Customer Reviews for Shepherd Scopes Shepherd Riflescopes

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Shepherd Scopes Shepherd Riflescopes

Shepherd scopes are truly unique. They have a Dual Reticle System that permits dead-on holding at extreme ranges. One-shot zeroing, windage and elevation adjustments that are right on the money, parallax elimination and an aiming point that stays the same through the whole power range. Zero the crosshair at 100 meters, then simply put the circle on the game or target that is the same size (shoulder to brisket on deer, elk, etc.). The first circle is the same size as a deer will be from his shoulder to his chest if he is at 300 meters. The center of the circle is your 300-meter zero. Don't let all this lead you to believe that these optics are complicated. By matching the right Shepherd Scope with your favorite rifle and load, you can instantly be on target with the range verified and ready to make the shot. To choose the correct Shepherd Scope, you need to know the velocity and ballistic co-efficient of your particular caliber and bullet. If you do not know, consult a reliable reloading manual. The 18" circle is for deer and similar-sized game, the 24" circle is for elk-sized game and the 9" circle is for targets or varmints. Matte finish. For a free brochure on this remarkable scope, call 1-800-237-8888. All3-10 x 40 scopes feature the same specifications.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
15 out of 20(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shepherd Riflescopes
Review 1 for Shepherd Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Junction City, Kansas. Retired U. S. Army Inf
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I own three of them.

Date:December 7, 2009
I have two of their p2 scopes. Shepherd used to make a Shootist scope, and I have that one, too. One P-2 is on a 30-06, which I have used to kill about 25 whitetails at ranges of 30yds to 500yds. I loaned it to a friend of mine for two years, while I hunted with a 35 Whelen (with the shootist mounted on it) and he killed about 7 or 8 whitetails at ranges from 40yds to 450yds, all first round hits, only one requiring a second shot. (During that time, I killed about 9 deer with the Shepherd Shootist (bought in 1985). I just placed a new P-2 on my 35 Whelen, which generates about the same recoil as a 338 Win Mag. I checked the bullet drop with my handloads and 250gr. Speer bullets, and it was within 2" of point of aim at that distance. What more do you want? The one shot zero works, too. But start with windage adjustable rings.
These scopes really work, and if you're having trouble with yours, it probably is the mounts or rings. But let me know, and I'll take it off your hands. I need a new P-1 for my 300WM.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shepherd Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Arlington, wa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shepherd scope

Date:May 14, 2009
Very nice. 1 shot zero
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shepherd Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Snap Shots at Long Range? This is the Scope.

Date:February 27, 2009
Bought this as a gift for my son - his 2nd Shepherd for his new .308. Here is his experience with his first Shepherd scope on his 6.8 SPC: Elk spotted across a canyon at around 500 yds. He moves rapidly down-slope to close range, sits, steadies, fires. Elk runs 70 yards and drops (follow-up shot prevented by another animal running with it). Shot grazed heart. Time from elk spotted to shot fired about half a minute. Shot range verified by laser: 410 yds.
If you are careful to match your ballistics to the drop table built into the reticle (and this can take some work at the range and with a ballistics calculator to get spot-on), this scope will allow you to engage targets out to 500 yds and beyond almost instantaneously. You'll have fired while anyone else would still be fiddling with their range finder. And note, the 6.8 is no magnum - barely up to game this size - so the drop correction wasn't small. He's taken prairie dogs out that far and beyond when the wind was low, using only the scope to range and correct.
If you want to be able to take a long shot within seconds of spotting the target (or know immediately that the range really is too long to risk), then this is the scope for you.
Admittedly, doping the wind is up to you, but you'll know the range and can see the drop when you aim, so some mental preparation with a ballistics program before the hunt should make moderate wind corrections very rapid to estimate.
I'd buy one for myself - but I'm too cheap. A Bushnell Elite 1500 rangefinder (with 8 built-in drop tables and inclination correction) snapped up in the bargain cave at the Cabelas outside Salt Lake, should allow me to correct several different rifles (topped with inexpensive scopes) for shots out to 600 - 800+ yards, depending on the round. But for shear speed of engagement on one gun - it'll never match a Shepherd scope.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shepherd Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Idaho
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best scope for the price, period.

