Customer Reviews for Barska Barska Varmint Riflescope

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Barska Barska Varmint Riflescope

When precision is a critical factor, the Varmint scope from Barska supplies the advantage with long-range and deadly accurate targeting. The large objective lens increases light transmission. Couple that with multi-coated optics and these scopes provide superior clarity. Engineered with a focusing objective for parallax correction and easy-grip high turrets, it's perfect for varmint hunting or long-range tactical shooting. Black matte finish. 1/8"-MOA click adjustments and 1" tube. 100% waterproof and fogproof.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.214 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
3
1 Star
8
17 out of 28(61%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Barska Varmint Riflescope
Review 1 for Barska Varmint Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Central utah
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Replacing!

Date:January 4, 2010
I've had the 4-16x50 for 2 years now. The clarity seems fine to me, but I recently took a long trip to do a coyote hunt, had one at 60-70 yards just stand there. Missed it, using shooting stix and all. I understand people miss coyotes. I took another trip, hit one about 16" to the left (he was broad side facing right) I aimed at his shoulder, hit him in the back leg (artery shot thankfully). So I recently sighted it in. Couldn't hit any thing even at 50 yards! I finally relized I was about 14-20" to the left. I checked my rings (steel, made by warne in the usa good quality I think), they were tight. I store my gun in a hard case in the top of my closet, it doesn't bounce around my truck or anything. I decided the cheap scope was just way off! I'm selling this asap! It wasn't worth missing even once. I'm going $200+. I'm relieved (well..sorta) to see other people having the same problem.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Barska Varmint Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Orlando, FL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Barska Varmint

Date:December 20, 2009
I purchased this as possible solution on my M1A, but after several attempts, I cannot maintain zero. Also, this scope is blurry, not clear at all after you go past 10x, this renders the adjustment range 10x-32x totally useless.
I took this scope off and dropped it into a drawer for possible trading material. Time to buy another Zeiss or Leopold. Buy the good stuff the first time, don't try to cut corners for the optics if the shot is going to important.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Barska Varmint Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

cheap

Date:April 24, 2009
I HAVE NEVER USED ANY SCOPE IN THIS PRICE RANGE AND NEVER WILL AGAIN HORRIBLE SCOPE WILL N0T HOLD ZERO ON ANY CENTERFIRE RIFLE I TRIED .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Barska Varmint Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Youngstown, New York
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

barska 6-24x42

Date:February 5, 2009
Bought this for my savage 93R17 17HMR. It works very well on this gun. The ajustments are crisp and precise. with a federal 17 grain tnt round it holds 1/2 inch groups at 100 yards easily and some 1/2 inch group at 200 yards. One freak 200 yard group was 3 shots in 1/4 inch. The mil-dot reticle makes holdover and windage much easier and precise. While not quite as clear as a leupold or a sarvoski, it is still pretty clear and doesn't have the extreme fuzzyness others complain about. The adjustable objective works well and the range settings are spot on. Overall the scope is not as high quality as a high end bushnell or leupold, but is equal to the bushnel baner line and is an excellant buy for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Barska Varmint Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: York,SC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Barska 6-24x42 rifle scope

Date:January 14, 2009
Vary Clear at low power but at high power 16 and up very foggy and I could not see the target, You get what you pay for this is so true!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Barska Varmint Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tacoma Wa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

scope use

Date:January 5, 2009
i think the clarity is great and it is easy to use even for a beginner like me i would recomend this scope to my friends at any time they need good quality optic for there rifles
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Barska Varmint Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Wyoming
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Blurry at dusk spend a little extra

Date:January 2, 2009
I have had the Barska varmint rifle scope on my Tikka 22-250 for about 2 years now and I have noticed that it is very blurry in fact sometimes you can not see through it at dusk. I would recommend spending a little extra money and buy a Nikon or Leopold if you are going to use this scope on a hunting rifle. this scope is going to go on a .22 now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Barska Varmint Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Barska 6.5-20x50mm AO varmint scope in target dot

