Customer Reviews for Nikon Nikon ProStaff Spotting Scope Outfit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Nikon Nikon ProStaff Spotting Scope Outfit

The ProStaff Spotting Scope is equipped with a peep sight to get you on target fast. Waterproof, fogproof performance in a compact low-profile design with rubber armor to ensure a firm grip and provide resistance to bumps. Multiple lens coatings for optimal light transmission. Outfit also includes a Vue-thru case, zoom eyepiece and compact tripod. Camo outfit includes window mount.Available: Black, Realtree Hardwoods Green® HD™.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.438 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 32 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
29 out of 32(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nikon ProStaff Spotting Scope Outfit
Review 1 for Nikon ProStaff Spotting Scope Outfit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outstanding Scope

Date:May 17, 2012
I love this scope, it is bright and the optics are superb. The tripod is good but could be more stable. The size and weight are a plus as well. I have always had just great success with all Nikon products and this is no exception.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nikon ProStaff Spotting Scope Outfit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great glass

Date:May 8, 2012
There are a ton of reviews regarding this product and anything with 5 stars tells it all. The tripod is something that comes with it gets a bum rap. Are there better tripods, more sturdy, etc? Yes, but nothing I want to tote around. Remember you're buying a spottiing with a tripod not the other way around. Suspend a weight from the center of the tripod...old photographers trick and the unit gets more steady. What you buy in the kit is well worth the mony spent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nikon ProStaff Spotting Scope Outfit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Harrisburg, Pa
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Big Improvement

Date:March 31, 2012
I bought this scope to replace and old Bushnell scope that I had bought 25 years ago. The scope is very clear, easy to focus, light weight and perfect for sighting in rifles at the range. I have had no problem with the tripod but then I haven't tried it on uneven ground. The scope is a bit larger than my old one but much clearer. I'm very happy with this purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nikon ProStaff Spotting Scope Outfit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Westminster, CA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good scope

Date:January 12, 2012
excellent. am very happy as this scope outperforms my previous one from a different mfg by far. I have the 82mm version, its a little cumbersome in a backpack, but makes up for it in clarity. I don't understand the complaints about the tripod. Its a good mid range metal tpod. Not the best, but it also doesn't weigh a ton and can fit on a backpack, yet extend out to standing height if necessary. Not the most stable at full extension, but if you want that buy a professional photographers tripod and leave it in the truck. The objective lens cover does need to be babied a bit and should be improved. But if you don't have $3k to spend on a scope, this is a good choice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nikon ProStaff Spotting Scope Outfit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Idaho
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very good purchase

Date:January 10, 2012
The spotting scope itself is very nice. I used it this year for a late season bull elk hunt. Optics our clear and for the most part it is comfortable to use. I was able to spot the bull i got from a little over 3 miles away. i couldn't tell how big he was from that far but was able to tell he was a bull. the only complaint i have is with the tri-pod. The first time i put my scope on it, the lock for it broke off. Very good scope for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nikon ProStaff Spotting Scope Outfit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kemmerer WY.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nikon ProStaff spotting scope

Date:September 26, 2011
What a great piece of glass. Great quality that I have come to expect out of a Nikon product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nikon ProStaff Spotting Scope Outfit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great for the price

Date:September 23, 2011
This spotting scope is the very best for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nikon ProStaff Spotting Scope Outfit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Irving, Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great spotting scope for the money

Date:August 23, 2011
I recently purchased this spotting scope for an upcoming elk hunt in Colorado. I haven't taken it hunting yet, but have practiced with it several times in my area. It is very clear and easy to focus. I really like the carry case that fits completely around it. I think that for this price it is a great buy and is better than several more expensive spotting scopes that I looked at.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nikon ProStaff Spotting Scope Outfit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nikon ProStaff Spotting Scope Outfit

Date:August 17, 2011
Great scope for the price, works great for my needs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nikon ProStaff Spotting Scope Outfit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Western Georgia
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Scope evaluation

Date:July 11, 2011
From Geprgia, I don't have much need for a long range scope to spot animals miles away, but I wanted a scope with which I could see bullet holes in a target, up to 200 yards away.
With a limited budget, I limited myself to a maximum of $500.00. I called Cabella's customer service and got reccomendations.
In the past, I had purchased three (3) less expensive scopes, none of which would adequately produce the results I wanted.
I chose the Nikon Pro Staff scope. I haven't yet had an opportunity to shoot at targets, but I tried the scope, and was able to read house number addresses at almost a mile away,
I did, however, find the cover to be a bit cumbersome taking it off and putting it back on.
I would reccomend this scope to anyone who wouldn't need an extremely long range scope. The quality is there.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nikon ProStaff Spotting Scope Outfit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Napa Valley, CA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good deal

Date:February 22, 2011
This is a very good deal on a package that could sell for much more. It is not "premium" Leica style glass that outfitters need for extremely long range hair counting, but they are quite sufficient for the average and above average hunter. I reccommend this for two mile and closer viewing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nikon ProStaff Spotting Scope Outfit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tracy, California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great glass for the money!