Date:October 16, 2008
I currently own (2) Shepherd scopes and am ordering another to put on a custom 338 Ultra Mag. Although the scope dose work exactly as advertised, I suggest getting a ballistic software program, a chronograph, and a GPS if you really intend to use the scope to the maximum of it's potential. Also, bullet velocity can vary wildly with pre-loaded amunition so if you are a long range freak like me you will definately want to reload. To be truely accurate at 800 - 1000 yards and beyond, you need to know the ballistic coeficient of your bullet, the muzzle velocity of the bullet, and (very important) your altitude. My one shot kill from beyond 800 yards made me a believer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shepherd Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Shepherd scope

Date:September 23, 2008
This scope is not user friendly,probably works excellent when set up properly which I have failed to do yet.They do answer the phones and answer questions,but most places to sight in have no cell coverage.Know exactly what your gun is doing when you call and they will give you an intelligent answer.If possible call on the range.If set up properly this would be the perfect scope.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shepherd Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

shepherd

Date:July 22, 2008
I have a shepherd scope on a .300 win. mag. I have not been able to keep this scope on zero for the past 4 years that I have had it. I check zero before each hunt and has never been on. 4 years of failed hunts is not a very good record. I do not recomend this scope to anyone unless you don't like to hit what you are aimming at.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shepherd Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central Kansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Scope for long range shooting and hunting

Date:May 26, 2008
I have been using the Shepherd on my M70 Winchester 30-06 since coming back from the First Gulf War. I have hunted California Blacktail Mulies, Wild Hogs (CA & TX), Kansas Whitetail, Texas Whitetail and 1 Elk in Colorado.......All one shot kills, with ranges out to 500+ yards. I am extremely happy with this scope. I have also put it on a .243 WSSM Win M70 Varmint Gun, with outstanding results. My Hunting Partners have since bought a Shepherd or are saving for one or getting another. This scope is simply outstanding and easy to use! I now own 3 of them for different weapons.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shepherd Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pensacola, FL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Scope

Date:March 24, 2008
This is a state of the art scope
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shepherd Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Elko NEV.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

sweet

Date:January 25, 2008
I forgot the instructions when I went to the range. It took me two extra shots to find zero.After that everything worked as advertised on my new 300 ultra mag.I didnt want to stop shooting but my shoulder had enough.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shepherd Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Laredo, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Shepherd V1 6x18 on .300 win mag Detailed Review

Date:December 18, 2007
I would like to add my review to all who like the concept. First of all let me start by saying that the scopes idea is truely remarkable. When I first started reading about it I wanted one as soon as got my Browning A-bolt medallion .300 win mag. However as soon as I got the rifle i shelled out the cash for the scope. Threw box and everything away since it has a very good warranty. So I set it up locktite and everything.
I went to the range shot my 1st round. like the manual said, placed the cross hairs on point of aim and move the circles to bullet impact. One shot zero. Nothing again. same thing, nothing and again.... Finally i got tired of the trying that i gave a call to Mr. Shepherd. He explained to me how to zero the rifle and believe it or not he stayed on the phone until I shot 3 rounds.. and all rounds were about a good 3" spread on target. Then he said that it was the rings! That i may have dogeared one of the rings and therefore will give me poor results. So to avoid all the back and forth, I drove 180 miles to meet with a Gunshop in San Antonio to have my scope professionaly mounted.
After about 3 days i picked up my rifle and back to the range. again it was all over the place, new rings, new bases, and professionally mounted. I called again and this time they said it was my rifle. I sent the rifle back to Browning and after being rude about accuracy the company sent me an overnight ticket to send my rifle for testing. the rifle produced less than 1/2" groups @100 with remington, winchester and about 3/4" group with federal ammo.
So my 3rd call, I called and they said that they could not accept a return because they don't do that. I called emailed, and everything and no more customer service. I would call to speak with Mr. Shepherd and they would leave me on the phone until i hanged up!!! I was really confident that the scope would be ideal for me, it was not a 1 shot zero, customer service was decent, recommendations were outrages.. spent money on countless money on ammo, rings & bases, and alot of phone time. Please note that I have heard the ring story elsewhere.. so save your money , practice, practice, practice.. Hope this helps.
-Juanjo322
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shepherd Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Corpus Christi, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Scope

