Customer Reviews for BSA BSA Sweet .17 Riflescope

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

BSA BSA Sweet .17 Riflescope

Extreme accuracy for the hot .17 Magnum Rimfire caliber. Elevation drum is precisely calculated to compensate for the elliptical drop of the .17 HMR with a 17-grain bullet. Once 100-yard zeroing process is complete, trajectory can be compensated for any distance from 100 to 300 yards simply by turning elevation drum to the desired setting.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.697 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
8
24 out of 33(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BSA Sweet .17 Riflescope
Review 1 for BSA Sweet .17 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: weed, ca
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good scope for 17 hmr

Date:November 5, 2006
The actual idea to it is neat and it does work like it says. I have not had any problems with it holding zero and i abuse my rifle. Only downside is the clarity. Not as clear as a top of the line scope but it is definately worth it for the price!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BSA Sweet .17 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Merino Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great scope for 17hmr shooters

Date:November 20, 2006
Bought this one and got it sighted in, the second time, yes READ the directions. The first time I used it after getting it set up, Blew 3 prairie dogs away at 265, and 235 yards, both dialed in using a rangefinger, on the first shot each.
Easy to use, no adjustment needed out to about 130 yds,, then range it, and shoot it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BSA Sweet .17 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Kansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

sweet 17 scope

Date:November 21, 2006
Another quality scope by BSA. I would advise 17 HMR owners to get one of these scopes for their rifles.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BSA Sweet .17 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Sterlington, La
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BSA Sweet 17 Riflescope

Date:November 29, 2006
This scope has its good qualities and its bad. To start off with the good ones the scope is very clear, has a good high power, has adjustable tourettes to compensate for the drop of the .17 bullet, and it also has an adjustable objective. The bad things that I have found when I purchased this scope was that when I was putting it on my gun I could not find a set of rings that would give it enough clearance off of the gun barrel, second thing is that the finish or coating on the scope scratches very easily and it will make your scope ugly if you do not baby it, and the last thing is that the first one that I had recieved was acting funny, it would zero in at 25 and 50 yards but when I moved out to a 100 yards it would shoot about 3 inches off center high and then 3 inches to the left and low so I would adjust the scope but it would never zero in. This problem was that the scope was defected from the time I received it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BSA Sweet .17 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Questionable Quality, Worse Support

Date:December 1, 2006
I purchased this scope for my .17 HMR because I liked the idea of the scope being specifcally calibrated for the cartridge and the price wouldn't break the bank. I was able to zero the scope in with little effort, but when I tried to reset the elevation adjustment to the 100 yard marker, I realized I had not received the requisite hex wrench to do the job and none of the metric or standard wrenchs I had would fit. I tried to call the BSA support line included on the warranty card and was unable to get through (busy signals) for the first 2 days (14 calls) and when I did, I received a recording and still have not received a call back. Finally, I tried email and received a response: "Try a 1.5MM, 2MM or 2.5MM. They were made with all three, but I can't tell you which one to use on your scope." I tried all three, none of them worked. I returned the scope and bought a Nikon. It cost more, but it is much clearer, brighter and is significantly better craftmanship.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BSA Sweet .17 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Mount Vernon, WA.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great scope for the money

Date:January 22, 2007
Purchased this scope for my Marlin 917-VS. I agree with a previous reviewer, read the instructions! After doing just that on my second trip to the range the scope worked perfectly. I installed a Rifle Basex adjustable trigger and this rifle is down right scarey accurate. I was cutting holes out of the target at 100 yards and this scope is one of the reasons. When adjusting out to 200 yards the upper turret worked perfectly and the rifle was dead on. This scope is a great value for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BSA Sweet .17 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Eagle River, Alaska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Much better scopes out there

Date:February 20, 2007
I purchased this scope about two years ago because I initially liked the idea of the bullet drop adjustments. Don't let the adjustments fool you; in all the times I have been hunting I never use this feature mainly because the HMR is an extremely flat shooting round, just hold over if something is 150 yards away. After a month when I would turn from 3x to 12x the crosshairs turned also (completely sideways in the objective). The scope looses zero very frequently becuase the screws on the height adjustment are cheap. There are much better scopes out there for the price stay away from this one its a junky gimik.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BSA Sweet .17 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hurley,MS; Snowflake,AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ain't found anything better!

Date:February 20, 2007
I tell ya' that this scope is the best thing that has ever happened to the HMR. I've shot coyote's, jackrabbit's, squirrel's, and everything that usually will sit still long enough. I've shot them from range's of 5 yds. out to 250 yds. I liked the scope so much that I went and purchased one for my Bushmaster .223. I will now use that as my coyote smoker. But if you read the instruction's you will have no problem with the setup. Also if you have any problem's with missing part's, call BSA and do not ask for customer service when prompted. They will not answer. But they will ship your part and are very helpful.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BSA Sweet .17 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Montana ,MT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Coyote plinking

Date:March 10, 2007
The scope is made of good materials but the crosshais are too thick. They represent one inch @ 100yds and it seems too thick for a .17 or a .22. The drop compensater works but after 175yds the crosshairs cover up a gopher and the zoom is blurry after 6x and the quick focus ring doesnt help. It's actually a pain to sight in because the crosshairs are so thick. Good luck with it and leave it on 4x if you like to see what you shoot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BSA Sweet .17 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: irons, MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sweet 17

Date:March 27, 2007
i was reccomended this scope by a friend and i now have it mounted on my savage 17 hmr after testing his. i am happy with it, it took a little work sighting in but i really like it. i have split birds in half from about 200 yards with ease, and i have killed everything from squirells to coyotes and i have no compalints. one recomendation i can give is with this scope (as i am sure any high powered scope) a bipod is a good investment with it almost a nescesity for long range shots.
But overall a great product for a fair price!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BSA Sweet .17 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Scope but...

