Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Canadian Snowshoes

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

CABELA'S Cabela's Canadian Snowshoes

Using methods similar to those begun by their ancestors centuries ago, Cabela's Canadian snowshoes are made almost entirely by hand by Huron Indians. Using Northern Ash for the frames and full-grain leather for the lacing, our snowshoes are rated superior to those made of less expensive materials. Northern ash is the same wood used in major league baseball bats and top-of-the-line wooden hand tools. Full-grain leather is less likely to absorb moisture than less expensive leather. Every few years a coat of marine varnish should be applied to the entire shoe. Bindings not included. Alaska II - 10" x 56". Support weight: 160 + lbs. Huron - Snowshoes used for trail walking or in open woodland, recommended for family recreation. 14" x 48". Support weight: 175 + lbs. Alaska I - Designed to work well on open ground and on deep snow. 10" x 46". Support weight: 100-140 lbs. Green Mountain - An emergency snowshoe used on outings or snowmobile excursions. 10" x 36". Support weight: 150 + lbs. Bear Paw -An effective snowshoe in dense woods or in situations where it is necessary to turn often. Recommended for trappers. 14" x 32". Support weight: 150 + lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.588 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
33 out of 34(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Canadian Snowshoes
Review 1 for Cabela's Canadian Snowshoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: Canada
Province: Alberta
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Notes on Snowshoe Use

Date:November 22, 2012
One of the questions asked about suitability and weight.
Here's how it works:
Snowshoes are like canoes. There are a set of compromises that you have to live with.
The larger the snowshoe, the less you sink. I used to have a pair of 12 by 72 ojibway style snowshoes. They were great in the mountains in light powder. They were difficult to use in willow and alder.
Longer snowshoes are harder to use off trail, where you are turning every couple steps. A shorter snowshoe is easier to turn. But unless it's wider too, it lets you sink more.
A snowshoe with a tail tracks better -- the extra weight in back helps lift the nose of the snowshoe so you don't 'submarine' as much, and the drag of that tail keeps the nose in front of your foot. But it makes it harder to turn.
A narrower snowshoe is easier to walk in, and not not hit your own ankles with the edge of the snowshoe. But narrower means less support.
If you are out east where snow tends to be heavy, and good crusts form, you can use a smaller snowshoe. This is also true above timberline where strong winds tend to pack the snow.
Out west the snow is drier, lighter, and powdery. Here you need the largest snowshoe you can find.
No snowshoe keeps you on top of all the snow, unless you have elven blood.
However a snowshoe is useful even in only six inches of snow. It won't keep you up much, but you won't find as many gopher holes under the snow, and you won't slide around as much.
If you are in a group the first person works hard breaking trail. We would do 100 paces, and step aside. The second person's job is a bit under half as much work. From there on back it's much like walking.
Oh: If you are going camping, use a small sled to tow your gear insead of carrying it on your back.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's Canadian Snowshoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: new hyde park,ny
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bear paw snowshoe

Date:January 11, 2012
got these to hunt rabbit in maine. bought them because a friend had them. they worked great in deep snow and easy to get around in the dense woods. the finish wore down a little after 2 days hunting, i thought it would last longer, but i will spray them with marine varnish before this season. i like the look of this traditional snowshoe, the price was right and as a long time cabelas customer i was very satisfied as usual.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's Canadian Snowshoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Connecticut
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cabela snowshoes are great

Date:March 2, 2011
these snow shoes are comparable to a pair I paid twice as much for. For the weekend snow walker, these are great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's Canadian Snowshoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Annapolis, MD
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

"Old School" snowshoes work well

Date:February 23, 2011
Wood and leather snowshoes are "old school", but are very quiet and "float" on the snow quite well. They have a bigger "footprint" than modern shoes, which means narrow trails can be a challenge. They are comparatively lightweight, but the length means stepping over fallen trees and other obstacles needs some manouvering and balance. The shoes will slide on a slope, so I chose bindings with crampons and am satisfied with my stability. Very pleased with my purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's Canadian Snowshoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Johnstown, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bear Paw Snowshoes

Date:March 29, 2010
Even though I was not able to purchase bindings, I was able to use some leather to make my own. With that, these snowshoes are excellent. Very easy to use, well made, and look great!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's Canadian Snowshoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northern Virginia area
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

canadian/bearpaws

Date:February 8, 2010
great set of shoes,well made and very easy to manuver have allways been satisfied with Cabelas's
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's Canadian Snowshoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Craig, Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Snow Shoes

Date:February 8, 2010
Great pair of snowshoes, well made and light.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's Canadian Snowshoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Mexico
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

snowfall12

Date:February 8, 2010
These are exactly what my husband needed. They do not sink into the snow even with his 240 lb. 6ft. frame. They are easy to walk in and we are thoroughly enjoying our showshoeing adventures.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's Canadian Snowshoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Upstae New York
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

snowshoes and bindings

Date:January 23, 2010
Living in upstate New york.I didn't like winter much,but since recieving the snowshoes for xmas I'm enjoying winter and having alot of fun.Great product!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's Canadian Snowshoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: in the Montana Rockies
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Look Great

Date:January 11, 2010
Havent used them yet( Thank GOD) But Am sure they will work well. Thought i was going 2 have to go back 2 collage 2 tye the binding but was not to bad.
Gun Ho
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's Canadian Snowshoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Palmer, AK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

