Customer Reviews for Cabela's Cabela's Outfitter Pro Snowshoes

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Cabela's Cabela's Outfitter Pro Snowshoes

Our Outfitter Pro Snowshoes are engineered with the finest materials and components by the leading supplier of snowshoes to the U.S. Military’s elite Special Operations Forces. We wanted to make sure our new Outfitter Pro Snowshoes would deliver extreme reliability through the most frequent abuse, letting you traverse the roughest, most unforgiving snow-covered landscapes without fail. The virtually indestructible Easton frames are constructed of aircraft-grade aluminum for unbeatable strength without excess weight. And the durable reinforced deck is made of featherweight Nytex™, the same material used to craft heavily punished Arctic dock bumpers. An innovative ratchet-buckle binding, the same binding preferred by the military for its secure fit on extra-large boots, offers easy adjustment while wearing gloves. Plus, it lets the shoes pack flat for ultracompact transport. Stainless steel All-Trac™ toe crampons combine with patented stainless steel heel cleats for the aggressive traction needed to climb or descend even the steepest terrain. Available:8" x 25" – supports 120-200 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.664 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(110 Reviews) 110
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 110 reviews
5 Stars
76
4 Stars
32
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
109 out of 110(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Outfitter Pro Snowshoes
Review 21 for Cabela's Outfitter Pro Snowshoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NW WISC.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not to shabby

Date:February 15, 2010
Good quality, workmanship and design. Might suggest up sizing if your on the high end of their weight recommendation. They do throw more snow (powder) on the back of your legs due to the lack of a trailing tail but nothings perfect. In deep powder, the bigger size might be better No complaints.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Cabela's Outfitter Pro Snowshoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: hinsdale ma
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

oufitter pros

Date:February 8, 2010
finally upgraded from wooden shoes to cabela's outfitter pro's these shoes deliver!! right from the easy ratchet bindings to the stainless steel crampons. living in the northeast next to the appalachian trail these shoes see alot of up and down travel. i am pleased so far. get out and enjoy the winter!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Cabela's Outfitter Pro Snowshoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Belgrade,MT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Atlas 8x25 snowshoes

Date:January 25, 2010
These snowshoes have been everything I could hope for, they are light with good traction and keep me above the snow.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Cabela's Outfitter Pro Snowshoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Long Prairie, MN.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

being in the outdoors

Date:January 25, 2010
I had read the reviews on these snowshoes and That they all seemed really good so I went and purchased them and got no remorse at all. I bought the biggest ones in which I'm glad I did. I really like the bindings which when fastened by their ratchet system stay on your boots and don't work loose. Had a big snowstorm right after I recieved them, being a rookie at snowshoing I tried them and fell in love with them. Good excercise and gives a person a chance to be in the wild in the winter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Cabela's Outfitter Pro Snowshoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The best I've owned!

Date:January 25, 2010
Awesome snowshoes, even through brushy, hilly woods. Highly recommended and without hesitation or reservation!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Cabela's Outfitter Pro Snowshoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin Baraboo
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Outfitter Pro Snowshoes

Date:January 23, 2010
I purchase these snow shoes simply because I needed a low impact exercise activity for the winter. It’s a nice work out to say the least. I have arthritis in my ankles and had to give up cross country skiing because of it. Snow shoeing was recommended by my doctor. I use these shoes for off trail walks; in an average snow depth of usually around 15 to 20 inches or more. I am 6’ 1” and 240 pounds.
The Cabela’s Outfitter pro snow shoes so far have done everything that I would have expected a pair of snow shoes to do, which was to minumize how far I sunk into the snow. These shoe make walking threw the woods of some of Wisconsin’s State park woods a pleasant experience. The bindings work very well on the hiking boots that I wear during my outings. The cleats hold fast when walking over hard pack snow. I wouldn’t use these shoes if you were only walking on packed or groomed trails. The pair I have are the 36 inch models and were a bit of over kill on the any trail that had been packed. The shoes worked well when breaking your own trails. I did read that someone had thought that the shoes were noisy when walking through ice encrusted snow. I have noticed them only a bit noisier than a person simply walking with out shoes. The quality of the shoes are good, and I am happy with my purchase of these shoes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Cabela's Outfitter Pro Snowshoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Snowshoes

Date:January 19, 2010
Very nice snowshoes, light weight, easy to use bindings, would buy another pair.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Cabela's Outfitter Pro Snowshoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Southern New Jersey
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outfitter Pro Snow Shoes