Date:March 27, 2007
I purchased this for my new Savage .17 HMR and was very excited to try it. The only problem was trying to find scope mounts that would fit. I ended up getting extra extra tall mounts for the scope to fit properly. There is no info anywhere telling you that is what you will need. Now I need to get a cheek piece for my rifle so I can line up my shot easier. Other than that it is clear and shoots nice tight groups.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BSA Sweet .17 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Livingston, Montana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Steer clear of this one .....!!

Date:May 19, 2007
I purchased a BSA Sweet .17 expressly for the sole purpose of using these optics on a .17 H.M.R.,. I found the turret adjustments to be a real joy to work with. However the optics were of poor quality. Your field of view gets distorted starting from the outside viewing area then clears up some toward the center of the scope cross hairs. I found this to be objectionable. Also, the crosshairs are much TOO THICK for a varmit type rifle or shooting conditions. I even mounted this BSA Sweet .17 on one of my children's .17 H.M.R.'s (a totally different rifle) and it was decided that this was not a very good scope. It may work out for other folks, but it sure did not for me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BSA Sweet .17 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Exeter, Ca.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

bsa sweet 17 is sweet!!

Date:May 25, 2007
This scope was very easy to dile in the cross hairs at 100 yards, dead on at 200 yards. the adjustable objective is nice but I don't really use it that much other than to clear things up a bit. Rings can be a challenge for the savage 17 hmr with this scope, need rings that have proper clearance. I used aluminum shims (cut soda can) to compensate for the clearance of the barrel and the objective. Works fine. overall rating, worth the money in my opinion.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BSA Sweet .17 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BSA Sweet 17

Date:June 5, 2007
So fair it has prove to be an excellance scope, it is on the money and very clear, I am now looking at getting a Sweet 223 for a new AR15.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BSA Sweet .17 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

sweet 17 is sweeeet!

Date:June 18, 2007
Awesome scope right out of the box. I dialed in quickly and the scope has stayed within 1/2" groups at 100 yds.
This scoped dialed out to 250 yds. was deadly for varmits
this spring! Very accurate and sturdy, won't dissapoint.
This scope has made my 17 hmr my favorite shooter!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BSA Sweet .17 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Dead ON AT 250 YARDS AND EXPLODES A 2 LITER

Date:July 1, 2007
PERFECT FOR ANY .17 HMR, ORDER ONE NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
A few weeks ago I just could not find the right scope for my 17 HMR I had just purchased, I had taken a look at this scope but was not sure of the quality after reading some of the other reviews. But I ended up buying this one since it is calibrated and all for the 17. When I went to sight it in I could not get it to zero at first because the directions were not at all a help.
I then took the scope to my local hunting store and we figured it out, so I went back home and sighted it in n no time. Now it shoots like a sniper rifle. I zeroed it at 100 yards and it took out anything I put the cross hairs on. Just to see how far I could poke out there I set a 2 litter pepsi bottle filled with water at 250 yards.Iwanted to see if I could hit it on the 100 yard turret mark aiming dead on and to my surprize it hit dead smack center and blew it up, It shot water up about 6 feet tall. If you have had problems finding a good 17 scope this is the one to get !
SCOPE WAS VERY CLEAR!!!! IT IS A MUST!!!!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BSA Sweet .17 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Sweet 17

Date:July 6, 2007
The idea behind this scope is good, however it did not perform well at all. The scope's zero would change from one day to the next even with the same ammo, and forget about the adjustable turret for yardage. It did not compensate for bullet drop accurately at all. Returned it for another brand. Very dissatisfied.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BSA Sweet .17 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Silverdale, Washington
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Horrible!

Date:July 9, 2007
I purchased a .17HMR bolt action rifle, and installed the BSA Sweet 17 on it. While I had originally planned on buying a different scope, it was unavailable, and I chose the Sweet 17 based on the relatively good experience I had with the Sweet 22.
First, the AO, or Parallax adjustment was 'gritty' and was difficult to turn. Next, once I finally got on paper, I couldn't keep the scope zeroed. Part of that was I didn't have the mounts tight enough, but after fixing that I would shoot a group of 5 rounds at 100 yards, and they would be okay, but by the end of the next five, they were starting to drift.
I was shooting out to 200 yards, and was all over the target, and finally I wasn't even on the target at all. I boresighted at 50 yards (after changing the parallax and elevation adjustments, and the scope wasn't even aligned to the target.
After resetting the scope...with substantial windage adjustments, i.e, from a '13' to a negative number, I was able to get back on paper. The first couple of rounds were okay, but with the rifle bench rested, and the scope cross hairs centered, the rounds were hitting further and further to the left each time, with no adjustment to the scope.
I had put less than 175 rounds through the rifle, and insofar as I'm concerned, the scope is toast. I'll be upgrading to a high quality American made scope, not something BSA sells.
My recommendation is do NOT buy a BSA scope.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BSA Sweet .17 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: UT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SWEET 17

Date:September 13, 2007
ONCE YOU UNDERSTAND HOW TO USE IT, IT IS SCOPE THAT WILL HELP THE WORST SHOOTER IMPROVE HIS TARGET SHOOTING.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BSA Sweet .17 Riflescope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The best scope for a 17hmr

Date:November 16, 2007
This is by far the best scope I have used on a 17hmr. I have killed many squirrels beyond 100 yards with this scope. I would recomend this scope to anybody looking for a caliber specific scope.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 33