Customer Reviews for Bushnell Bushnell Elite 1500 Laser Rangefinder with ARC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Bushnell Bushnell Elite 1500 Laser Rangefinder with ARC

Using Digital Technology? and premium optics, the Elite 1500 ARC delivers crisp, clear images and precise distance measurements from 5 to 1,500 yards with ? 1-yard accuracy. It's built around invisible, eye-safe, class-one lasers. The Elite 1500 ARC features Angle Range Compensation (ARC). Extreme up- and downhill angles alter the true horizontal distance to your target. ARC accounts for the terrain angle when calculating distance, so you know precisely how to shoot the range without guesswork. Fully multicoated optics transmit maximum light for enhanced dawn and dusk performance. It's also extremely rugged and 100% waterproof thanks to the RainGuard? coating and protective rubber armor. Adjustable eyepieces and an LCD within the optical system displays targeting reticle, mode, distance and battery strength. Scan mode provides continuous distance measurements of multiple targets within the field of view. BullsEye? mode gives you pinpoint ranging of small objects and game without inadvertent readings from surrounding targets. Brush? mode ignores close-up objects, such as tree branches, and ranges background targets only. Its LED screen provides illuminated distance readings for low-light convenience. Twist-up metal eyepiece with oversized ocular and diopter setting for quick adjustment and optimum eye relief. Runs on a 9-volt battery (not included). Includes solid tripod mount and a tough, molded hard case. Available: Mossy Oak? New Break-Up?, Realtree? AP HD?.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.681 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(91 Reviews) 91
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 91 reviews
5 Stars
70
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
88 out of 91(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bushnell Elite 1500 Laser Rangefinder with ARC
Review 1 for Bushnell Elite 1500 Laser Rangefinder with ARC
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Jerome, Idaho
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bushnell Rangefinder

Date:September 25, 2008
I would recommend this product. It is very easy to use and I also bought the neoprene case and works well together. Thanks to cabelas for placing the Elite 1500 on sale! Also included $50 Rebate and Bushnell Jacket.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bushnell Elite 1500 Laser Rangefinder with ARC
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

ARC feature is a waste of money

Date:February 14, 2007
I bought this rangefinder recently and started putting it through its paces immediately. As far as rangefinding goes, it's quite good but does seem to have trouble with trees and bush beyond 450yds on a dull day. My big issues are with the ARC function in Rifle mode. Issue 1: the ballistics hold over/under calculation requires your rifile to be sighted in at 100yds. Most shooters that set their rifles up for long range and shoot high velocity rounds (e.g. 300Win Mag @3100fps) zero them at 200 to 300yds. In fact, max PBR (+/- 3") for this round is 314yds with a 260yd zero. I could live with a 100yd zero if the rangefinder display told me the MOA adjustment required so that I could dial in the no of clicks required - it doesn't. Ever tried judging 40" of hold over at 500 yds on a large animal like an Elk? Not easy. Issue 2: Most people I've talked to don't care about the angle of inclination being displayed. It's much more important to display the equivalent horizontal distance - which it only does in Bow mode and only up to 99yds. Overall, don't spend money on the ARC feature - I returned mine. I hope Bushnell gets the message and fixes the ARC feature because I believe that their rangefinding technology is the best for the buck out there at the moment.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bushnell Elite 1500 Laser Rangefinder with ARC
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ARC is a Waste for Rifle Hunting

Date:November 5, 2007
I had a Bushnell 800 for years and it was great. After 10+ years of extreme use and abuse, it finally started reading inaccurately. I bought the 1500 for 4 reasons: 1) Reliability 2) 9-volt battery (those little hearing aid batteries stink and don't work well in cold weather) 3) ARC, and 4) Price.
The unit has proven reliable, and I get reliable readings out to 1200 yards. The ARC is VERY disappointing though. I didn't know it stopped working after 99 yards. It then requires you to sight your rifle in with a 200 yard zero, which almost no one who hunts in open country does. So I am forced to still carry a complicated ballistic table, read the angle off the range finder, and find the true ballistic range from the table. The 1500 is PERFECT except for that one feature, but when you hunt in wide open avalanche chutes the 200 yard zero doesn't cut it. If the unit can do the algorithim to calc the true ballistic range I can't understand why they cut it off at 99 yards. What does a bow hunter need with a 1500 yard range finder?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bushnell Elite 1500 Laser Rangefinder with ARC
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Kennewick, WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not overwelmed

