Customer Reviews for Cabela's Cabela's Gun Dog Remote Trainer GS-3500

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Cabela's Cabela's Gun Dog Remote Trainer GS-3500

With 15 stimulation levels, you can fine tune the trainer with continuous, momentary or tone to fit your dog's disposition. An LCD display gives you visual proof you've selected the right setting. The water-resistant, antenna-less transmitter boasts 300 yards of range - more than adequate for most general, upland or waterfowl training. The receiver also is waterproof. Batteries are included. Comes with a one-year warranty.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.293 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 41 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
1
37 out of 41(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Gun Dog Remote Trainer GS-3500
Review 21 for Cabela's Gun Dog Remote Trainer GS-3500
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: minneapolis,mn
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

stubborn dog owners

Date:February 20, 2008
perfect for the dog that knows the commands but will only comply if food is rewarded.Easy to use,multiple settings,good range.Perfect for the average hunter and dog owner who would like a better behaved dog.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Cabela's Gun Dog Remote Trainer GS-3500
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Collar

Date:February 11, 2008
I am on my third season with this particular collar. It's the first one I bought when I started training my dog. I started with extremely low levels of stimulation and she responded without any discomfort. I've seen other people ramp up the level too quickly when training a dog and the dog gets shy when the collar goes on. I went slowly at low levels and now she responds to the tone alone. It's a great collar. Very reliable and with good range. My dog hunts pretty close but when she gets out a couple hundred yards, the tone will bring her right back every time. It even works long range in the grouse woods. I have a 3 month old weimaraner now. We are getting ready to start training her on quail in the spring. I will probably get the same collar for her. I have never had a single problem with this collar.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Cabela's Gun Dog Remote Trainer GS-3500
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cookeville, TN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

EXCELLENT PRODUCT

Date:February 3, 2008
I would recommend this product! We are very satisfied with this product. This training collar is very well priced.It is very good quality and I will definately buy more Cabela's dog products in the future!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Cabela's Gun Dog Remote Trainer GS-3500
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Collar

Date:January 29, 2008
I have had this collar for 5 years and it has never failed to perform as it should. I train my bird dogs with it and use it for rattlesnake and gator avoidance. My dogs are in and out of the water each day with this collar and it has never quit. Collar unit is a beat up but keeps on working. Collar range can be a problem as maximum field range is about 100 yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Cabela's Gun Dog Remote Trainer GS-3500
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Sacramento Ca.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Impressed

Date:January 7, 2008
I have a young Shorthair Lucy, with more energy than a neuclear power plant and I really needed to slow her down. After trying the collar on myself to see how powerful it is, (I can take it to the max 15, It is a jolt but not too bad) I used it to stop her from leaving the yard when I open the door and it works great. You need to keep it on her for a while till she understands why she is getting it. Now the tone is all she needs to hear. Now I use it in the field, and I can keep up with her no prob. I could go on and on about how much better it is than any other kind of training I have tried and much easier on the dog too. I Would recommend it to anyone who loves their dog!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Cabela's Gun Dog Remote Trainer GS-3500
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

it does work

Date:January 7, 2008
made my dog listen and ready to hunt, no happy with battery not holding charge when not in use. think i need to return .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Cabela's Gun Dog Remote Trainer GS-3500
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good buy for the money

Date:December 17, 2007
I purchased this collar as a replacement for a tritonics that that was in need of batteries and was about 18years old. Yes I was shopping buy price but this collar has not failed me yet. I have been using it for over two months now without any problems. I have never had to reset like some other reviews say. I would purchase again without any reservations. I could have given it a five star but the control is a little hard to hang on to, slippery, maybe a external rubberized case or finger holds would be a plus. But still would purchase again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Cabela's Gun Dog Remote Trainer GS-3500
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

fair

Date:November 25, 2007
This collar will work good some days then other days will black out switch to other frequencies and not work at all. And the way its designed that you cant reprogram it in the field is horrible.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Cabela's Gun Dog Remote Trainer GS-3500
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Payton

Date:November 12, 2007
The quality of the product seemed ok. But it was very hard to get a good contact on the dog. When I did get a contact it worked ok. But I bought this to keep him from taking off and not listening. He would go after my wifes cats and even with the collar turned all the way up it wouldn't stop him.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Cabela's Gun Dog Remote Trainer GS-3500
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

