Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Sharp Shooter Ultra Mag™ Metal Detector Combo by Bounty Hunter®

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

CABELA'S Cabela's Sharp Shooter Ultra Mag™ Metal Detector Combo by Bounty Hunter®

The LCD target ID enables you to see multiple targets separately. And the depth readout identifies how deep the object is located. Three-level iron discrimination makes it easy to detect only the metals that you've selected. It's designed with an adjustable aluminum stem and S-rod handle system for easy holding. These units also have motion discrimination, an internal speaker system, waterproof coil system and a 1/4" headphone jack. Five-year limited warranty. Made in USA. Includes: Detector, headphones and carry bag. Features: LCD Target Readout LCD Depth Readout Low-Battery Indicator Motion All-Metal Mode No-Motion All-Metal Mode Touch-Pad Selection 4 Modes of Operation Discrimination Adjustment Target Notch System 3-Tone Audio Discrimination Sensitivity Adjustment Automatic Ground Balance Smart Track System 3-Level Iron Discrimination 8" Open-Face Coil System
Overall Customer Rating:
4.737 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
19 out of 19(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Sharp Shooter Ultra Mag™ Metal Detector Combo by Bounty Hunter®
Review 1 for Cabela's Sharp Shooter Ultra Mag™ Metal Detector Combo by Bounty Hunter®
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Oklahoma
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sharp Shooter Ultra Mag Metal Detector

Date:November 13, 2006
I used this product once, right out of the box during a vacation on Hatteras Island. The instructions were adequate. The product takes practice, patience and perseverance. My total finds to date are a water line and a rusted soda lid. My grandchildren loved the adventure. At the buzz they would start digging! It didn't take long to wear them out but for the time they were into it, they were happy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's Sharp Shooter Ultra Mag™ Metal Detector Combo by Bounty Hunter®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

sharp shooter magnetic detector

Date:November 24, 2006
My daughter and son in-law just moved in to their new home this year. This fall the next door neighbor was possitive he owned more land than he did (which was 50 feet over on their line straight back more more than a 500 yards). We looked and looked for the survey stakes that where supose to be buried in the ground and we couldn't find them finally my son in-law said how about your sharp shooter metal detector within less then 5 minutes we found one stake and just like clock work with in 40 minutes all 11 Acres was marked out ...what a great helpand No More Questions From the neighbor! Also I love just exploring with it to
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's Sharp Shooter Ultra Mag™ Metal Detector Combo by Bounty Hunter®
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sharp Shooter Metal Detector

Date:July 17, 2007
This is my first metal detector and I found this unit to be very easy to use. Take it out of the box, put it together, read the instruction booklet and go out and have fun right away. It couldn't be easier and at an affordable price.
Can't claim any major finds yet, but stilll having fun using the Bounty Hunter metal detector.
I would certainly recommned this device to anyone and especially the beginner, like myself, as an easy and fun way to get into "treasure hunting".
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's Sharp Shooter Ultra Mag™ Metal Detector Combo by Bounty Hunter®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Western Maryland
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sharp Shooter Ultra Mag metal detector

Date:April 19, 2008
I've been metal detecting for over 20 years. This detector works great. After I find an item in the discrimination mode, I shift to the all metal (no motion) mode to pinpoint an item. I can usually hit exactly where the item is. I've used a detector without accurate pinpointing and had to spend alot more time digging.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's Sharp Shooter Ultra Mag™ Metal Detector Combo by Bounty Hunter®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lodi, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Sharp Shooter Ultra Mag™ Metal Detector C

Date:May 5, 2008
I've been having a great deal of fun with the user-friendly, yet accurate metal detector. Although I need glasses to see the screen re: metal type, etc., I have had no problem with this detector.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's Sharp Shooter Ultra Mag™ Metal Detector Combo by Bounty Hunter®
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ultra Mag

Date:May 6, 2008
I have used my metal detector only once and it seem to do what is advertised. It has may ways to discriminate and other variables that I think will take time to use to there best advantage. I found the storage bag to be handy to keep the unit and accessories together. I think that the headset was of a quality that could be improved upon. Over all I am satisfied and am looking forward to using it a lot when out camping.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's Sharp Shooter Ultra Mag™ Metal Detector Combo by Bounty Hunter®
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: KANSAS CITY, MO.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

IT WORKS

Date:December 24, 2008
EASY TO SET UP, EASY TO WORK, FOUND SOME LOST ARROWS IN ABOUT 5 MINUTES AND AN ANCIENT SET OF EYE GLASS FRAMES. WAITING FOR THE WEATHER TO MELLOW AND USE AGAIN,CAN'T WAIT. THE SIGNAL ON THIS UNIT TELLS YOU EXACTLY HOW DEEP THE TARGET IS AND I MADE MY OWN TROWEL WITH INCH INCREMENTS ON IT AND ALL WERE EXACT. GREAT BARGAIN, I CAN'T IMAGINE THE $800-$1000 UNITS DOING MUCH MORE.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's Sharp Shooter Ultra Mag™ Metal Detector Combo by Bounty Hunter®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Mexico
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Metal Dector