Date:January 19, 2010
Since I found these reviews useful when selecting snow shows, I decided to add my own comments. I received the Pro Snow Shoes just in time to try them after the recent 23 inch snow storm. The ratchet bindings allowed easy in and easy out and I had no difficulty attaching the shoes to my winter boots. The shoes performed well in the 2 day old snow - stable and supportive enough to allow me to traverse uneven terrain, uphill or down. The tail end of the shoe did kick up some snow onto the back of my legs, but I think this may have been mostly due to my early, uncoordinated technique. Once I developed a smoother "lift and plant", the snow hits were less. I used my ski poles for balance and recommend that you do the same unless you have previous snow shoe experience. I am happy with my purchase and awaiting the next snow.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Cabela's Outfitter Pro Snowshoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northeast Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very pleased!

Date:January 18, 2010
I received a set of 30" Outfitter Pro snow shoes for Christmas from my wife. I had never been snow shoeing, but had recently been bitten by the hiking/backpacking "bug". After a lot of research, I decided to exchange them for the 25" size, based on my weight and intended use. I have loved using them... and even bought a pair of the same model for my wife. The quality appears to be excellent for the price.... a good value. The ratcheting buckle/binding system is comfortable and very easy to use... even with gloves or mittens. In use, they have been stable and reliable... allowing secure footing on uphills, downhills, and in a variety of snow depths/conditions. I believe these are excellent snowshoes for entry level snowshoers (snowshoeists?)..... but I don't know why they wouldn't be just as good for more experienced/advanced users, as well. I am very satisfied with them, but have nothing to compare them to.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Cabela's Outfitter Pro Snowshoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outfitter Pro Snowshoes.

Date:January 18, 2010
It has not snowed here since getting the shoes and the usual snow load is low this year, so I have not given these a workout. But they are Atlas shoes, how can you go wrong. Bought them on sale so a good deal as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Cabela's Outfitter Pro Snowshoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northern Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Outfitter Pro Snowshoes

Date:January 18, 2010
These are the first pair of snowshoes, I ever bought. They are very easy to take on and off, very easy to use. I use them about 5 times a week. They allow me to take hikes thru the woods and fields and go further without tiring. They are also a very good workout. I have since boughten a pair for my wife. They were a great deal
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Cabela's Outfitter Pro Snowshoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Medford Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great holiday gift

Date:January 18, 2010
I gave my husband, an avid walker in good weather, these snowshoes for Christmas. He lives in Vermont and loves the ability to walk in the woods and uses them every day !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Cabela's Outfitter Pro Snowshoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Spooner, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sandals in the SNOW

Date:January 18, 2010
First off, I got these before XMAS when they had a wonderful sale with $40.00 off and a $20 off coupon. I probably would not have purchased them otherwise due to their HIGH regular price.
The quality of these snowshoes is excellent. My parents have some lower end brand and you can certainly see the difference. Infact, they wished they would have gotten a pair of these. The most impressive feature would be the ratcheting binders. Right out of the box I was able to put them on in a minute. No matter what size boot you wear (I had on the large INFERNO pack boots) these binders will fit and hold verywell with the ratchetes. They pop off your boots with a push of a button. Other brands have alot more difficult and laborsome bindings.
Breaking trail through the harsh Northern Wisconson woods is a breaze with these. You certainly will not be disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Cabela's Outfitter Pro Snowshoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Long Island New York
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Snow Heaven

Date:January 17, 2010
I own a home in the southern tier of upstate New York. The snow accumulation is nothing like some of the New England or the midwest states however, there is plenty of snow for snowshoing!
These snow shoes are easy to use, well made, at an affordable price.
Although they are relatively new, I hope to have many years of use with this Cabela product!
Craig
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Cabela's Outfitter Pro Snowshoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

These are great

Date:January 16, 2010
I purchased a pair of these with poles about 3 weeks ago, today I finally had the opportunity to use them. It took me about 10 minutes to figure out the bindings and put them on; this is my first pair of snowshoes. I was walking in varied terrain; some hills some grassland, in about 8-10 inches of snow with a little ice in areas. They were great. I did the same walk 3 weeks ago without snowshoes and it was very tough. I had no problem walking with them and climbing up and down the hills. I did use the poles which did help especially on the hills but I did also walk without the poles them and found it still easy going. My husband followed me with out snowshoes and he was having a much harder time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Cabela's Outfitter Pro Snowshoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Berlin, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Outfitter Pro Snowshoes

