Customer Reviews for PETSAFE PetSafe® Instant Fence

PETSAFE PetSafe® Instant Fence

Nothing is better than being able to let your pet run around outside your own home without worry. No fences, no poles, no buried wire, Instant Fence is a simple, easy-to-use, yet effective pet-containment system that will give your pet the freedom to run and play in a wide variety of areas. Offering both safety and portability, this electronic fence can be installed instantly, covering up to 24,000 sq. ft. or a half acre. It emits a constant radio signal around your home to create a safe-zone circle for your pet with up to a 180-ft. diameter. Your pet wears a lightweight, waterproof receiver (2-1/2" x 1-1/4" x 1 -1/4" at 4 oz.) incorporated into a comfortable collar (adjusts from 6" to 28" and is not recommended for dogs less than 8 lbs.) that runs on a 6-volt battery module. The included receiver has five levels of stimulation and a tone-only mode. System comes with a test light as well as a built-in low-battery indicator on the receiver. The fence works on a proximity approach, meaning your dog is free to roam when within range of the base transmitter. When he approaches the boundary of the signal area, the collar emits a warning beep; if he leaves the signal area, he receives a safe but very noticeable correction until he returns. During training, 50 included flags are placed around the determined border. The handler will then walk the dog on lead up to the flags where it will hear the tone then receive stimulation - the dog learns to associate the borders with the uncomfortable stimulation and stays within the safe zone. Flags can later be removed, and the dog will remember the border lines.With a little simple training - about 10 minutes a day for a couple weeks - your dog will quickly learn not to leave the signal area. Instant Fence is completely portable - take it with you wherever you go. Just plug the portable transmitter into any 110-volt outlet, place the collar on your dog, train him to the boundary and let him run. Transmitter can be placed in your home, garage or other weather-protected area and should be located in an area 2- to 4-ft. from large metallic objects (failing to do so can reduce the size and shape of transmitted signal area). Signal area adjusts from a 15- to 90-ft. radius. Instruction manual included. Lifetime warranty on parts and one-year warranty on labor. One receiver collar is included with the Instant Fence system. To contain multiple dogs, you will need to purchase additional receiver collars.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.453 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(247 Reviews) 247
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 247 reviews
5 Stars
177
4 Stars
40
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
5
1 Star
15
227 out of 247(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
28 Questions | 53 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe® Instant Fence
Review 101 for PetSafe® Instant Fence
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Fort St John , BC Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

wireless pet fence

Date:July 1, 2008
We found that there was alot of inconsistencies with the collar and with the placement of the flags. Sometimes it would beep at the flag another time it would beep past or way before the flags. There is no way you could train the dog with all those inconsistencies. Unfortunately we had to send it back. Hope fully it can be improved on
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 102 for PetSafe® Instant Fence
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Arkansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

invisable fence

Date:July 1, 2008
I have the most most untrained lab and even with the collar off after a couple weeks he never leaves his perimeter
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 103 for PetSafe® Instant Fence
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Storden, MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

PetSafe Fence

Date:July 1, 2008
This product is truely an amazing product. It has kept my dog safe and helped me from worrying about him all the time when we are gone at work during the day. I always thought that I would come home and find my dog on the road dead or get the news that somebody shot him. Now I'm much more relaxed on the way home, knowing that my dog is safe. It was well worth the money that I spent on this product and I would foresure recommend it to anybody who had a pet that likes to run.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 104 for PetSafe® Instant Fence
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Grove City, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Electronic Fence - Great Invention

Date:July 8, 2008
I was skeptical if it would actually work. I am SO amazed at how quickly 1 year old German Shepherd learned the boundaries. I set up the flags and walked her around them for about 15 minutes at a time, a few times during the day. By the 3rd day, she wouldn't even follow me to the clothes line (out of her area) I left her loose at night after the 6th day. She barked ALL night when I put her in the kennel or tie out. She was happily waiting on the porch in the morning, and didn't bark all night. The only draw back is the area is not big enough for our country setting. I would have liked to have had more area, but it's still better than a 20 foot tie out. If they make one weather proof, I could get a second unit. It's hard to set up 2 units if you don't have a detached garage at least 40-50 feet from the house. It really is the easiest training I've ever done. Now, I need to get a second collar for my other dog! Would definately recommend product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 105 for PetSafe® Instant Fence
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: L,Burg TN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

PetSafe Instant Fence

Date:July 12, 2008
The Instant Fence has worked great. My dog learned his boundries on the second day. Now I dont have to worry about our landscaping, and the dog knocking our kids down. Well worth the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 106 for PetSafe® Instant Fence
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great

Date:July 15, 2008
This product was super easy to set up and begin to use. I love it although my dog is not as enthusiastic as he can no longer follow my kids everywhere they go in the neighborhood. I had to slow down the training as he was very upset initially that he couldn't leave the yard and was refusing to leave the house as well. It took a couple of weeks but it is really working well now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 107 for PetSafe® Instant Fence
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: P.A.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pet safe wireless dog fence

Date:July 19, 2008
I am very pleased with this product, I had an underground fence and the lines got broken and I think by far this is a better system.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 108 for PetSafe® Instant Fence
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: riverdale,michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

pet safe

Date:July 22, 2008
this is a great products, we recently moved and our dog, a rot and shepard mixed, was loving the 10 acers we brought, problem was he was chasing deer and people riding bikes down the road. well this had to stop. it only took 3 days of using petsafe and he now knows were he can go and were he can't. this was money well spent on our part, another great product from cabelas
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 109 for PetSafe® Instant Fence
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Louisiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Wireless Will Never be Wired

