Customer Reviews for SIMMONS Simmons® ProHunter® Handgun Scope

SIMMONS Simmons® ProHunter® Handgun Scope

Reliable and rugged, there is a Simmons scope for just about any hunting application. From rimfire to high caliber rifles, shotguns and pistols, Simmons has a scope to fit your needs. Each scope features TrueZero™ Flex Erector System for a nonshifting point-of-aim at all magnifications and adjustment settings. The Quick Target Acquisition (QTA™) eyepiece is a fast-focus system with a constant 3-3/4" eye relief through all power ranges. That gives you faster, more reliable target acquisition through its optically superior expanded eyebox. TrueZero windage and elevation dials stay dead-on throughout the life of the scope with no deviation in click value throughout the full adjustment range. The Aetec model features Simmons' Aspherical Lens Technology, which gives you wider, flatter and sharper images from edge to edge. Each scope sports superior, high-transmission lens coatings. Designed for the handgun shooter, these 4 power scopes have 1/4-MOA adjustments, all other powers have 1/2-MOA adjustments for windage and elevation, and each scope is waterproof, shockproof and fogproof.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.677 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 31 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
4
1 Star
4
22 out of 31(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Simmons® ProHunter® Handgun Scope
Review 1 for Simmons® ProHunter® Handgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 25, 2013

not for magnum

By
After 40 rounds of 44 mag, the cross-hairs rolled over @ 30 degrees. Do not buy for heavy recoil pistol.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Simmons® ProHunter® Handgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 1, 2013

Not for Magnum Loads

By
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
This scope is not made for magnum
loads. After about 100 rounds of 445
Supermag loads I can't adjust it anymore
it is stuck on 6 power and the zero is
all over the target. Going to spend more and
get a Leupold.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Simmons® ProHunter® Handgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 16, 2012

TWO of them failed

By
Location: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I installed the 2X6 prohunter on a Ruger Super Redhawk, 44 Mag., using Ruger rings. The ammo was Cabela's bulk 44 Mag ammo (HSM JHP which I do recommend).
The first scope zeroed well enough and worked for about 50 rounds. Then it just lost magnification. Something inside the scope came loose and was rattling around. That one was returned for a new one. The second one lasted for about 70 rounds when the focus began going in and out with every other round fired. Then, it lost magnification completely.
The results speak for themselves. I will have to try a better grade of scope.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Simmons® ProHunter® Handgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 31, 2007

Not a scope to purchase

By
Location: Alhambra Il. 25 years of hunting
I purchased the Simmons pro hunter scope for christmas last year. I did not get rings for the scope till this year. After mounting the scope I tried to sight it inn. I started with a large pattern. Starting to make adjustments to get the scope zerod inn. The first shot hit in the center, the next was off, then the shots were everywhere. The next day I changed loads to reduce recoil and possible flinch, again I could not keep the shots on a 12x12 target. Then I noticed a clank in the scope. The scope fell apart on the inside. I contacted Simmons and I was informed that I not only had to pay the shipping to return the product which is normal, but I also had to send them money to return the scope back to me. Not a problem except that the scope is less than a year old and had maybe 100 to 150 rounds shot through the gun with the Simmons scope on the gun. I would question the quality of Simmons products if they wont even cover the shipping on a scope less than a year old.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Simmons® ProHunter® Handgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 30, 2013

Not for a Magnum

By
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Good Scope and Good Price. However, this is not made for magnum revolvers. At first I mounted it on my scout rifle with no trouble keeping zero. I later decided to put it on my Ruger SRH in .454 Casull and thats where the problems started. My shots wandered all over the target, even off the target. At first I was able to get it close to zero then the next shot it was like several inches off so I would double check and it would get worse so I would readjust and it would be back on then rinse and repeat back off.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Simmons® ProHunter® Handgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 27, 2010

Simmons Pro hunter

By
Location: HUGO, COLORADO
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Bought to put on a 243 . Seems not to be clear. Do not know why? I guess spoiled by higher end scopes. 3 X 9 and seems to be clearer on 9 than any other setting.. even up close.. My suggestion....put another 150 with the price of this scope and buy a better scope..
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Simmons® ProHunter® Handgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 19, 2007

Simons Pro Hunter

By
I bought this scope to put on my S&W 460 WTU. After shooting it I noticed a 1/2 moon in the scope. I thought it was my eye sight. I adjusted the scope and it seemed OK but after a while I couldn't get the 1/2 moon out no matter how much I adjusted.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Simmons® ProHunter® Handgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 4, 2007

Simmons ProHunter Handgun Scope 2-6x32

By
Location: Sacramento, CA
I bought this scope about 18 months ago. Haven't shot a lot with it, maybe 60-70 rounds with my S&W 460 Magnum revolver. This past weekend I went hunting with it and couldn't change power settings. It was locked on 2x and wouldn't budge. I'm sending it back to Simmons. I may be reporting on their "Limited Lifetime Warranty" next. This may be a good scope for a less powerful handgun, but wouldn't recommend it for the big magnums.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Simmons® ProHunter® Handgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 6, 2010

