Customer Reviews for Outback Outback Porta-Privy

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Outback Outback Porta-Privy

A lightweight, portable way to have privacy for showering and answering the call of nature in the outdoors. It stows in a 2"-thick x 24"-diameter zippered carry bag, weighs less than 5 lbs., and opens to a spacious 54" x 54" x 76"H. And one person can set it up in less than a minute. To lock out the elements, there's a weatherproof nylon lining and a waterproof, removable PVC floor with a built-in drain system. U-shaped door has a glow-in-the-dark zipper, so it's easy to locate at night. Zip-open moon roof provides air flow and easy access for hanging your solar-powered shower overhead. Inside, you can secure a shower head at two different heights. Zippered No-See-Um mesh side panels for adjustable ventilation. Ground stakes and adjustable guy lines keep the shelter firmly in place. There are also sandbags for anchoring it on solid rock or loose soil. Interior and exterior clotheslines, a removable shampoo/soap mesh bag and a waterproof vinyl toilet-paper bag add convenience. Adjustable shower-hose port. Stakes, guy lines, sandbags and carry bag with shoulder strap included.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.407 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(91 Reviews) 91
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 91 reviews
5 Stars
53
4 Stars
29
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
86 out of 91(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Outback Porta-Privy
Review 1 for Outback Porta-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

porta privy

Date:March 31, 2008
Very difficult to fold up again
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Outback Porta-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Pennsylvania
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not Worth the Investment

Date:July 13, 2007
I purchased the Porta-Privy last year, but did not get a chance to use it until this year. When it (the first one) arrived I set it up indoors to see how well it functioned. After opening and closing the zipper, the zipper broke. I immediately returned it for a replacement. After several weeks, the replacement arrived with a new zipper design. When I used it for the first time this year, it set up just fine but it would not fold back into it's original configuration, to fit in it's carrying case. I discovered that a section of the spring steel frame became disconnected. Since we had extra space in our vehicle we were able to transport it home. Once at home I was able to repair the frame enough to permit folding back into the original configuration. The second time it was used, the plastic pockets ripped and the frame again became disconnected. I was unable to make a field repair and because we didn't have extra space in our car for an uncollapsed Porta-Privey, it had to be disposed of. I am very disappointed that Cabelas would market such an inferior product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Outback Porta-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: SW Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

First time use of the Outback Parta-Privy

Date:May 7, 2007
Our only use for this will be for an outdoor shower enclosure.
Out of the box, very impressive. 5 stars for the removable tarp-like bottom. Small tarp came in handy setting up PUP in damp ground.
Sandy and I opened the privy prior to use because I had heard there were problems getting it back in the bag. She had it folded in under 60 seconds!
First use: Great set-up, liked the flip open top. However, nowhere inside to keep a towel or clothes dry, had to hang them on a branch just outside the privy.
THE VERY FIRST TIME WE PUT SMALL TRAVEL SIZE SOAP AND SHAMPOO BOTTLES, ALONG WITH A SCRUNGY THING IN THE INSIDE POCKETS, THE SIDES TORE. BOTH OF THEM. ON BOTH SIDES! NOW THEY'RE WORTHLESS!
I guess from here, we'll have to keep our stuff on the floor.
Overall, a very nice product for the $$. But Cabela's can do a lot better with the inside pockets. They're cheap plastic.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Outback Porta-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Ontaio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

No Fly means lots of rain getting in

Date:April 2, 2007
This porta potti tent is easy to set up but there is no fly so to us this tent is no good as everything gets wet when it rains.
Bottom line do not waste your money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Outback Porta-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Pa.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Practice,Practice Practice !

Date:April 22, 2008
Set up a snap,Fold up,well take some time to practice.Cheap plastic soap and toilet paper holders wont last very long,and it needs something more sturdy to hang 4 1/2 gals of water (for the shower)from the top of privy. All in all very average shelter at a very average price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Outback Porta-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: New Jersey
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outback Porta-Privy

Date:November 18, 2007
easy set up and find a good design for football tailgating in confinded spaces of parking lots-opning a bit small for taller users and found difficult to fold up in a hurry until well practiced-included folding printed instructions were difficult to follow but use of vedio on line instruction proved better
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Outback Porta-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Marengo, IA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

outback porta-privy

Date:August 18, 2007
It was great. nice place to have a porta-potty and be able to change clothes. Only drawback is putting it back into the case. I couldn't do it and it was all my husband could do to get it twisted up right. The instructions are not very clear. That just means we won't be putting it up for short stays, only longer vacations.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Outback Porta-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Ontario
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Just a little more Quality

