Customer Reviews for Outback Outback Porta-Privy

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Outback Outback Porta-Privy

A lightweight, portable way to have privacy for showering and answering the call of nature in the outdoors. It stows in a 2"-thick x 24"-diameter zippered carry bag, weighs less than 5 lbs., and opens to a spacious 54" x 54" x 76"H. And one person can set it up in less than a minute. To lock out the elements, there's a weatherproof nylon lining and a waterproof, removable PVC floor with a built-in drain system. U-shaped door has a glow-in-the-dark zipper, so it's easy to locate at night. Zip-open moon roof provides air flow and easy access for hanging your solar-powered shower overhead. Inside, you can secure a shower head at two different heights. Zippered No-See-Um mesh side panels for adjustable ventilation. Ground stakes and adjustable guy lines keep the shelter firmly in place. There are also sandbags for anchoring it on solid rock or loose soil. Interior and exterior clotheslines, a removable shampoo/soap mesh bag and a waterproof vinyl toilet-paper bag add convenience. Adjustable shower-hose port. Stakes, guy lines, sandbags and carry bag with shoulder strap included.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.407 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(91 Reviews) 91
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 91 reviews
5 Stars
53
4 Stars
29
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
86 out of 91(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Outback Porta-Privy
Review 61 for Outback Porta-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Mr.

Date:July 20, 2007
Sets up in a snap and folds down just as easy for storage.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 62 for Outback Porta-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Walla Walla, WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Porta Privy

Date:July 17, 2007
Very useful for camping. Easy to set up. Very compact. I was very pleased to learn the folding process in just a few tries.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 63 for Outback Porta-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Moses Lake, Washington
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great fun!

Date:July 16, 2007
It was worth every penny just for the two hours of fun it took to get it back into the case!
I think I have it figured out now, but I'll let the newbie campers try it just for fun.
The only rule is, don't force it... you could damage the steel bands.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 64 for Outback Porta-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

product excellent /packaging terrible

Date:July 16, 2007
When I received the item the box was totally unsavable. It was ripped and tapped on both ends. I was so glad it ws not a present. I like to keep the box things came in but this one I can not. Usually it comes inside a different box. I dont know what happened hopefully that wont happen again? Product works great!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 65 for Outback Porta-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Sedona, Arizona
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The port-a-privy is the neatest thing!

Date:July 16, 2007
it was so nice NOT to have to hike and squat! the showering was great! I thought this was the cutest thing! very effective, no bugs got in to bite the tender areas! you can't see through it. my husband laughed at me. he wouldn't use it, until the bugs got bad and he needed a shower. THen he thought it was great too!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 66 for Outback Porta-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Pennsylvania
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not Worth the Investment

Date:July 13, 2007
I purchased the Porta-Privy last year, but did not get a chance to use it until this year. When it (the first one) arrived I set it up indoors to see how well it functioned. After opening and closing the zipper, the zipper broke. I immediately returned it for a replacement. After several weeks, the replacement arrived with a new zipper design. When I used it for the first time this year, it set up just fine but it would not fold back into it's original configuration, to fit in it's carrying case. I discovered that a section of the spring steel frame became disconnected. Since we had extra space in our vehicle we were able to transport it home. Once at home I was able to repair the frame enough to permit folding back into the original configuration. The second time it was used, the plastic pockets ripped and the frame again became disconnected. I was unable to make a field repair and because we didn't have extra space in our car for an uncollapsed Porta-Privey, it had to be disposed of. I am very disappointed that Cabelas would market such an inferior product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 67 for Outback Porta-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: medford oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

pantoon boat

Date:July 9, 2007
I use this privy on my patio boat as a chg room and as a toliet. Our friends rave that we have the use and privicy to go with our activities... thanks cabelas.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 68 for Outback Porta-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fresno, Ca.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great porta-privy

Date:July 2, 2007
Very impressed, was on back-order, but rec'd in time for my recent camp trip. As posted in other reviews, pay close attention as to how it was folded the first time you unfold. After a couple of times refolding carefully it's a snap. I was impressed that it came with a tarp to use as a floor and also included a carring case. Very roomy. Actually larger at base than other models I was considering. It might be a little light weight for showering. I wouldn't hang any weighty items on walls. I liked the upper screen windows that provided plenty of cross ventilation. Can't beat it for the price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 69 for Outback Porta-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT

Date:June 28, 2007
This item is great many options only problem is you need two people to package it back up. Other than that excellent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 70 for Outback Porta-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

