Customer Reviews for Leupold Leupold RX-II Rangefinder

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Leupold Leupold RX-II Rangefinder

Leupold's RX series laser rangefinders are top performers. Some of the latest technology introduced in RX series models include 13 selectable reticles, thermometer, inclinometer, fold-down rubber eyecups and accuracy within ?1 yard. The RX-II has True Ballistic Range?(TBR?). This provides a firearm or bow shooter with the correct range when shooting up or down hills. A sophisticated ballistics algorithm is applied to give the corrected, accurate value. This makes uphill and downhill shot placement much more precise. Advanced software, linked to ballistic groupings within the system, allows shooters to utilize TBR in conjunction with their reticle to more precisely determine point of aim when shooting up or down hill. Digital Instrument Panel? processes signal information digitally in an easy-to-read format. Compact size makes for easy one-hand operation. Available: Gray/Black, Mossy Oak? Obsession?.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.925 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(227 Reviews) 227
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 227 reviews
5 Stars
124
4 Stars
38
3 Stars
19
2 Stars
16
1 Star
30
169 out of 227(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Leupold RX-II Rangefinder
Review 21 for Leupold RX-II Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Lakewood, WA.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Leupold RX-2 rangefinder

Date:September 16, 2007
I have heard great reviews about this product, so I purchased one before a ten day hunt in Alberta, Canada. On my first morning I tried to range a 4x4 elk at about 85 yards and could not get any readings at all. So I flung an arrow and missed. A few days later I am hunting for whitetail only to have the same problem. Both animals were slightly quartering away from me, so I wondered if this might not be part of the problem. My buddy then tells me to try his rangefinder which is another topnotch rangefinder. When I was comparing the two at the exact same objects sometimes mine would read it and sometimes it would not. His would pick up a range every single time. So of coarse the day I got back Washington I went back to the store where I had purchased it and got a refund. I now have the rangefinder he was using and have not had the slightest bit of a problem.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Leupold RX-II Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

very dissapointed

Date:September 11, 2007
I had the rangefinder for about 10 minutes before it broke. I had a hunting trip 3 days later. They could not replace the unti but they did send me a loaner. I used it for my trip and found it quite frustrating. There are so many modes and if you get in the wrong one, you spend time looking at icons instead of horns. I sent the broken one back to Cabelas for a refund.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Leupold RX-II Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Woodbridge, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Inconsistent and inaccurate readings

Date:August 28, 2007
I ordered my first RXII and it gave inconsistent and inaccurate readings over measured distances, so I ordered a second one and sent the first one back. But the second one was also inconsistent (i.e. - it sometimes gave different readings on the same object, sometimes as much as 2 to 3 yards different) so I sent it back as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Leupold RX-II Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: New Jersey NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Leupold RX-II Rangefinder

Date:July 24, 2007
I can not believe how bad this thing worked I have owned Meany Leupold scopes and loved them but I could not get this rangefinder to range things as big as a truck at 50 yards and it is very complicated to use I bought a LEICA 900 best thing I ever bought for range finding hands down!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Leupold RX-II Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Salmon Idaho
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

RX-2 Rangefinder

Date:May 12, 2007
I am very unhappy with this product! so unhappy I returned it! It will not range any target under 150 yds, and will give false readings at >150 yds!! The menu is difficult to operate and very time consuming. Leupold needs to go back to the drawing board. I am replacing it with a Bushnell Legend, mean while I am using the big ole Nikon, Big but it works!!
Elk101
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Leupold RX-II Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Patterson , Georgia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Leupold RX-II

Date:April 2, 2007
I recently purchased the RX-II for 3-D archery. I practiced with the range finder in the yard and enjoyed its easy to use functions. Once I got to the range and shoot during a know yardage shoot were I could use my range finder, I soon found that any shadows or colors other than white or tan would make the RX-II read anywhere from two to three yards long. Some targets would not read at all. I am VERY disappointed. I have long since believed in the Leupold name and cannot believe that the RX-II could not perform side by side with the Nikon 600 range finder. The Nikon outperformed the Leupold by every standard on the range. Where the RX-II would not read, the Nikon did. Where the RX-II was off in distance, the Nikon was dead on. Sorry guy's, I'm switching to Nikon.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Leupold RX-II Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Shawnee, Kansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Buy a LICA instead

Date:March 28, 2007
"This range finder is almost unusable. Besides being excessively complex to adjust, it simply does not provide ranges when the temperatures are cold. Before you buy it, walk outside and check if you can get readings on something other than large objects. This range finder is such a pile of junk I no longer carry it in my bag. It fails at 40 yards to register a range and almost never returns a range out to 300 yards." My new range finder is a LICA CLR 1200 from Cabelas and I love it. The optics on the LICA are second to none.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Leupold RX-II Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Brookings, Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Very Disappointing