Date:February 3, 2009
Fairly easy to set up and use. I have not found it knows where to go to look for treasure. I am sure it is an operator problem.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's Sharp Shooter Ultra Mag™ Metal Detector Combo by Bounty Hunter®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fruitland Park, FL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Loads of fun

Date:November 25, 2009
Just got Ultra mag sharp shooter combo. set up
went looking. found $3.90 inless then 10 minute.
my other detector showed nothing THANKS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's Sharp Shooter Ultra Mag™ Metal Detector Combo by Bounty Hunter®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Georgia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cool toy!

Date:December 1, 2009
In the first five minutes I found a signal indicating a dime at a campground swimming pool, but instead it was an old silver ring with an amethyst. Once a jeweler friend cleans it up it will be a gift for my granddaughter.
I love this thing!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's Sharp Shooter Ultra Mag™ Metal Detector Combo by Bounty Hunter®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Richmond,Va.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Metal Detector

Date:June 14, 2011
This was a gift for my son who has several acres to search. It is light weight and easy to read. A good value and as with all Cabelas purchases backed by their no questions asked return policy. Keep this unit in mind when searching for a metal detector. Over the years I have made most major purchases from Cabelas because of their customer service.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's Sharp Shooter Ultra Mag™ Metal Detector Combo by Bounty Hunter®
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: NW Iowa
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Admitted novice

Date:January 11, 2012
Have had some fun and minor success as a first time user of a metal detector but this item WORKS and am enjoying. I continue to educate myself on "treasure hunting" and that is why I only have a 4 star rating.. sure there is better but for a beginner this so far seems pretty darn good for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's Sharp Shooter Ultra Mag™ Metal Detector Combo by Bounty Hunter®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Rochester,Mn
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

easy to use sharp shooter

Date:January 11, 2012
This light weight metal detector has the advantages of discriminating many of the different metals that happen to be in the area. The more I use it, the more I find. Very highly recommend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's Sharp Shooter Ultra Mag™ Metal Detector Combo by Bounty Hunter®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Dig this Product

Date:February 18, 2012
Never used one and still was able to brush up on the simpler aspects of operation using the start up directions in just a few minutes. Before I could get to the back line of our property had found enough stuff to keep me occupied the entire the morning. Childs old cap gun was the most interesting. I am wondering why I had not purchased a detector sooner. Great little unit even a scatter brain like me can have fun with. Next stop? Who knows!! Very cool.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's Sharp Shooter Ultra Mag™ Metal Detector Combo by Bounty Hunter®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sharp Shooter Ultra Mag

Date:April 10, 2012
This is my first detector, takes a little practice but is easy to use. relaxing hobby, looking forward to finding cool stuff.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's Sharp Shooter Ultra Mag™ Metal Detector Combo by Bounty Hunter®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great metal detector

Date:June 13, 2012
i have used it a lot and i love it five stars. 11thirdeye
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's Sharp Shooter Ultra Mag™ Metal Detector Combo by Bounty Hunter®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Super fun

Date:June 21, 2012
The best one for the money.Found several coins and "treasures" in the back yard 10 min.after putting in the batteries
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabela's Sharp Shooter Ultra Mag™ Metal Detector Combo by Bounty Hunter®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Father's Day present

Date:July 2, 2012
My daughter bought me the "Bounty Hunter Ultra Mag" last month for Father's Day.
Lucky for me she owns 31 acres of property, and the deed to her property shows where a house sat back in the mid 1800's. So that seemed like the perfect place to go.
My first find was a iron ring, that appears to be off a horse bridle, or saddle. But my second find was a double head axe blade. From there I found several pieces of what I believe was from a wood burning stove, and the remains of an old coal bucket. And as I was leaving I found another double head axe blade ! All of this stuff was found within 100' from where the hand dug water well is at. I still have 99% of the property to cover !
This is the first time I've ever used a metal detector. I still need to learn the finer points of the detector, but it was easier than I expected. And just about everything it showed me on the screen was correct, depth, etc. I think this is a great and a very user product and highly recommend it.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabela's Sharp Shooter Ultra Mag™ Metal Detector Combo by Bounty Hunter®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome entry level detecor

Date:September 18, 2013
First thing of value I found with this detector was a platinum ring. Had this thing pay for it's self in the first year. Really easy to use and understand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.