Customer Reviews for GARMIN Garmin® Astro® 320 GPS Dog Tracking System with DC 40 Receiver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

GARMIN Garmin® Astro® 320 GPS Dog Tracking System with DC 40 Receiver

Combines the Astro 320 GPS with the DC 40 wireless transmitter collar. This unique DC 40 GPS system pinpoints your dog’s position and shows you exactly where he is, even when you can’t see or hear him. Strap the DC 40 wireless transmitter on your dog, and watch your dog’s position transmit on the bright-color screen handheld GPS device. Signals transmit as often as every five seconds, so you can see his current location and a trail of where he has been. Dog Tracker page has a compass pointing to your dog’s location, along with his current status – whether he’s running, sitting, on point or treeing. Track up to 10 dogs at a distance of up to nine miles (line of sight) with the purchase of additional collars. Astro can also sound an alarm to let you know instantly when your dog goes on point. Mark exact spots with the Covey Counter™ using the hunting-related waypoint icons. Contents include a bright-color screen handheld Astro 320 GPS with VHF antenna, a DC 40 wireless transmitter with collar, a vehicle power cable AC adapter, USB cable, a wrist strap and belt clip, an owner’s manual, quick reference guide, and a carry case. It also can be used as a standard GPS when not tracking dogs. It has all the features of Garmin’s top-line handheld outdoor devices, including a barometric altimeter, electronic compass, micro SD card slot, celestial information, area calculator and a rugged IPX7 waterproof exterior. The DC320 receiver’s simplified user interface and improved reception range of up to nine miles. The GPS unit with antenna is backwards compatible with DC 20, 30 and 40 model transmitter collars. The 2.6" LCD highly reflective 65K-color TFT supports enhanced Topo 24K and BirdsEye mapping. Other highlights include wireless unit-to-unit data transfer, auto-routing support, Hot-Fix™ GPS support, vibration alerts, built-in three-axis compass and barometric altimeter, and high-speed USB interface. Accepts Micro SD cards. Powered by two AA batteries (not included) for up to 20 hours.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.368 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
18 out of 19(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Garmin® Astro® 320 GPS Dog Tracking System with DC 40 Receiver
Review 1 for Garmin® Astro® 320 GPS Dog Tracking System with DC 40 Receiver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: PA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

astro220

Date:September 6, 2011
i have the Astro 220 with a DC30 and a DC40 collar.It is awesome.It really gives you piece of mind always knowing where your dogs(beagles) are.iwould recommend to anyone with hunting dogs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Garmin® Astro® 320 GPS Dog Tracking System with DC 40 Receiver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: north florida
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great for hunters who use dogs

Date:December 18, 2011
i deer hunt in florida with deer dogs and own the astro 220 and just bought astro 320 it change my hunting with dogs. To greatest experience and fun. The systems are easy to use and garmin gives great support
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Garmin® Astro® 320 GPS Dog Tracking System with DC 40 Receiver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Paid for itself the first trip

Date:November 19, 2012
This gps unit saved me right out of the box. I had a bad experience in unexpected horrible wind conditions in Kansas. I was able to locate a young expensive pointer who had been quite distracted by several deer.
I did not purchase the product for that reason but it was instrumental in locating my dog without me panicking or having to search for hours.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Garmin® Astro® 320 GPS Dog Tracking System with DC 40 Receiver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Garmin Astro

Date:November 19, 2012
Good product, makes it easy to find your hound, carry extra batteries though
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Garmin® Astro® 320 GPS Dog Tracking System with DC 40 Receiver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very good product

Date:November 19, 2012
Used the garmin 320 on my brittany Bullet,very easy to use. One the features I like on the unit was the vibrate when on point. Works better when you are hunting the skittish pheasants out in South Dakota. No beeper collars.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Garmin® Astro® 320 GPS Dog Tracking System with DC 40 Receiver
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

FAIR

Date:November 20, 2012
HAD TROUBLE FROM OPENING THE BOX, THE CHARGER WAS BROKEN AND THE FIRST TIME IN THE WOODS THE ANTENNA BROKE. BUT WORK VERY WELL TRACKING DOG IN THE WOODS. HAVE TRACKED AS FAR AS 1.3 MILES.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Garmin® Astro® 320 GPS Dog Tracking System with DC 40 Receiver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very good product

Date:November 27, 2012
I tried my new garmin astro 320 with the dc40 tracking collars on my two bird dogs and couldn't be happier with the product. The reciever and collar are easy to use and the directions are simple and straight forward. The screen on the astro 320 is easy to see and not cluttered with a bunch of information that you don't need. I don't hear very well but had no problem hearing the beep on the reciever when my dogs were on point. the viberater alert also worked well. I was in thick woods and knew where my dogs were and what they were doing at all times, and followed the track back to the truck with no problem even in the heavy cover. A very good tool that is easy to use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Garmin® Astro® 320 GPS Dog Tracking System with DC 40 Receiver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fantastic Product!

