Customer Reviews for Leupold Leupold RX-IV Rangefinder

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Leupold Leupold RX-IV Rangefinder

Leupold's RX series laser rangefinders are top performers. Some of the latest technology introduced in RX series models include 13 selectable reticles, thermometer, inclinometer, fold-down rubber eyecups, and accuracy within ?1 yard. The RX-IV has True Ballistic Range?(TBR?). This provides a firearm or bow shooter with the correct range when shooting up or down hills. A sophisticated ballistics algorithm is applied to give the corrected, accurate value. This makes uphill and downhill shot placement much more precise. Advanced software, linked to ballistic groupings within the system, allows shooters to utilize TBR in conjunction with their reticle to more precisely determine point of aim when shooting up or down hill. Digital Instrument Panel? processes signal information digitally in an easy-to-read format. The RX-IV has multicoated 8x28mm optics, TBR, a range from 3 to 1,500 yards, a high-precision digital gate compass, inclinometer and is 100% waterproof. Its compact size makes for easy carry and use in the field.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.431 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(51 Reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 51 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
7
1 Star
10
33 out of 51(65%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Leupold RX-IV Rangefinder
Review 1 for Leupold RX-IV Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Selmer, Tn
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Rangefinder

Date:October 27, 2009
Best one I have ever tried!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Leupold RX-IV Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Wyoming
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Leupold Range Finder

Date:September 30, 2009
The range finder is pretty decent. The true ballistic range feature is really nice, but there are a lot of features that you will never use (like the compass). Optics are pretty good and undercertain conditions it is hard to read the display.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Leupold RX-IV Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Utah
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Leapold RX-4 Review

Date:June 8, 2009
The only reason it got 1 star is because it is better the nothing. The farest it would go was 400 yards and that took several attempts. Try a Nikon 1200 or Swarovski 1500. The Nikon is a much clearer, easier to use, and cheaper. The Leapold should be taken off the shelves, it is that BAD, don't find out the hard way like me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Leupold RX-IV Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wilmington, NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Optics

Date:February 17, 2009
A pleasure to use=ease of adjustment. Has highest magnification of all rangefinders that I examined. Great piece of equipment.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Leupold RX-IV Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Leopold RX-IV

Date:December 27, 2008
I tried it out even after reading some of the reviews. All the negative ones where correct. The optics are terrible and the display is really hard to read. I had to preset it in doors so I could read the display and when I ranged something, most of the time I had to hold the rangefinder towards the sky to read the display. The farthest I could get it to range against a solid background was 800 yards and a tree was 650 yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Leupold RX-IV Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not Very Good

Date:September 29, 2008
I recently purchased an RX-IV to replace a unit that didn't have the ranging distance that I needed. I also wanted something that I could used in the dark due to job requirements. I had two major problems with this unit. One, at close range when I adjusted the diopter to where the target was sharp the readouts were blured (I have 20-15 vision). The second thing is the backlight for reading in low light must have been an after thought by Leupold. Surely they can do better than this. It is all but useless. I returned this unit and will look at others.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Leupold RX-IV Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Meridian Idaho hunting long open ranges.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

As good as you get!

Date:August 13, 2008
This is an excellent product and works superbly. I have tried all the other range finders on the open cattle ranges and find this one is the best. The only backdraws are: At longer ranges you must hold on target steadily (after releasing button) until reading appears. It helps to have a tripod. Like all range finders, it works best in lower light as bright sunlight dilutes beam and reduces range at which it works. After sun down and before sun up I get good readings to well over 1200 yds. It is a complicated device but you must be smarter than the device. The manual could be better. A compact case with a hard outer shell and soft inner linning would be another improvement.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Leupold RX-IV Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: North Carolina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Leupold RX-IV Rangefinder

Date:July 28, 2008
An excellent product however I find that the actual ranging distance is quite a bit less than the 1500 yards advertised. The best I have been able to range on ANY SURFACE is just under 800 yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Leupold RX-IV Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ok for rifle, not so much for bow

Date:July 16, 2008
Although it is advertised for bow, it will not provide a reading in bow mode past 60 yards. This is by design and something I did not find out until reading the manual several times.
Does an acceptable job for rifle, but I really was hoping for more of an "all in one"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Leupold RX-IV Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Waterville, Maine
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Leupold RX-IV Rangefinder