Date:October 4, 2007
The 1500 works well in a static condition such as an open area, however it seems to be somewhat unreliable for accurate distance under field conditions with changing light and inteferance from small twigs and grass even when the brush mode is selected. I have seen the distance vary by several yards on the same object just with a cloud moving over and giving different light. My Son has a different rangefinder from another company and side by side he does not have the same problem. For the price I am yet to be convinced it is a product worth the price!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bushnell Elite 1500 Laser Rangefinder with ARC
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Issaquah Wa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Worth the additional expense?

Date:November 13, 2006
I am a bowhunter and so my review is geared to the archers out there. I have used both the Nikon 440 and this 1500 Elite unit. Although it does have additional features, you give up several things with this unit. It is larger it is slower and it cost twice as much.
The unit is at least twice as big as it�s smaller cousins. If you are primarily hunting in heavily wooded areas the optics are probably good enough to replace your mini binoculars. But if you are hunting open terrain and you want those 10x50 binoculars then the additional size and weight of this unit could be a real liability.
In order for this 1500 arc system to provide significant correction for elevation you need to have a significant change. 15% at 30 yards is about a 1 yard correction. (That is about the height of a tree stand) on level ground. For that kind of shooting you really don�t need calculation help. If you are in some really steep terrain and expect to be taking shots at animals 40 yards straight down then this feature could be real important.
You also give up speed in ranging. The simpler range finders return yardages in a fraction of a second where as this unit seems to take at least a sec perhaps a second and a half. I know it doesn't sound like much but when that big buck is staring you down seconds seem like an eternity. Especially if you need to range several times because you�re shaking.
There are some bemnefits of this unit that I cannot find issue with. For example it has a mode option You can set the mode to range the closes object for open terrain or the furthest object for brushy situations. This feature seems to work well. As an archer I don�t shoot through brush so the mode option is not an absolute necessity. Another feature I really like is that it uses a standard 12v battery. Every convenience store in the US has one of those.
Overall it is simple to use and the features work as they were intended. But before you make the additional investment make sure you really need these features. If I were to purchase another range finder it would be the faster smaller cheaper one and spend a little more time on the practice range making sure I understand how my bow deals with elevation.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bushnell Elite 1500 Laser Rangefinder with ARC
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Missoula, MT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bushnell Elite 1500 Laser Rangefinder with ARC

Date:November 21, 2008
I have had a number of Bushnell Laser Rangefinders and used other brands in the past. The Bushnell line is the best that I have used over-all. I used the Bushnell Elite 1500 Laser Rangefinder with ARC this year for deer, elk and moose this year effectively. Case in point the moose was about 220 yards away and partially hidden in the muskeg behind willows and spruce as he moved. I was behind a wall of branches and needed to know the range for exact placement because of the amount of the animal that was hidden. With the setting on BRUSH I was able to range through the branches and get an accurate reading on the bull. With my rifle scope on a low setting I was able to find a window and make exact placement on a moving and partially hidden bull for a perfect and humane kill.
I can not give a 5 point rating as I do not think the ARC riffle mode works as well as it could if it would just give the actual horizontal distance as it does in the bow mode. By attempting to give an actual bullet drop / holdover for a bullet sighted in dead on at 100 yards the majority of us who sight in at other ranges are out of luck. Honestly I do not even know anyone out here in the Rocky Mountain west who sights in at 100 yards. Everyone sights in at between 2-3 inches high at 100 yards making them dead on as some place between 200-300 yards depending upon their load. Knowing the actual horizontal distance would be much more helpful and functional than the present set up on a Bushnell Elite 1500 Laser Rangefinder with ARC.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bushnell Elite 1500 Laser Rangefinder with ARC
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: saginaw, mi
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

real good, not perfect

Date:November 9, 2008
bought it instead of my 1st choice due to the sale price. almost instant readings every time at distances from 650 to 700 yards. longest reading i have been able to get is 883 yards on a tree. the only time i have tried it out is bright sunny days which is the worst time for a range finder to work well. i was looking for consistentcy to those ranges so it fits my needs, if you looking for a 1000 yard every time unit it may not be what you need.
i have not used it in low light conditions yet, but think a led display would be much better than the lcd display. optics are very clear, set up is easy once you read the instructions. i did not think i would have a use for the arc function but have dicovered one of its settings matches my long range rifles ballistics perfectly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bushnell Elite 1500 Laser Rangefinder with ARC
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: WY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bushnell Elite, Impressive

