Customer Reviews for Simmons Simmons® Prohunter® Riflescope

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Simmons Simmons® Prohunter® Riflescope

Lightweight and deadly accurate scope with high-quality optical glass and multicoated optics for the brightest and sharpest images. HydroShield&#8482 lens coating keeps lens clear in all weather conditions. QTA eyepiece delivers a constant eye relief of up to 4-1⁄4" throughout the entire magnification range. TrueZero adjustment system. One-piece tube construction.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
7 out of 10(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Simmons® Prohunter® Riflescope
Review 1 for Simmons® Prohunter® Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NH
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Scope for the money

Date:August 27, 2010
Scope choices and opinions are subjective. I bought one of these scopes after having had the previous model ProHunter on my muzzle loader (still lives there after 8 years with no trouble). I have had one of these Master Series scopes for 3-4 years on a Ruger M77 308. It's a great scope. Light weight. Good optics quality and trouble free. No issues with eye relief or failure.
I would recommend this scope to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Simmons® Prohunter® Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not worth buying

Date:November 30, 2009
i bought 2 simmons scopes , one for my 25-06, and one for my 22-250, both light recoil rifels. the eye relief is so bad i had to alter my way or hold the guns! at 3 inches theres very little field of view! i wont buy another!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Simmons® Prohunter® Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central Valley of California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Simmons Prohunter 3-9x40 rifle scope

Date:November 11, 2009
I have three of these scopes. One is on my Ruger Mini-30, 7.62x39mm, and after getting a good trigger job by a local gunsmith, shoots 2" groups at 100 yards with Wolf 122 gn HPS, which is impressive for a Mini-30. I have another on my Marlin 1895 .45-70, and not only does it survive the recoil, but it helps the Marlin (with a slightly heavy trigger pull) cut 2 1/2" five shot groups at 100 yards. I took my biggest California wild boar (325 lb field dressed) with this rifle and scope combination, and dropped her clean at 75 yards: DRT, dead right there. The third example is mounted on my Remington Model 760 BDL .30-06, and that rifle has taken two California whitetail deer and one elk in Idaho using 180 grain Sierra bullets. The combination routinely surprises folks I shoot with at my local range, as they cannot accept that a pump action rifle can be accurate; it just happens that the Rem 760 is a bolt action rifle with a free floating barrel, that just happens to have a slide to cycle the bolt. That rifle and scope cuts cloverleafs at 100 yards. I have several other hunting rifles that I regularly take into the field, all with much more expensive scopes (Leupold, Redfield, Weaver) and I cannot find any significant increase in scope performance with the more expensive scopes. Simmons is now my "go to" scope for a new rifle. I am ordering a new Simmons for my Remington 700 CDL .300 Rem Ultra Mag, as the Barska scope I mounted on it did not survive 20 rounds of this extremely heavy recoiling rifle. We will see how it works out when I get back from my elk hunt in N.E. Oregon mountains. I'm sold on Simmons. One note: when weather closes in to where any scope is plagued by eternal moisture, my back up rifle is a 1953 vintage Winchester Model 94 .30-30 with a Lyman receiver sight; that rifle has always brought home meat, even under the worst conditions.
Beauhooligan
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Simmons® Prohunter® Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: WV
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Simmons ProHunter 2-7 X 32

Date:August 12, 2009
I have 5 of these scopes. 4 are on Marlin levers, 2 35 Remingtons, 1 30-30, and 1 444. The other is on an older Remington 760 in 35 Remington. The scopes are very clear, easy to adjust, hold zero, and take the recoil of the 444 with stout 300 gr loads with no problem. I am going to purchase one more to put on another Marlin 30-30.
I would recommend the 2-7X, and would certainly consider the 3-9X for one of my 30-06's. I think it's a great scope for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Simmons® Prohunter® Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Rochester, WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Had bad luck with master series scope.

Date:January 22, 2008
Read good reviews about Simmons Master Series Scope so I put a Prohunter on my 338. Win. Mag. It didn't last the first elk season I used it ! Eight and nine power settings got blurry then the inside fogged solid, won't try that scope again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Simmons® Prohunter® Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Mid Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Simmons Prohunter 3-9X40

Date:April 12, 2007
This is not the scope they advertise.I have other lower priced scopes that are clearer and brighter than This scope.the field of view is terrible for a WA scope and the clarity on the higher power is awfull.Not for me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Simmons® Prohunter® Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Medical Lake, Wa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Prohunter 3-9X40

Date:March 16, 2007
This is a good scope in my opinion. While not as bright as my Simmons Whitetail Classic, I've found that it still gathers sufficient shooting light at dawn and dusk. The fast focus eyepiece allows for a quick, crisp focus regardless of the magnification setting or range. The elevation and windage screws are finger adjustable, audible, precise and accurate. The truplex reticle is bright and crisp. It's a classy looking scope, too. My .30-06 shoots consistent 1-2"groups at 100 yards with this scope, plenty accurate for the woods and brush I take it into.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Simmons® Prohunter® Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Houston, DE
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Better than others

Date:February 21, 2007
All my rifles, shotguns and black powder guns have this scope. I recommend this scope to all, well worth it. I have tight groups and no problems with ajustments. I shoot at a 300 yd range witha 45-70 and have a 1 inch group. This scope rocks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Simmons® Prohunter® Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Temple, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Why spend more? This thing Rocks!

Date:November 19, 2006
I priced this scope next to quite a few other "high" end rifle scopes and bought it without hesitation. Seemed much more comfortable than even some of the most sought after big dog brands. Very Clear! The power is very easy to adjust, and great for getting a good bright look.
It obviously does the job right. 2 days after putting this thing on my Rem. 700 30.06, I dropped the biggest buck of my life!
I'll put this scope on anything I shoot!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Simmons® Prohunter® Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ht

Date:November 8, 2006
this brand is good
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.