Customer Reviews for TRUGLO TRUGLO® Red-Dot Sights

TRUGLO TRUGLO® Red-Dot Sights

Get incredible performance and precise aiming from these red-dot sights. Ideal for hunters and target shooters alike, TRUGLO Red-Dot Sights can be put to good use on shotguns, handguns, muzzleloaders, paintball markers and crossbows. All models feature a 5-MOA red-dot which is easy to see in any hunting situation, but is small enough to allow for precise aiming. The 11-position rheostat controls the brightness to perfectly match any lighting condition. The anti-reflective interior coating and multicoated lenses transmit up to 95% of the available light. Finger-adjustable windage and elevation knobs have rubber cover retainers to prevent loss. Flip-up lens caps included. Available: 30mm Black 30mm Realtree APG™ 40mm Black
Overall Customer Rating:
3.823 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(119 Reviews) 119
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 119 reviews
5 Stars
53
4 Stars
36
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
6
1 Star
19
95 out of 119(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for TRUGLO® Red-Dot Sights
Review 1 for TRUGLO® Red-Dot Sights
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2015

Replacement Red Dot

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
purchased this to replace the red dot that my wife had purchased originally for my AR15-22... she since bought me a Tavor so I moved teh Bushnell to that and needed a cheap Red Dot for the kids to use on the AR15-22
So far it seems good.. the larger glass helps the kids to see everything better... it is about what you would expect for the price... met my needs and expectations so far
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TRUGLO® Red-Dot Sights
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2014

True glo

By
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This product is a great buy and ideal for my shooting needs. Cabela's provides great products at fair prices with great customer service. Keep doing it the way you know how to do it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TRUGLO® Red-Dot Sights
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 14, 2014

not for 30-30's

By
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Was a little skeptical. the salesman at the store said it would be just fine on a 30-30. after 8 shots i had it sited in and on shot 10 the red dot moved far to the left. shot one more shot and the red dot totally disappeared. time for another 2 hour drive to the store to get something else. the mirror inside came loose and moves all ove the place. should have listend to my gut.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TRUGLO® Red-Dot Sights
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2014

no 3.5 loads

By
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I put on rem 1187 turkey gun and the red dot move to the far right after the 2 shot.WILL NOT HOLD CENTER ANY MORE STAY AWAY!!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TRUGLO® Red-Dot Sights
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 29, 2013

NOT FOR SHOTGUNS!!!

By
We bought this sight for my sons 20ga shotgun for deer and turkey. We went to the range to sight it in. After 15 shots at targets, the inner lens popped loose from the recoil. The red dot was no longer visible. You can shake the scope and the lens would rattle around inside the housing.
I did exchange this at Cableas and they gave me a new one no problem. I remounted it on the gun, shot a few shots to dial it in and set it aside because i was afraid to shoot it much after the first one failed when i shot it.
Deer season opened this past weekend. The sight worked for ONE SHOT before the lens inside popped out again!!!! My 11 year old son shot a doe and 2 minutes later he had a beautiful 10 point buck walk up to him and he couldnt see the dot after the first shot. He was heart broken.
This sight should NEVER be advertised to be used on a shotgun!!!! It cannot take the recoil. And this is only a 20ga shotgun. Not even a big recoil...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TRUGLO® Red-Dot Sights
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 25, 2013

Did not work for me

By
Country: United States
Bought the 40mm red dot. Mounted it on an Auto Ordinance 30 carbine with an Ultimak rail. First shot was fine. Second shot, the dot disappeared. I checked the switch to make sure I had not bumped it to a 'tween settings position.
It turned out that one of the internal lenses or mirrors had come loose. I can't fix that, so I sent it back.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TRUGLO® Red-Dot Sights
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2012

Worked great so far

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
At 50 yards it will keep a two inch pattern. Mounted it on my AK and shot around 50 rounds through it so far. It shouldnt have a problem going out a little further either. Everything seems to be holding tight and working well so far. Lots of fun
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TRUGLO® Red-Dot Sights
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2012

