Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's 5mm Neoprene Dog Vest with Armor-Flex™ Chest Protector

CABELA'S Cabela's 5mm Neoprene Dog Vest with Armor-Flex™ Chest Protector

Because we know your faithful retriever hunts just as hard as you do, we re-engineered our 5mm Neoprene Dog Vest with an Armor-Flex Chest Protector to provide a custom fit and added durability. The seams have been enhanced with extra bartacks to allow custom cuts, plus the Velcro® closure has been widened for increased adjustment in fit. The 5mm neoprene construction will stand up to in-the-field hazards and adds buoyancy for your dog. Adjustable and warm, our Deluxe Neoprene Vest with Armor-Flex Chest Protector boasts added protection running the entire length of the neck, chest and belly. Crafted of the same Armor-Flex material used to reinforce high-wear areas in hunting waders, the chest plate will shield your dog's soft underside from snags, corn stubble and other hazards. Chest plate is camouflaged in the same pattern as the vest for added concealment. Chest protector on Blaze Orange Vest is black. Dogs come in all shapes and sizes. Not all of them fall perfectly within the guidelines of our sizing chart. When ordering, choose the size that coincides with the largest sizing bracket reached by any one of your dog's three measurements. Imported. Camo patterns: Blaze Orange , Realtree MAX-4® , Mossy Oak® Shadow Grass Blades™ , Mossy Oak® Duck Blind® .
Overall Customer Rating:
4.023 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(222 Reviews) 222
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 222 reviews
5 Stars
94
4 Stars
79
3 Stars
21
2 Stars
16
1 Star
12
192 out of 222(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's 5mm Neoprene Dog Vest with Armor-Flex™ Chest Protector
Review 41 for Cabela's 5mm Neoprene Dog Vest with Armor-Flex™ Chest Protector
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Orange Vest

Date:October 19, 2009
Great vest for my dog, only downside i can find is the vest rubs a bit. other then that its a great product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Cabela's 5mm Neoprene Dog Vest with Armor-Flex™ Chest Protector
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: syracuse new york
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Geat vest fits my black lab perfectly

Date:July 24, 2009
fits better than the other four vest i have and it stays on the dog. i like the very generus velcro strap to close the vest it gives you about a inch and a half of good adjustment for the dogs girth. My dog seems to love it. The vest does not have any spots that pinch the dog like many others i've tryed. My pup wears it fishing with me on the local streams in central New York it stands up to briars and the local shrubery very nicly no rips or tears so far. I love it and would recomend it to any one looking for a great vest for their pup. I bought a large and my pup is a english lab so he's a little stockier than most he weighs 50lbs at six months and it fits perfectly though the chest and shoulders but is a little long for his torso. but the vest has about 3 to 4 inches of leght adjustment.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Cabela's 5mm Neoprene Dog Vest with Armor-Flex™ Chest Protector
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Alberta, Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's 5mm Neoprene Vest

Date:March 17, 2009
Exactly as described and that I expected. The vest is designed to be adjustable so I was able to produce a custom fit very easily by trimming around the leg openings.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Cabela's 5mm Neoprene Dog Vest with Armor-Flex™ Chest Protector
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ga.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Money well spent

Date:March 1, 2009
Excellent.Not only does it keep my Brittany warm and protected,it's so much easier to see him in the brush.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Cabela's 5mm Neoprene Dog Vest with Armor-Flex™ Chest Protector
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Massachusetts
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Vested

Date:February 24, 2009
Absolutely perfect, Exactly what we were looking for. Cannot be more satisfied. Thanks again
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Cabela's 5mm Neoprene Dog Vest with Armor-Flex™ Chest Protector
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: az
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

terrrific

Date:February 23, 2009
great fit
great item
dual purpose at it holds dressings in place from surgery without tape or other appliances and keeps dog from removing sutures.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Cabela's 5mm Neoprene Dog Vest with Armor-Flex™ Chest Protector
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Madison, VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Neoprene Vest w/ Chest Protector

Date:February 23, 2009
I bought the vest for my 1-year old chocolate lab. She weighs 85 lbs and I was concerned with the fit. I followed the guidelines in the catalog on sizing your dog.
When the vest arrived the fit was pretty close in the chest and neck but a bit long in the back. The instructions for fitting the vest to perfection were great. I was very pleased with the ability to tailor the vest to my dog's size.
And, the vest is tough. Really, really tough. My dog can be a knucklehead but the vest is tougher than the dog.
In short, this one is a good buy and if you get the fit close the instructions will get you the best fit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Cabela's 5mm Neoprene Dog Vest with Armor-Flex™ Chest Protector
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Eugene, Or
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Armor Flex chest protector

Date:February 17, 2009
The vest was very easy to put on and very easy to custom fit to my dog. It also seemed to be very comfortable for the dog to wear. It washed in the washing machine(air dried) very well after she found every irrigation ditch, mud puddle and cow pie in the field. Very happy with my purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Cabela's 5mm Neoprene Dog Vest with Armor-Flex™ Chest Protector
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: gloucestershire, england
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

neoprene vest

Date:January 28, 2009
I bought my neoprene vest for my cocker, who suffers badly from bramble rash when working in thick cover on pheasant shoots in england, we are near the end of our season and she has only worn it about 5 times, but the nasty pussey mess that her chest was is almost healed and she is so much happier in herself, i wish i had discovered your vest sooner, it has been a godsend. It was looking very rough, even after her first outing, but apart from the pulls in material, which are very superficial, it has coped very well with the brambles, she may get a bit warm in it when we start our next season in September, but i will try to remove it for a while between drives, as it is easy to put on quickly. i am 100% pleased with her vest and hope this one may last a few years but if needed i will definately be back for another one
Thank you so much for your great invention.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Cabela's 5mm Neoprene Dog Vest with Armor-Flex™ Chest Protector
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wyoming
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Keep your retreiver safe, warm, and happy!