Date:July 22, 2008
I really did not like this product because the distance of the signal was not consistent. Example - I had the unit set for 45 feet and some time the signal would start at 40 feet, sometime 45 feet, and sometimes 50-60 feet. My dog and "I" were very confused. My dog left my yard, because I guess he really did not know where his boundaries were. I will try the wired solution next..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 110 for PetSafe® Instant Fence
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: bubba from ct
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

wireless fence

Date:July 31, 2008
unbelievable how well this works my dog was trained in 2 days and it also corrected alot of other problems.We live on a hill and i did have to place it in the highest room but it works great and the dog is safe.He even is better behaved in the house.well worth the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 111 for PetSafe® Instant Fence
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not for us

Date:August 3, 2008
I would not recommend this product to anyone with a larger yard. We purchased hoping to escape the underground fence, but not the case. The limit of the circumference of it was a problem, we wanted to get as much for our backyard and away from the road in the front. In order to do that the boundry for the front yard was in the road. This fence would probably work for someone with a small yard, or maybe if the house was set back far away from the road. Not for us!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 112 for PetSafe® Instant Fence
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not for village properties

Date:August 7, 2008
I carefully read all reviews before purchasing, but no one specifically said this: In order to set the boundaries for the side our 1/3 acre lot, we could not include all of the house in the safe zone. This would have meant either putting on the receiver collar each time, or turning the transmitter off every time the dog came in the house. We decided to return the unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 113 for PetSafe® Instant Fence
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Friendsville, MD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good product

Date:August 11, 2008
Doesn't have nearly the roaming area that it claims to have, but it does work very well and is very convenient. Probably better suited for smaller dogs that don't require as much room to run.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 114 for PetSafe® Instant Fence
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Mich.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

way out there

Date:August 14, 2008
I received this product... set it up and then tried to get the flags set up within the beep zone, but they were all over the place... no way would I be able to get my dog to understand these bounderies. We tried it on multiple settings to try to get the bounderies in a place where we could try to use it. No luck! We are going to try the traing collar with the remote... see how that works...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 115 for PetSafe® Instant Fence
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: wv
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

the petsafe instant fence

Date:August 26, 2008
petsafe did the job and was very easy to use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 116 for PetSafe® Instant Fence
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Upstate NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

PetSafe Instant Fence

Date:September 1, 2008
We would recommend this fence. Our dog was corrected just once, and will not go near the flags. The only disappointment is that we were not aware of when we purchased this item that the base cannot be exposed to below freezing temperatures. We live in the North Country and close to a busy highway and currently have the base along the back wall of the garage that sits further back in the yard than the house. In order to use in the Winter we are going to have to bring the base into the house which will cause us to have to shorten the perimeter since our house sits close to the highway. Other than that we would highly recommend this unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 117 for PetSafe® Instant Fence
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: salt river, ky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

They stay home now

Date:September 14, 2008
We live in the country with a 5 year old lab and an 8 year old lab mix. These dogs would roam up to 3 miles away, going to school, the park, the pizza shop, the marina and all over the community. You could not leave them alone in the yard for 15 minutes or they would take off. Purchased the Pet safe invisible fence over 2 months ago. It took about an hour to set up the unit, with most of the time determing where in the house to plug up the unit to cover the most area of the yard. After following the training as provided, it only took one time for the lab not to cross the boundary. The older lab mix took some more training and turning up the collar unit. After a couple of days both stayed in the yard. Last week we took them to the park and forgot to put the collars on when we came home. They stayed home until the afternoon when I realized they didn't have them on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 118 for PetSafe® Instant Fence
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: OR
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wireless fence

Date:September 22, 2008
I purchased this product so I didn't have to put up a wood fence immediately for my dog. Easy set up, just follow the directions. Three days later and my dog only got shocked 3 times, I was no longer chasing her through the subdivision. Now she stays within the radius I set without any problems, unsupervised. It was the best purchase I have made, wish I had done it sooner. I highly recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 119 for PetSafe® Instant Fence
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Sweetser, IN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Petsafe Instant Fence

Date:September 23, 2008
We are so pleased that we purchased the fence. Our little Westie was running the neighborhood, chasing motorcycles, bikes, cats, you name it! The initial set up was tricky- it took a while to figure out the flag set up. Some of the beeps were not consistant. We also had the shock turned up too high and she got traumatized the first day. After making adjustments, she probably only got shocked til the 3rd day. She had it figured out and after 2 weeks she was enjoying her new freedom. Her behavior overall has improved, she's more relaxed now that she has boundaries. We are so happy with this fence. It works!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 120 for PetSafe® Instant Fence
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Coal country - USA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

PetSafe Instant Fence

Date:October 14, 2008
I have a 10 year old Keeshond that is very focused on what she is doing, food investigating dog next door or going for a ride. Major problem with her = no homing instinct. Previously to the PetSafe Instant Fence if she slipped her lead or got out it was off to the races to exhaustion her or me. She has been on the fence for approximately 3 weeks. The flags are still up & she definitely knows her boundary (pretty shocking to her) LOL. I have the receiver set max & she has only bolted through it once - neighbor dog was too much to resist. When I got to her & removed the collar she looked at me like what happened. No reprimand! I figured the collar had taken care of that. Yesterday my son in-law came over & she ran to meet him & when she heard the audible alarm she was back in her boundary. She is much more relaxed & starting to act like the dogs I have enjoyed in the past. Would I recommend this product -- yes without hesitation.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 101-120 of 247