Good sight

By
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Performed fine on my new DPMS AR-15 (bought at same time as this sight). There is a bit of parallax, and sighting can differ from one shooter to another depending on how they look through it. However, if you are the one sighting it in and the only one using it, it is a very accurate sight. The dot can be seen even in bright daylight (highest settings) and can be dimmed down for usability in dim light situations.
Found the mounting more than adequate, the optics are clear, and I have no real complaints.
I got the 40mm for the extra field of view.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TRUGLO® Red-Dot Sights
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 6, 2012

Mounting system

By
Bolts that hold scope on are cheap and break off easy cracked off one first shot of the gun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TRUGLO® Red-Dot Sights
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 2, 2012

Good In Nice Weather

By
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
There are three things that get deer moving in my neck of the woods, the rut, snowfall and gunfire. This Tru Glow Red Dot 40 did not hold up to 45 minutes of mild snow fall while on stand. Water will enter the housing and ruin it. Additionaly, the flip open scope covers fall off easily on the way to the stand and are hard to open without pulling them off. So if you hunt hard, I don't think this is the scope for you. On the plus side, excellent field of view, easy to install and sight in. The red dot held zero on a Benelli Nova with rifled slug barrel shooting lightfield slugs.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TRUGLO® Red-Dot Sights
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 10, 2012

great for money come on people

By
i got this for my 10/22 and have now put a few hundred rounds through it and it still holds zero at 25 yds. i love it so far. and for all the people leaving it 1 star because it doesnt work on there 44 mag or 12 gauge, come on people its common sense that a low priced sight isnt meant for something with that kind of recoil. its meant for guns with little to no recoil and works great for them.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TRUGLO® Red-Dot Sights
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 24, 2012

Awsome

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I got the 40mm sight. Took it out today and sighted it in on a 22 and held zero. I was a little skeptical by all the reviews , but got it today and it performed perfect just like Truglo said it would. Couldn't get a better sight for the money. The red dot on its brightest setting in the day light works good and the red dot is clear,but can cover up the target at 25yds if you don't focus on the dot enough. It does fit on a pica tinny rail, it takes about 2 minutes to put into place.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TRUGLO® Red-Dot Sights
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 26, 2012

Did not last

By
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Bought this about 4 yr ago. Sighted in ok, seemed to be fine.Only shot about 75 to 100 rds. It is installed on a Winchester 1300 Defender. Pulled the gun from the safe couple days ago, something inside had come loose, like a piece of tape or something, blocking the entire middle of the scope. Will try a different brand next.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TRUGLO® Red-Dot Sights
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 3, 2012

waste of money

By
WILL NOT HOLD ZERO AND DOT WILL DISAPPEAR AFTER THE SECOND SHOT. HAD IT ON MY 44 MAG FOR DEER HLUNTING.CANNOT HANDLE ANY THING WITH A RECOIL. GAVE IT TO SON IN LAW FOR HIS 22. JUNK DONT BUY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TRUGLO® Red-Dot Sights
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 1, 2012

Second one I bought

By
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Can be put on a smaller caliber handgun or rifle. Good for AR's as well. Perfect for my M&P15-22. The other is on my Benelli Supernova.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TRUGLO® Red-Dot Sights
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 23, 2012

Great

By
Location: Grantsville,Utah
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
This is a great sight for the price. I have it on my .50 Cal Muzzleloader. easy to sight in shoots straight every time. Will buy another one.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TRUGLO® Red-Dot Sights
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2012

Good Sight

By
After 500+ Rounds on a 22lr. It's a good clear sight no problems so far.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TRUGLO® Red-Dot Sights
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2012

Great buy

By
Location: Tulsa Oklahoma
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
The Tru Glow red dot was as described on the cabelas website. Easy one minute install to weaver rail. I have used it and it performed very well. The Red dot was visible and i was hitting paper targets at 200 yards. I would recommend this product to a friend.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TRUGLO® Red-Dot Sights
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 28, 2012

A must have

By
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Works very good for target shooting,plus when not using the red dot sight,you skill level is higher than it was before you started using the red light sight.A MUST HAVE IF YOU WANT TO INCREASE YOU SKILL LEVEL.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TRUGLO® Red-Dot Sights
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 28, 2012

AR scope

By
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Was looking for a scope that keeps my AR rifle more of a open sight, quick fire gun than that of the traditonal rifle scope. The red dot scope works great for the job and I can still use the open sights. The scope was priced right and uses easy to get batteries.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 119