Customer Reviews for CHARLES MANUFACTURING Deluxe Hunting Dog Boots

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

CHARLES MANUFACTURING Deluxe Hunting Dog Boots

Front and rear boots are crafted specifically to account for the differences in front and rear feet. They are made of 3mm neoprene with 1,000-denier Cordura® nylon for strength and comfort. These boots also have no-slide soles, nylon zipper closures, and a hook and loop closure attached stabilizer. Sizes: S (2-1/4" to 2-3/4"), M (2-3/4" to 3-1/4"), L (3-1/4" to 3-3/4"), XL (3-3/4" to 4-1/4").
Overall Customer Rating:
3.477 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(107 Reviews) 107
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 107 reviews
5 Stars
34
4 Stars
31
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
14
1 Star
17
74 out of 107(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Deluxe Hunting Dog Boots
Review 61 for Deluxe Hunting Dog Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

So far the best dog boots I've found

Date:April 10, 2008
I purchased these boots after taking my dog on a hike that caused her to lose the skin off the pads of both front feet. (Lots of loose granite in Arizona.) These are actually the fourth different pair of boots I've purchased in the past two weeks and the only ones that actually seem to fit / stay on. (Though they are a bit wide.) It took my dog about five mintues to get use to having them on.
Note: First pair of these shoes had to be returned to the store as I noticed one of the neoprene sections was not adequately sewn on.
Overall construction is of very good quality and as mentioned, they are the only boots I've found that seem to actually stay on the dog. My only real gripe is one mentioned by other users... pertaining to the lack of tread on the sole. I don't see where these soles will provide traction under any condition and I’m curious to know how they will last on granite. I have found boots made by Avery Sporting Dog (not carried by Cabelas at the time of this review) which did have a superior rubber sole with small diamond tread patterns (not unlike the toe guards of some hiking shoes). However, these did not fit my dog and the lashing mechanism was far inferior.
Ratings:
Choice of materials – 5/5
Ease of use – 5/5
Ability to stay on the dog – 5/5
Tread design – 2/5 (the only real weakness of this boot)
Overall design – 4/5 (deduction for choice of smooth rubber soles)
Overall construction – 4/5
Overall satisfaction – 4/5
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 62 for Deluxe Hunting Dog Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Upstate NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

They stay on!

Date:February 12, 2008
I run trails with my hyper border collie mix at least twice a week and snow/ice in his pads has been a big winter problem for him (chewing feet, bloody prints in snow, ouch!). No relief with pad fur trimming and wax products so we turned to paw protective gear. Other products we have tried have fallen apart, fallen off, or had to be fastened so tightly that they seemed to be causing him pain (he would stop and chew on them). The Deluxe Hunting Dog Boots were recommended to us by some friends who live in Colorado. These boots have been a major success. They stay on through all manner of leaping, lunging and sprinting over deep snow, ice and all manner of off-trail obstacles. They don't seem to bother him and they do not need to be secured very tightly. The bright orange makes it easy to check and see that he has not lost any boots (a paranoia I developed after the experience of figuring out that my hyper border collie mix lost footwear miles down trail after it happened). So why did I not give them 5 stars? Lack of traction. The bottom surface is smooth. Can you imagine trying to run on snow with no tread on your trail shoes? The lack of traction does hamper his agility. If only these came with agressively treaded vibram soles.....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 63 for Deluxe Hunting Dog Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Kansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Dog Boots

Date:February 7, 2008
I have tried several booties and these have been the only ones I have not lost in the field. They take a little bit of time to put on put stay on. I have a german shorthair and bought the large, per instructions, but they were to big. I bought the medium and they fit well but these boots are somewhat wide and appear to be made to fit a lab or dog with a wide paw much better. The soles did not allow much traction on ice but I do not think that any booties out there will. Overall these booties work well for my dog.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 64 for Deluxe Hunting Dog Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

dog boot

Date:January 16, 2008
good boot--rugged and easy on and off
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 65 for Deluxe Hunting Dog Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Longmont, Co
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

dog boots

Date:January 16, 2008
The pros of these boots are they stay on without duct tape. Easy on and off. However like most boots my dogs feet blister from rubbing. Very hard on tops of dogs feet. But still the best boot on the market for heavy/hard hunting dog. I ended up putting baby (human) socks on dog first and then these boots over the top to help with the rubbing blisters. I will start that first thing next season and see how it works. These are very expensive compared to the muk luks. But they do last longer and stay on without the tape.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 66 for Deluxe Hunting Dog Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

They worked!

Date:January 7, 2008
After trying several commercially produced boots, I was skeptical about buying yet another set. After 6 hard days of hunting in Kansas (in both dry and wet conditions), however, I have to say I was very surprised. These stayed on my dog, first of all, and, second, they were easy to get on and off. I would be sure to accurately measure your dog's feet, however. The boots seem to run a little "big."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 67 for Deluxe Hunting Dog Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: COLORADO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A GOOD BOOT

Date:November 27, 2007
ONE DOG MEASURED 3 7/8 AND THE OTHER 41/4, BOUGHT LARGE AND XL. THEY WERE ONE SIZE TOO BIG ON EACH. WILL KEEP THE XL FOR BACKUP AND ORDER A MED. WORKED GREAT AT PROTECTION FROM BURRS, GOAT HEADS AND CACTUS, BUT WE DID EXPERIENCE BLISTERS, PROBABLY FROM BEING TOO BIG. WE, ALSO, HAD ONE SEAM BLOWOUT AFTER TWO HARD WEEKENDS. DEFINITELY A WINNER FOR US.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 68 for Deluxe Hunting Dog Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Southeast NM. Desert quail hunting.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Small Dog