Date:November 4, 2007
This is the best scope I have owned. I have purchased numerous scopes and this the is best one I have ever owned. Simple adjustments, one shot zero, and once it is done you are ready to hunt. You have to purchase one if your are a serous hunter. This is better than Leupold or Nikon....guaranteed!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shepherd Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Right Scope / Wrong Gun

Date:September 20, 2007
I recently bought a V1 for my 7mm Remington Ultra Mag. The scope has preformed exactly as promised. It sighted in quickly, is clear, and holds it zero well. Only thing that I don't like about the scope is the eye relief. In twenty five years of shooting I had never been bit, until the spepherd got me. I think that on a rifle with moderate recoil it would be great, and plan on moving it to my 220 swift.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shepherd Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Eatonville Wa.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent product

Date:September 19, 2007
Ruger 300 win mag easy install one shot sight in and have made good shoots at 700 yards I have been using this scope for 5 years and killed 2 elk with one shot each. I am now ordering one for my 7mm browning deer rifle, if you shoot long ranges then this is your scope.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shepherd Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Redford, Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Save your money

Date:September 17, 2007
I purchased a shepherd scope for my Ruger target rifle.
I've sighted in a few rifles and mounted a few scopes in my time. So I wouldn't call myself a total newbe.
The duel reticle system was very apealing and based on the favorable reviews I thought it would be a good investment.
My first attempt to sight it in on the range was impossible. They say to go out to 100 yards. I was at 36 yards and couldn't even get near the paper.
After calling Shepherd industries (they were helpfull) I was told it was my gun. I needed different mounts and rings.
OK, I'll bite.
Ordered the additional equipment and tried bore sighting it. I wasn't able to get paper, but I figured I'll try it again at the range.
I'm going to send it back to Shepherd and tell them to see if they can sight it in and on what kind of gun (since my gun is the fault).
FYI my Leupold was sighted in in seconds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shepherd Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fairbanks, AK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outstanding scope

Date:May 23, 2007
hunted for black bear with it and it is a great scope, also know alot of people up here that has used it inn the past for moose hunting and has nothing but great things to say about it.
so far I have shot it out to 350 yds and it is dead on.
I will deffinetly keep using this scope for a long time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shepherd Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: West Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shepherd scopes

Date:December 27, 2006
Been using the scope for about 9 years and what a scope. I just took my second deer over 700yds with the scope mounted on a 7mm mag. Out of the box the easiest scope to use. Would recommened to everyone who likes to shoot long shoots.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Shepherd Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: oklahoma
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

shepard scope

Date:December 14, 2006
i think this is a easy scope to sight in and is very accurate at very long distances. I would recomend this scope to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Shepherd Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: wyoming
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

tremendous scope

Date:November 25, 2006
20 twenty rounds after mounting and bore sighting scope on a Winchester Model 70 .30-06 I was shooting a .75" group. The glass is unbelievably clear, in the field the scope performed like I had been expecting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Shepherd Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Boston, Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

GREAT SCOPE

Date:November 22, 2006
"I put this shepard scope on my Savage Classic 7mm. After I zeroed the scope in at 100 yards, I don't have any problems shooting out out to 600 yards. GREAT SCOPE. I tell everyone about this great scope. GOOD LUCK"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Shepherd Riflescopes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Utah
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shepherd PE

Date:November 16, 2006
I'm pleased with my new Shepherd scope.It seems to pull in enough light, and holds a zero but I'm not sold on the one shot sight in. Overall it is a very fine scope.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.