Date:April 2, 2008
The rangefinder is great and takes a little time to get used to how it operates. The only problem I found was the instructional manual did not walk you through how to use it, instead it just explained the different features of the product and you had to figure out what you can and can not do with it. This is great for any precision shooters or even long range shooters. Overall a great product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Leupold RX-IV Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Four Corners region
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

long range shortfall

Date:March 20, 2008
Most of the features of the device, such as the compass, inclinometer and horizontal-distance readout, worked well and were ideal for my particular situation; the ranging function itself, however, was disappointing in its limitations. On an ideal target (white metal building, sunny day, horizontal shot nearly perpendicular to wall surface) it would not acquire the target at 600 paces using even the minimum programmed parameters such as LOS and TBR. Also the temperature function was for all practical purposes useless, offering what appeared to be an average reading between ambient temp and my hand temp. It would, for me, represent the ideal device if they would remove the thermometer and ballistic tables(I know my own weapon's trajectory) and tweak the remaining features(notably range) to operate to advertised capacity. Maybe someday...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Leupold RX-IV Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Engineering degree required

Date:January 28, 2008
I have purchased many Leupold products and have always been pleased. This range finder broke that string. I am sure it would work fine if you are smart enough to figure out how to make it work. I tried for 2 hours with the instruction book in hand and could get nowhere. My wife, a graduate engineer, sensed my frustration and also tried. She too gave up. I returned the Leupold and purchased a top of the line Bushnell range finder. It took all of 10 minutes max to get comfortable with it and use it along with all of its features flawlessly.Not a user friendly or intuitive Leupold range finder.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Leupold RX-IV Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Central New York area
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Item

Date:January 15, 2008
Wasn't able to use the range finder for hunting but have used it for mine and my brother's bow to see how far out the targets are. I also set up 100 yard targets for my rifles.
works great for me, but would like it to be a little more user friendly. Instructions are helpful...but who wants to go thru that. (Guy thing) As a 1st time user, I should have purchased a less complicated unit. A little disappointed in the temperature reading, it seems to include your own personal body temp. as you hold the unit (from your hands).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Leupold RX-IV Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A much needed tool for hunting.

Date:December 12, 2007
I purchased this product last year when it first came out. At first I was a little frustrated with all of the settings and it seemed overwhelming. I previously used a very simple point and shoot rangefinder. I know other guys who have had the same issue, however take the time to READ the instruction manual and you will realize how easy and efficient this product is. For those of you who are Snipers/Marksman Observers this is a priceless investment. Highly recommended.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Leupold RX-IV Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: A rural area of central California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Fun with my new rangefinder

Date:December 9, 2007
I never thought I would be writing a poor review on a Leupold product, as I have several Leupold scopes that I would never exchange for any other make.
I recently purchased the RX-IV Rangefinder thinking that I was buying one of the finest on the market. I read the reviews that this review will be among, and believed that I was making the correct decision. I brushed aside the ones with less than a good rating, thinking that those persons just were not approaching the usage right.
When I got the unit the first problem was which direction does the positive part of the battery go into the unit. The directions only tell you where the battery goes, not the polarity direction. All of this may sound stupid, but when dealing with electronics as expensive as this, it might be possible to damage it. I finally got that done and powered up the unit. I read the instruction booklet and found it to be of little use, other than familarity with what to expect when I looked through the view finder. Well, because I wear glasses and found that the view area was way too small to see anything usefull, I had to remove my glasses to begin the setup of the unit. This set me to thinking, if I were out hunting with gloves and coat and saw a deer, I would have to remove my glasses and put them somewhere handy, range the animal, get my glasses back out, put them on to take my shot. Note, that a scope has plenty of eye relief for glasses. I also noticed that the back light feature is way to dim and does not offer much contrast to read by.
My main gripe on the operation of the unit is that it is way to complex to use. I realize now, that all I really need is a very simple rangefinder that ranges accurately and provide a narrow field of view, to allow ranging long shots without interference from foreground objects.
Obviously, I find this unit unusable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Leupold RX-IV Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: British Columbia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product

