Customer Reviews for BUCK KNIVES Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife

BUCK KNIVES Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife

There's a good reason this is one of Buck's most sought-after models – its 4", 420HC-steel blade is perfect for fish, small game and countless other outdoor chores. Phenolic handle. Leather sheath. Made in USA . Blade length: 4". Overall length: 7-3/4". Weight: 2.4-oz.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.826 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 46 reviews
5 Stars
39
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
46 out of 46(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Review 1 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 28, 2012

Handy little thing

By
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Its not a huge knife its not a pocket knife its a nice little outdoor utility knife.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 21, 2014

Very good.

By
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Pros: Great sheath. Easy to clean. Very good value. Hilt protects hand when bloody. Strong. Perfect size. Will easily take care of dressing, skinning, and processing everything from squirrel to deer. Reminds me of hunting as a kid.
Cons: Clip point is less useful than drop point. Blade profile would be better if it had a gradual belly over its entire length instead of the long flat section. Steel is only ok (harder to sharpen, ok edge retention). Probably overrated.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 24, 2012

Great knife

By
Location: Kearney NE
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This is a great Knife It's perfect for turkey and even butchered a deer with it and still is very sharp
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 24, 2012

Good purchase, fine knife

By
Location: Glen Rose, TX
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Got this 102 Woodsman for Christmas. Sharp out the box. Only worked up one deer with it so far, but it held its edge and was easy and comfortable to work with. Re-sharpened easily afterwards. Nice sheath, fits snugly beside a 9mm holster. This knife's smallish size has its advantages especially in carrying it on the belt walking, stalking, sitting, kneeling, climbing and driving. I think its going to be ideal for fishing and camping. For hunting, a blade about an inch longer might be the ideal. Great value for money. Now my wife wants one!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 19, 2011

Best overall value!

By
Location: utah
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I purchased a woodsman two years ago to take along with me on deer hunting trips. I purchased the model that has cocobolo grips with brass on the handle instead of the black and stainless steel. My only complaint is that the brass tarnishes and needs a polishing every now and then to keep looking sharp; however the blade needs very little maintenance to stay sharp. I have gutted two deer, and helped gut an elk with it. It stayed sharp for both the gutting and skinning processes. I love the fact that the size of the blade is small enough to stay manageable but big enough to adequately cut through big muscle. I give it 4 stars instead of 5 because there are better blades and knives out there, but you'll also be way overcharged to get one of those knives. I also gave it 4 instead of 5 because the handle can get a little slippery when when it gets bloody. Compared to all the knives I've owned, used or examined this is by far the best value and when properly sharpened it stays razor sharp through gutting, skinning, and meat processing, start to finish. The leather sheath that comes with it is also of great quality! I'll be getting another one for my son this deer season.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 5, 2011

works good

By
Location: Auburn
IVe
had one before,lost it
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 4, 2009

Good starter knife

By
Location: Texas Panhandle
I bought this knife about ten years ago and it has remained good quality. I have a professional knife sharpener and it keeps the blade in good condition. Buck is excellent quality.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2016

Buck Knife

By
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Love the construction and the warranty. I look forward to use this in the next multiple hunting seasons.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 20, 2016

Great Kmife!!!!

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
this knife is a very very good knife. it is very strong and very sharp. it holds up to about any task you put to it. the sheath is real leather which is a major plus cause most sheaths these days are plastic!! the only drawback is that it is quite heavy for a knife that size but that is mostly cause it is very sturdy and strong!!!! i would highly recomend this knife to anyone!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 12, 2016

LOSER.

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
This is my third Buck 102 woodsman knife . I would have only needed 1 , but I've lost 2 . I keep my knives very sharp ( witch these are easy to do after the initial sharping . I also sharpen the tapered part on the top of the blade . This way you can go back and forth with the knife , cutting skinning time almost in half .This is the only knife I use to completely 1/4 deer . I also use it around camp / cabin / boat . for almost any odd jobs you would need a knife for . The only downside to buying this knife NOW is the new style sheath .The handle is mostly exposed letting the chrome parts reflect the sun and light . Where as the older knife had a better sheath which covered the whole knife. I use to wear it on my belt ,wear as I have to put it in my pack now .I have owned many many knives , but this is my favorite by far .
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2015

Excellent knife

By
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Love this knife. I take it with me everywhere. Perfect size and weight. Very sharp right out of the packaging. I wanted a knife that will last a very long time. This is it. Exactly what I expected from Buck.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2015

well....its a buck

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Nice size for small game. Buck quality.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 23, 2014

Most Practical Knife Ever

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
The Buck 102 Woodsman knife is perfectly sized and comfortable carrying on the belt. Great quality and utility for camp or fishing needs. Excellent for cleaning fish. This is my second one purchased as a gift for the son in law. I firmly believe that this knife will serve me a lifetime and then some. I expect that this will get handed down a generation or two.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 16, 2014

Update

By
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Re-reviewed to give 5 stars instead of 4. This is my 'go to' knife over more expensive knives. Edge retention is excellent (dressed, skinned, and processed deer yesterday with no blade touch-up, still sharp at end), sharpens to razor edge with Spyderco Sharpmaker, perfect size, easy to clean, bright metal easy to find on ground when dressing game, hilt protects hand from slipping off handle when cold or wet, Clip point handy for skinning and processing in tight places, awesome sheath.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 13, 2014

Great Knife

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Comfortable grip, fits well in my hand. Razor sharp, can return to Buck to be sharpened if needed. Made in the USA.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 19, 2014

Most Reliable Knife Ever

By
I have two of these knives that my dad has had since he was 14 and he is now 52, him and I have constantly used these knives all the time and there is no damage whatsoever to the knife. The blade is still firm inside the handle and the blade is perfectly sharp with no chips or cracks! BUY THIS KNIFE! YOU WON'T REGRET IT!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 15, 2014

Great Knife

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I have owned this knive for years and after all this time it is still by far my favorite choice to have with me when hunting. After trying other makes I still reach for this one first. With a bit of care it will stay sharp and do it's job well.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 15, 2013

Great knife!

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I bought this knife for deer hunting. Already field dressed a deer with it and I love it. It's smaller than my previous knife, which was a gift and from China. This knife was very sharp out of the package and still sharp after one deer. I like the size of it and after field dressing my deer this year I don't plan to use my old knife any more. Made in the USA!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 9, 2013

Bucks Are the Best

By
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I have had a Model 102 since circa 1973. I have dressed and/or skinned scores of deer, rabbits, squirrels, quail and turkeys over those approximate 40 years. This knife fits my hand well, holds its edge, and its sheath is well made and protects the knife and makes it hard to lose. When it does get a bit dull (as all knives eventually will) after extended use, it quickly and easily sharpens. This knife is dependable and still very affordable.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 2, 2013

Good Classic

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I have knives that cost hundreds of dollars. I don't wish to use them in the field for fear of loss. My mother gave this to me for my birthday. Very nice and well balanced. Only draw back is that the handle is about 1 " short if you have huge hands. I have not actually used it but it seems fine. Sheath holds knife securely.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 46