Customer Reviews for Cabela's Cabela's Waterproof Big Sky HD Spotting Scopes

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Cabela's Cabela's Waterproof Big Sky HD Spotting Scopes

These waterproof zoom scopes come with an objective lens that lights up your surroundings during low-light hunting times at dawn or dusk. All optics are fully multicoated to guarantee maximum brightness, resolution and clarity. In addition, the high-definition, extra-low dispersion glass elements eliminate chromatic distortions. These elements not only ensure superior contrast and true color representation across the entire magnification range, but offer unbeatable sharpness and clarity as well. 20-60x66 or 27-80x80 magnification and objective lets you clearly see and analyze game or other objects at long distances. Black, rubber-armored coating is absolutely silent if you happen to bump it, and helps absorb shock if you drop it. Waterproof construction withstands anything Mother Nature throws at you. A retractable sun shield eliminates glare if you're forced to view toward the sun. Molded sighting rail helps you locate your subject. Tapped for standard tripod use.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.308 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
11 out of 13(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Waterproof Big Sky HD Spotting Scopes
Review 1 for Cabela's Waterproof Big Sky HD Spotting Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabelas HD Spotting Scope

Date:November 26, 2009
I have the 20-60 HD version and love it. I use it for everything from hunting, looking at stars to birding. It is very clear and bright. The full field of view leaps immediately into place when I look through the lenses, as opposed to some others that give a partial or no field of view until you move your head just so. Clear edge to edge. Great light gathering ability, rivaling scopes 2-3 times the cost. Agree with the comments regarding the easy to lose eye piece cover. I replaced mine with a flip-open cover that solved the issue. I have several types of Cabelas optics: Alaskan Guide binoculars and rifle scope, and now the Big Sky spotting scope. All have been excellent values and optically flawless.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's Waterproof Big Sky HD Spotting Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Big Sky Spotter HD

Date:November 23, 2009
Excellent optics for the money!! Used the spotter 4 a late season hunt and found it to be just as good as some of my buddies European Glass.. I hunt on a budget and found the Big Sky HD to be the best buy for the $$.. I would reccomend before you buy one of the other brands for hundreds or thousands more to give these a try.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's Waterproof Big Sky HD Spotting Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northern Utah
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product for the Money

Date:October 30, 2009
I was introduced to the Cabelas HD spotting scope by my brother who owns the 66mm HD. I was incredibley impressed with the clarity at dawn and dusk. Before it is light you can clearly see through scope telling bucks from does out to 500 yards. I spot for deer and elk on a daily basis, when I considered buying a scope for myself I chose to buy the 80 mm for added light and higher magnification. I pack it while hunting as well with no problems or complants. I would recommend it to anyone that wants high end quality without paying thousands of dollars for a Leica, Swarovski, or Zeiss. I have spent a considerable amount of time looking through all of the top brand name scopes that my friends own as well. While these scopes may be a TAD bit better, there is deffinitely not a thousand to two thousand dollar difference in quality or clarity even at the highest magnification and lowest light.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's Waterproof Big Sky HD Spotting Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

count points at 650 yards

Date:August 17, 2009
I bought the 27 - 80 x 80 HD after comparing it to several scopes inside the store then comparing two scopes outside the store. I've been using it for a week to watch deer in the evenings. I can count points at 650 yards and tell bucks from does from at least a mile away. At 27X, it actually looks brighter than it is. Hated to spend the extra $$, but now I'm glad I did. Tip: forget the cheezy tripods. Get yourself a GOOD heavy duty video tripod with a smooth pan and tilt.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's Waterproof Big Sky HD Spotting Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Arlington, TN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT scope!