Date:January 23, 2011
You get what you pay for is especially true in optics! Spent a lil less than half has much than I did for this rig the first time around on an inferior product of another brand. Never again! I like the size and weight of this scope (16x48) for packing around. Only disappointment was that the window mount didn't come with it, it's included with the camo model (I should have read better). Still a great deal though. If you are looking for a compact scope that won't break the budget or let you down in the field I highly recommend this setup.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nikon ProStaff Spotting Scope Outfit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: north dakota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very versitile

Date:January 19, 2011
I really enjoy using this product... it didnt have the range i was hopeing for but the size and versatility of the scope was great! very light weight and durrable from what I can tell.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nikon ProStaff Spotting Scope Outfit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Alaska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

the scope iced up externaly at 33% along a river.

Date:September 11, 2010
I love the scope and it is very clear, it does a great job of gathering light, when the naked eye sees dark, you can still see through the scope and I must say very nicley, so that last 30 minutes of the hunt, actualy gets better for me now.when everyone else is leaving, I can still see like it is day. i bought the scope because of the fog proof advertisment, low and behold, the only problem we had was about 33%, during september hunt, near a river, approximatly 500 feet above water, and 1/4 mile from river edge, the exterior lenses at both ends kept fogging up. or I should say icing over. This happened when the covers were left off both ends of the scope for about 30 minutes. it has also only occured once. there was no need to be looking through the scope, it just fogged up on its own. I was also testing the scope and pushing it to the limits. the scoope is 20x60x82 with zoom lens. prostaff model. I should also mention, when this occured the scope was taken from a warm vehicle, and left standing outside open to the elements. the ice wiped right off and then viewing was ok. it did not ruin the hunt. There was also a lot of fog rolling down the river that morning. as the fog bank lifted the icing did cure itself. I am not sure if any scope would have performed any differently. The reason i wrote this letter is accurate reviews mean everything. The same morning we were using two seperate pairs of leupold 10x52 binoculars, neither of those had fog issues. most moose hunts occur during this type of weather, the scope should have handled it like the leupolds did. I am not going to send the scope back. The scope is second to none as far as seeing antlers at a few thousand yards, that makes identifying legal game a snap. If i keep the covers on the scope until it is needed there are no problems with the thing. I would certainly buy the scope again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nikon ProStaff Spotting Scope Outfit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Corinth, MS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nikon spotting scope

Date:March 15, 2010
Very pleased with the glass, great clarity. Tripod is junk.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nikon ProStaff Spotting Scope Outfit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fallbrook, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellant Scope

Date:January 30, 2010
I purchased the 16-48X65 scope and I am very pleased. It has sharp, clear optics that produce a crisp image. At the lowest power, bullet holes are easily seen as well as very small print on the target at a mere 25 yds. I haven't yet used it on a 100 yd rifle range, but anticipate no problems. You will want a sturdy mount for any scope of this power and higher.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nikon ProStaff Spotting Scope Outfit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Smithfield, NC.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Can't beat Nikon

Date:January 14, 2010
I have the black 16-48X65 outfit. You just can't beat Nikon optics. I use it looking through sliding glass doors out over a lake at Eagles, Ducks and Geese and still get a sharp image. The zoom and focus is smooth and precise. I like the case that can stay on the scope, great for outdoor use. You don't need the target sight. The tripod is a little light weight but works fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nikon ProStaff Spotting Scope Outfit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Prescott Valley, AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great spooting scope for the money

Date:October 13, 2009
The glass in this spotting scope makes things look cristal clear. some slight distortion at full zoom but that is to be expected. tripod does wiggle a little in heavy wind.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nikon ProStaff Spotting Scope Outfit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Alabama
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Spotting Scope

Date:September 20, 2009
Great product, very clear. Works good in low light conditions. I would like to see two focus adjustments. One main focus and one to fine tune. Other then that, its worth the money. Nikon makes good optics
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nikon ProStaff Spotting Scope Outfit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Mexico
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

NikonSpotter

Date:August 10, 2009
Great Price,Excellent quality, typical Nikon product. Great for open country hunting, saves many miles on your feet. I like the tripod and the case that stays on the scope
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 32