Customer Reviews for SportDog SportDOG Brand® SD-1850 Upland Hunter Trainer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

SportDog SportDOG Brand® SD-1850 Upland Hunter Trainer

Control beeper functions, as well as the normal training stimulation, all from the transmitter with the SD-1850 Upland Hunter. Nine different beeper modes, including on/off, can be controlled with the touch of a button, giving you the freedom of using the beeper as a locator in heavy cover or as a true beeper. Uses a 3-volt lithium battery. All three pieces – transmitter, receiver and beeper – are completely waterproof. 8 levels of momentary and continuous stimulation. 3/4-mile range. Transmitter and receiver both use rechargeable NiMH batteries.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.823 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
12 out of 17(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SportDOG Brand® SD-1850 Upland Hunter Trainer
Review 1 for SportDOG Brand® SD-1850 Upland Hunter Trainer
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Vermont
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Big and Bold

Date:January 7, 2008
I hunt bird in New England with a big running, hard charging setter, and have used a number of E-collars. the SportDOG has the range I need and ruggedness to take the pounding my hunting partner gives it charging through brush, marsh and streams. One of the best features compared to otherI have used is charge life. I don't have to worry about recharging every four hours.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SportDOG Brand® SD-1850 Upland Hunter Trainer
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Knoxville, TN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

E collar

Date:January 7, 2008
Great collar. I have had several other e collars from better known manufacturers and would have to say that this is by far the best I have bought so far.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SportDOG Brand® SD-1850 Upland Hunter Trainer
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: South Solon, OH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

e-collar worries

Date:November 5, 2007
At first I wasnt too sure about using an e-collar on my pointer, but after the first day hunting it was like having a leash on her the whole time. Also with the locate beeper I always knew where she was even when she was in thick bursh or tall grass.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SportDOG Brand® SD-1850 Upland Hunter Trainer
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bagdad Arizona
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Collar

Date:October 31, 2007
The remote Beeper is a great feature. The collar is very easy to use and well made. Very good product. I've been using this collar on my Vizla for about 2 months and have not had any problem with her getting out of range.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SportDOG Brand® SD-1850 Upland Hunter Trainer
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: CT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

NICE UNIT

Date:October 10, 2007
RECENTLY TOOK MY BRAND NEW SPORTDOG 1850 TO MAINE FOR A GROUSE AND WOODCOCK HUNT. VERY TOUGH CONDITIONS, AND MY GSP IS TOUGH ON HIS EQUIPTMENT. COLLAR, BEEPER AND TRANSMITTER CAME THROUGH GREAT, OPERATED SMOOTHLY AND EASILY AND PROVED TO BE UP TO THE TASK. I'VE OWNED INNOTEK (JUNK) AND TRITRONICS (OVERATED) AND LIKE THIS SET UP THE BEST.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SportDOG Brand® SD-1850 Upland Hunter Trainer
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sportdog 1850

Date:July 9, 2007
The best collar I have ever used. I like the feature of having a remote controlled beeper on the collar. Best of all the locate feature. I would recommend this collar to all upland hunters.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SportDOG Brand® SD-1850 Upland Hunter Trainer
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: -new york
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

sport dog 1850 trainer

Date:May 8, 2007
i have had this trainer about three weeks and it has done all that the manufacturer promised. i also believe that the instructions on use are easy to understand and reflect an understanding of how well a gun dog can be expected to perform. i have also contacted the manufacturer and found them to be very helpfull
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SportDOG Brand® SD-1850 Upland Hunter Trainer
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Chatham, NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BMW142

Date:November 30, 2006
The SportDOG 1850 is the new benchmark for e-collars.
I have used all of the big name brands, and with SportDOG, nobody is coming close.
Best Qualities:
-Durability
-Compactness
-Respectably priced
Hands down, the best collar on the market
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SportDOG Brand® SD-1850 Upland Hunter Trainer
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Idaho
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product

Date:November 17, 2006
Very pleased with the unit. Very nice rubberized transmitter, perfect size. Functions work very well on one dog or two. VERY impressed with the beeper. Able to change all functions at the transmitter and a FANTASTIC hawk scream.
The only thing I would change is the carry case. It isn't very durable for long life and has no provisions for adding a second collar.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SportDOG Brand® SD-1850 Upland Hunter Trainer
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Lehi, Utah
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great quality

Date:January 9, 2012
Haven't had any problems to speak of in a year of use. Good quality for money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SportDOG Brand® SD-1850 Upland Hunter Trainer
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Vermont
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sd-1850