Date:October 26, 2008
My first rangefinder purchase. I had a hard time picking up ranges past 900 yards but for the price it's hard to beat. The optics are clear and distance readings are consistently accurate.
I wasn't sold on Bushnell, but I like my elite and it works great for the ranges I am shooting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bushnell Elite 1500 Laser Rangefinder with ARC
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Chicagoland
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

An honest review of the Bushnell Elite 1500

Date:October 23, 2008
I purchased this Bushnell Elite rangefinder because it was priced so well and the unit I really want is not made yet. In the future, I plan on purchasing a Leica CRF 1200 (if it ever comes out with the ARC technology) and selling the Bushnell. The Elite functions well, but I do not love it. The display is very "busy" with Icons of this and that. There is not really a way to turn any of the Icons off. (They are not lit if you do not press the button to range something.) The back lit LED leaves a lot to be desired. If it is dark, or dusk, the display is extremely difficult to see (definitely a minus for hunters.) My second comment is that the eyepiece is very large. This sounds like a good idea, but this makes the ergonomics of the unit feel very vague in your hand. When you put this up to your eye, it is difficult to quickly center your eye in the eyepiece. The unit takes a lot of time to get used to, and for the user to be able to quicky take a reading. The other issue I have with the ergonomics is the shape and feel of the unit. Because of it's large size, it is not easy to grab. It does not fit the hand very well. Most of the other rangefinders on the market fit in your hand. You can form a "C" with your fingers and wrap them around the unit, holding it securely. The Bushnell Elite is so wide, you can only form your fingers into a "U" shape. Think of your fingers in the shape of a sideways "U", and you will understand how you have to grab this unit. One thing I did to get a more positive grip on the unit is I applied a couple of stips of 3M grip tape, the kind used on stairs to prevent you from slipping. (Also used on 1911 frontstraps.) This made for a much more positive puirchase when using the unit. I have successfully ranged 1000+ yards to trees and barns. I am not bashing this unit, it is a competent piece of equipment but it is by no means perfect. The optics are very clear and bright, as you would expect from something carrying the Bushnell "Elite" name. Do not be afraid, the glass is much better than the stuff found in the entry level binos and scopes Bushnell also sells.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bushnell Elite 1500 Laser Rangefinder with ARC
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Southern Iraq
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good product

Date:October 7, 2008
I purchased this for use when I get home but for now I;m getting familure with it and using it here for work I have used it so far to measure out just over 850 yds. the optics are better then I expcted. Everything is flat here in Iraq so I havent used the arc yet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bushnell Elite 1500 Laser Rangefinder with ARC
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: South Bend, WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1500 arc

Date:October 6, 2008
When shooting out past 500 yards the bullet hold over is off. And when rangeing items around 850 to 1000 it is hard to recieve a reading. And for items 1100 and above the sun almost has to be out to get a reflective reading.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bushnell Elite 1500 Laser Rangefinder with ARC
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Value

Date:October 6, 2008
I am satisfied with this product thus far.
Have not got a chance to take it hunting yet but carry it with me and am ranging objects in different light and situations. It can consistently range objects out to 500 yds, the furthest reading I have got is a bushline at 882 yds. Not the max rated but more than enough to cover all practical hunting situations.
I like the arc, although it requires that you sight in your rifle at 100 yds which is a bit of an adjustment from my usual Max point blank range method. However, I believe that this will work well with the ballistic plex reticle scope on my deer rifle.
More pros: 9v battery, quick response, brush mode seems to work well.
Cons: Believe that the 1000-1500 yd rating is a stretch, but I expected that. As long as its consistent to 500 yds that's plenty anyway, even for coyotes with the 22-250.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Bushnell Elite 1500 Laser Rangefinder with ARC
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Alberta, Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Elite 1500 with ARC

