Customer Reviews for GARMIN Garmin® Astro DC 40 GPS Dog Tracking System Extra Collar

GARMIN Garmin® Astro DC 40 GPS Dog Tracking System Extra Collar

Add another dog onto your Garmin Astro DC 40 GPS Tracking System with this durable collar. Low-profile GPS antenna is positioned below the dog's head to avoid getting hung up in thick brush. Tracks up to five miles.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.889 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
7 out of 9(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for Garmin® Astro DC 40 GPS Dog Tracking System Extra Collar
Review 1 for Garmin® Astro DC 40 GPS Dog Tracking System Extra Collar
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Poor

Date:September 23, 2010
This product does not Match up to the Previous DC30. Consistantly loosing GPS Signal, where my DC30's don't show any problems. It's very Hard to sync up in the morning on a dog to hunt. Last weekend I turned it on and put it on a dog, 230pm it was still not sync'd with GPS. Every time I have to take the collar off the dog to get it to work before hunting.. never had to do this with a DC30. I've been hunting with DC30's for a couple years and only Run Garmins without any telementry.. I would definately not trust running this DC40 without another tracking collar. Garmin Went backwards to the DC20's with this model.... I'm sending mine back to cabela's..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Garmin® Astro DC 40 GPS Dog Tracking System Extra Collar
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: SW Virginia
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GarminAstro/DC40 collars

Date:February 5, 2011
If you have a problem, and you will, just send the unit to Garmin. Before you do, register the entire unit with Garmin & download the updates. This may solve the problem. Never know how long the unit has set in the whse.Overall I like the unit, BUT it is necessary to read the manual.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Garmin® Astro DC 40 GPS Dog Tracking System Extra Collar
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Seward,Ne
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

dc 40 collar

Date:February 22, 2011
Have had my garmin for a few months now. Running two dogs with the unit. Works great have not had any problems with the dc40. Have not lost reception yet, but my dogs have stayed within a mile. Great tool for upland bird hunting. Will be buying another collar. I do check the garmin web site for collar or gps updates.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Garmin® Astro DC 40 GPS Dog Tracking System Extra Collar
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

thought it would be better

Date:January 14, 2012
bought the astro 320 package w/collar and 3 additional collars. 2 of the collars work very well, 1can't keep a signal for more than a couple minutes,and 1worked good the the first 5 times out now it won't stay on for more than ten seconds. The range of 7 miles is a joke 3/4 miles w/short antenna,1 3/4 w/long antenna. Where's the quality. READY TO RETURN IT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Garmin® Astro DC 40 GPS Dog Tracking System Extra Collar
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

worth the money

Date:March 29, 2012
The DC40 that I purchased is as good or better than the one that came with my Astro 220. It has worked really well in the mountains of North Carolina where it is really hard to track coonhounds with any system. It has a range of about 1 to 1.5 miles in any part of the mountainous area that I live in. As the hunting areas decrease and gets more populated, the Garmin systems are a must! Thanks for selling this great product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Garmin® Astro DC 40 GPS Dog Tracking System Extra Collar
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Garmin dc 40 dog tracking collar

Date:August 28, 2012
The dc 40 collars have been working great on our hounds. I have tracked as far away as 3.2 miles in the Northern Wi. Woods. Wouldn't be without this system. Definitely recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Garmin® Astro DC 40 GPS Dog Tracking System Extra Collar
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

LOVE IT!

Date:August 29, 2012
-SEEMS TO WORK FLAWLESSLY
-AM COMFORTABLE WITH KNOWING WHERE MY DOGS ARE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Garmin® Astro DC 40 GPS Dog Tracking System Extra Collar
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works Great

Date:September 16, 2012
I bought the 320 and DC40 package last winter and used it on my pup and still using it now. No problems and he has come back from hunting wet and covered in mud seems to hold up well. Every once in a great while says it looses signal but then comes right back with in seconds I wonder if maybe he might run through a culvert or something. Very happy with the system only wish the 320 handheld was rechargeable instead of using 2 AA batteries
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Garmin® Astro DC 40 GPS Dog Tracking System Extra Collar
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great product

Date:October 31, 2012
Knowing EXACTLY where your hound is compared to having a good idea which direction he's in, is invaluable for finding him. Cuts recovery time in half if not more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.