Customer Reviews for BUCK KNIVES Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife

BUCK KNIVES Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife

There's a good reason this is one of Buck's most sought-after models – its 4", 420HC-steel blade is perfect for fish, small game and countless other outdoor chores. Phenolic handle. Leather sheath. Made in USA . Blade length: 4". Overall length: 7-3/4". Weight: 2.4-oz.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.806 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 36 reviews
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
36 out of 36(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Review 21 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: doerun,ga.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

really a nice knife

Date:March 2, 2011
great knife for hunting , fishing , camping, or a protection situation , really sharpp. }
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Omaha, NE
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

You Won't Be Disappointed.

Date:February 8, 2011
I looked at both this and a similar Kbar knife in the retail store. The Buck is a nicely balanced and sharp tool. I have only used it once, but it appears that it has a good blade that will keep an edge.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Spokane, WA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Does The Job

Date:February 4, 2011
The 102 is a perfect fixed blade knife for smaller tasks. I like the way it's weighted and the overall feel. Be carefule, like all Buck Knives, it's very sharp.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great buy

Date:January 18, 2011
Lost my hunting knife and needed a new one. So many knives are too big and clumsy. This is an ideal size and weight. My buddy has one of the Buck Folding Hunters and it weighs too much. This has a similar blade but is much lighter. We've used his and my old knife to skin and bone an elk. Used it to gut and skin a whitetail this fall. Not even close to being dull
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Oakham, MA
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Knife!

Date:December 28, 2010
This knife is a great knife to own. I've skinned several of fishers and coons with it. It also was a great knife to have to cube up the deer meat from this season, kept its edge and cut like butter the whole time. If you have the money and you're looking for a dependable hunting knife, with no doubt buy this.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: California, Out of State Trophy Hunter Group
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellant Product

Date:May 24, 2010
Everyone in our group uses this knife. It is as sharp as sharp can be.... We backpack deep into wilderness areas where weight is an issue. After trying several brands and styles of knifes through the years. We found this knife to be compact, lightweight, and it can do the job better than any other brand knife and we have tried most of the top quality brands.
I skinned, boned out and bagged an entire elk laying on the ground this past season with this knife ("ONE KNIFE"). I don't think there is another brand knife on the market that could have done this job without getting dull. I pushed the knife to the limit. Elk hide is so thick to cut through and then you need the knife to continue to stay sharp as you bone out meat from your game.
You can't go wrong with this knife. We have the meat in the freezer to prove it.
"Catch us if you can"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Minooka Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Woodsman Buck knife

Date:May 17, 2010
My criteria for buying a new knife was, able to hold a good edge and comfortable in my pocket. This knife does both and is probably the best pocket knife I have ever owned in my 47 years.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northwest suburban chicago
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Woodsman buck knife

Date:March 29, 2010
If I were to have one knife, this would be it. This one is the right size for field dressing deer, the bigger one is too much to mannover. I have field dressed deer with other knifes, once a hatchet (its all I had), but this knife is the best. The only problem with this knife is that I sometimes loose them and I have to buy a new one. They used to make one with a wood handle, but guess what, I lost that one too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Little Rock, Arkansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Buck 102 Woodsman Knife

Date:January 12, 2010
Great buy on a knife. I found the knife to be well balanced and easy to hold and use. It was very sharp out of the box and easy to put an edge on after some heavy work on deer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: southeast pennsylvania
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

woodsman knife

Date:November 8, 2009
i have one of these in reserve in my back pack , as it happens in deer camp some one forgets their knife and i lent out my backup knife to them . the hunter was successfull and made use of the knife , upon return of knife the hunter made high regards for knife and commented on sharpness throughout field dressing of the game.personally my observation has been with buck knifes is, you can make a keener edge without fear of loosing or dulling the blade prematurely through normal field use.well worth the investment for the active outdoorsman.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Kearney NE
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great knife

Date:January 24, 2012
This is a great Knife It's perfect for turkey and even butchered a deer with it and still is very sharp
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Glen Rose, TX
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good purchase, fine knife

Date:January 24, 2012
Got this 102 Woodsman for Christmas. Sharp out the box. Only worked up one deer with it so far, but it held its edge and was easy and comfortable to work with. Re-sharpened easily afterwards. Nice sheath, fits snugly beside a 9mm holster. This knife's smallish size has its advantages especially in carrying it on the belt walking, stalking, sitting, kneeling, climbing and driving. I think its going to be ideal for fishing and camping. For hunting, a blade about an inch longer might be the ideal. Great value for money. Now my wife wants one!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: utah
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best overall value!

Date:August 19, 2011
I purchased a woodsman two years ago to take along with me on deer hunting trips. I purchased the model that has cocobolo grips with brass on the handle instead of the black and stainless steel. My only complaint is that the brass tarnishes and needs a polishing every now and then to keep looking sharp; however the blade needs very little maintenance to stay sharp. I have gutted two deer, and helped gut an elk with it. It stayed sharp for both the gutting and skinning processes. I love the fact that the size of the blade is small enough to stay manageable but big enough to adequately cut through big muscle. I give it 4 stars instead of 5 because there are better blades and knives out there, but you'll also be way overcharged to get one of those knives. I also gave it 4 instead of 5 because the handle can get a little slippery when when it gets bloody. Compared to all the knives I've owned, used or examined this is by far the best value and when properly sharpened it stays razor sharp through gutting, skinning, and meat processing, start to finish. The leather sheath that comes with it is also of great quality! I'll be getting another one for my son this deer season.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Auburn
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

works good

Date:May 5, 2011
IVe
had one before,lost it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Texas Panhandle
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good starter knife

Date:December 4, 2009
I bought this knife about ten years ago and it has remained good quality. I have a professional knife sharpener and it keeps the blade in good condition. Buck is excellent quality.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Buck Knives® 102 Woodsman Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Handy little thing

Date:August 28, 2012
Its not a huge knife its not a pocket knife its a nice little outdoor utility knife.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-36 of 36