Date:January 5, 2009
I bought a second Cabelas 5mm Neoprene Armor Flex dog vest as a replacement for one bought several years ago which has been used alot on two great working Labs. This vest is by far superior to anything else found on the market. They fit great and are easy to modify for any dog with minimal trimming. I hunt waterfowl and upland birds during several months in all weather conditions in Wyoming until the end of January.
The only thing I would recommend changing would be to put the rip stop armored material completley around the outside of the vest. The back of the vest is no match for barbed wire or Russian Olive thorns and cuts or tears too easily on a hard working dog. Overall it's a fantastic product and will keep your dog happy and hunting hard in all conditions. You won't go wrong with this one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Cabela's 5mm Neoprene Dog Vest with Armor-Flex™ Chest Protector
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Dog Vest

Date:December 31, 2008
We used 2 of the cabelas neoprene Vests with armor flex on our 2 german shorthair pointers recently. We hunted 5 full days in northern south Dakota when the temps didnt get much above 10 degrees and we had about 12" or more of snow the entire time. Even with the vests icing up on the edges the vests keep the dogs warm and for the most part dry. The conditions the dogs ran thru really put these vests to a test and they held up great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Cabela's 5mm Neoprene Dog Vest with Armor-Flex™ Chest Protector
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Vancouver, Wa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's 5mm Neoprene Vest with Armor-flex™ Chest

Date:December 18, 2008
I hunted for 6 straight days in the Yakima Valley of Washington and this vest pasted with flying colors. All the mud, snow, dirt and tons of different burrs came right off. Even barb wire did very little damage. The color I picked was Orange which made locating the dog very easy in asparagus, weed ditches, grapes, rye grass and corn fields. I have a German Shorthair Pointer and this product didn't hampen her hunting ability at all. I highly recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Cabela's 5mm Neoprene Dog Vest with Armor-Flex™ Chest Protector
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Laurys Station just north of Allentown, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Chest Protector

Date:December 15, 2008
Next to our family, this vest is my dogs best friend. It helped protect her from multiflora rose, wild raspberries and other brush and grasses during this year's small game season. The fit with the velcro tabs was perfect and the orange helped us see where she was working in the cover. We got 10 pheasants this year and she didn't get any thorns or cuts this season thanks to the chest protector.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Cabela's 5mm Neoprene Dog Vest with Armor-Flex™ Chest Protector
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Boise, ID
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

a skin & fur saver!

Date:December 6, 2008
I'm into my third season using this dog vest and can't say enough good things about how it's protected my dog who's a real brush buster. Abby used to get cuts and scrapes during our hunts. No more. The vest is taking the beating instead. When this one wears out in the next year or two, I'll be back to buy a replacement!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Cabela's 5mm Neoprene Dog Vest with Armor-Flex™ Chest Protector
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Stow, MA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

For Pheasant Hunting in Massachusetts

Date:November 28, 2008
I have an English Springer Spaniel that I pheasant hunt with in Massachusetts. My goals with getting him a vest was:
1. Keep the plant burrs from tangling in his chest hair thus making his cleanup post hunt much easier
2. Let the dog wear hunter's orange just like me to keep him safe
3. Protect the dog's chest from scratches when he runs through the high brush
4. Keep the dog warm when the weather turns a little raw out
I did have to trim the vest a little bit to give the dog room so he could do his business but the vest comes with instructions for that. The instructions say the vest could fray a little bit over time but I would expect that too, given the areas we are going into.
I couple the vest with a small "cow bell" as the only "accessory" (the bell lets me know where he is in the brush and grasses). We've gone on five hunts and so far everything is great!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Cabela's 5mm Neoprene Dog Vest with Armor-Flex™ Chest Protector
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: West Central Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

It was exactly what I expected

Date:November 19, 2008
I have used the vest in the field with my chocolate lab quail hunting and it performed as I expected. Molly's chest and neck were protected from the dense brush and multifloral rose bushes. The rest of her coat was burr free. Molly rolls in every puddle and creek and again it was exactly what I expected. The blaze orange stands out farther than I would care to shoot. I would recomend this to any gun dog owner.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Cabela's 5mm Neoprene Dog Vest with Armor-Flex™ Chest Protector
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lodi,wi.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great product

Date:November 19, 2008
This product really helps keep the warmth in next to the dog. I will say it does make him a little itchy though, but he gets used to that.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Cabela's 5mm Neoprene Dog Vest with Armor-Flex™ Chest Protector
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: northern NH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

5mm neoprene dog vest

Date:November 5, 2008
I purchased this vest because i wanted to keep my dog safe in the field when out hunting. great design with the ability for expansion by cutting some neoprene out. the vest just barely fit my 120 pound lab. i cut it right to the last cross stiching. it eventually stretched and fits great. the only con i have about it is, it ript. but thats the dogs fault, he got caught on a low tree and pulled his way through very hard. if you can imagine such a big dog tugging to get away from that tree you'll see why it tore. but the tear is miner. he wears it with pride just about every day.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Cabela's 5mm Neoprene Dog Vest with Armor-Flex™ Chest Protector
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: upper mich.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

vest

Date:October 28, 2008
this vest for the dog works great saved the dog from
many a sharp stick or thorn .I'll get a second vest when the dog grows out of it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Cabela's 5mm Neoprene Dog Vest with Armor-Flex™ Chest Protector
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Atlanta GA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Check the sizing

Date:October 28, 2008
We are very pleased with this vest. My son works at night driving a tow truck and his dog, a black lab rides with him. This vest makes it much easier to see the dog when they make their stops. The vest did not fit like we expected though and we had to re-order a smaller size.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 41-60 of 222