Date:October 16, 2007
I have a small dog for a retriever, she is a Viszla but only 27 lbs. The boots fit her well and so far stay on as long as you check them often and retighten.
The ankle is a bit stiff so take care when you first put them on, do not let your dog jump down from the truck. Give her time to warm up in the boots.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 69 for Deluxe Hunting Dog Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Glendale, AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Desert Running

Date:October 3, 2007
The boots are a great aide to have when you run your dogs out in the Arizona Desert.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 70 for Deluxe Hunting Dog Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

tough boots

Date:October 1, 2007
These boots are very well built with a lot of features. There is a lot of workmanship in the boots. I tried them on the dog a few times before hunting. The first hunting trip was rigorous with a high energy dog. The boots rubbed his feet, esp. at the dew claws.
It would be best to take short hunts prior to serious hunts. Not sure if dew claws are a problem regardless. The boots stay on extremely well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 71 for Deluxe Hunting Dog Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Black Hills, SD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Dog Boots

Date:September 19, 2007
These boots worked well. Easy to put on and stayed on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 72 for Deluxe Hunting Dog Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Eastern Washington
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Deluxe Hunting Boots

Date:July 9, 2007
I bought these boots for my standard poodle to keep burs and grass seed out of his paws. The sizing was accurate, and they fit fairly well. He adjusted very quickly to them and was able to run and play with no apparent problem. Although after he played for a while, the boots began to slip some, and move downwards, I tightened them, but was afraid to tighten them to the point of depriving blood flow to his paws. First time you put the boots on, isn't too difficult. Some good pictures and illustrations are provided with the directions as to how to put on the boots. Overall, I would say that these boots were an excellent choice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 73 for Deluxe Hunting Dog Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Omaha, NE
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

too tall for 4in foot

Date:February 27, 2007
My 60 lb Golden Retriever measured 4 in on her front foot, which places her in the XLG size. The part of the boot that covers the foot was a little large but not overly so. However, the upper part of the boots (called the stabilizer where the Velcro straps are adjusted) was so tall that they interfered with the leg joint. As a result they were pushed down the leg as the dog walked. After that, the foot part protruded significantly past the toenails, and caused a lot of flopping. Luckily, I was able to bring the XLG size to a Cabela’s store, and make a side by side comparison for MED, LG, and XLG. The difference between LG and XLG is about 1/2 in for stabilizer height. LG worked well for the stabilizer on this 4 in foot. Once you find the fit, these boots are well worth the price, and exceptionally well made. The dog does slip more on ice patches and crusted snow. That did not bother her. She quickly adapted. The handler should keep this in mind though.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 74 for Deluxe Hunting Dog Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Got my dog back in the field

Date:December 11, 2012
Dog's paws tore up with sand burrs and walking in field was difficult. Put boots on and it was very awkward for him for 1st 5 minutes but then he was back in the field doing what he loves the best.. pointing birds. He tried to get them off but was unsuccessful Was definitely worth price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 75 for Deluxe Hunting Dog Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Been using these for yeras

Date:May 17, 2012
On the eastern plains of Colorado, there are many hunting areas with burs. Without these dog boots, either you or your dog will have to stop and remove these burrs. These boots work well, and allow your dog to hunt without stopping. In the past, I have used duct tape to more adequately secure the boots to my dog. Yes, the dog loses some fur, but for a day free of burrs in the dogs feet, it is well worth it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 76 for Deluxe Hunting Dog Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: SF BayArea
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

dog nikes

Date:February 14, 2012
I actually purchased these boots for my older lab because he is arthritic and we have hardwood floors that he slips on as he walks. I was tenative weither or not he would wear them. He loves them as they give him stablilty and confidence. Now he doesn't want to take them off.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 77 for Deluxe Hunting Dog Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Did the trick

Date:August 6, 2010
Well, our dog injured the pads on both her feet a week before we were going to head to the mountains for a 4-day weekend of hiking & camping. Our Vet stitched up the pads, and wrapped her feet in bandages, but the bandages were not going to survive the great outdoors, so enter Cabelas and these great boots. We went with size Medium, and they fit our dog perfectly. She's on the small side for a Golden. They are certainly bright, but she just ignored them once they were on. She went into the lake, and we went for hikes on trails as well as asphalt. They appear well made, and I expect we will use them for similar problems in the future, or to help avoid cutting up her pads in the first place.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 78 for Deluxe Hunting Dog Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Montana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Extremely High Quality

Date:February 19, 2010
Cabela's has done a great job with these boots. They are more durable and better fitting than any dog boot I have ever used. Highly recommended.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 79 for Deluxe Hunting Dog Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

dog booties

Date:February 8, 2010
a well made product and arrived on time
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 80 for Deluxe Hunting Dog Boots
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Salida, Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Grea Boots

Date:January 31, 2010
I have an 85lb. Golden. We live in the very high country in Colorado. I have tried three other manufacturers..the boots wore through in the summer, or fell off in the winter. My vet suggested these..they are utterly fabulous !! Yesterday, I snow shoe'd up to the higher of the two Waterdog Lakes on Manarch Pass, up to about 11,500 feet from the trailhead..I broke trail all the way..my Golden was with me every step of the way..it was sometimes up to my thighs and he was occasionally struggling to stay on top..he has an amazing spirt.. those boots never failed, never came off...it is great to now have confidence in his boots...Thank you, Cabela..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 61-80 of 107