scouting is done pretty close to the truck. After getting used to it I was very pleased with the performance, nice and clear, good focus that stays pretty well focused as you zoom in, and good light gathering. The one thing I knew I needed to get was a quality tripod, and I bought one for $200 at a local camera shop. Makes all the difference having a good heavy tripod, especially in the windy plains.
I gave it 5 stars looking at the value and quality for the money. You can find lighter, clearer scopes but the cost is much higher. For my use this scope was a very good fit. I do recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nikon ProStaff Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Florida
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

spotting scope

Date:January 6, 2011
Good scope wish I could find more eyepieces for it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nikon ProStaff Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Spencer, IN
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

2010 High Country Mule Deer Hunt ~ Idaho

Date:December 1, 2010
This is a very nice spotting scope for the money. Researched many before buying and decided to go with the Nikon Prostaff. I bought the 16-48x65. Has a clear image a few hundred yards out. I tried to size up mule deer a little less than 2 miles away and could tell that it had antlers but could not count the points. For that reason only I have sold that unit and am buying the 20-60x82 version. That should gain some more range.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nikon ProStaff Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: New Mexico
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Nikon Prostaff 16-48X65

Date:September 23, 2010
I have had this scope for 2 years. I used it on sheep, deer and elk hunts. I bought the kit and I find the tripod adiquate and light I mostly back pack. The window mount is very usefull too. Optics are clear and light gathering is very good. It does not focus well at the high end. This makes it almost unuseable in the mountains. The lens caps fall off frequnetly and the hood falls off too. I have a 10x20 set of Nicon Binoculars that I have had for 30+ years and I find this is just as good as the spotting scope. I am not too happy with this spotting scope. I have quit using the scope and it now sits in the case in the closet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nikon ProStaff Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outstanding!

Date:September 2, 2010
this is a outstanding spotting scope. It really works great a 100 yards. I havee not had a chance to use it beyond 100 yards yet but have confadence it will perform well up to 300 yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nikon ProStaff Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Nevada
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Spotting Scope

Date:August 14, 2010
I purchased the 20-60 power with the 82mm objective lens. It's a little large and you need a good tripod, but it's superb. Maybe not as good as the high end scopes, but you can't beat it for the price. Works great especially in low light conditions. Early morning and right at sunset the objective lens captures all the light and it's easy to see what's moving around out there. At the range it's easy to see what my group is at 200-300 yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nikon ProStaff Spotting Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Yukon, Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Spotting Scope

Date:August 9, 2010
I live in the Yukon and I do a lot of hunting in the mountains. I am able to easily spot animals across the valley. Works great for checking the curls on sheep. Also even on those rainy days the image is clear.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 53