Date:January 15, 2010
I didn't want to post a review until I put them to the test. I've been trapping in deeper snow, and these shoes work great on a daily basis. I wasn't quite sure how I would like the ratchets at first, but they work really well. They took a little bit to get used to. No issues yet, and I'm usually hard on equipment.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Cabela's Outfitter Pro Snowshoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Onalaska, WI hunt, fish, camp & hiker need GPS now
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Oufitter Pro Snowshoes

Date:January 13, 2010
First pair of snowshoes at 57 and 240 pounds I was leary of trying these. They tighten real well over snow pack boots. We had 15 inches of snow over the holidays and had to use them in preparation of elk hunt in Montana in fall of 2010. I was amazed at how well they held me up. There was no slipping or sliding at all. Good exercise too, I'll probably use them more for recreation than hunting. I purchased the 36 inchers with hopes they would hold me along with packing about 50 pounds of elk in the backpack. The real test will be this fall.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Cabela's Outfitter Pro Snowshoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: MASSACHUSETTS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CABELA'S OUTFITTER PRO SNOWSHOES

Date:January 4, 2010
Bought these as a Christmas present to myself after looking at different models and makes. I went snowshoeing last year in Canada for the first time and had a blast. Used the older Canadian type snowshoes (wood and leather). The bindings on those were a little cumbersome and awkward. I no longer ski so I thought that getting snowshoes would be great for winter exercise. The bindings are very good and not like the Canadian ones I used last year. I was worried about the bindings but I had no problems with the bindings and my current boots (size 13). I was worried about the awkwardness of the size of the snowshoe (36 inches) but after about ten minutes I was moving along quite well. I used ski poles for balance but half the time I did not need them. These are alot of fun and thats the joy of it all. A way to get out of the house in Winter and enjoy it instead of staying in the house waiting for Spring. I can go in the field behind my house or down the road in the state park. You don't really need trails and don't have to drive 100 miles to Vermont and pay $65.00 for a ski lift ticket. No snow boarders cutting you off and no long lift lines, just you and nature and a friend if you can get them to buy some too. Like skiing you will find that you have muscles in places you never thought you had them before. This is great for winter exercising and enjoying a snowy winter. Last time I brought out my camera for some nature pictures. I highly recommend these. I saw no real need to buy the more expensive models. We just need more snow now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Cabela's Outfitter Pro Snowshoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Stik from Castle Rock, CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Outfitter Pro Showshoes

Date:November 18, 2009
I purchased these snow shoes for the purpose of using them to pack game meat out of the wilderness during periods of deep snow. I am not an experienced snowshoer. I do have a fair amount of backcounty ski experience, so I am familiar with how difficult it can be to get around in wild country when the snow is deep. I tried these snow shoes in about 30" of fresh (and very forgiving) snow on flat ground (soccer field) in my neighborhood. I did not use any trekking poles, and under the existing conditions I found that getting around in them was quite easy, and it certainly made traversing through the snow easier than slogging with bare boots alone. However, I would normally prefer skies over snowshoes if I had the choice as I believe skis move easier through the snow than snowshoes, provide better floation for the amount of mass being thrust through the snow, and of course there is the advantage of having quite a bit of forward momentum on the downhill stretches when on skis rather than snowshoes.
However, in spite of my preference for skis, the last few years I have found myself hunting in areas where the weather was forgiving in the beginning of the trip, then later turned nasty and dumped a huge amount of snow. The idea of having to pack out a large amount of game meat without the benefit of skis or snowshoes is quite daunting. Some of this terrain is too challenging for a long ski out. That's why I bought the snowshoes. These shoes are light, the buckle system is simple and effective, and I found the shoes to provide an adequate amount of flotation. However, with any backcounty snow activity, do not adopt the mistaken perception that snow shoes or skis are going to make your trek a picnic. Either way, carrying heavy loads under such conditions is still a lot of work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Cabela's Outfitter Pro Snowshoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: ND
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Snowshoes

Date:April 20, 2009
I have tried several brands of snowshoes, the bindings are very easy to put on, take off and tighten. The 36" length was a little harder to get used to after wearing 30 inchers. The quality is top of the line A+ as snowshoes go.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 110