120

Date:November 11, 2007
I was very disappointed that the video did not have more instructions on how to use the collar for basic commands. Instead they wanted to SELL me a video. It should have been included .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Cabela's Gun Dog Remote Trainer GS-3500
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gun Dog Collar GS3500

Date:November 6, 2007
I purchased the GS 3500 gun dog collar and the first one I received was defective. I returned it and in about a month I received a replacement. It works fine, is easy enough to set up, but I think the advertized range is overstated. If my pup is close (within 250') it works well if set high in the range (at or near 15). If the range is set below 10, the dog doesn't even react to a signal. At anywhere close to 300 yds., I've never received a response from the dog no matter what the setting. I guess what I'm saying is next time I would definitely purchase the GS4500 or better units. Thanks, -Mike
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Cabela's Gun Dog Remote Trainer GS-3500
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Dayton, NV
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cabela's gun dog remote trainer gs-3500

Date:October 27, 2007
The collar is great and the price is just what a beginning trainer needs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Cabela's Gun Dog Remote Trainer GS-3500
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: PETERSBURG, VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ONLY HAD TO USE IT ONCE

Date:September 24, 2007
FAVORITE DOG WAS KILLING MY WIFE'S CHICKENS..USED ONCE..CURED...ENOUGH SAID!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Cabela's Gun Dog Remote Trainer GS-3500
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Maryland
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Training Tool

Date:June 20, 2007
I recently purchased a Chesapeake Retriever and she had turned six months old and it was time for her training in the field as well as in the home. The Cabelas Gun Dog GS-3500 has made it easy to have my dog ready in the winter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Cabela's Gun Dog Remote Trainer GS-3500
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Stamford, Vermont
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Item!!!

Date:May 17, 2007
Casey is a 11 month old black lab. A very notty puppy. Casey destroyed and torn up many item in the house, barked all the time. We purchased a cheap training collar and it did an ok job, then..... Casey chewed the remote!!! Then he thought, look who's in control now. To his suprise I was browing in the Cabela's magazine one evening and saw the training collars and decided to purchase another one. I am very pleased to say that we now have a very well behaved puppy, most of the time. Sometimes he doesn't even have the collar on, and that's all I have to do is pick up the remote and he lays right down or drops what ever he is not suppose to have. By the way Casey hardly ever barks, unless there is something outside (we live in the country) or he needs to go outside.
Thanks so much, we now have a peaceful house!!!!
Sharon
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Cabela's Gun Dog Remote Trainer GS-3500
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GOOD

Date:April 10, 2007
GOOD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Cabela's Gun Dog Remote Trainer GS-3500
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: SE Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

disappointing

Date:December 25, 2006
I primarily hunt for waterfowl and pheasants. After a few months of using this collar I began to have major problems with this transmitter. The tranmsitter would "black out" and lose communication(by switching to another frequency) with the collar often, and at the worst possible hunting moments. I sent it back to innotek once and they repaired it and returned it free of charge, which I appreciated. However, soon after getting it back, it started again. I have a co-worker with the same collar and similar and additional problems. I would recommend a higher grade of collar for long-term hunting use. This is the firts item I have purchased with the cabela's name on it that has failed me. disappointing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Cabela's Gun Dog Remote Trainer GS-3500
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Denver, CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

gs-3500

Date:December 9, 2006
The gs-3500 is a very good entry level collar. Once my GSP learned all of his commands this collar is essential for the times he decided to "ignore" my command. The only negative feedback I can give is it's range. It's more like 100yds. tops. It would be great if this collar had a boost feature but for the money it's a good value. The collar always worked and the battery life is very good. I would definetly recommend this collar for entry level dog training / hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Cabela's Gun Dog Remote Trainer GS-3500
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Gibbstown NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cabelas gun dog remote trainer gs-3500

Date:November 26, 2006
works great needs a softer collar
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Cabela's Gun Dog Remote Trainer GS-3500
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Remote Trainer

Date:November 21, 2006
A neighbor used this product and was very successful with it. I have tried it, and it works very well. My dog is a little sensitive, and shies away from getting the collar on when it sees it, and is very passive after putting it on. Overall, the product works very well, and is pretty easy to use. The most difficulty occurs after recharging the unit, and having to re-id the unit, and to make sure it is receiving properly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 41