Customer Reviews for DEFEYTER FOODS Exotic Meat Gift Set

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

DEFEYTER FOODS Exotic Meat Gift Set

This is the perfect holiday gift for dedicated outdoor adventurers. Our truly unique Canned Meat Gift Set lets you experience wild, unforgettable flavors that only the old west could inspire. All contents are fully cooked. Just heat using the serving instructions. Includes: One 7.5-oz. can of each of the following: elk au jus, buffalo au jus, cajun-style alligator and smoked rattlesnake.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.941 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
14 out of 17(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Exotic Meat Gift Set
Review 1 for Exotic Meat Gift Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Rare Purchase

Date:April 17, 2012
My Grandpa, who is in his 80's, said he would like to have some Rattlesnake meat. He said they used to have it in a can with a snake coiled up on it. I searched the internet & found this gift set at one of my favorite companies, Cabelas! Got him the gift set for his birthday!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Exotic Meat Gift Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Salina, PA
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

exotic meats

Date:January 24, 2012
Not cheap, but only place i could find rattlesnake meat. Good taste; small portions, but that is the way with exotic materials.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Exotic Meat Gift Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: brooklyn n.y.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

TO MUCH BONE

Date:August 17, 2011
some of the can have bone in it for the price it should have no bone in it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Exotic Meat Gift Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Friends Loved It

Date:April 1, 2011
Had a few friends get together and they loved it with crackers and wine they thought it was very unique and Exotic. Thank You I will do this one again. Something different and exciting and exotic for a party.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Exotic Meat Gift Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: el paso, TX
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Exotic Meat

Date:February 18, 2011
I bought these for my son. We have not tried them yet but he did get a laugh out of the meat labels and enjoys looking at the can. We will try them soon.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Exotic Meat Gift Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Corning, AR
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Different

Date:January 24, 2011
I bought this a a christmas gift for my two boys. It was a chance for them to try something different. The rattlesnake was actually pretty good. The other three was not so good. They was in much smaller cans than I expected but enough for all of us to sample.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Exotic Meat Gift Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Like Nothing I've ever tasted

Date:February 23, 2010
I got this as a gift. It was wonderful! I thought the portion size was fine, no complaints. Very fresh, tasty, unique. What a great gift idea. Who ever created this must be a total stud! Great product, thank you Cabela's.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Exotic Meat Gift Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Exotic Meat Gift Set

Date:February 17, 2010
as a novelty item, i'd recommend it. the portion sizes are small. quality is ok.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Exotic Meat Gift Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: G-Rock ,WY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great way to sample.

Date:February 1, 2010
I received this as a gift and feel that it was a great way to get a chance to try something new without taking a big rick on one item. Can't say enough about this product, other then I wouuld love to see more like it. Would highley recomend it to anyone with a taste for something new.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Exotic Meat Gift Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: nashville, tn
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

meat set

Date:January 18, 2010
great meat It would make a great gift for a hunter. just not enough of it. kind of small otherwise great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Exotic Meat Gift Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: ca
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

gift

Date:December 29, 2009
gave as gift
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Exotic Meat Gift Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Southern CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

A Gift Appreciated But Not Enjoyed

Date:October 19, 2009
My father reported the cans were mostly water. He really liked the Cabelas Smoked Salmon which is what I will get him next time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Exotic Meat Gift Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Utah
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Too expensive

Date:January 9, 2009
Small amount for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Exotic Meat Gift Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: lowell, MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good but small

Date:January 6, 2009
Not bad meat, but very small portions.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Exotic Meat Gift Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Louisiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

food

Date:November 19, 2008
very very,very,very good !!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Exotic Meat Gift Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

too small

Date:December 6, 2007
The 4 pack of cans were too small. The picture makes the cans look bigger than they really are. Other than there size I was satisfied with every thing else. Although the cans do come packed in a nice easy to wrap box.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Exotic Meat Gift Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Glendale, AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Let's git downright Wild!

Date:December 3, 2007
I've just received the 4 can set & cant wait to give as a X-mas gift! The Elk & Buffalo are simply packed in Water so making AuJus will be a must! I see the Rattlesnake has bones (Right-On) There's simply no-doubt in my mind this this will be unique.
C'mon don't be shy---Give it a shot--------------------
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.