Customer Reviews for SIMMONS Simmons® ProHunter® Handgun Scope

SIMMONS Simmons® ProHunter® Handgun Scope

Reliable and rugged, there is a Simmons scope for just about any hunting application. From rimfire to high caliber rifles, shotguns and pistols, Simmons has a scope to fit your needs. Each scope features TrueZero™ Flex Erector System for a nonshifting point-of-aim at all magnifications and adjustment settings. The Quick Target Acquisition (QTA™) eyepiece is a fast-focus system with a constant 3-3/4" eye relief through all power ranges. That gives you faster, more reliable target acquisition through its optically superior expanded eyebox. TrueZero windage and elevation dials stay dead-on throughout the life of the scope with no deviation in click value throughout the full adjustment range. The Aetec model features Simmons' Aspherical Lens Technology, which gives you wider, flatter and sharper images from edge to edge. Each scope sports superior, high-transmission lens coatings. Designed for the handgun shooter, these 4 power scopes have 1/4-MOA adjustments, all other powers have 1/2-MOA adjustments for windage and elevation, and each scope is waterproof, shockproof and fogproof.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.586 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
4
1 Star
4
20 out of 29(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Simmons® ProHunter® Handgun Scope
Review 1 for Simmons® ProHunter® Handgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not for magnum

Date:October 25, 2013
After 40 rounds of 44 mag, the cross-hairs rolled over @ 30 degrees. Do not buy for heavy recoil pistol.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Simmons® ProHunter® Handgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not for Magnum Loads

Date:September 1, 2013
This scope is not made for magnum
loads. After about 100 rounds of 445
Supermag loads I can't adjust it anymore
it is stuck on 6 power and the zero is
all over the target. Going to spend more and
get a Leupold.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Simmons® ProHunter® Handgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

TWO of them failed

Date:April 16, 2012
I installed the 2X6 prohunter on a Ruger Super Redhawk, 44 Mag., using Ruger rings. The ammo was Cabela's bulk 44 Mag ammo (HSM JHP which I do recommend).
The first scope zeroed well enough and worked for about 50 rounds. Then it just lost magnification. Something inside the scope came loose and was rattling around. That one was returned for a new one. The second one lasted for about 70 rounds when the focus began going in and out with every other round fired. Then, it lost magnification completely.
The results speak for themselves. I will have to try a better grade of scope.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Simmons® ProHunter® Handgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Alhambra Il. 25 years of hunting
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not a scope to purchase

Date:October 31, 2007
I purchased the Simmons pro hunter scope for christmas last year. I did not get rings for the scope till this year. After mounting the scope I tried to sight it inn. I started with a large pattern. Starting to make adjustments to get the scope zerod inn. The first shot hit in the center, the next was off, then the shots were everywhere. The next day I changed loads to reduce recoil and possible flinch, again I could not keep the shots on a 12x12 target. Then I noticed a clank in the scope. The scope fell apart on the inside. I contacted Simmons and I was informed that I not only had to pay the shipping to return the product which is normal, but I also had to send them money to return the scope back to me. Not a problem except that the scope is less than a year old and had maybe 100 to 150 rounds shot through the gun with the Simmons scope on the gun. I would question the quality of Simmons products if they wont even cover the shipping on a scope less than a year old.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Simmons® ProHunter® Handgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not for a Magnum

Date:June 30, 2013
Good Scope and Good Price. However, this is not made for magnum revolvers. At first I mounted it on my scout rifle with no trouble keeping zero. I later decided to put it on my Ruger SRH in .454 Casull and thats where the problems started. My shots wandered all over the target, even off the target. At first I was able to get it close to zero then the next shot it was like several inches off so I would double check and it would get worse so I would readjust and it would be back on then rinse and repeat back off.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Simmons® ProHunter® Handgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: HUGO, COLORADO
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Simmons Pro hunter

Date:September 27, 2010
Bought to put on a 243 . Seems not to be clear. Do not know why? I guess spoiled by higher end scopes. 3 X 9 and seems to be clearer on 9 than any other setting.. even up close.. My suggestion....put another 150 with the price of this scope and buy a better scope..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Simmons® ProHunter® Handgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Simons Pro Hunter

Date:December 19, 2007
I bought this scope to put on my S&W 460 WTU. After shooting it I noticed a 1/2 moon in the scope. I thought it was my eye sight. I adjusted the scope and it seemed OK but after a while I couldn't get the 1/2 moon out no matter how much I adjusted.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Simmons® ProHunter® Handgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Sacramento, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Simmons ProHunter Handgun Scope 2-6x32

Date:September 4, 2007
I bought this scope about 18 months ago. Haven't shot a lot with it, maybe 60-70 rounds with my S&W 460 Magnum revolver. This past weekend I went hunting with it and couldn't change power settings. It was locked on 2x and wouldn't budge. I'm sending it back to Simmons. I may be reporting on their "Limited Lifetime Warranty" next. This may be a good scope for a less powerful handgun, but wouldn't recommend it for the big magnums.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Simmons® ProHunter® Handgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: AZ
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

