Customer Reviews for NIKON Nikon Buckmasters Series Riflescopes

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

NIKON Nikon Buckmasters Series Riflescopes

The Buckmaster Series riflescopes feature sleek styling with an innovative ultramatte finish. Nikon's BDC reticle gives you the edge you need to determine the correct hold point before taking the shot. Designed for use with most centerfire cartridges, the BDC provides reliable aiming points out to 500 yds. after sighting in at 100 yds. Nikon matched high-resolution lenses with light capabilities up to 92% for bright, clear images. These Buckmaster scopes also feature 1/4"-MOA positive-click (the 6-18x40 has 1/8-MOA), hand-turnable recticle adjustments, a new fast-focus eyepiece and Nikon's full-lifetime warranty. Like all other Nikon scopes, the Buckmasters are 100% waterproof, fogproof and shockproof for a lifetime of hard use. Specific models feature the BDC reticle.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.742 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(357 Reviews) 357
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 357 reviews
5 Stars
297
4 Stars
43
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
5
1 Star
5
344 out of 357(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nikon Buckmasters Series Riflescopes
Review 41 for Nikon Buckmasters Series Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: NW, MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

alright scope

Date:January 14, 2010
I have the 4.5-14x42 model on my 223. It works pretty well. It seems like my head has to be in the exact right spot to see a full picture. This is not an issue with my Leupold. But I guess you get what you pay for. This is still a decent scope for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Nikon Buckmasters Series Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: TN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Scope

Date:January 11, 2010
Scope is as good as you expect from Nikon. My only concern is the Field of View. While the 40mm is good, I would probably spend the extra $50 for the 50mm.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Nikon Buckmasters Series Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Fargo, ND
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nikon Buckmasters 4.5-14x

Date:November 19, 2009
Good optical power and clarity for the price. I have a Leupold VX-II and would give the edge to the VX-II in low light situations but I was looking to save the $50 and try the Buckmaster. The scope is great for the long range shots needed in the open landscape of ND during deer hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Nikon Buckmasters Series Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Missouri Hunter
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

6-18x40 bdc

Date:October 4, 2009
This is my third buckmaster scope,the first with the BDC retical & side focus abjective. I mounted it on a Remington R-25 .308 This is definitely a big game only scope at extended ranges the circles are difficult to work with on cyotes at 400 plus yards but is possible.This scope does take away the guess work for bullet drop
i can hold a three inch group at 400 yards using the BDC Which is the bottom of the second circle for my hand loads. The side focus markings come up short coinciding with correct yardage.This scope has a lot of potential. If seriously considering buying one i would take a good hard look at the sight in and ranging instructions
provided.If you are not willing to spend the time & ammunition that is is going to be required,you will never know the full potential of this scope. I would have given this scope five stars had it not been for the questioable side focus graduation markings
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Nikon Buckmasters Series Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nikon Buckmaster

Date:August 24, 2009
I bought the 4.5x14x40SF and put it on my model 70. I took it to the range on a partly cloudy day to zero it in and was pleasantly suprised. The optical quality was good and crisp for a scope in this price range. I thought that I might need a Monach to get the quality of optics that I wanted, but I'm happy with the Buckmaster. I zeroed the scope quickly without any issues and shot a couple of boxes using various magnifications. No problems. Thinking about upgrading my Prostaff on my .17 to a Buckmaster after using this scope, big difference.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Nikon Buckmasters Series Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good long/short range scope

Date:August 3, 2009
I chose the mil-dot 4.5x-14x model. This is a decent long range scope so long as you limit yourself to about 500yds with a .308Win. Its limited 50MOA max adjustment necessitates an angled base beyond that range,and possibly a bit closer if your sight in takes up too much elevation adjustment. The mil dots appear to be true at 12x per the instructions-this is well marked on the power ring. As with all Nikon Mildot scopes,it comes with a coupon for a nearly free MilDot Master range estimator,which is nice. The optics appear to be very clear with good eye relief,and no obvious parallax issues when the focus is adjusted properly. This is quite handy for extended range shooting. Adjustments are true,though I haven't used click adjustments for shooting,choosing to use the mildots for aiming points based on my fixed zero.
My only real complaint is the small 40mm lens size for most of the Buckmaster series. I see no reason they can't use a larger 44mm+ lens,to allow a larger exit pupil at the higher magnifications,as in the Monarch series. While 40mm is obviously adequate for 3-9x daylight use,it suffers in fading light at 14x.
Summary: It's a great compromise scope for long and short range hunting and target shooting. It's not as good as a dedicated long range scope like the Monarch X,nor as good at low light as a huge 50mm lower powered optic,but it does both reasonably well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Nikon Buckmasters Series Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Janesville, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent

