Customer Reviews for National Geographic National Geographic Weather Station

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

National Geographic National Geographic Weather Station

This affordable weather station displays key weather conditions to keep you informed at a glance. Includes wind sensor to track wind speed. Wireless technology transmits data from up to 100 feet away. Indoor monitor displays indoor/outdoor temperature, outdoor relative humidity, wind chill, wind gust, barometric pressure and trend, weather forecast icon, sunrise and sunset times, moon phase, time and date. Monitor requires three AA batteries; sensor requires two AAA batteries. (Batteries not included.) Imported.
Overall Customer Rating:
2.077 out of 5
2.1
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
8
4 out of 13(31%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for National Geographic Weather Station
Review 1 for National Geographic Weather Station
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Ontario, NY
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

JUNK

Date:February 29, 2012
Bought this last Xmas 2011. the display is good and the set up was easy. After two or three days the outdoor sensor didn't read the wind and the temp. I changed the batteries and still had nothing after it was put outside. like they say you get what you payed for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for National Geographic Weather Station
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Davisburg, Mi.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Poor design

Date:February 14, 2012
Gad, where do i start....
Remote sensor transmission range is nowhere near 100 feet, at 30 feet still will not pick up a signal. and I live on 11 acres with the nearest neighbor over 400 feet away,
Wind speed cups would not rotate because the shaft was rubbing against the case, I had to take the sensor apart to fix that by opening up the hole where the shaft enters the case..
Back light stays on for about 1 second, giving you no time to read the display, and illuminates the display very unevenly.
display is useless in normal lighting.
You expect better from Nat. Geo. and Cabelas. If I were not 76 miles from the nearest store It would go back in a flash.
Impulse buys are usually poor decisions. Should have checked the reviews first...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for National Geographic Weather Station
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: The dry side of Washington State
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Zero for Two

Date:January 31, 2012
Returned the first unit because the remote temperature was intermittent and stopped displaying altogether after 3 days. The second unit is on day 4 and is now intermittent after working well for three days, it is going back.
Lucky it was purchased at Cabelas where they have a great return policy.
Had an Oregon Scientific system for 12 years before buying this unit the only thing that stopped it was a soccer ball to the remote unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for National Geographic Weather Station
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Cuyahoga Falls Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Dont waste your money

Date:January 6, 2012
I got this as a gift from my son. I have had alot of problems with it. Like the sceen not showing wind speed or temp at times. The anamometer was placed on the roof and it has itermittent problems. I have to wait till the roof is clear of snow to take it down now. I Am Not at all pleased with it and wouldnt recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for National Geographic Weather Station
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Gonzales, La.
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very nice unit for the price

Date:January 2, 2012
This unit has exceeded my expectations. It is working consistently and the barometric pressure agrees to the tee with NOAA every day. The wind speed apparatus seems a little fragile but works well and time will tell if it will last. Some have said that it should have a back light on the display. Well, it does have a back light. You press the back light button and it stays on about 5 seconds and then goes out. That is what you should expect with a battery operated unit. This is a great product for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for National Geographic Weather Station
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Boise, Id
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not worth even the sale price.

Date:January 1, 2012
At first I was excited about getting this as a gift but once I took 2 hours out of my day to run wiring across the side of the house, rig up a bracket (a piece of an old license plate) and a pole to mount the wind speed sensor, the dang wind sensor didn't work!! I almost launched the thing onto my neighbor's roof to see if he'd have better luck with it!! Luckily Cabela's has a great return policy. It's going back tomorrow. I've had really good luck with Lacross units in the past so I'll be trading it in for one of those.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for National Geographic Weather Station
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Upstate NY
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

NatGeo Weather Station

Date:December 4, 2011
We just received the weather station. Start up was very simple. I put the wind unit out and didn't receive a signal. I found out I had it up wrong. The little cups were to hang down. Now that it is corrected, it works great. We love all the options on it. I know there was bad reviews about the wind gauge, but we have no problem with it and would recommend this to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for National Geographic Weather Station
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Warren, PA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Junk

Date:July 19, 2011
Junk pretty much says it all, you want junk then buy it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for National Geographic Weather Station
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Russia, St.Petersburg
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good device!

Date:February 9, 2011
Good gadget! Screen is OK, contrast is normal. But very slow outdoor sensor - almost 20 minutes from change temperature to correct value on display.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for National Geographic Weather Station
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: FLORIDA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Moved the sensor till blue in the face !

Date:February 9, 2011
Either this one is defective or the thing wont do what it says. I've moved the outside/windspeed sensor at least to10 different locations. The signal would register for a day or two-then disappear.I placed the sensor like the manual says and no luck. The light up button is not user friendly as stated by another purchaser- does not stay on for us old people long enough to read the thing. My case it did not matter cause it did not work anyway.
.Oh well.Cabela's is not at fault and they are still my favorite mail order store in the world.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for National Geographic Weather Station
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love it

Date:February 8, 2011
It's great at the sale price. Lots of features, temp and humidity in/out, air pressure, radio atomic clock, sunrise sunset, moon phase, even the graphic weather forecaster seems to work OK for a gimmic.
I am not using the wind speed device, I don't expect too much from it for the price I paid.
I wanted inside outside temp and humidity and for that, accuracy seems good. It works.
The display has high glare as other reviewers have noted. It has to be located where the screen glare is minimized.
The unit does what I want it to, have been running it a couple of weeks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for National Geographic Weather Station
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: buffalo,new york
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

inferior product

Date:January 22, 2011
I would not recommend this unit due to the following ; unit is hard to read in daylight , very difficult set-up , poor instruction booklet .Outdoor temp and wind speed operate very poorly . very inaccurate readings . All in all not a quality product . I will retun this unit ASAP .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for National Geographic Weather Station
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Wish the Backscreen was Brighter

Date:December 16, 2010
This weatherstation had everything we needed. HOWEVER: the backscreen needs to be brighter and the numbers darker. Daytime use caused a glare and nighttime, we could not read it. If it had a back light that stayed on, it would be perfect. For me to see, I needed to have directly under a table lamp. Too bad; we had to return it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.