It did the job

Date:June 19, 2007
I have a Off Road folding trailer with no bathroom but it does have an external shower. The Outback Porta-Privy was the answer. Light, compact and roomy. I was able to set it up beside the trailer and run the shower hose to it.
It made a week and a half of wilderness camping and quading in the Canadian Rockies a little more bearable for the wife.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 71 for Outback Porta-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: CA.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awsome

Date:May 29, 2007
My husband and I recently purchase the Outback porta privy and it was great buy, if you own a pop-up tailer with no toilet this is great. also if you want clear all the cluster of bags things in your pop-up ( if you know what I mean) you can also use it as a storage room for all your clothes like we did, we able to fit 7 medium size bags easely. our tailer looked empty :) get yours today.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 72 for Outback Porta-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Arkadelphia, AR
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Mother's Day Gift

Date:May 15, 2007
I received my "Porta-Privy" as a Mother's Day gift from my wonderful husband. I'm not a fufu type person BUT I do like my privacy. Being a petite person and not very mechanical I was able to set up / take down / and repackage my Porta-Privy in a timely manner AND without any help from my husband. I recommend this product to anyone who would like the convenience and privacy of the indoors in the great outdoors.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 73 for Outback Porta-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Alabama
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

In a snap!

Date:May 14, 2007
My daughter and I attended a camping music festival in Manchester Tenn. last year and this Port a Privy is just the thing we needed!!! It only took seconds to set up a bathroom out in th middle of a 700 acre farm where just to go to the bathroom is a hike!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 74 for Outback Porta-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: SW Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

First time use of the Outback Parta-Privy

Date:May 7, 2007
Our only use for this will be for an outdoor shower enclosure.
Out of the box, very impressive. 5 stars for the removable tarp-like bottom. Small tarp came in handy setting up PUP in damp ground.
Sandy and I opened the privy prior to use because I had heard there were problems getting it back in the bag. She had it folded in under 60 seconds!
First use: Great set-up, liked the flip open top. However, nowhere inside to keep a towel or clothes dry, had to hang them on a branch just outside the privy.
THE VERY FIRST TIME WE PUT SMALL TRAVEL SIZE SOAP AND SHAMPOO BOTTLES, ALONG WITH A SCRUNGY THING IN THE INSIDE POCKETS, THE SIDES TORE. BOTH OF THEM. ON BOTH SIDES! NOW THEY'RE WORTHLESS!
I guess from here, we'll have to keep our stuff on the floor.
Overall, a very nice product for the $$. But Cabela's can do a lot better with the inside pockets. They're cheap plastic.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 75 for Outback Porta-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Affordable ans simple

Date:May 1, 2007
Great product: we use it on camping and at archery ranges to protect our stuff from rain and dust during tournaments. thanks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 76 for Outback Porta-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Kansas City, MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outback Porta-privy

Date:May 1, 2007
So far so good. It's well made, light weight and does agood job. I'd like to see better instructions for the breaking down of the privy since that appears to be its weakest point. I can see how it will be damaged if not done correctly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 77 for Outback Porta-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Georgia, USA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

exceptional for the price

Date:April 30, 2007
this outback privy was just what my wife and I were loking for for our week long adventure into the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, as per the park they do not have any showers, and you are not allowed to dump your grey water onto the ground but with this product I was able to build (out of pressure treated lumber) a simple stand that was high enough so that we could catch the water into a plastic washing machine pan and let gravity feed it into a five gallon bucket. The only draw back was the first time I attempted to "reassemble" the unit it was tricky and took me more than one try. Overall very good product and quality construction for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 78 for Outback Porta-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bay City,MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Porta-Privy

Date:April 30, 2007
It's great!!! We use it as a Shower work better than I expected!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 79 for Outback Porta-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Ontaio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

No Fly means lots of rain getting in

Date:April 2, 2007
This porta potti tent is easy to set up but there is no fly so to us this tent is no good as everything gets wet when it rains.
Bottom line do not waste your money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 80 for Outback Porta-Privy
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Black Forest, Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A Great Privy!

Date:November 29, 2006
We used your Outback Porta-Privy on a recent camping trip at a remote campground in the White River forest in the Central Rockies of Colorado. It was a pleasure to have the privacy and comfort of this roomy privy!. It was everything as advertised, and more. The light weight and compact fold-up features were appreciated. We purchased one for our Alaskan Niece and family. They are now enjoying their Outback Porta-Privy too! Thanks for a great product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 61-80 of 91