Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Grandma's Famous Fruitcake

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

CABELA'S Grandma's Famous Fruitcake

Made from the original 1917 recipe that blends nature's finest flavors through a long, gentle mellowing process. This is the finest fruitcake available. 3-lb. and 5-lb. fruitcakes are packaged in festive tins. Sizes: 2-lb., 3-lb., 5-lb.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.837 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(86 Reviews) 86
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 86 reviews
5 Stars
79
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
84 out of 86(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Grandma's Famous Fruitcake
Review 1 for Grandma's Famous Fruitcake
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: wisconsin
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Grandma's Famous Fruitcake, Hummy!!

Date:February 18, 2011
I havent had an old fashion fruitcake in a while, after seening one in your store, I had to try it. It was excellent. I would buy another one in an instant.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Grandma's Famous Fruitcake
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Oceanside, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Grandma's Famous Fruitcake

Date:December 29, 2009
This is the best fruitcake I have purchased anywhere. It reminds me of my grandmother's and she has been gone a long time. Buy this cake and people will change their minds about fruitcake.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Grandma's Famous Fruitcake
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outstanding Commercial Fruitcake

Date:January 26, 2015
This is the second year in a row that I have purchased "Grandma's Famous Fruitcake" as a Christmas gift for my mother. She says it is the best "store bought" fruitcake she has ever had (my mother is an excellent cook and baker and she knows good quality). She has shared this with her friends and they will be looking to obtain some for next Christmas. This has become the "go to" present for my mother!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Grandma's Famous Fruitcake
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not your average Fruitcake

Date:January 13, 2015
This cake is made with quality ingredients! Nuts in every bite. WONDERFUL!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Grandma's Famous Fruitcake
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent

Date:January 11, 2015
Been a family tradition for years
You will NEVER find a better cake EVER
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Grandma's Famous Fruitcake
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent texture

Date:December 30, 2014
Fruitcakes always get a bad rap but not from me. I' ve tasted many and this one is strictly five stars
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Grandma's Famous Fruitcake
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A Good Fruitcake

Date:December 30, 2014
The Cabela's Grandma's Famous Fruitcake is good, however, could use some improvement. The cake mix is a bit dry and pasty. If it were a bit more moist, more molasses, and more fruit/nuts it would be great. As a Fruitcake lover I will continue to buy it, especially in those years when my wife is unable make one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Grandma's Famous Fruitcake
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Fruitcake ever

Date:December 30, 2014
Even if you don't like fruitcake you will love this one. It has become an annual Christmas tradition for our house!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Grandma's Famous Fruitcake
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A great original nutty fruitcake!

Date:December 16, 2014
Not all the excess sugar, corn syrup, citrus peels, and candied cherries found in many other "cheap" fruitcakes. I wish i could eat a large slice everyday. Give my compliments to the Bakery supplier.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Grandma's Famous Fruitcake
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Hampshire
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Look for every Christmas

Date:January 22, 2013
My favorite Christmas tea time dessert.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Grandma's Famous Fruitcake
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The BEST Fruitcake!

Date:January 15, 2013
This fruitcake had a lot of actual "cake" unlike many other fruitcakes. Very tasty and soaked in rum? for a very long time. Yummy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Grandma's Famous Fruitcake
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great fruitcake

Date:January 3, 2013
best taste,best price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Grandma's Famous Fruitcake
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good old-fashioned fruitcake

Date:December 27, 2012
Excellent fruitcake with lots of nuts, fruits, with great rum and brandy aroma!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Grandma's Famous Fruitcake
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

This is the REAL deal.

Date:December 18, 2012
A lot of people say they dislike fruitcake. That is understandable because most fruitcakes are made with no butter, no eggs, a lot of corn syrup, and with very little fruit and even less nuts.
Not this cake. It's almost exactly what a REAL fruitcake should be. Delicious, moist, lots of fruits and nuts with with hardly any filler. Cut a small slice and relish the flavor. Extremely filling so don't cut a big piece.
The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because my dearly departed parents made the best fruitcake in the world. This is almost as good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Grandma's Famous Fruitcake
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My favorite fruitcake

Date:December 17, 2012
This is the best fruitcake I've ever eaten. I share mine with my elderly aunt. She's 85 and knows good food. She loves it. I purchase it every Christmas. I love the perfect blend of candied fruits, nuts and flavors. It's a wonderful, tasty combination.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Grandma's Famous Fruitcake
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Grandma's Famous Fruitcake

Date:December 12, 2012
I have given my Mother-in-law this for Christmas every year.
It is a very good cake.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Grandma's Famous Fruitcake
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Grams best

Date:November 26, 2012
Best fruit cake I ever had
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Grandma's Famous Fruitcake
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: st. paul,mn
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent fruitcake

Date:April 2, 2012
Usually I don't buy commercially made fruitcake; doesn't taste good because not enough variety of ingredients used or it dries out, too, quickly. This is good like my mother made in the 50's!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Grandma's Famous Fruitcake
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Grandma's Fruitcake

Date:March 28, 2012
yum, yum- this was a delicious treat for the holidays. Highly recommended if you like fruitcake.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Grandma's Famous Fruitcake
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best fruitcake

Date:March 28, 2012
Grandmas is the most flavorful fruitcake that is available. Nice and moist, just the right amount of alcohol and a great mixture of nuts and candied fruit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 86