Customer Reviews for Bushnell Bushnell® HOLOsight® XLP

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Bushnell Bushnell® HOLOsight® XLP

Bushnell's HOLOsight provides an extremely fast, "heads up" shooting experience. Bushnell has now taken this legendary experience to the next level with a sleeker, more ergonomically friendly design. The new design allows for more convenient use with all controls located on the top of the sight, combined with low-profile mounting for natural head position and perfect shooting form. Choose between universal rail mount or Remington 870, 1100 and 11-87(12 gauge only) direct mount.
Overall Customer Rating:
2.5 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
5
4 out of 10(40%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bushnell® HOLOsight® XLP
Review 1 for Bushnell® HOLOsight® XLP
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

handymanfromohio

Date:October 9, 2007
This is a terrible piece of equipment, I could not believe that Bushnell placed it's name on this product.
I returned the sight and reported the poor quality.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bushnell® HOLOsight® XLP
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Va.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good enough for me...

Date:September 24, 2007
My experience with the XLP has been a good one. I mounted it on a SOCOM 16, .308 cal. I got shots touching at 100 yds. You do have to get down to view thru the optic, but that is probably why it is called a low profile. But once you get use to it, it's no problem. The reticle does have a little blurriness to it but all holosight systems that I've had dealing with have had a little.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bushnell® HOLOsight® XLP
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Ontario, Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Bushnell XLP

Date:June 7, 2007
Set my 12 gauge up with product and the recoil from my gun broke the back off that holds the batteries. This happened 2 days before season opener. Back was cheaply made of plastic and fortunately for me it was covered under warranty... My research has shown that this problem is happening to a lot of people. End result my entire turkey season was used without a sight!!!!! The sight itself I found a bit hazy and was disappointed. Overall, I was disappointed in this product for these reasons.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bushnell® HOLOsight® XLP
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Crossbow sights

Date:January 21, 2007
I used this product on my Tenpoint crossbow last season. I had been using a Red Dot Scope before. The Halo sight improved my accuracy tremendously. Shooting 3 bolt groups, I actually sunk a bolt into the back of a previous shot and split it down the middle. That had something to do with luck of course, but I have had consistently tight shot groups every time I have gone to the range. I have had similar results in the field as well. It always puts the bolt right where I want it to go. I haven't done any testing beyond 50 yards and can't comment on the recoil issue (or how it compares to the other halo sights on the market). But if you hunt with a crossbow and are looking for a sighting solution, I highly recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bushnell® HOLOsight® XLP
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Disappointed

Date:December 27, 2006
I purchased a Bushnell Holosight XLP after using a standard Holosight, expecting the same product in a smaller package. After installing the batteries and turning the unit on I discovered that it did not compare to the other Holosights I had used. I mounted it on a Browning .22 Buckmark target pistol and then attempted to get on target a few times. The laser hologram is very hard to find in the smaller window and the quality of the hologram is fuzzy. I had a freind who owns multiple Holosights try it and he agreed that it did not compare to the standard Holosights as well. I returned the XLP.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bushnell® HOLOsight® XLP
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Southern Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shootgun sight

Date:December 23, 2006
I use this sight on my Winchester Super X 2 12 guage slug gun. It works great for me and my friend I hunt with in southern Illinois. 3 nice bucks, 3 shells for me. And for the other review, front button turns on for 4 hours, back button on for 8 hours and push together to turn off.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bushnell® HOLOsight® XLP
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: delaware
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

bigc

Date:December 12, 2006
i had this sight on a ruger 44 magum blackhawk recoil broke the back out of it that holds the batteries in the sight is now no good ,may work on something with less recoil
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bushnell® HOLOsight® XLP
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Northern CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

A good idea poorly executed

Date:December 9, 2006
Starting with mounting, the dovetail is very shallow, so if your rail is chamfered you can't clamp this sight on to it. It's no use on a Picatinny rail which has a defined chamfer.
The batteries set back under recoil and switch the sight off, the sight typically lasts 3-4 shots on a 357 Marlin. It mostly works on a 223, but that's all.
The reticle appears to be broken up, sort of dotted, I thought it was my eyes so I took a picture and it's there on the picture too.
I don't think I've used a worse red dot/reflector sight.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bushnell® HOLOsight® XLP
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Garrison, ND
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

muzzleloader sight

Date:November 20, 2006
Does not work will for use as a muzzleloader sight. The clicks are not precise enough to dial in my TC one click can move you four inches at a 100 yards. I wish it would have a outer ring that won't move so you can tell if we you are at everytime.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bushnell® HOLOsight® XLP
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: SYRACUSE,N.Y.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

HOLOSIGHT

Date:November 8, 2006
NICE AND EASY TO VIEW.A LITTLE TIME CONSUMING SIGHTING IN WITH THE WINDAGE. I SUGGEST BORE SIGHT FIRST THEN IT WILL TAKE YOU HALF THE TIME. ONCE SIGHTED IN IT IS GREAT . I DO WISH THERE WAS A TRUE ON AND OFF BUTTON RATHER THAN PUSHING DOWN UNTIL LIGHT GOES OUT. I FORGET TO TURN IT OFF HALF THE TIME AND PUT IT IN THE SAFE AND THEN THE BATTERIES GO DEAD BUT A AUTO SHUTOFF WOULD NOT WORK EITHER BECAUSE AFTER A PERIOD OF TIME AND IF IT GOES OUT AND YOU PULL UP TO SHOOT THEN YOU ARE IN TROUBLE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.