Customer Reviews for MIDLAND Midland S.A.M.E. NOAA AM/FM/Weather Radio

MIDLAND Midland S.A.M.E. NOAA AM/FM/Weather Radio

Enhanced with Specific Area Message Encoding, this weather-monitoring device enables you to program up to 20 counties for only the alerts you wish to receive. The user-selectable alarm system also lets you fine-tune the unit to add or omit alerts in your area. The radio picks up AM, FM and seven weather channels to give you up-to-date information on current news and impending weather patterns. Plus, it has a built-in alarm clock with full-date display. Runs on four AA batteries (not included). Dimensions: 7-1/8"W x 2-1/2"H x 5-1/2"D.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.548 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 42 reviews
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
39 out of 42(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Midland S.A.M.E. NOAA AM/FM/Weather Radio
Review 1 for Midland S.A.M.E. NOAA AM/FM/Weather Radio
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Midland SAME weather radio

Date:November 21, 2006
After a tornado killed several people a few miles north of my home, I decided I needed one of these. It was easy to set up, and the one time since the tornado that we had a severe storm warning, it worked!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Midland S.A.M.E. NOAA AM/FM/Weather Radio
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Midland weather Alert Radio

Date:April 3, 2007
Purchased this radio to replace an outdated model made by another manufacturer.
This unit performs very well and is extremely easy to operate. The voice and music reception is substantially better that the older model that I replaced.
I bought a second one for my offcie. Living in Florida this is a need to have item.
I wholeheartedly recommend this unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Midland S.A.M.E. NOAA AM/FM/Weather Radio
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great radio for info junkies!

Date:April 26, 2007
I’m a weather geek. For the longest time I had the basic radio that flashed and sounded a tone, nothing fancy. I decided it was finally time to upgrade and I am glad I did! I got lucky one day and found this unit in the bargain cave. Some of the features this radio offers are, Weather Radio, AM/FM radio, Clock with alarm, S.A.M.E. alerts (like the Amber alerts), alphanumeric display, AM/FM radio presets, and connections for an external antenna and alert device.
I did a little research on this unit before I bought it and quite honestly I have not experienced the issues that others have in reviews on other websites. There seemed to be a lot of complaints about the AM/FM radio reception but I did not experience that. The unit is in the bedroom of my house and I can pull in the 5 FM stations I have serving my rural area. I’m sure if you are in a metal or concrete building with no windows you probably won’t get anything. The unit does beep when buttons are pushed which to some could become an annoyance.
Programming the unit isn’t as complicated as some people think. The manual tells you how to get the codes for the S.A.M.E. alerts. Basically it is 00 plus the first 4 digits of your zip code. Let’s say you live in Denver with a zip of 80202, you would enter 008020 as your code. You will then get S.A.M.E. alerts for the zip code of 80202. The unit gives you the option of all the codes, multiple counties or a single county. I did multiple and set up the surrounding counties to mine. You can also find the codes on the NOAA website and search for SAME Codes. The second link was the one that had them.
Other notes on this unit, there is a connector labeled as PC. I’m not exactly sure what this is for because it already has a connector for an external alert device. My guess is that you can connect it to your PC (Personal Computer) and do either logging or other cool stuff. I have emailed Midland asking about this but haven’t received a response yet. (it’s only been a day). I also plan on taking advantage of the external antenna and alert option. You can find these on Midland’s website or your favorite auction website.
If you are expecting or wanting just a weather radio, pass on this one. However, if you are looking for a good information center then get this unit!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Midland S.A.M.E. NOAA AM/FM/Weather Radio
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Midland NOAA Radio

Date:June 12, 2007
This radio operates and sounds good. It was advertised as running on 4 AA batteries, but mine will only last two days.
You must keep radio plugged into house power.
The instuction manual is typical of manuals printed overseas.
(what is the PC jack for?)
This radio is warranted for one year. My Midland handheld
radios are warranted for three years.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Midland S.A.M.E. NOAA AM/FM/Weather Radio
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Carriere, MS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Weather Radio fits my need

Date:July 5, 2007
I live in an area with hurricanes and tornados. Easy to set up and program. So far it works every time there is a weather porblem.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Midland S.A.M.E. NOAA AM/FM/Weather Radio
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Texas Hill Country
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Weather Radio

Date:July 18, 2007
This is the first time in Texas that we have really enjoyed our Midland S.A.M.E NOAA AM/FM Weather Radio. It has been reporting the weather as it has been raining so much.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Midland S.A.M.E. NOAA AM/FM/Weather Radio
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Minnesota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Weather Radio