Date:September 23, 2008
I have been very impressed with just the scouting I have done with it so far and can't wait for the hunting season to open for me to fully use its capabilities.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bushnell Elite 1500 Laser Rangefinder with ARC
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: rio verde az.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

bushnell rangefinder

Date:September 11, 2008
I bought this for long range shooting to about 1500 yards. I can't get it to range out past 600 yards but I haven't tried it on metal targets yet. On deer and elk it rangrs out to 500 yards. so for deer or elk rifle or archary it would be perfect. I really like the optics very clear! This is what I'm most impressed with!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Bushnell Elite 1500 Laser Rangefinder with ARC
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Eastern Washington
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Easy to use

Date:December 25, 2007
Bought this for my Colorado Elk hunt this year. Unfortunatly didn't even get a chance to use it on that hunt because of the short shooting ranges. Used it on my whitetail deer hunt this year and shot a monster buck at 471 yards. Set it up for my .270 Weatherby Mag and it was dead on. Too long of a shot you say, get over it, not when you know exactly how far it is and have a steady rest. 4 stars because the battery compartment lid kept coming loose and my battery fell out several times.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Bushnell Elite 1500 Laser Rangefinder with ARC
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Nebraska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bushnell 1500

Date:September 10, 2007
Great product. Only problem is that it has trouble ranging out past 800 yds. Sometimes it will or not depending on conditions. Very seldom ranges past 1000 yds even in ideal conditions.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Bushnell Elite 1500 Laser Rangefinder with ARC
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Probably the best on the Market

Date:July 31, 2007
I tried several of the others and researched these for over a year before I bought one. I was tempted to go with the Leupold, but after trying both side by side, I thought this was the better unit. So far, it has been as advertised. The setup could be easier and the ballistic groupings don't always work out perfectly, but it has served well so far. I wish they would put a "custom" setting where one could input actual ballistic data and get true drop and compensated drop to display. I can not comment on the archery settings as I never even used them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Bushnell Elite 1500 Laser Rangefinder with ARC
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Delta, Co
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bushnell Elite 1500 Laser Rangefinder with ARC

Date:November 22, 2006
This product works great!! I especially like the way it works in low light situations!! I've used it primarily for rifle hunting and have tested the bullet drop compensator for accuracy and it works great out to 500 yards which is the furthest I've tested it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Bushnell Elite 1500 Laser Rangefinder with ARC
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Eugene, OR
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bushnell Elite 1500 Laser Rangefinder with ARC

Date:November 21, 2006
A long time fan of Bushnell optics, I was really impressed with the new Elite 1500 Laser Rangefinder with ARC. I used the Elite Rangefinder on five different hunts that encompassed 4 different states with varying terrain and under varying conditions.
I'm an eye glass wearer and the biggest impact the Elite Rangefinder brings to the table for me is the large, easy to see through Diopter. I tried several competitive rangefinders on the market as well as owned two previous Bushnell Yardage Pro Rangefinders and the Elite model is the best, by far, in obtaining fast target aquisition and providing crystal clear images while wearing my much needed eye glasses.
The Range Compensation feature works as advertised, and the easy to read CD instructions were accurate and simple to follow.
The reason for the "4" star rating, (instead of a "5" out of "5")relates to the overall size of the unit. I say this only because I've been spoiled using Bushnell's Yardage Pro rangefinders for the past several years. (Compact unit that fit's in your shirt pocket)
Even with the somewhat trivial size issue, I would buy this unit again, and again and again.
Congratulations to Bushnell for coming out with a product that will impress all who purchase this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Bushnell Elite 1500 Laser Rangefinder with ARC
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Leonardtown, MD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tons of Promise

Date:November 20, 2006
I have not been able to use this product as intended, but I have played around with it quite a bit. I have used it while bow hunting, but I'm not sold on its utility for that activity. Still, I am impressed with the clarity of the optics. I believe that when I get the chance to use it for the purpose that I intended, shooting deer beyond 100 yards, accurately.
I'm not crazy about the strap/string that you use to keep it attached to you. It would be nice if if have connections like a regular set of binoculars.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 91