My Prohunter Handgun Scope vs. Red Dot Sights

By
Location: AZ
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I must have purchased an oddball scope because I am having trouble maintaining x-axis adjustment as it constantly wanders to the right and I keep trying to catch up to the consistent deviation with the adjustment wheel. I cannot get the windage adjustment to settle down and give me repeatability. I have used a Barska M16 red dot sight as well as a 25 year old Aimpoint 2000 on this same .223 pistol and with either red dot, the repeatability is there. With the Simmons handgun scope, I'm wasting ammo. It's time to send this ProHunter back to the factory for evaluation. I would like the scope if it provided me with consistent, positive performance at 100 yards.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Simmons® ProHunter® Handgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2006

Simmons Prohunter Handgun scope

By
This scope went on my first scoped handgun, a Smith and Wesson Model 29 Classic 8 3/8" barrel. The optic quality is about average. The accuracy seems good. I would say for the price it is not a bad deal. There are probably even better handgun scopes out there, but I am satisfied with what I have. I have not yet taken the gun hunting, but time spent at the range has shown that accuracy achieved with this scope will make it a lethal hunting piece out to a good 50 - 75 yards. I would say that it falls in the middle quality wise of all the scopes I have ever used.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Simmons® ProHunter® Handgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 12, 2012

great value

By
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 36-45
good scope for cost - good clarity and holds zero on Xp-100 221 fireball
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Simmons® ProHunter® Handgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2011

Simmons Handgun Scope

By
Location: Brunswick, GA
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
The scope looks great. It was very easy to install and sight-in. It stays on point once zeroed and has not wavered in its accuracy. I'm well pleased, especially when considering the price versus performance.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Simmons® ProHunter® Handgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2011

Great Value

By
Location: Meridian, ID
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This scope is a fantastic deal. It is built well and the optics are great. It just appears to be a darned good scope for a great price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Simmons® ProHunter® Handgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 6, 2010

Everything works

By
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I mounted this scope on a Ruger Mk III Hunter. Eye relief is excellent. You do need to keep your head VERY steady to maintain the sight picture (once you find it). The click adjustments seemed to be consistent and the increments as advertised. The reticle is sharp and clear. The scope works best in good light and fine in medium light. If you intend to work mostly or exclusively in low light this may not be the scope for you.
The silver/satin finish looks real good on a stainless steel gun. The paintwork on the logo is a bit sloppy though.
This scope is very precise. It is NOT fast at acquiring targets. With patience and the right gun you should see only bulls and a few 9s at 25 yards and definitely all in the black at 50 yards (supported). If you're shooting human size silhouettes at 13 feet and think you need a scope, find a new hobby.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Simmons® ProHunter® Handgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 3, 2009

Simmons® ProHunter® Handgun Scope

By
Location: Novi, MI
Good handgun scope for the money. It is clear at arms length and the reticle is sharp.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Simmons® ProHunter® Handgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 29, 2009

ProHunter Handgun Scope

By
Location: Houston, TX
I bought one of these to put on my Ruger Super Blackhawk Hunter in .45 Colt and it was a great decision. Just got done at the range sighting it in and shooting 50 rounds of heavy loaded .45 Colt through the pistol. The scope held up and the sight picture was clear. My only complaint is that the finger adjustments weren't as easy to move as some of my other rifle scopes. Now I can be confident in my Blackhawk Hunter out to 100 yards, watch out Porky!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Simmons® ProHunter® Handgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2009

Great Pistol Scope

By
Location: California
I purchused this Simmons Scope for my Smith and Wesson 686 .357 Magnum with a 8 3/8" barrel. With this scope I can hold a 1 1/2 to 2" at 75 yards, benched or supported. Great Scope for the money!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Simmons® ProHunter® Handgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 7, 2008

pistol scope

By
Location: Retired in Rural Northeast Arkansas
I mounted this scope on a 44 mag for hunting. It sighted in quickly and acuratly. For the price it is a very good choice. I have some other expensive optics and this may not be the best but it sure is good enough and the price is very reasonable.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Simmons® ProHunter® Handgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 1, 2007

prohunter 4x32

By
Location: Oklahoma City
Good optics for the money . Holds its position under heavy recoil . Only draw back was I had to run the elevation all the way down to get on target .
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Simmons® ProHunter® Handgun Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 12, 2015

Simmons® ProHunter® Handgun Scope

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I purchased this scope to mount on a 45/70 caliber hand gun, not knowing if it would hold zero due to the heavy recoil. It performed flawlessly. I am also impressed with the clarity of this scope.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 31