Date:May 9, 2009
The 4.5-15X40 Buckmaster has fit the bill for me with BDC Reticle for .22 Silhouette shooting at our club. This scope does not break the bank, but yet has fine optics quality you'd expect. My max shooting distance is 100 meters which with my own graph at different distances to compensate for drop/elevation, the BDC reticle fits the bill for me. The cross wind adjustment is by my feel and transposed on my 8-1/2 X 11 graph left or right of the "O" marks. I will be joining the Barnyard Benchrest 50 yd group this season to see if I will enjoy. .22 rifle, American Made, w max scope power 6X. I am not a hunter but with this BDC scope, you have markings to determine elevation/drop you have predetermined at certain distances with NO wind as factor. This was the purpose for me buying this scope and not costing a bundle.
Excellent scope for MY application/preference. I also have Nikon's 3-9X40 ProStaff which is on other rifle for 50 yd Barnyard benchrest which allows 6X only for that competition, but have for other multi purposes that may arise. Again my preference with great optics w/o breaking the bank. Money left over for a .22 pistol, anyone?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Nikon Buckmasters Series Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Alberta, Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Clear; a little heavy

Date:April 15, 2009
This is a very clear and bright scope. I have it on a 6.5x55, and on a .280. I like how well it gathers light in very dim situations, and I like how the reticle is still visible in very low light situations. It is a bit on the heavy side, though. 16oz. Not a big deal to most people, but I like my guns to be as light as possible since I walk long distances when I hunt. I've compared it to 'fanicer' scopes costing a lot more $$ but this is just as clear and bright, even if it is about 5oz heavier.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Nikon Buckmasters Series Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

quality scope for a good price

Date:April 8, 2009
light gathering ,optic quality is excellent . I shot one of my tightest groups ever
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Nikon Buckmasters Series Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very nice scope

Date:December 3, 2008
I bought this scope at the last minute before going on a whitetail trip to Manitoba. My old scope fogged up the week before I left. Cabelas got me the scope fast and it mounted on my rifle with ease. Sighting it in only took a few minutes. In Canada I was hunting in 0 degree weather for 10 hours a day and the scope was flawless. No fogging or any other problems. Very clear. I shot two deer and hit them both exactly where I was aiming. I would recommend this scope to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Nikon Buckmasters Series Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Mikado, Mi
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nikon Buck masters rifle scope

Date:December 1, 2008
This is a very good deal on a reasonable priced riflescope. I compared this scope with my friends Kahles scope and we could not find any differences between the two scopes. I used this scope this fall during gun season and it worked flawlessly. would recommend to anyone wanting a top of the line scope. I do not hunt from a blind so the scope was subject to the temp and moisture.
sam
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Nikon Buckmasters Series Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Peoria, AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Buckmasters BDL scope

Date:November 18, 2008
Scope is very nice and makes long range shooting alot easer
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Nikon Buckmasters Series Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Old Station, California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

JM

Date:April 21, 2008
A good scope for the price, clear as a bell at all power levels. I just wish that it was a 50mm bell. But a good product! I like the side focus on it, easy to adjust.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Nikon Buckmasters Series Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great

Date:April 17, 2008
Purchased it to upgrade from the Simmons 3x9 which came in the package deal on my Savage 10gxf .223. I mounted the nikon taking about 15 minutes. Took it to the 100 yard range and took 10 shots. After alittle adjustment I was shooting 1 inch groups with ease. The mildot lineup was just a small amount off from where the mark was on the setting. (18" being 5 mildots at 100yds.) But I understand this is normal for mildot scopes. The coupon for the Mildotmaster was fantastic. Lookout Coyotes here I come again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Nikon Buckmasters Series Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: FL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Rifle Scope

Date:January 18, 2008
Scope is on a lever action rifle, raised mounts. looking through the scope was not magnified as I expected and had a difficult time sighting in. Did not have bore sighted before sighting in so that was a part of it. Still it does not gather light as well as I expected. Overall satisfied for a brush rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Nikon Buckmasters Series Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: College Station, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nikon rifle scope

Date:January 8, 2008
A very good quality scope with a bright, clear picture. Easy to adjust magnification.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Nikon Buckmasters Series Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Fredericksburg, Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

NIKON BUCKMASTERS RIFLE SCOPE.

Date:January 7, 2008
Great all around scope for the money. Clear vision. I like the adjustable eye piece. I highlly recommend this scope for your hunting rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Nikon Buckmasters Series Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very good scope

Date:November 21, 2006
I have this scope on my new muzzle loader. I have the 3-9x50 so I can have the best chance of taking a low light deer. I have better and more expensive Austrian and German scopes on my centerfire rifles, but for the price, this is a very good scope. Since our muzzleloading season in NC is only 1 week, I didn't want to spend an arm and a leg on a scope. I was able to take a doe in low light with this scope and I was extremely happy with the scopes low light performance. I like to match binoculars with scopes and my Austrian binoculars were not that much better than this scope. Overall a great scope for the dollar!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Nikon Buckmasters Series Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Quality Scope

Date:November 15, 2006
I have the 3x9 50 mm on my 30-06. The optics are clean and bright. I sighted it in once right out of the box and have never adjusted it since. Good scope at the mid range price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Nikon Buckmasters Series Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Gaylord, Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nikon Buckmaster 3x9x40

Date:October 28, 2006
Excellent big game scope. I put this on my Browning Lever action 308 and have had excellent target and game shooting with this model. I recommend to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 41-60 of 357