Date:December 16, 2008
The scope is not horrible, but not great either. It's optics are very clear and the zoom with adjustable objective is clear all the way through 20x. The hand adjustable turrets for windage and elevation are easy to work with and reasonably accurate. It's a good price. The eye relief wasnt very good and when zoomed in the bell on the eye piece gets in the way. On my gun the scope ran out of adjustment and shoots low when using the scope.
The scope is reasonable, but i wouldnt put it on anything bigger than a 22 mag, 17 hmr, or possibly a 22 hornet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Barska Varmint Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: No. Va.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

barska scope

Date:November 4, 2008
Great price, good value. Exceptional quality!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Barska Varmint Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Kansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barska Varmint Riflescope

Date:October 6, 2008
OK, but point of impact changes with magnification.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Barska Varmint Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Gilbert AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Near perfect for little investment

Date:July 8, 2008
I bought one of these to replace a duplex reticle scope on my savage rimfire that i shoot smallbore silhouette with. I didnt want to spen the big $$$ to see if the target dot would make a big difference in my scores, so the Barska was a logical option. Great clarity, and seemed to stay bright and clear through all power levels after initial mounting. Target dot is very sharp and doesnt have any fuzziness when focused, and being 1/8 mil, doesnt cover a lot of the target. For the money i spent on this scope, I got a 3-5 animal improvement over a regular duplex scope in a 60 rd match, and that is SWEET. The only reason i dont give this scope 5 stars is because the turrets are not super accurate. When i do the math it should be 9 clicks up to change point of impact from 75 to 100 meters, and its actually 11 clicks. Not that big a deal seeing how it is repeatable at that, but annoying none the less. Huge plus is that i didnt spend $500+ on a sightron that does the same thing. Great scope for those testing a different reticle for silhouette shooting, and AWESOME for varminters.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Barska Varmint Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Oxford, MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great For the Price

Date:June 7, 2008
This is a great scope, I have it mounted on my 22-250 and am using it to bench shoot at targets and varmints. Dead on shots every time holds 0 great. Real clear. I have looked through some leopold scopes that were a tad clearer but at les then a 10th of the price this is good enough.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Barska Varmint Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

6-20x50

Date:February 25, 2008
Not worth the money. I used this scope on my .223 rem. at first it was really gouping tight at 100 yrds. after about 120 rds. it would not hold zero and could not get to group again. i know it not my gun due to i put a mil-dot bsa on and grouping better than this scope ever thought about, also could not get to focus past 16x. dont waste your time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Barska Varmint Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Goldsboro,NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Cheep scope

Date:February 20, 2008
I would rather use iron sights than take my chances with this scope.At 100 yds scope would not hit target but one time out of 12 shots.I knew it was a cheap scope but i did not think it would be this bad.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Barska Varmint Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Redding, Ca
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great scope

Date:February 7, 2008
I have bought Barska optics in the past and they are great.
I got the 6.5-20 power with target dot, mounted it on my 204 and love it!
My friends thought it was a very high dollar scope and couldn't believe the price when I told them.
You can really zoom in on objects and with the 50mm lens it has great light gathering.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Barska Varmint Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pennsylvania
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barska scope

Date:January 7, 2008
I used this rifle scope this deer season and the performance was what I expected from a fine scope, I want to get another one soon for I have several rifles,I have recommended it to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Barska Varmint Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

barska varmint riflescope

Date:August 31, 2007
i am really pleased with this scope easy to zero in and good optics
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Barska Varmint Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Eastern Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barska 8x32 varmint riflescope

Date:August 27, 2007
I purchased this scope to put on a 300 Win Mag in order to reach out and touch a varmint. I wanted the greater magnification power because I am hoping to make a 600 + yard shot. I am really just playing around with it and have no plans to do it consistently so that is why I purchased this scope instead of a $1000 scope. The price was very reasonable but I was a little concerned about the quality just based on the reasonable price. This weekend I mounted the scope and was making a 550 yard shot at a target my groups were consistent on a normal sheet of paper 8x11. I was very happy with the clearness of the optics and the magnification. Overall i am very satisfied with the quality compared to the price. Now I just need to be able to hold it steady enough at the 600 yard range to make the shot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Barska Varmint Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Obstructed view

Date:July 30, 2007
poor machining plastic flash in tube obstructs view
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Barska Varmint Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: pennsylvania
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

target scope

Date:July 16, 2007
very good scope perfect for long range shooting. varmints don't stand a chance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 28