10x52 Alaska II

Date:January 5, 2010
The Alaska II snowshoes that I purchased are a great pair of shoes for the price. I am giving these a 4 star rating because they are fully functional, and seem to be of lasting quality. There are a few things that I did not care for:
1. The monofilament "stitching" that runs in and out of the frame is exposed to abrasion risks (rubbung against brush or the other shoe). The previous Alaska II model had a channel running around the frame allowing the stitching to be recessed.
2. The tails are stapled together. This may be a typical assembly method, but I would like to see a fastener that won't rust.
3. The two sections that make up the tail differ in thickness by 1/8". This won't affect the functioning of the shoes, it just detracts from the overall look of quality.
4. Merely cosmetic, but I didn't like the aluminum Cabela's nameplate rivited to the shoe. A stamped logo would be more in keeping with the style of shoe.
Non of my complaints go beyond personal asthetic preferences. This is a great product for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's Canadian Snowshoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: south dakota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

top quality/worth the price

Date:November 4, 2009
At first glance these shoes look expensive but once you get them and check the quality, they are worth every cent. Lite,not too bulky, and with the required bindings-easy to put on. As I said, well worth the money and arent noisy like the modern shoes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's Canadian Snowshoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Edinboro, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice to look at

Date:March 31, 2009
I had a pair of bear claws that were given to me by my father. I wore them for 2 or 3 seasons and then gave them to a relative as a gift. They were functional and seemed to hold up well. I don't know for sure if these were Cabelas’ brand... My wife then purchased the Alaskans for me from Cabelas as I missed having an "Authentic" shoe and they now hang on the wall as decor. The one thing I do not like is that the tip and toes have a heavy gauge "fishing line" holding the leather strapping to the wood... I am not sure of the reasoning/functionality of this but in my opinion it detracts from the authentic look of the shoes. This can only be seen under close scrutiny. The shoe also has a metal Cabelas plate on the center of the shoe. You can take it or leave it... it is really up to the user whether they like the product being branded. I would rather have the artist sign the shoes.
The bindings looked like plastic and were not pleasing to the eye. I would rather purchase a leather pair and soak them for a time to give them a warn look for display. If buying to display don't buy the bindings.
PS my shoes have never seen the snow.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's Canadian Snowshoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Grand Junction, CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Best for floating, Bad durability

Date:January 12, 2009
I grew up on a pair of Alaska II's that my dad bought from an old trapper in South Central, CO in the 70's. There is not a better snowshoe for the deep powder of the Grand Mesa in Colorado. I am 6'4 and weigh 210lbs, so I need big snowshoes. I walked circles around my friends who were all sinking with their newer, high-tec designs. Last year, after 15 years of use, my dad wanted his old snowshoes back. So, I bought my own set of Alaska II's and they worked outstanding for 2 outtings. Then they started to stink like a dead animal. The varnish had wore off the rawhide and loosened the whole snowshoe. I returned that pair hoping is was a flaw, but the next pair had the same issue. If you hope to hang them over a mantel and use them only if you get stuck then they will be outstanding. I snowshoe around 50 miles per winter and cannot put up with a pair that can't stand to be used.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's Canadian Snowshoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Gypsum,Co
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A hunters Friend

Date:January 7, 2009
One of the best things i have added winter hunting gear, should have bought them years ago.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's Canadian Snowshoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NORTHERN CALIFORNIA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

wood snowshoes

Date:December 8, 2008
These snowshoes are made for cabela,s by the best Canadian snowshoe company.They look GREAT and work GREAT.The price is also very good .I did put a coat of varnish on them before using them to get a very smooth first coat.That was only on the ash wood .When I am not using them thay hang on my wall and look great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's Canadian Snowshoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Duluth, MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Janna 4621

Date:April 21, 2008
I have always borrowed or rented snowshoes so I was excited to finally get my own pair. I looked around and researched for a few months before choosing my Cabela Hurons. I have been very pleased with everything about them and would highly recommend them to anyone! I was worried about getting bindings that I liked - I'd tried a few different types on my borrowed shoes so I had some definite opinions on what I wanted - namely easy off and on without having to do a lot of adjusting while I was walking. I also wanted them to stay on my heel without slipping. The recommended Cabela bindings have not disappointed. Make sure you wear a large sole boot so your foot doesn't slip forward in the binding as you are walking and you should be very happy with these!
Thanks for making such a fine quality product!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabela's Canadian Snowshoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Snowshoes

Date:April 21, 2008
We purchased the to hang on the walls of our log cabin.
The are exactly what we were looking for. Great quality.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabela's Canadian Snowshoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Vermont, deep woods, deep snow.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Canadian Shoes -

Date:April 8, 2008
I have an original pair of Tubbs snowshoes so my expectations were quite high. Overall these are very good. I was very disappointed to find a piece of plastic line holding the interior webbing. Time will tell if that will hold up to actual use. Using staples to hold the tails together I thought was very cheap. The webbing holes around the perimeter should have been sanded and the burrs removed before stringing. I expect them to work as well as my 50 year old Tubbs and for the price they are hard to beat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabela's Canadian Snowshoes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cabelas canadian snowshoes

Date:March 29, 2008
the snowshoes are excellent thankyou for askin
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 34