Customer Reviews for BUCK KNIVES Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife

BUCK KNIVES Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife

There's a good reason this is one of Buck's most sought-after models – its 4", 420HC-steel blade is perfect for fish, small game and countless other outdoor chores. Phenolic handle. Leather sheath. Made in USA . Blade length: 4". Overall length: 7-3/4". Weight: 2.4-oz.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.795 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 39 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
39 out of 39(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Review 1 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Handy little thing

Date:August 28, 2012
Its not a huge knife its not a pocket knife its a nice little outdoor utility knife.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very good.

Date:September 21, 2014
Pros: Great sheath. Easy to clean. Very good value. Hilt protects hand when bloody. Strong. Perfect size. Will easily take care of dressing, skinning, and processing everything from squirrel to deer. Reminds me of hunting as a kid.
Cons: Clip point is less useful than drop point. Blade profile would be better if it had a gradual belly over its entire length instead of the long flat section. Steel is only ok (harder to sharpen, ok edge retention). Probably overrated.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Kearney NE
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great knife

Date:January 24, 2012
This is a great Knife It's perfect for turkey and even butchered a deer with it and still is very sharp
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Glen Rose, TX
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good purchase, fine knife

Date:January 24, 2012
Got this 102 Woodsman for Christmas. Sharp out the box. Only worked up one deer with it so far, but it held its edge and was easy and comfortable to work with. Re-sharpened easily afterwards. Nice sheath, fits snugly beside a 9mm holster. This knife's smallish size has its advantages especially in carrying it on the belt walking, stalking, sitting, kneeling, climbing and driving. I think its going to be ideal for fishing and camping. For hunting, a blade about an inch longer might be the ideal. Great value for money. Now my wife wants one!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: utah
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best overall value!

Date:August 19, 2011
I purchased a woodsman two years ago to take along with me on deer hunting trips. I purchased the model that has cocobolo grips with brass on the handle instead of the black and stainless steel. My only complaint is that the brass tarnishes and needs a polishing every now and then to keep looking sharp; however the blade needs very little maintenance to stay sharp. I have gutted two deer, and helped gut an elk with it. It stayed sharp for both the gutting and skinning processes. I love the fact that the size of the blade is small enough to stay manageable but big enough to adequately cut through big muscle. I give it 4 stars instead of 5 because there are better blades and knives out there, but you'll also be way overcharged to get one of those knives. I also gave it 4 instead of 5 because the handle can get a little slippery when when it gets bloody. Compared to all the knives I've owned, used or examined this is by far the best value and when properly sharpened it stays razor sharp through gutting, skinning, and meat processing, start to finish. The leather sheath that comes with it is also of great quality! I'll be getting another one for my son this deer season.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Auburn
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

works good

Date:May 5, 2011
IVe
had one before,lost it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Texas Panhandle
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good starter knife

Date:December 4, 2009
I bought this knife about ten years ago and it has remained good quality. I have a professional knife sharpener and it keeps the blade in good condition. Buck is excellent quality.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Knife

Date:September 13, 2014
Comfortable grip, fits well in my hand. Razor sharp, can return to Buck to be sharpened if needed. Made in the USA.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Most Reliable Knife Ever

Date:May 19, 2014
I have two of these knives that my dad has had since he was 14 and he is now 52, him and I have constantly used these knives all the time and there is no damage whatsoever to the knife. The blade is still firm inside the handle and the blade is perfectly sharp with no chips or cracks! BUY THIS KNIFE! YOU WON'T REGRET IT!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Knife

Date:April 15, 2014
I have owned this knive for years and after all this time it is still by far my favorite choice to have with me when hunting. After trying other makes I still reach for this one first. With a bit of care it will stay sharp and do it's job well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great knife!

Date:October 15, 2013
I bought this knife for deer hunting. Already field dressed a deer with it and I love it. It's smaller than my previous knife, which was a gift and from China. This knife was very sharp out of the package and still sharp after one deer. I like the size of it and after field dressing my deer this year I don't plan to use my old knife any more. Made in the USA!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bucks Are the Best

Date:August 9, 2013
I have had a Model 102 since circa 1973. I have dressed and/or skinned scores of deer, rabbits, squirrels, quail and turkeys over those approximate 40 years. This knife fits my hand well, holds its edge, and its sheath is well made and protects the knife and makes it hard to lose. When it does get a bit dull (as all knives eventually will) after extended use, it quickly and easily sharpens. This knife is dependable and still very affordable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Classic

Date:July 2, 2013
I have knives that cost hundreds of dollars. I don't wish to use them in the field for fear of loss. My mother gave this to me for my birthday. Very nice and well balanced. Only draw back is that the handle is about 1 " short if you have huge hands. I have not actually used it but it seems fine. Sheath holds knife securely.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great knife!

Date:June 1, 2013
This was my first buck knife and its awesome! I've used this knife for years and years skinning my deer. If your looking for a great knife to skin deer or really any animal, this is your knife!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Deer Gutting Knife

Date:April 13, 2013
I have used this knife on many deer for gutting and skinning. I dont have to sharpen it after every time! great knife and very durable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Product

Date:February 25, 2013
I have field-dressed everything from rabbits to elk (and quartered one elk) with this knife and it doesn’t get any better than this. It can hold a razor sharp edge throughout an entire season and I often use it to butcher game as well. You can spend a lot of money on other knives but you cannot get better results.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent knife and sheath

Date:January 17, 2013
This is an excellent knife and sheath combo. Its a Buck and they are known for quality. It is a very small and lightweight knife, perfect for fish and small game, and also excellent for gutting a deer, much easier to use in the cramped confines of the chest, but I don't know about using it to split the pelvic bone. All in all, an excellent, nice looking knife and sheath combo. I do wish the handle was offered in the same no slip material as their nighthawk line, but it works very well otherwise.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Knife!

Date:December 9, 2012
i use this knife mostly for gutting deer and it is the best knife i have ever used for that reason. They also make a Buck 102 Woodsman Cocobola that i use and it has a woodish looking handle that is really sharp looking.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Knife

Date:October 22, 2012
I've worked up several deer and performed all sorts of other camp chores with this knife. It's a great blade for those who prefer a smaller knife. Holds an edge better than any other I've used and is very rust resistant. The handle could be a half inch longer for my hand, but that's just a personal preferance. Cant go wrong with one of these.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Iceland
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very good choice.

Date:September 1, 2012
This knife is one of the best. I use it for hunting, fishing and all outdoors. Strong and reliable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 39