Customer Reviews for 3M 3M™ Ultrathon Insect Repellent

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

3M 3M™ Ultrathon Insect Repellent

Developed for the military and tested in the insect-infested jungles of Central America to be the most effective and longest-lasting repellent. Ultrathon is slower to evaporate making it effective long after other repellents have dissipated. Stay bite-free and more importantly disease-free by repelling mosquitoes that may carry West Nile Virus and ticks that may carry Lyme disease. Also repels biting flies, chiggers and gnats. Resists perspiration, rain and water splashes. Convenient aerosol sprays upside down for total coverage. Pump, with 19% DEET, provides continuous protection for up to 3 hours. Aerosol, with 25% DEET, provides continuous protection up to 8 hours. Lotion, with 34.34% DEET, provides continuous protection for up to 12 hours. Available: 2-oz. Lotion 6-oz. Aerosol 6-oz. Pump
Overall Customer Rating:
4.659 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 41 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
38 out of 41(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 3M™ Ultrathon Insect Repellent
Review 1 for 3M™ Ultrathon Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 27, 2013

3M™ Ultrathon Insect Repellent

By
Country: Greece
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Very good stuff
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3M™ Ultrathon Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 13, 2013

works well

By
Country: United States
State: North Dakota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Small amount goes a long way
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3M™ Ultrathon Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 30, 2012

Good Stuff!

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Bought the lotion. Didnt use it a lot but spring turkey season I used it and it seemed to do really well.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3M™ Ultrathon Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 6, 2011

Good stuff

By
This stuff works good.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3M™ Ultrathon Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 19, 2011

Works on Haiti mosquitos

By
Location: Black Mountain, NC
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Purchased this product for a trip to Haiti and worked great. Slept outside most nights and never had a bite when I was using it. Even sat in a literal "swarm" of morning mosquitos while waiting for a plane and they never even thought of landing on me. It is pretty thick going on, but lasts a long time, so no real need to keep re-applying.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3M™ Ultrathon Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 31, 2011

Works on Sand Fleas

By
Location: New Castle, DE
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
To get to this sand flat to go bonefishing, I have to hike through dense pine and scrub in the Bahamas that is loaded with sand fleas. I went last year and was covered with bites but this time not one! I will be carrying this with me all the time now as it is the best I found.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3M™ Ultrathon Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2011

Absolutely Bug-Proof

By
Location: Newport, RI
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
My sister and I took two tubes of this to Panama for a two week trip. Because it is water-resistant, (actually, it's pretty much water-proof), it lasted for the entire trip. As long as we weere wearing this, we'd go for hours and hours without bites from anything. We are both magnets for mosquitoes and anything that bites, so it was a welcome relief to be trekking around the tropical jungles and rainforests without the constant worry of being bitten. This stuff is going on every trip from now on and we recommend it to all of our traveling friends, too.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3M™ Ultrathon Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 2, 2010

Keeps the bugs and noseeums away

By
Location: Glendale AZ
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
We used the ultrathon on our most recent trip to Northern Ghana. It worked very well at keeping mosquitos and biting insects away for hours on end inspite of sweating throughout the day. I would highly reccomend ultrathon.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3M™ Ultrathon Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 26, 2010

Insect repellent

By
Location: Texas Gulf coast
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Worked well in Alaska where the white-sox and mosquitoes were
monumental in numbers. My only complaint was that after a week, I was tired of the smell.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3M™ Ultrathon Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 14, 2010

This did not stand up to the north Maine woods

By
Location: Lancaster County, PA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This was by far the lightest year for bugs in my nine years of going to the north Maine woods near Baxter State Park area. Previously the bugs were far worse there than places in Ontario and Quebec or Michigan where I have been. Despite a light year, this repellant did not work and neither did the soak kits of insect repellant for my clothes.
Heavy Deet formulas do not have much success there either.
It is like the bugs think it is part of the cocktail and I had a head covering with netting and bug shirt too with the mesh and it helps little (despite soaking those too).
My search for effective bug repellant for that setting continues.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3M™ Ultrathon Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 7, 2010

This stuff really works!

By
Location: Hartford, CT
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I bought this product several years ago and had excellent results, but lost track as that supplier stopped carrying it.
Recently, I saw it when at Cabelas and decided to stock up. This product definitely WORKS! I ALWAYS get bit during summer months. This is the one product that really keeps the mosquitos away. I apply once before I go outside. No bites all day! I've tried MANY other products. None work this well.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3M™ Ultrathon Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 7, 2010

Jungle Tested and it works

By
Recently purchased this insect repellent for a trip to Belize and Guatemala. I spent a fair amount of time in the jungle and sweated a lot. 3 insect bites over 6 days. That's a winner in my book.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3M™ Ultrathon Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 6, 2010

Awesome

By
Location: L.I. NY
I am a bug magnet, this stuff works. In the mountains on a spring turkey hunt bugs as thick as clouds. Not one bite and didn't have to wave my hands around constantly to keep them off. Great stuff.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3M™ Ultrathon Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2010

Best DEET for demanding situations

By
Location: central PA
Used extensively in southern India along with competing DEET sprays for mosquitoes, bed bugs, fleas, wasps, etc. Much superior for application, handling and mess as well as long-term repellent effects. Leave the oily sprays at home - they dissolve many plastics and are a constant hassle.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3M™ Ultrathon Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2010

mosquito spray

By
Location: Boston MA
Easy to use...effective...never got any bites..easy to tvl
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3M™ Ultrathon Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 20, 2009

Bug off!

By
Location: Pinellas Park, Fl
Ultrathon is a long lasting, rather pleasant smelling repellant. I apply it everywhere I can reach before heading into the Florida swamps, and it does a good job at keeping the ticks and mosquitoes at bay. It's only drawbaback is that it is a little expensive, but a little dab goes a long way, and it is a small price to pay to protect myself from Lyme disease, and West Nile virus.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3M™ Ultrathon Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 7, 2009

Great stuff

By
Location: sewell, new jersey
i have ticks, jiggers, everything you can have in the woods i hunt in. I used this stuff one time while setting my stand for fall bow. and i have no signs of anything. no ticks no bites i didnt even have flys buzzing my head. great stuff for the woods but i dont know about durring the hunt it does have an odor
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3M™ Ultrathon Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 12, 2009

3M Ultrathon

By
Location: Oregon
This stuff really worked for me. I had forgotten to apply any repellent before I left my truck for a hike into a remote lake. As soon as I started to set up my camp next to the lake the "skeeters" were in heavy dining mode. I removed the "Ultrathon" from pack, rubbed a small amount on the exposed skin and they immediately left me alone. I don't know how it affects ticks and such but it worked great with the High Cascade skeeters.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3M™ Ultrathon Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 28, 2009

Peru Trip

By
Location: SC
10 days in the cloud and rain forrests of peru in mosquito infested ares without a sing bite. Great Product!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3M™ Ultrathon Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 24, 2009

ultrathon

By
Location: Long Island, New York
I live on Long Island N.Y. and we have deer ticks everywhere. I use this lotion with the Sawyer Duranon Permethrin spray and I have not found a tick on me yet.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 41