Date:November 24, 2009
Like the Ecollar, having some issues with the beeper. During a wet rainy day the beeper malfunctioned. I call the mfg and they told me to try a new battery, I have my doubts. All components are to be completely waterproof. The mfg did say they would replace it after I try the new battery. CMC
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SportDOG Brand® SD-1850 Upland Hunter Trainer
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good collar

Date:January 7, 2008
The e-collar has made handling Webster, my 11 month old male brittany, a lot easier. I'm not sure he likes it as much as I do, though! Seems to work well from quite a distance and holds a charge great. I'd recommend it.
The issue I had was the dog would only listen when l was in fenced area or where he knew I could grab him. When he was outside of my reach, he would only listen when he felt like it. Not the behaviour you want in a bird dog!! He'd run until he was a speck on the horizon, no matter how much I whistled or yelled.
Then I got the SportDog collar. I've been using it for three months. He gets two tries at listening to the command and then he gets a zap and now he's been pretty much cured of this ranging problem.
The only thing that I've had a bit of an issue with on this unit is the beeper. I have trouble getting it to only beep when I push the locater button on the remote. It will come on and just stay on. I don't like it beeping every 10 seconds -- it's very loud! Also don't like the pointing beeper on -- especially not good when dogs are stationary in their kennels in the back of the truck.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SportDOG Brand® SD-1850 Upland Hunter Trainer
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

1850 collar

Date:October 12, 2006
I have had a couple of problems with the collar, including the beeper going haywire out in the feild, it started going through all of the tones and would not shut off with the transmitter. I called Sportdog and they are sending a new collar.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for SportDOG Brand® SD-1850 Upland Hunter Trainer
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: SE PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Beeper warning

Date:September 18, 2008
I have been using a SD-1850 for over a year now and have found it to be ok at best. When it is working, I like it very much but the beeper is inconsistent. Many times the dog will be on point and the beeper will not go off. It is really frustrating when you are in deep cover. And as mentioned in another review the clip that attaches the controller to your jacket lets go and you loose it in the woods. The rest of it seems to work very well. It is too bad because it would be a great collar if the beeper worked.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for SportDOG Brand® SD-1850 Upland Hunter Trainer
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not reliable.

Date:October 2, 2008
Please see my review of the "Add-A-Beeper". Thus far, SportDog continues to stand behind the product, but I've been through 3 or 4 beepers in 13 months. None have lasted long enough to get hard use.
SportDog also swapped out a transmitter that wouldn't hold a charge after a two months.
I want to like this unit: it's compact - I like that everything is blaze orange - and the people at SportDog are very friendly - but it's not reliable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for SportDOG Brand® SD-1850 Upland Hunter Trainer
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Chicago suburbs
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Stick to Sportdog 1800

Date:April 8, 2008
I've had Sportdog 1800 collars and transmitters for 3 years. I own 3 sets to play it safe because I once lost a transmitter in the U.P. plowing through Aspen and the spring clip somehow released the transmitter. Now I wrap a small piece of duct tape around the spring clip so that the unit can't come off.
I ordered the Upland 1850 18 months ago when it first came out. It stunk. The dog would point and the beeper would take forever to come on and signal the point, if at all. Changing modes was hit or miss also. I called the mfg. and they sent me a new replacement unit. Same issues. I reverted back to their 1800 unit... I think they're great!
Sportdog's DSL-400 beeper unit is also great. I have 3 but only use the first one (for which I haven't replaced the original battery yet in 3 hunting seasons) and the other two are backups or for friends' dogs.
Unless the 1850 has been debugged, I'd steer clear.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for SportDOG Brand® SD-1850 Upland Hunter Trainer
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Idaho
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Sportdog1850

Date:January 11, 2007
First collar I recieved worked inconsistently and I never knew when the beeper would work or the dog would recieve stimulation. Customer service was excellent and they sent all new components (tranmitter, reciever and beeper) When using this new set I didn't see any differnt response from my dog and the beeper seemed to work only slightly better. Went out to test the range and at 1/4 mi with clear line of sight the beeper worked 1/2 the time when a signal was sent from the transmitter and using the test light provided stimulation occured about the same amount of time. I returned and went to a different brand of training collar and beeper. Customer service people I talked to were very good and they really tried, asking good quesitons and providing overnight delivery for the replacement parts. I just couldn't get the system to operate properly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.