Date:December 5, 2012
I did the first test run on Monday on my two coyote dogs and the system worked great. I have had no problems with the system except it will not allow you to use the same portion of a number to track two dogs. In example, my dog is #16 and my friends is #26, the system will not recognize the second one, #26, as my dog has a 6 in his number. Will work the bugs out, but I am very satisified with the system. Will save a lot of fuel this coming season. It is great to see all the statistics on your dogs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Garmin® Astro® 320 GPS Dog Tracking System with DC 40 Receiver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

needs better battery and bigger screen

Date:December 6, 2012
As a dog hunter in an area where catching deer hounds up to keep them out of highways is important the Astro system is great. There are times when good hounds are not going to let you catch them until they are darn good and ready. For those times a 48 hour or even longer collar battery life would be a fantastic addition. To get longer time we have added a Garmin GTU 10 to a collar. This however requires a smart phone hooked to an ipad (or something similiar / it is my son's rig). The only reason I did not give the unit 5 stars is the small screen. I have to continually put reading glasses on to read it. A fellow younger hunter with better eyes also complains. Give this unit an inch on the screen and a stronger collar battery and I would give it ten stars. A helpful tip: the Astro unit is hard on AA batteries. I use rechargable and keep 2 extra in my pocket. The Garmin help people are absolutely fantastic as they are with all Garmin products. It is a true customer friendly company.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Garmin® Astro® 320 GPS Dog Tracking System with DC 40 Receiver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

An Insurance Policy

Date:December 10, 2012
I am primarily a duck hunter and bought this GPS collar to prevent losing a valuable dog. The unit price was less than the cost of ( puppy) the 2 year old lab that wears it..... I primarily hunt a California refuge covered in cattails, tules and morning fog. After investing hundreds of hours and $$$ into training a reliable dog, things still happen....
Issues: Use lithium batteries. When the dog is swimming, the collar unit is submerged in water. This affects the GPS reception and the handheld unit does not show acurate arrow location or distance to the dog. Fortunately, most of my hunting conditions are in chest deep water for the lab.
The GPS unit fits on the same collar next to the Tri-Tronics e-collar unit. Happy with this purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Garmin® Astro® 320 GPS Dog Tracking System with DC 40 Receiver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great dog tracker

Date:December 11, 2012
I found that it is a great help in knowing the location
of my dog in the tall thick sagabrush.
My hunting buddy and I hunt in Eastern Washington.
I now know when my dog is on point and where she is so we are able to get to her location and flush the birds
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Garmin® Astro® 320 GPS Dog Tracking System with DC 40 Receiver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Garmin Astro DC 40 Review

Date:December 12, 2012
Cabela's did a great job delivering as promised and at the lowest price. The Garmin Astro is a great tool for hunting with your dog, or any other activity outdoors when not confined to a leash. It is a little slow to boot up, and I recommend re-calabrating with every new location but completely effective in tracking your dog down. I have found my dog on point 1 mile away with the device so far.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Garmin® Astro® 320 GPS Dog Tracking System with DC 40 Receiver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great purchase !!

Date:May 21, 2013
garmin astro 320 is super....at my age 71 it has made it easier to know where the beagles are if they are not running a hare....and even when they are but out of hearing range for 71 year old ears. the only thing missing is an up to date topo of the state i live in .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Garmin® Astro® 320 GPS Dog Tracking System with DC 40 Receiver
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Hampshire
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

wait for something better

Date:October 8, 2013
save your money dog can be 10 ft away and if you can't see him tells you 50 yards away so if he is on point in tall grass good luck
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Garmin® Astro® 320 GPS Dog Tracking System with DC 40 Receiver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great locator

Date:October 22, 2013
This is the first dog locator we have ever used. Works great for keeping track of a far reaching bird dog as well as making key hunting spots.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Garmin® Astro® 320 GPS Dog Tracking System with DC 40 Receiver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Astro 320

Date:December 31, 2013
I recently bought this 320 to replace my 220. The 320 is very nice and works well. The 320 has several more options and applications that the 220 does not offer. The Birdseye option is probably the best thing garmin has come out with. However the maps are slightly outdated so it would be nice if they offered more up to date maps.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Garmin® Astro® 320 GPS Dog Tracking System with DC 40 Receiver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome

Date:January 1, 2014
I really haven't tried my tracking system I am waiting on a topo card but I have several friends with this same unit and I am positive that it is the best hands down. The only improvement it could have would be is if it came with a pre loaded SD topo card but that is just wishful thinking on my part.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Garmin® Astro® 320 GPS Dog Tracking System with DC 40 Receiver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Garmin Astro 320

Date:January 7, 2014
I've been using the Garmin Astro 220 for several years. I'm primarily a Field Trialer. The new 320 model has 2 features that are outstanding. First, the reciever dosen't have to be held flat to get a connection. When I work dogs off my ATV I attach the unit to the holder on the handle bars and don't have to worry about keeping it flat. The second item is that the unit keeps a connection with the collar so much better than the 220. So far I love the new unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Garmin® Astro® 320 GPS Dog Tracking System with DC 40 Receiver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great purchase

Date:January 7, 2014
I've had deer dogs for years. I started looking for a gps,
But shortly decided for alittle more money
I could get the GPS plus be able to track my
Dogs. Totally worth it. Great buy. The birds
Eye view and topo map are great options
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.