Date:February 4, 2007
I purchased 3 of this unit, for my dad, brother and self. Tried using during antelope season in the desert. When in the bright sunlight, wouldnt pick up a deer at 30 yards. It would range the fence post she was scratching against, and the sage brush clumps, but not her. Early morning or dusk they were ok, still not what I expect from a brand that I have always trusted. Tried again during deer season, with same results. Luckily, Cabelas has an excellent return policy. Going to try either Leica, or Swarovski this time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Leupold RX-II Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Leupold RXII Rangefinder

Date:December 19, 2006
This range finder is almost unusable. Besides being excessively complex to adjust, it simply does not provide ranges when the chips are down. Before you buy it, walk outside and check if you can get readings on something other than truck sized objects at any distance. This range finder is so finicky I no longer carry it. It fails at 40 yards to register a range and almost never returns a range out to 300 yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Leupold RX-II Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Apache Junction, AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Leupold RX-II Rangefinder

Date:November 20, 2006
I found the Leupold RS-II Rangefinder would not range objects correctly on either the rifle or bow setting. I have talked to fellow hunters and they have also had the same problem. I would not recommend this product until Leupold works out the bugs.
Thank-you
muledeer2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Leupold RX-II Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Bryson City NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not the same Leupold I'm used to.

Date:February 4, 2009
I bought theRX_II thinking it would be a good rifle/bow rangefinder. Sadly, its not. The buttons are too loud for bowhunting, my primary concern. The TBR doesn't work at all at closer ranges (150 yds or less). And the programming is a nightmare. (tons of useless features like a thermonter). I think I'll just send my old Bushnell 600 back for repairs or replacement. Oh yea, It doesn't read on anything flat black. Not good on my black hole target much less the Russian Boar I missed because the rangefinder couldn't read it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Leupold RX-II Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: New Mexico
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

To much noise

Date:January 14, 2009
If you are a bow hunter this product is'nt for you, unless you hunt deer that have bad hearing. I contacted Leupold about the noisy operation, They did'nt seem very concerned.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Leupold RX-II Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Denton, Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Poor at Long Range (over 250 yrds)

Date:November 30, 2008
I am disapointed in the RX-II long range ability. It will not range deer past 250 yrds, and will not range cows past 350 yrds. It was hit and miss at ranging large oak trees at 400 yrds. I could not get it to range large barns past 416 yards. I hunt with a 300 Wthby, which shoots flat from 0 to 300 yards. I only need to range deer from 300 yrds to 600 yrds. This unit is useless past 250 yrds on deer. Very disapointed! Waste of money for hunters with magnum rifles!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Leupold RX-II Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: georgia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

rx-ii rangefinder

Date:August 28, 2008
i seem to get odd readings. i bowhunt and, when siting in my bow, i would shoot at 30 yards, for example. i might get readings of 27, 28, 30, and 31. i would just use the middle number. but then, i would step off another 5-6 yards and still get a 30 yard reading. i don't know about y'all, but when i'm bowhunting and i get a 30 yard reading, i want it to be 30 yards, not 35 or 36. i tried new batteries but still had the same problem. i love leupold products, but i wouldn't recommend this one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Leupold RX-II Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: SOUTHOLD, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

moose hunter

Date:October 15, 2007
temperature inaccurate, changes quickly.
range often does not record.
disappointing considering the cost
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Leupold RX-II Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Leupold rangefinder

Date:September 10, 2007
I used this rangefinder on a sheep hunt in Alaska. It would not measure more than 350 yards on large rocks, which should be reflective enough for readings twice as far away. Sometimes I could trick the unit to getting slightly more distant readings by measuring rocks closer than 350 yards, and then picking progressively farther rocks. I never got a reading beyond 410 yards, regardless of what I did. I'd recommend buying the RX-III or IV if you are using a centerfire rifle. The RX-II is best for bow or blackpowder use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Leupold RX-II Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: New Boston, NH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Works good

Date:August 20, 2007
I like the range finder and it works just as described. I guess my dissapointment comes because with todays technology this is a very primative piece of equiment for a lot of money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Leupold RX-II Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Pa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

rangefinder

Date:July 30, 2007
found it difficulf to use, sent it back
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Leupold RX-II Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Faribault Mn
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

start over

Date:June 5, 2007
If you are looking for something easy to use stay away from this one.I spent over 2 days trying to get it set up to work for me and I am not sure yet if it will in the field under presure it is very complicated.A lot of cash for the hassel.
Leupuld needs to pull this off the shelf and rework it or start over. I may return it yet...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Leupold RX-II Rangefinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Ca
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

RX2

Date:April 23, 2007
This rangefinder doesn't preform to the specs that are listed. while they say it can range from 10-700 yards it is almost impossible for it to range past 400. I called leupold and wanted them to check it out, and after talking to them the tec told me that thats how they perform. He said that the 700 is the max range on a reflective target, and I told him that I had been ranging an airstream alluninum trailer down the road at 625 yards (measured by a different range finder) and the rx2 wouldn't range it. The guy actually told me that the big shinny tailer down the street probably wasn't reflective enough! Unless you're hunting mirrors in the wild this isn't the range finder that you want for long shots. If your bowhunting it is a good light short range range finder which is what I've had to dedicated mine to.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 227