Customer Reviews for Kimar Kimar .22-Caliber Training Pistol

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Kimar Kimar .22-Caliber Training Pistol

Built by Kimar, who specializes in blank firearms, the starter model is made in such a way that it actually sounds very much like a real gun. Features double action; five-shot, swing-out cylinder with ejector. 2" barrel. Includes hard carrying case.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.909 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
9 out of 11(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kimar .22-Caliber Training Pistol
Review 1 for Kimar .22-Caliber Training Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: IN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Kimar .22 Caliber Training Pistol

Date:November 21, 2006
After years of training upland and waterfowl dogs I have used several methods to expose young pups to gun fire. My old standby blank pistol was on its last leg, and I began to look for a replacement. Given all of my past experiences with Cabela's products I knew that I would find exactly what I was looking for.
Sitting in my easy chair with my wireless computer setup, I logged on to my Cabelas Club account, located the Dog Training section were I was able to review and compare four Training pistol models. This is were I came across the Kimar .22 caliber training pistol.
The Kimar training pistol really met all of my needs, I really like the five whot double action feature, I can easily simulate several shots without having to worry about malfunction. I was really impressed with the Kimar .22 Training Pistol's gunfire sound production. Kimar also includes a hard carrying case which really works well with my training bag setup, and enables me to lock the training pistol in its case, keeping it away from little hands.
The Kimar .22 Training Pistol has become my new faithful training tool for exposing my pups and dogs to gunfire.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Kimar .22-Caliber Training Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GOOD BUY

Date:July 30, 2007
Pistol is used for field training and preparing for Hunt Tests. So far it has been reliable. Others in our club have also purchased the pistol and have gotten similar results.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Kimar .22-Caliber Training Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Training Pistol (Kimar .22)

Date:October 8, 2007
Am not sure I would repurchase this gun but it is okay for my use. The gun is used to field train and is shot when a mark is thrown. It is satisfactory for that but only holds 5 shells at a time (my friend's gun holds 9). Because it is new, it is very stiff and I am hoping it will loosen up with time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Kimar .22-Caliber Training Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worth the Wait

Date:January 28, 2008
I waited over 3 months for this pistol due to a backlog order. I almost went for another one but boy was I happy I waited. I was given the opportunity to change my order because I waited so long,but I kept my faith that this little pistol would do the trick. Happy to inform you that I am extremely happy. This pistol operates just like the real thing. It fires, loads, feels, sounds and smells what I need it to be as I train my hunting and field trail dogs (Labs). I recommend this pistol for anyone from personal experience.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Kimar .22-Caliber Training Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Training

Date:January 29, 2008
Only draw back I can find is how hard it is for someone like my wife to cock the gun - when we're training together. Otherwise, the unit seems to be built pretty solid and reliable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Kimar .22-Caliber Training Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northeastern PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

No Mis-fires here

Date:February 23, 2008
This training pistol is well built and has not missed yet, with over 200 blanks fired. Don't waste money on the cheaper models.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Kimar .22-Caliber Training Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Starters pistol

Date:April 8, 2008
This is a great pistol for training dogs. Works everytime. Solid and sturdy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Kimar .22-Caliber Training Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Laceyville,Pa.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Pistol

Date:April 30, 2008
I have shot this pistol about 50 times and have had no problems in training or hunt tests.
It appears to be made well and has the weight of a real firearm.
The only negative is that it is a little hard for a female to fire the gun in the double action mode. (That feed back was relayed from a female) Would recommend to others.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Kimar .22-Caliber Training Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not worthy

Date:September 9, 2008
This is the worst product that I ever have purchased from Cabela's. This Italian made training pistol is of very poor craftmanship. Cabela's should remove this item from their inventory immediatly. This is not the quality type of product that Cabela's is know for. Its not even worth my time to return.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Kimar .22-Caliber Training Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Connecticut
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Kimar 22 cal training pistol

Date:April 8, 2009
Pistol well made and functions well. Heavy all metal with rubber handle. Comes with case and cleaning rod overall very pleased with pistol compared to others I have owned
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Kimar .22-Caliber Training Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: New Orleans, LA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Did not last

Date:October 21, 2009
I bought this starter's pistol to train my dog. After about 2 weeks of use, it would not work half the time. After 2 more weeks it wouldn't work at all. It's a really disappointing product and not at all worth the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.