Customer Reviews for Leica Leica Rangemaster CRF 1200 Rangefinder

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Leica Leica Rangemaster CRF 1200 Rangefinder

Leave it to Leica, one of the industry leaders in sport optics, to redefine size and performance in compact rangefinders. The new CRF 1200 is 30% smaller (4.5" x 2.3" x 1.3") and lighter (7.76 oz.) than the LRF 1200, but boasts the same maximum ranging distance and interior LED display. The 24mm objective lens delivers superior image quality and brightness, even with bad lighting. The waterproof body is made of die-cast, aircraft-grade aluminum that's been lacquered for a soft feel. 7X magnification. Runs on one CR2 lithium battery, included. Color: Black.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.819 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(155 Reviews) 155
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 155 reviews
5 Stars
137
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
151 out of 155(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Leica Rangemaster CRF 1200 Rangefinder
Review 121 for Leica Rangemaster CRF 1200 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bozeman,Mt
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

range finding

Date:May 19, 2007
1375 yard read first day, extreamly fast, compact and high quality just buy one you won't regret it..Hesitated at first because of price but can honestly say this is a great product..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 122 for Leica Rangemaster CRF 1200 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Gillette, Wyoming
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best available

Date:April 23, 2007
After using several other cheaper range finders, I bought this one after using one a friend had. Very good quality, the scan mode is a nice feature. Best product for the price in my opinion. The only thing I didn't like was the very light weight, not so easy to hold still while ranging. But I think the light weight might be a positive for most people with a steadier hand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 123 for Leica Rangemaster CRF 1200 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Idaho
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best rangefinder

Date:April 18, 2007
Compact and light weight. Fastest display time of any rangefinder. I have no need to carry bino's during archery season cause they are so clear. Would recommened them to any one wanting the best range finder out there.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 124 for Leica Rangemaster CRF 1200 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mi.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Carl

Date:April 17, 2007
I am very impressed w/ the clarity of the lens, size fits one hand nicely and is easily used to determine range.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 125 for Leica Rangemaster CRF 1200 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CRF 1200

Date:April 12, 2007
The Leica CRF 1200 surpassed my expectations. The optical clarity is in line with a good set of binos and the ranging is very fast, even at 1255 yards!! The pocket size makes it light weight and easy to carry. Overall an excellent product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 126 for Leica Rangemaster CRF 1200 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Centralia, WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfect Range Finder!!!

Date:April 9, 2007
This is the first rangefinder I've personally owned but after product testing many others I couldn't shake the many positive features of this rangefinder. I must be honest and say it costs more then many other brands but I will testify that this is a case where you get what you pay for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 127 for Leica Rangemaster CRF 1200 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: wyoming
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

leica rangemaster crf 1200

Date:April 7, 2007
This product is very fast to range reflective and non reflective objest well out to most pratical shooting distance's and also very good to 800 plus yards I would also like to add that this product will range objects in almost pure dark conditions for some applications that is very usefull aroud varmit hunting situation's Mike
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 128 for Leica Rangemaster CRF 1200 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Nevada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outstanding

Date:March 26, 2007
I have used my Leica Rangefinder while shed hunting.I located Elk with my Spoting scope.At that point I brought out my rangefinder these Elk were acrossed the Valley from where I was.I honestly could not believe that this Leica crf 1200 yard rangefinder was that good.I ranged the Elk at 700 yards and the Quality was unreal.It seemed that if I was in the middle of these Elk. I highly recommend this Rangefinder to every Hunter this will be one of your better investments.Even with the price being where it is you can not replace the Quality.Thank you again Cabelas Team for making this a sucessful purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 129 for Leica Rangemaster CRF 1200 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Temperance, Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Leica Rangemaster CRF 1200 Rangefinder

Date:February 28, 2007
I had been using a nikon buckmasters rangefinder that my wife had bought me for several years, with no problems...until...I saw a very nice buck in low light and it would not reflect a yardage reading. I could see it with both my scope and binos, but it would not give me a reading in low light. I researched the "new" rangefinders thoroughly before buying the Leica CRF 1200. The fact is that this unit will almost read in the dark! The optics are so CLEAR that it would certainly replace a pair of compact binos while bow hunting. The size is great and it fits easily in a jacket pocket. The LED sight is very nice and easy to read. This is one of the best "tools" I have ever purchased. If I could rate it 10 stars on a 5 star scale I would! I would very much recomend this to anyone interested in a new rangefinder. I would purchase the Leica 900 CRF for the price difference. It was not available when I bought the CRF 1200. It will prove to be MONEY WELL SPENT!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 130 for Leica Rangemaster CRF 1200 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Centerville, Utah
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awsome Rangefinder

Date:January 24, 2007
I used my Leica 1200 this past season(s). I do a lot of spot and stalk and still hunting. The Leica laser is extremly fast. I also was pleased how much I used the scan feature. I could get readouts of different objects quickly. The superior optics made it very useable as a monocular especially while still hunting. The compact size is great, it truly fits into a shirt pocket. Now that I am spoiled with this type of quality, I will not be able to purchase anything less.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 131 for Leica Rangemaster CRF 1200 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kansas City
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

New Rangemaster Picked by Military

Date:January 5, 2007
Our military recently selected the Leica Rangemaster CRF 1200 Rangefinder for use by our troops. Good enough for them-good enough for me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 132 for Leica Rangemaster CRF 1200 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Glendale, AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best of the Best!

