Customer Reviews for SPORTDOG SportDOG Brand® DSL-400 Beeper Collar

SPORTDOG SportDOG Brand® DSL-400 Beeper Collar

Know precisely where your dog is when it’s working in dense undergrowth and overgrown fields in search of game. The self-contained weather-resistant collar sports an adjustable-volume sound module that boasts point, point and run and track modes. Select from a hawk screech, bobwhite, trill or beep with the flip of a switch to differentiate your dog from others and match your hunting needs. Operates on a long-lasting 3-volt lithium battery (included). Fits S-XL dogs. Dimensions: 3-1/4"x1-1/2"x1-1/2". Weight: 6.4 oz. Color: Blaze Orange .
Overall Customer Rating:
3.219 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 32 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
6
1 Star
6
18 out of 32(56%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for SportDOG Brand® DSL-400 Beeper Collar
Review 21 for SportDOG Brand® DSL-400 Beeper Collar
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2008

sport dog beeper collar

By
Location: Indianola, Ia
This an inexpensive beeper that works great on windy days and in tall grass. I would gladly reccomend it to any body.
Thanks
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for SportDOG Brand® DSL-400 Beeper Collar
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 8, 2008

kerbasar

By
Location: turkey
Very nice, but oxidation is problem.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for SportDOG Brand® DSL-400 Beeper Collar
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 28, 2007

decent beeper but terrible design

By
Location: Minneapolis, MN
I've had this beeper collar for 1.5 years and its held up better than a tritronics one I had (tritronics wouldn't do point-only mode after a few months, just kept beeping every few seconds), however the on/off twist cap is terrible. It's very aggravating when you have your shotgun in one hand and only 1 free hand to try and turn off the collar on your dog to take a short break. Also the metal piece in the cap came loose so I had to super glue that. Seems like I really have to twist it on there hard now to get it to turn on. The collar still works well but I wish they would have uses a differen't on/off mechanism.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for SportDOG Brand® DSL-400 Beeper Collar
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 12, 2007

Not to durable

By
Location: kansas
Same thing for me the metal part in the cap that connects the battery broke and that was a rap!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for SportDOG Brand® DSL-400 Beeper Collar
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2007

sportDOG™ DSL-400 Beeper Collar

By
Location: Lexington, KY
I've used one of these collars for three years with no problems. It is a winner. Would recommend to anyone. Extremely light weight.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for SportDOG Brand® DSL-400 Beeper Collar
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2007

Great...when it wasn't broke

By
Location: Michigan
I had two of these over the course of 2 months. First one broke where it attaches to the collar after two times in the field. The second one lasted a little longer. The metal piece in the cap that is used to contact the battery broke off. Only positive in the whole process was Cabela's customer service.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for SportDOG Brand® DSL-400 Beeper Collar
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 2, 2007

rvdog

By
Location: eastern oregon chucker hunting
very poor construction and it did not perform as avertized. the on off switch needs to be redisined. its motion sencer is very ify at best never worked correctly for more than a few minutes.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for SportDOG Brand® DSL-400 Beeper Collar
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 26, 2006

dsl-400 sportdog beeper

By
Location: boston mass
my wife bought me the sportdog dsl-400 beeper collar for our yellow lab for xmas but i told her i had to try it out. i have used it 4 times already and it works excellent we hunt some pretty heavy cover and when it gets cold the bells freeze so this is excellent i would recomend to any one . thank you
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for SportDOG Brand® DSL-400 Beeper Collar
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 25, 2006

dsl400

By
Location: issaquah, wa
product was poorly constructed and the switch to change modes did not work, The manfacture replaced this product with the add a beeper model, this beeper is far superior and is adjustable with the sd 2400 collor.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for SportDOG Brand® DSL-400 Beeper Collar
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 23, 2006

SD-DSL-400

By
Location: Schaumburg, IL.
I've used this beeper during my training sessions and the features are easy to use. A bit disappointed, on occasions the beeper will go off while the dog is running. This product makes for a great backup beeper for the times when your primary is lost for forgotten.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for SportDOG Brand® DSL-400 Beeper Collar
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2006

beeper collar

By
Location: corfu -greece
its not working !!!! but to send it back and wait for an other one its to mutc proplem from here!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for SportDOG Brand® DSL-400 Beeper Collar
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 14, 2006

DSL-400 Beeper Collar

By
Location: Waynesville,NC
I have an older sport dog beeper that still functions properly, however have had problems with the DSL-400. The first problem noted was the metal inside the lid, that turns the collar on and off did not stay in place. I had to reattach this piece with superglue. The other problem is the collar does not switch between run mode and point mode. The collar tends to hang up on the point mode, have tried different settings but all seem to hang on the point mode. I was frustated with the collar because I was on a trip to Wisconsin grouse hunting. I bought this collar because of the success I had with the older cheap version, and the ease of putting it on a shock collar.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 21-32 of 32