Date:November 12, 2007
The instructions leave a bit to be desired...they assume experience not everybody would have. After struggling through them...and finally "getting it" I am very impressed with the Rangefinder and all the things it can do.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Leupold RX-IV Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mpls, MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Like any other electronic device

Date:November 9, 2007
I have seen a lot of bad reviews for this range finder, I have to tell you, everything seems to work just fine for me.....however I am a bow hunter and using distances beyond 100 yards, well that is something I probably will never use. From what I have read, this is everyones biggest problem, long range distances. It also acquisitions very fast at 100 yards and less. The other complaint was under low light it was difficult to read, well they have an illumination button just for low light, I am guessing that most people do not discover that feature. It is a bit complex to run, but no different than a cell phone, once you start pushing buttons it becomes pretty simple to operate. I did have to read the manual, but more just to understand the terminology, not for programing. I still have not played with the advance options....who knows what lies there......
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Leupold RX-IV Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Medford, OR
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Rangefinder

Date:November 4, 2007
Had a Bushnell 1000 prior to purchasing a RXIV. The RX is more difficult to figure out than the Bushnell but after taking the time to read the manual and getting to know ALL the options on the RXIV I couln't believe how well it worked. As far as ranging the RX is about the same as the yardage pro 1000. I really like the TBR options on the RXIV. can range trees easily up to 800 yards. It needs to be very reflective to get out to 1500. If you purchase this rangefinder be sure and read the manual before you start playing around with it. There are sooooo many cool options!! I shoot over 500 yards often and can't wait to use this little tool to range my next kill.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Leupold RX-IV Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: N. Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Leupold RX-IV

Date:September 18, 2007
I needed a new long-distance rangefinder after my old Leica LRF 1200 was damaged beyond repair in a mishap. The Leupold RX-IV rangefinder has some cool bells & whistles, like easily switching between meters or yards readout, and the TBR feature displaying MOA corrections. Unfortunately those features do not make up for a lack of ranging capability.
In perfect conditions, I cannot range two-story houses at 800 yards, and cannot range cows, horses, trees, etc. beyond about 500 yards. The unit will range reflective highway signs to 1000 yards (but not 1500 yds), even fairly small ones, but that's of little use in the field. Additionally, because of the slow computation times, a false range is often displayed if the reticle is not held exactly on target until the distance is displayed. This effect is lessened with the 1st TGT and Last TGT features, but is still more pronounced at longer distances.
Another thing I don't care for but could live with: the black reticle/display system is difficult to read in low light conditions, and the blue backlight feature barely provides enough contrast to read the display.
If you're a hunter/rifleman shooting to 600 yards, this rangefinder will probably be OK, but it is simply not adequate when shooting to 1000 yards. Expect to get reliable ranging at about 1/2 the advertised distance, and expect to get a lot of non-reads after the normal 2 or 3 seconds of computation time. I've seen Leupold moving toward a more "affordable" market with new products over the past few years. As the saying goes, you get what you pay for and, sadly, this rangefinder appears to be one of those products. It simply will not range out to advertised distances. I'm going back to Leica for reliable long distance ranging without the frills.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Leupold RX-IV Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Liverpool Pa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Leupold RX-1V

Date:September 13, 2007
I"m a loyal Leupold rifle scope user since 1973, I own at least 15 . I bought a Leupold RX-1V in July of 2007, in great anstipation I tried the range finder soon as I arrived home, but to no avail, it would not read over 400 yards, it is to read out to 1500 yards. I called the techincal support group at Leupold and a technican talk me throght the setting and it still would not work. I sent the range finder to Leupold at my own expense, in a couple of weeks I recieved another brand new Leupold RX-1V , the second Leupold range finder also would not range over 400 yards or even change the menu, I called the Leupold technical support group again, talked to another technican, He said to send it back attention his name, I again mailed the second range finder to leupold at my own expense, after waiting, and numerous phone calls I recieved a third Leupold RX-1V , and it would not rangeover 400 yards, or change the menu again, frustrated I took the range finder back to Cabelas and bough a Leica 900 and it works.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 51