Date:December 26, 2006
After using a Bushnell Legend for a few years with no major complaints, I came across an outfitter buddy of mine who had the bigger bulkier 1200 yard Leica Rangefinder and I was VERY impressed! This newer more compact model is even better. One of the things that makes the Leica's stand out is not only the super clear optics but also the bright red display. Try reading the display of a non-illuminated rangefinder in the early/late hours of twilight and you'll know exactly what I'm talking about. I've ranged targets beyond the advertised 1200 yards and it's compact design makes it easy to carry for quick access in your shirt pocket. I'd buy another one of these without second thought.
This is THE BEST rangefinder I've come across to date.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 133 for Leica Rangemaster CRF 1200 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central Pennsylvania
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Recommended the CRF 1200 to all my friends

Date:December 7, 2006
After evaluating and comparing all mid to high end rangefinders on the market in September of '06, Leica made my decision easy by manufacturing their new CRF 1200. This rangefinder is the perfect balance of clarity, brightness, precision, accuracy and durability, while remaining lightweight, compact, easy to use and waterproof (not water resistant, but actually waterPROOF).
It gives precise measurements 'realistically' out to 900 yards, and accurately ranges large objects to its stated maximum range of 1200 yards.
The red LED display gives the Leica line of rangefinders a huge advantage over competitors when ranging in low light, thanks to its high visibility and distinct contrast with dark backgrounds in low light conditions.
I also found that since the CRF 1200 is so clear, I was able to employ mine as a very useable monocular in place of my compact binos this past PA archery season; it's always great to pack less gear. When heading for the woods, this is one item that I won't go hunting without.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 134 for Leica Rangemaster CRF 1200 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Denver, Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Leica Rangemaster CRF 1200 Rangefinder

Date:November 22, 2006
I sold my first LEICA LRF 1200 and wish I didn't. Just got the new CRF 1200 and this thing is even better the the otherone I had. NO PROBLEM getting 1300 - 1350 readings off of reflective targets. The best thing about this device is that i was able to get these reading very quickly while steadying myself against a post. It is small, compact and AWESOME. I have tried the others and this one rocks!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 135 for Leica Rangemaster CRF 1200 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Costs more than most but worth every penny.

Date:November 21, 2006
I replaced my Leica LRF 800 with the Leica Rangemaster CRF 1200 Rangefinder. Small, lightweight and easy to use with one hand. Clear readout and quick to pick up on objects. The red LED display allows you to focus on things with low light and still see the readings. Range over water is excellant. I'm very pleased with the performance of this Leica model.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 136 for Leica Rangemaster CRF 1200 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bakersdfield, Ca
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellant

Date:November 13, 2006
The Leica Rangemaster CRF 1200 was a great choice for me. It is very compact, lightweight, fits in my pocket. It is perfect to carry when your hunting and hiking long distances as it is very lightweight. Also because it is a Leica the optics are superior to any other range finder I have ever had or tried.
Thank you for your catalog and your service. You are a great company. I have always been happy with your products and service> Keep up the good work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 137 for Leica Rangemaster CRF 1200 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Provo, UT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worth every penny

Date:October 15, 2006
I just bought the Rangemaster 1200 for my Utah elk hunt. When I bought it I was hesitant to pay the additional $150-200 over a Nikon or Leupold but I am already glad I did. I was regularly able to range hillsides out beyond 1100 or 1200 yards. The reading is almost instantaneous, I love the red display and the size is great for fitting in a shirt or pants pocket. I would highly recommend the Rangemaster to other hunters.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 138 for Leica Rangemaster CRF 1200 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Montana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good glass - worth the price?

Date:January 31, 2011
This is the first range finder I have owned. Messed around with older generation Leupold and Bushnell, and was not impressed. On sale and blew my Cabelas bucks, I went with the Leica over the Leupold 1000. The glass is great - including low light. The RF is good in clear conditions, but add snow or rain, or shooting through a window, and the RF fades out. Size is good, and I carried it everywhere. If you don't find it on sale, though, I have to wonder if the new gen Leupies are a better buy . . . .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 139 for Leica Rangemaster CRF 1200 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Bozeman, MT
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Montana Shooter

Date:August 18, 2010
Very clear and easy to use. It doesn't provide accurate non-reflective range readings - set on tripod, cool non-bright afternoon - much beyond 500 yards. Reflective reading seem to fall off after about 800 yards. I wonder what the 1200 refers to? I would think you should be able to get close to 1200 yards with a reflective surface and around 800 with non-reflective. I believe the tech folks "honestly" will tell you the non-reflective is about 75 to 80 percent of the reflective. Closer to the 80 percent with the high end range finders.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 140 for Leica Rangemaster CRF 1200 Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: USA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best rangefinder yet

Date:June 2, 2010
I bought the Leica CRF 1200 to replace the second Leupold RXB-IV that failed within a few months of receiving it. This Leica has been reliable, has nice bright optics, and so far has ranged buildings at 950+ yards. I like the compact size, it will fit in a shirt or jacket pocket so that binoculars can also be carried.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 121-140 of 155