Customer Reviews for Cabela's Cabela's Gun Dog Remote Trainer GS-3500

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Cabela's Cabela's Gun Dog Remote Trainer GS-3500

With 15 stimulation levels, you can fine tune the trainer with continuous, momentary or tone to fit your dog's disposition. An LCD display gives you visual proof you've selected the right setting. The water-resistant, antenna-less transmitter boasts 300 yards of range - more than adequate for most general, upland or waterfowl training. The receiver also is waterproof. Batteries are included. Comes with a one-year warranty.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.293 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 41 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
1
37 out of 41(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Gun Dog Remote Trainer GS-3500
Review 1 for Cabela's Gun Dog Remote Trainer GS-3500
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

works well

Date:August 5, 2009
this collar works well is made by innotek but is cheaper than theirs and has more settings i have not tried out the range but it has worked every time i needed it to
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's Gun Dog Remote Trainer GS-3500
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Gun Dog Remote Trainer GS-3500

Date:August 4, 2009
One of the best products I ever invested in. It took just one day to train my black lab not to scratch out the bay window screen when he wanted attention when nothing else worked for over two years. It also cured his selective hearing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's Gun Dog Remote Trainer GS-3500
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Spencer, Indiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Never to late.

Date:July 29, 2009
I put it on A 7year old Brittany . And used it just like the video and instructions said and it was just what I needed to fine tune him.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's Gun Dog Remote Trainer GS-3500
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Price Utah
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Training Collar

Date:July 29, 2009
I have the 1000 yard range and got another dog and just wanted one for my trained dog to keep him sharp, that is why I added this one to my collection. Both collars work great. The tone is very helpful. If you learn to use the tone first and then correct you will eventually only need to use the tone. Great Collar!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's Gun Dog Remote Trainer GS-3500
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

better dog

Date:July 24, 2009
I found this collar to be very effective in modifying my dog's negative behaviors.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's Gun Dog Remote Trainer GS-3500
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Product

Date:July 23, 2009
For the price, you can't beat this product. Be sure your dog knows the commands first, and this will do a good job of reinforcing. Teach him the old fashioned way by repetition and consistency before you ever put this collar on him. It would be quite cruel to use this collar without understanding the process!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's Gun Dog Remote Trainer GS-3500
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Bend, WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works on ChocLab

Date:July 14, 2009
Have used the collar for about one month with great results. Used lowest setting that would get her attention (chocolate lab, 7 months old). She's been swimming with it on with no ill effects. Used corrrectly, this collar is a great value compared with those found in pet stores. The squirrels and cats in the neighborhood are helping to test the optimum setting for retaining her attention on her lessons. She's a fast learner and enjoys the outings, especially off-leash (we couldn't do that before getting this collar). This collar will help you have a fun companion.
Warning: There are many videos on the internet about training with this type of device. Some are made by people who are against them and they use the collar inappropriately in order to cause their dog to react badly so that you will be discouraged against using it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's Gun Dog Remote Trainer GS-3500
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Chino Hills, CA.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good first time trainer

Date:April 20, 2009
This collar was the first trainer collar I have ever used. It was just a little confusing at first how to set it up, but once I figured it out was a wonderful addition to training my Chocolate Lab, who is 1 year old and weighs 110 lbs. The only thing I felt could be improved, is the toner should be a little louder, seems a little low for him to hear, when there are noises around him. This collar was just what I needed to help train my dog.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's Gun Dog Remote Trainer GS-3500
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Southeast, AR
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product, Fair Price

Date:March 10, 2009
This collar was the single greatest purchase we have made for the training of our German Sheppard. She has come a long way since we introduced the collar. It is easy to use, and the battery stays charged forever.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's Gun Dog Remote Trainer GS-3500
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Durango, CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

mini-zapper will get his attention

Date:January 26, 2009
The small 300 yd collar is easy to use and the various levels of stimulation offer an appropriate attention getter that has my lab working nicely with much less effort than otherwise possible. It should be turned off when not in use or the collar will discharge in a week rather than the time described in the manual which is easy to read and use. No problems. So far its been a dependable, useful, and inexpensive training aid.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's Gun Dog Remote Trainer GS-3500
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Seattle, WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Inconsistent performance