My Prohunter Handgun Scope vs. Red Dot Sights

Date:September 6, 2010
I must have purchased an oddball scope because I am having trouble maintaining x-axis adjustment as it constantly wanders to the right and I keep trying to catch up to the consistent deviation with the adjustment wheel. I cannot get the windage adjustment to settle down and give me repeatability. I have used a Barska M16 red dot sight as well as a 25 year old Aimpoint 2000 on this same .223 pistol and with either red dot, the repeatability is there. With the Simmons handgun scope, I'm wasting ammo. It's time to send this ProHunter back to the factory for evaluation. I would like the scope if it provided me with consistent, positive performance at 100 yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Simmons® ProHunter® Handgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Simmons Prohunter Handgun scope

Date:November 20, 2006
This scope went on my first scoped handgun, a Smith and Wesson Model 29 Classic 8 3/8" barrel. The optic quality is about average. The accuracy seems good. I would say for the price it is not a bad deal. There are probably even better handgun scopes out there, but I am satisfied with what I have. I have not yet taken the gun hunting, but time spent at the range has shown that accuracy achieved with this scope will make it a lethal hunting piece out to a good 50 - 75 yards. I would say that it falls in the middle quality wise of all the scopes I have ever used.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Simmons® ProHunter® Handgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 36-45
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great value

Date:June 12, 2012
good scope for cost - good clarity and holds zero on Xp-100 221 fireball
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Simmons® ProHunter® Handgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Brunswick, GA
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Simmons Handgun Scope

Date:February 3, 2011
The scope looks great. It was very easy to install and sight-in. It stays on point once zeroed and has not wavered in its accuracy. I'm well pleased, especially when considering the price versus performance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Simmons® ProHunter® Handgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Meridian, ID
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Value

Date:January 18, 2011
This scope is a fantastic deal. It is built well and the optics are great. It just appears to be a darned good scope for a great price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Simmons® ProHunter® Handgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Everything works

Date:July 6, 2010
I mounted this scope on a Ruger Mk III Hunter. Eye relief is excellent. You do need to keep your head VERY steady to maintain the sight picture (once you find it). The click adjustments seemed to be consistent and the increments as advertised. The reticle is sharp and clear. The scope works best in good light and fine in medium light. If you intend to work mostly or exclusively in low light this may not be the scope for you.
The silver/satin finish looks real good on a stainless steel gun. The paintwork on the logo is a bit sloppy though.
This scope is very precise. It is NOT fast at acquiring targets. With patience and the right gun you should see only bulls and a few 9s at 25 yards and definitely all in the black at 50 yards (supported). If you're shooting human size silhouettes at 13 feet and think you need a scope, find a new hobby.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Simmons® ProHunter® Handgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Novi, MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Simmons® ProHunter® Handgun Scope

Date:August 3, 2009
Good handgun scope for the money. It is clear at arms length and the reticle is sharp.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Simmons® ProHunter® Handgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Houston, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ProHunter Handgun Scope

Date:March 29, 2009
I bought one of these to put on my Ruger Super Blackhawk Hunter in .45 Colt and it was a great decision. Just got done at the range sighting it in and shooting 50 rounds of heavy loaded .45 Colt through the pistol. The scope held up and the sight picture was clear. My only complaint is that the finger adjustments weren't as easy to move as some of my other rifle scopes. Now I can be confident in my Blackhawk Hunter out to 100 yards, watch out Porky!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Simmons® ProHunter® Handgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Pistol Scope

Date:February 16, 2009
I purchused this Simmons Scope for my Smith and Wesson 686 .357 Magnum with a 8 3/8" barrel. With this scope I can hold a 1 1/2 to 2" at 75 yards, benched or supported. Great Scope for the money!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Simmons® ProHunter® Handgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Retired in Rural Northeast Arkansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

pistol scope

Date:February 7, 2008
I mounted this scope on a 44 mag for hunting. It sighted in quickly and acuratly. For the price it is a very good choice. I have some other expensive optics and this may not be the best but it sure is good enough and the price is very reasonable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Simmons® ProHunter® Handgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Oklahoma City
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

prohunter 4x32

Date:May 1, 2007
Good optics for the money . Holds its position under heavy recoil . Only draw back was I had to run the elevation all the way down to get on target .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Simmons® ProHunter® Handgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worked as expected

Date:August 13, 2013
Needed a long eye relief scope for my Mosin-Nagant. I refused to spend more on a scope than I paid for a gun. With an aftermarket kit this mounted right up to the rear sight base, bore sighted the zero and went to the range. After a little adjustment, it held zero ever since, even with the recoil of a Mosin.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 29