Date:August 3, 2007
Good Product for easy use well thought out. But the zipper on carring case failed after second use I was not impressed, since the carring is needed to hold the spring loaded poles together for transport, I can not rate higher than 3.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Outback Porta-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Kansas City, MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outback Porta-privy

Date:May 1, 2007
So far so good. It's well made, light weight and does agood job. I'd like to see better instructions for the breaking down of the privy since that appears to be its weakest point. I can see how it will be damaged if not done correctly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Outback Porta-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Round Mountain, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outback Porta-Privy

Date:October 21, 2008
This is a good product. It is large enough to fit my Zodi Portable shower unit inside and still have enough room to shower. It was difficult at first to store but after a few uses it seemed to get easier. Good quality materials.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Outback Porta-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great product!

Date:September 24, 2008
breaks out well and folds reasonably easy,as long as you read the folding instructions.:),the roof opening is nice if you are over 6 feet,nice and private shower stall.:)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Outback Porta-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Denver Co
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Porta Privy

Date:July 21, 2008
Worked well on our last camping trip, the ladies will love it. Sets up fast. Watch video first because take it down is a little bit harder. My only disappointment is that the zipper broke on the carrying bag.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Outback Porta-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Durango, Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice shelter for the money

Date:July 1, 2008
Great little shelter. Setting up very easy; re-folding quite challenging if you try to follow written instructions. Luckily there is a video on Outback's website that shows an you how to do it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Outback Porta-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outback Porta-Privy

Date:June 30, 2008
Purchasing this was a good decision as I have a pop-up camper that has no toilet. I have eight kids and we can't be taking them to the restrooms all day long. We placed our Porta-Privy close to our camper and purchased a Porta-Potty. The unit is incredibly quick to install as it just pops open in an instant. I doubt there is anything better out there.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Outback Porta-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Dartmouth, Ma
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Product

Date:May 3, 2008
I have an 18' bow rider boat. Love to take family out for the day. I have a porta potty on board. Now guests and my wife have privacy when needed. Stores very well in bad on the boat. Quick and easy setup. Takes about 3 minutes to put away once you know how to do it. Lots of head room and space. The little holders inside for toilet paper and such are of almost no use.
Any one with a boat but without an inclosed head, This is a must. Its the diffrence between a happy wife vs just a wife.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Outback Porta-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Connecticut
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Porta Privy

Date:April 21, 2008
I read the negative comments about how difficult it was to disassemble this unit but found it quite easy. It's a well made product and will serve it's purpose well. Easy set up, easy take down. Compact size, light weight, fairly rugged. What more do you need other than the Holiday Inn.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Outback Porta-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good but tricky to fold

Date:February 21, 2008
It's very compact, and literaly, springs into shape when opened. It is very lightweight, and will blow away like a dove feather in the wind; unless you use the 4 guy strings and stakes that come with it. It easily withstood over an inch of rain and wind gusts over 25 miles per hour. The most difficult part is collapsing it for packing. It folds down into a circular shape, but I couldn't do it, no matter what I tried. According to the video on the manufacturer's web site, it can be folded in a matter of seconds. If I could only fold it, it would have been a keeper - Alas, it wasn't meant to be. Thanks Cabelas.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Outback Porta-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: western maryland
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good deal

Date:February 20, 2008
was impressed with the easy set up of the privy lots of room as i am 6'3" and little heavy but lots of room to move around only down fall is folding it up to put back in bag but little practice and right back in the bag. would reccomend to others .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Outback Porta-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Cal
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outback Porta-Privy

Date:January 7, 2008
Very convenient and mates up well to the outside of my camper. I prefer showering outside rather than in as it allows you to keep your gray water tank empty. It has a cut out for the outside shower hose and a velcro strap at the top to hang the hose. Has a few pockets on the inside to hold toiletries. Price was right and once you figure out the method to close it back up it fits away nice and takes up little space.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Outback Porta-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Plainfield Indiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Porta Privy review

Date:November 7, 2007
Good heigth and room for use, very stable even withstood high winds at campsite. Was a little hard to get folded back up the first time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 91