Date:October 1, 2008
On good this days this unit worked great. On bad days it would inexpicably not communicate with the receiver requiring reprogramming. Very annoying when in a training situation.
ilove the price but I feel th econstuction is a bit light and I just don't liek th efact the fact that I gre to not be able to rely upon it. I ended up buying a sportdog unit and will be returning this unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's Gun Dog Remote Trainer GS-3500
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Well priced quality unit

Date:September 22, 2008
This unit is very easy to operate. Correction mode and intensity of correction stimulus is readily changed quickly as needed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's Gun Dog Remote Trainer GS-3500
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: HILLSBORO MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ANSWERED PRAYER

Date:September 10, 2008
I bought this collar for a wild chocolate lab and it calmed her and made her a awesome hunting dog. Before I used the collar she would chase a pheasent into the next county.My young son didn't like me using the collar on QUIK (chocolate lab) and he threw the transmitter out in the woods. I found the transmitter 2 months later and it still worked.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's Gun Dog Remote Trainer GS-3500
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Delaware City, DE
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Collar

Date:August 27, 2008
I have a stubborn 8 month old Choc Lab. She only listened when she wanted to. I have had the collar on her a few weeks now and she has made a remarkable turn around. I have had her in the water numerous times and the collar still works. Great E-Collar.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's Gun Dog Remote Trainer GS-3500
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

trainer GS-3500

Date:July 20, 2008
My wife and I were given a 1 year four month old yellow lab that had very little "structure". He is a wonderful dog "but", anyway the GS-3500 trainer has been a great help in bringing him into line without damping his fun loving character. In the water with it on, no problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's Gun Dog Remote Trainer GS-3500
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tallahassee, Fl.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

a reliable training aid

Date:July 15, 2008
I purchased this collar to replace an older worn out one, used years ago on a now departed dog. I like the variety of adjustable reinforcements it offers as well as the Positive tone feature.
I have a Wolf-Malamute hybrid, a lovely animal that I refer to as "my high maintainance blonde." However, she is competing in the "pack" with two other found dogs, one of which is another would be Alpha female.
This is where the collar comes into its own. I can reimforce, immediately, my verbal commands to STOP or NO and/or give the positive tone with my GOOD DOG voice command
It's use has drastically reduced the incidence of would be altercations between the two.
Of course I can not keep it on all the time, as the instructions advise against that. But I have been glad to see that even without it on she is behaving much better-a residual of the benefits of the immediate reimforcement for negative and positve behavior
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's Gun Dog Remote Trainer GS-3500
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Kansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Just what I needed

Date:June 22, 2008
This was just want I needed to teach my hard headed 10 month Chocolate Lab some manners. A little discipline and now he response much better to voice commands. I have not had a chance to use the product on an actual hunt so I'm not sure of effective range of the product. Battery life is average.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabela's Gun Dog Remote Trainer GS-3500
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Auburn Maine
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Working well

Date:May 5, 2008
Have been very pleased with the fine customer service,and the remote trainer GS-3500.
It has worked very well and well worth the money spent.
Thanks again,
Old100
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabela's Gun Dog Remote Trainer GS-3500
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Nova Scotia Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gun Dog Remote Trainer GS - 3500

Date:April 7, 2008
The dog trainer works well , our German short hair pointer works really good with the collar . Listens well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabela's Gun Dog Remote Trainer GS-3500
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: SF, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works Well.

Date:March 31, 2008
I've been training my dog using this collar for the last 6 months and I would it's a great tool to have for training. Just be careful using it and don't rely on it as the only training tool. Great coverage, I've used in and out of fresh and salt water.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 41