Date:September 24, 2007
After trying two different weather radios, and finding that I live in a "black hole" which caused hit-and-miss weather warnings, I finally asked a NOAA rep what to do. He suggested the Midland radio and told me that Cabela's was the only place to purchase it. I got one and, over the past week when the weather has been extremely volatile, it has sounded off without fail. I wish the siren would be just a bit louder as, when in deep sleep, I had a hard time waking up when it went off. It does keep going until it's turned off though (at least for a long enough time for me to wake up). I finally feel like I'll get the warning I need to get myself and my family to safety if bad weather hits.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Midland S.A.M.E. NOAA AM/FM/Weather Radio
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: mercersburg, pa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent

Date:January 8, 2008
excellent
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Midland S.A.M.E. NOAA AM/FM/Weather Radio
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: HAMMOND,LA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

louisianatigger

Date:February 1, 2008
great product,very happy with it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Midland S.A.M.E. NOAA AM/FM/Weather Radio
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kentucky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great product

Date:February 20, 2008
So far I'm impressed, ask me in 10 years.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Midland S.A.M.E. NOAA AM/FM/Weather Radio
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: hartland,mi
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

midland weather radio

Date:February 25, 2008
i have a few weather radio's, this one's definitly the best, very easy too use a must for every bed stand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Midland S.A.M.E. NOAA AM/FM/Weather Radio
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Springfield, IL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Midland S.A.M.E. Weather AM/FM Radio

Date:March 11, 2008
Difficult to program but once lined out works well. Liomit warnings to what just affects you. Will raise you out of a deep sleep, quickly! Could use a sleep and snooze function. I like to go to sleep with N.P.R.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Midland S.A.M.E. NOAA AM/FM/Weather Radio
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

midland weather radio

Date:April 21, 2008
We have already had to use this radio several times this spring and we sure have been glad we had it....it works very well and alerts us as soon as needed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Midland S.A.M.E. NOAA AM/FM/Weather Radio
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lot's of features

Date:April 23, 2008
This radio has excellent features and it let's you choose which counties you want to hear about and what warnings are more pertinent to your area. Setup wasn't too difficult, just make sure to read the directions. Haven't had it go off for a warning yet since we haven't had any in the area.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Midland S.A.M.E. NOAA AM/FM/Weather Radio
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Midland S.A.M.E. NOAA AM/FM Weather Radio

Date:June 5, 2008
Great product. Gives prompt severe weather information. Like the battery back up feature as well as the ability to set for local or multiple counties. Easy to use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Midland S.A.M.E. NOAA AM/FM/Weather Radio
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Houston area
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

midland noaa am/fm weather radio

Date:July 7, 2008
First time to own a noaa radio. Wanted for the longest time to purchase one. Never could make up my mine on which brand or model. This model does everything I think one would want it to do. Radio and warnings work just fine. Not to much effort to program. Think I did good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Midland S.A.M.E. NOAA AM/FM/Weather Radio
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Sardis, Ga.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

It depends on what is important to you.

Date:July 25, 2008
If the emergency radio and the weather function is all important then this is a great buy. If you need the AM and FM radio then you had better live near the transmitter. They don't function in a rual setting. I wanted an all around radio like my old radio, alarm and weahter radio with AM amd FM radio. It was great. It Had very good sentsivity and could pick up a station from 45 to 50 miles away, but the weather radio was poor.That is why I purchased the Midlan to replace my old radio. One other dig is the back light is on or off it does not have a intensity adjustment. I would have sent it back,but it did have a good weater alert system, and being a farmer the weather is important to me, but I am still looking for a good AM/FM radio.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Midland S.A.M.E. NOAA AM/FM/Weather Radio
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cleveland, OH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Camping and outdoor radio

Date:September 3, 2008
Excellent radio for camping and related outdoor activities.
AM/FM/clock radio/weather radio and alarm.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Midland S.A.M.E. NOAA AM/FM/Weather Radio
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: West Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

So far, so good

Date:October 28, 2008
Radio was easy to set up and so far I am pleased with it. We haven't had any weather alerts yet, but I am confident this radio will perform as advertised.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Midland S.A.M.E. NOAA AM/FM/Weather Radio
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Chicago, IL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Midland Weather Radio

Date:January 26, 2009
This is great if you are wondering about impending weather. This radio gives alerts and broadcasts straight from the government weather station. They are a little monotone but very detailed. I think the other stations get their information from NOAA so this is the first alert.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 42