Date:September 3, 2007
I purchaased this spotting scope for a trip to Yellowstone and was absolutely impressed with the quality! I was seeing animals long after sunset and long after other high quality German scopes had packed it in. There was a long line of folks waiting to see through my quality scope. Very bright and clear!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's Waterproof Big Sky HD Spotting Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Gardnerville Nevada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bodie's scope

Date:November 21, 2006
The first spotting scope I have ever had where I can use the whole lens without it becoming fuzzy. The scope is lightweight and can be carried in my backpack. At 70 years of age...THAT is important!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's Waterproof Big Sky HD Spotting Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Petaluma, Ca
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ED Spotting Scope Review

Date:November 20, 2006
The Cabela's Waterproof Big Sky ED Model Spotting Scope was exactly what was required, in Colorado, during the 4th season of Elk Hunting. The weather was lots of snow, rain, and very cold. I chose the ED Model because of the higher technology glass providing a higher degree of clarity and the ability to easily attach to my new Canon EOS camera. One additional recommedation, I have, is to purchase a Pistol Grip Tripod mount to make an immediate "lock" on any of your scope position changes. No turning of screws or handles to lock in your new position required. The only negative I had was price: "You have to ask yourself if the additional $100 is worth the additional quality and flexabiltiy"?. I am glad I spent the extra $$$.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's Waterproof Big Sky HD Spotting Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Alaska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT SPOTTING SCOPE-ALMOST

Date:November 25, 2010
Just returned from a late season Idaho hunting trip where a spotting scope was a necessity, and took my new Big Sky HD 20-60. Great clarity with this scope, and the fine adjustment is excellent. This scope is amazing in dim light, before and after shooting times. Was able to count tines on a buck at nearly dark at 900 yards, when binos show only shapes of animals. Only complaint was eye relief, which is poor. In cold conditions(zero degrees), my eye would cause the lens to fog over at times, so it was necessary to concentrate on keeping my eye back as far as possible while still getting a full field of view. But I will keep this scope because of the great clarity and low light performance, which are truly excellent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's Waterproof Big Sky HD Spotting Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Pullman, WA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

27-80 HD Scope

Date:September 23, 2010
Very clear scope. Works well in low light. I do wish it came with a case. At higher magnification the scope gets kind of blurry but overall I am very satisfied. I can judge bucks that are 1200 to 1500 yards out. If you are a Mule Deer hunter you need this scope.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's Waterproof Big Sky HD Spotting Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Maryland
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pretty Darn Good Scope

Date:November 20, 2008
I like the scope a lot. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is eye relief. If you are an eyeglasses wearer you may have to remove your glasses to get full field of view. This is common on most of the scopes that I looked at. This scope is clear and sharp. It gathers light well and allowed me to see shadow detail that was not visible with some other scopes I was comparing. At the sale price is would be very hard to beat!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's Waterproof Big Sky HD Spotting Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: ut
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

big sky ed

Date:October 29, 2007
After one season of using this scope I can say that i have loved it. Super clear in low light conditions. The only thing that has irritated me about the scope is the cheap lense cover for the eye piece. It falls off very easily and i have almost lost it a few couple times now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's Waterproof Big Sky HD Spotting Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: N.O.,LA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Cabela Waterproof 80mm Big Sky HD Spotting Scope

Date:December 30, 2008
ONE WOULD EXPECT BETTER CLARITY AT 300+ YARDS FOR THE PRICE
UNIT SHIPS WITH NO COVER (SOFT OR HARD), AMAZING FOR THE PRICE
UNIT LENS COVER DESIGN INSURES LOSING SAME, AGAIN, AMAZING FOR THE PRICE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's Waterproof Big Sky HD Spotting Scopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

NOT AS PROMISED

Date:November 2, 2008
THE CLARITY ON THIS UNIT IS FAR LESS THAN ADVERTISED. AT A DISTANCE OF 300 YARDS OR MORE OBJECTS ARE NOT CLEAR AT ALL. WHEN ZOOM IS USED THE CLARITY GETS WORSE. THE LENS COVER ARE NOT ATTACHED AND HARD TO REMOVE ESPECIALLY THE EYE PIECE. WHEN I PURCHASED THIS SCOPE I HAD A LEVEL ENTRY NIKON AND THERE WAS NO COMPARSION THE NIKON WINS HAND DOWN. I WOULDN'T RECOMMEND THIS SCOPE I BELIEVE IT IS WAY OVERPRICED FOR THE QUALITY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.