Customer Reviews for Simmons Simmons® 8-Point Riflescopes

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Simmons Simmons® 8-Point Riflescopes

The sturdy one-piece tube construction of this scope is waterproof, shockproof and fogproof, letting you go about the business of hunting without worrying about the weather. The precise 1/4-minute click adjustments for windage and elevation make it easy to find your zero. Matte finish.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.576 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
6
23 out of 33(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Simmons® 8-Point Riflescopes
Review 1 for Simmons® 8-Point Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Idaho
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Scopr for the Money

Date:August 22, 2010
Reliable and clear vision. Have this mounted on my 7MM rem mag and deer hunted with this for the past few seasons to include in the rain and snow. Never fogged up. Like the finish of the scope too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Simmons® 8-Point Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Fairbanks, AK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

dern good scope

Date:March 1, 2010
slapped this scope on my new varmint rifle and in 5 shots had a 1 inch group at 100 yards. took it huntin at -20 and it never fogged up and still could operate the magnification. worth every penny
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Simmons® 8-Point Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Wimberley, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good value for price

Date:February 1, 2010
very good for the price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Simmons® 8-Point Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

bad scope

Date:January 1, 2010
I got this scope with a .243. It took a 20 or 30 rounds to get it sited in after boresighting it. Once sighted in it seemed to hold a zero. Switched loads and same problem. Will not buy another one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Simmons® 8-Point Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Temperance, MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Simmons 3x9 40

Date:December 15, 2009
Scope serves its purpose. Wish I would have bought a little better. Not bad, just not as bright as others. Only noticed difference early/late hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Simmons® 8-Point Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

bad scope

Date:December 15, 2009
I had this scope for only 4 or 5 years. It got moisture and lots of fog during a 20 deg. day...junk!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Simmons® 8-Point Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: CAMERON, MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR

Date:November 25, 2009
TOTALLY DISAPPOINTED . I'M A SIMMONS FAN SO WHEN MY SON NEEDED A NEW SCOPE AND I SAW THIS SIMMONS 8 POINT ON SALE I DIDN'T EVAN THINK TWICE I ORDERED IT. BIG MISTAKE. IT'S WORTHLESS. I'VE BEEN OUT THREE TIMES AFTER MOUNTING IT ON MY SON'S .243 AND EACH TIME I HAD TO DIAL IT IN. WE DON'T TRUST IT ENOUGH TO HUNT WITH IT.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Simmons® 8-Point Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works great for the money

Date:September 30, 2009
I got this scope for my Ruger 10/22. After having several cheaper quality scopes given to me I had enough and I bought this one. It took only seconds to bore sight it and it was on the money from the first round. The shooting I do is mostly target at ranges under 60 yards. I would recommend it to anyone on a budget that wants a decent scope.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Simmons® 8-Point Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: BRENTWOOD ,NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Simmons 8-Point Riflescopes 3-9 X 40

Date:December 10, 2008
GREAT PRICE EASY TO USE CLEAR VIEW
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Simmons® 8-Point Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: South Arkansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SIMMONS 8-POINT RIFLE SCOPE

Date:November 18, 2008
I PURCHASED THIS SCOPE TO USE ON A MUZZLELOADER SHOOTING 150 GRAINS OF POWDER. SIGHTING IN WAS EASY AND THE SCOPE HAS HELD ITS ZERO. THE SCOPE IS CLEAR AND BRIGHT. I RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT AND THE GREAT PRICE.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Simmons® 8-Point Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bailey, CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great scope + Great price follow up

Date:October 22, 2008
This is a follow up from my earlier review. So far it has been from 9000' in dry weather up to 11,700' in 20 degree temps, snowing with visibility under 1/8 mile covering about 20 miles of ground on foot and about 10 bouncing around on an ATV. It has performed flawlessly, no fogging, no loss of zero. Checked zero this morning and it's still holding 2" high at 100yds with windage perfect. I will definately be buying another one for my deer rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Simmons® 8-Point Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cumberland, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Simmons 8-Point

Date:September 9, 2008
great riflescope for the money. mounts easy on weaver rail mounts. easy to sight in. easy to see through in light and low light conditions. overall a great scope for a great bargain.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Simmons® 8-Point Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: southwest Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent product

Date:June 7, 2008
nice clear scope. I would recommend this to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Simmons® 8-Point Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Park Rapids, MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Decent

Date:March 24, 2008
I got this scope in a combo with a savage 110 30.06 two years ago. Since then I have shot two deer with it a doe and a 7-point buck. Relatively good eye relief, certainly not what you would get on a higher end model. Light Transmission is acceptable in low light conditions, however if you're like me acceptable isn't good enough to trust your hunting season to. The 7-pointer was 15 minutes after legal shooting time opened in the morning and I could just make out enough detail to feel comfortable for a shot. I am going to upgrade to a Leupold or Bushnell.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Simmons® 8-Point Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Amsterdam, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Simmons 8-Point Riflescopes

Date:February 23, 2008
For the sale price that I paid, you couldn't pass the scope up. Very good, clear and easy to site in. I should of bought more for that price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Simmons® 8-Point Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Springfield, IL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

8-point scope

Date:February 14, 2008
Was very dissatisfied with the scope. The vertical adjustment worked very well but the horizontal adjustment would not turn easily and had an adverse effect on both vertical and horizontal bullet placement. The scope was sent back and a replacement requested but was not in stock so money was refunded.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Simmons® 8-Point Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bama
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent value

Date:December 31, 2007
This scope is by a long shot the best scope for the money. My dad sighted it in on my savage .243 bolt action nd gave it to me for christmas. I seriously would take a 500 yard shot with it. The first time i shot with this scope i punched the lungs out of a deer at 150 yards
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Simmons® 8-Point Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Hurricane, WV
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Simmons 8-Point 3-9x40

Date:December 14, 2007
This scope came in a package deal with my Savage 110 in 30-06. It has been in service for 3 years now and I have put it though pretty much everything you can do to a scope.
Good Things first:
This is the ONLY sub $100 scope that I have ever seen solidly hold zero under reasonable recoil. I even dropped my rifle, scope down, on pavement once. (hard enough to dent the metal on the objective end) Upon shooting it I was AMAZED...still dead on! The only time it ever lost zero was traced to a loose mount. 5 stars in this area.
Now the bad:
If you plan on hunting in...below perfect conditions, I suggest you save up a lil more cash and buy a better scope. This one suffers horribly in that area. Anytime the weather drops much below freezing I have trouble with it fogging especially if the humidity is up there. Luckily I never lost a deer to this yet but it could have happened several times.
Light transmission is below average too. I was helping a hunting buddy drag a doe out at dusk when...deer...I could not tell if it was a buck or not though my scope so he handed me his gun. WOW! I could see and almost count the points! Second biggest deer I ever shot.
Thats why I am planning on upgrading before next season, but if you are looking for a budget priced entry level scope and you rarely hunt in bad conditions then this is the scope for you!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Simmons® 8-Point Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Duncannon, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Moisture

Date:November 25, 2007
Took it to Maine two weeks back...light snow/drizzle started and it took in moisture (2 days in to a 10 day trip). I had fogging issues the entire rest of the trip. Nothing like trying to take a shot at a buck that's running through a cloud in your scope. Thoroughly disgusted...will never purchase a Simmons optic again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Simmons® 8-Point Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: se Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Simmons 8 point scope

Date:November 6, 2007
This scope is adequate for hunting and general target shooting. I noticed that on my scope at 100 yards the lines on the target are not all clear, it is not enough to affect shooting but it is discernible. For the price this is a decent scope.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 33