Customer Reviews for 3M 3M™ Ultrathon Insect Repellent

3M 3M™ Ultrathon Insect Repellent

Developed for the military and tested in the insect-infested jungles of Central America to be the most effective and longest-lasting repellent. Ultrathon is slower to evaporate making it effective long after other repellents have dissipated. Stay bite-free and more importantly disease-free by repelling mosquitoes that may carry West Nile Virus and ticks that may carry Lyme disease. Also repels biting flies, chiggers and gnats. Resists perspiration, rain and water splashes. Convenient aerosol sprays upside down for total coverage. Pump, with 19% DEET, provides continuous protection for up to 3 hours. Aerosol, with 25% DEET, provides continuous protection up to 8 hours. Lotion, with 34.34% DEET, provides continuous protection for up to 12 hours. Available: 2-oz. Lotion 6-oz. Aerosol 6-oz. Pump
Overall Customer Rating:
4.659 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 41 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
38 out of 41(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 3M™ Ultrathon Insect Repellent
Review 1 for 3M™ Ultrathon Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Greece
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

3M™ Ultrathon Insect Repellent

Date:August 27, 2013
Very good stuff
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3M™ Ultrathon Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Dakota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

works well

Date:August 13, 2013
Small amount goes a long way
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3M™ Ultrathon Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Stuff!

Date:May 30, 2012
Bought the lotion. Didnt use it a lot but spring turkey season I used it and it seemed to do really well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3M™ Ultrathon Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good stuff

Date:August 6, 2011
This stuff works good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3M™ Ultrathon Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Black Mountain, NC
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works on Haiti mosquitos

Date:April 19, 2011
Purchased this product for a trip to Haiti and worked great. Slept outside most nights and never had a bite when I was using it. Even sat in a literal "swarm" of morning mosquitos while waiting for a plane and they never even thought of landing on me. It is pretty thick going on, but lasts a long time, so no real need to keep re-applying.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3M™ Ultrathon Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Castle, DE
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works on Sand Fleas

Date:January 31, 2011
To get to this sand flat to go bonefishing, I have to hike through dense pine and scrub in the Bahamas that is loaded with sand fleas. I went last year and was covered with bites but this time not one! I will be carrying this with me all the time now as it is the best I found.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3M™ Ultrathon Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Newport, RI
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Absolutely Bug-Proof

Date:January 27, 2011
My sister and I took two tubes of this to Panama for a two week trip. Because it is water-resistant, (actually, it's pretty much water-proof), it lasted for the entire trip. As long as we weere wearing this, we'd go for hours and hours without bites from anything. We are both magnets for mosquitoes and anything that bites, so it was a welcome relief to be trekking around the tropical jungles and rainforests without the constant worry of being bitten. This stuff is going on every trip from now on and we recommend it to all of our traveling friends, too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3M™ Ultrathon Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Glendale AZ
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Keeps the bugs and noseeums away

Date:August 2, 2010
We used the ultrathon on our most recent trip to Northern Ghana. It worked very well at keeping mosquitos and biting insects away for hours on end inspite of sweating throughout the day. I would highly reccomend ultrathon.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3M™ Ultrathon Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Texas Gulf coast
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Insect repellent

Date:July 26, 2010
Worked well in Alaska where the white-sox and mosquitoes were
monumental in numbers. My only complaint was that after a week, I was tired of the smell.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3M™ Ultrathon Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Lancaster County, PA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

This did not stand up to the north Maine woods

Date:June 14, 2010
This was by far the lightest year for bugs in my nine years of going to the north Maine woods near Baxter State Park area. Previously the bugs were far worse there than places in Ontario and Quebec or Michigan where I have been. Despite a light year, this repellant did not work and neither did the soak kits of insect repellant for my clothes.
Heavy Deet formulas do not have much success there either.
It is like the bugs think it is part of the cocktail and I had a head covering with netting and bug shirt too with the mesh and it helps little (despite soaking those too).
My search for effective bug repellant for that setting continues.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3M™ Ultrathon Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hartford, CT
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

This stuff really works!

Date:June 7, 2010
I bought this product several years ago and had excellent results, but lost track as that supplier stopped carrying it.
Recently, I saw it when at Cabelas and decided to stock up. This product definitely WORKS! I ALWAYS get bit during summer months. This is the one product that really keeps the mosquitos away. I apply once before I go outside. No bites all day! I've tried MANY other products. None work this well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3M™ Ultrathon Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Jungle Tested and it works

Date:May 7, 2010
Recently purchased this insect repellent for a trip to Belize and Guatemala. I spent a fair amount of time in the jungle and sweated a lot. 3 insect bites over 6 days. That's a winner in my book.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3M™ Ultrathon Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: L.I. NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome

Date:May 6, 2010
I am a bug magnet, this stuff works. In the mountains on a spring turkey hunt bugs as thick as clouds. Not one bite and didn't have to wave my hands around constantly to keep them off. Great stuff.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3M™ Ultrathon Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: central PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best DEET for demanding situations

Date:February 15, 2010
Used extensively in southern India along with competing DEET sprays for mosquitoes, bed bugs, fleas, wasps, etc. Much superior for application, handling and mess as well as long-term repellent effects. Leave the oily sprays at home - they dissolve many plastics and are a constant hassle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3M™ Ultrathon Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Boston MA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

mosquito spray

Date:January 18, 2010
Easy to use...effective...never got any bites..easy to tvl
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3M™ Ultrathon Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Pinellas Park, Fl
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bug off!

Date:October 20, 2009
Ultrathon is a long lasting, rather pleasant smelling repellant. I apply it everywhere I can reach before heading into the Florida swamps, and it does a good job at keeping the ticks and mosquitoes at bay. It's only drawbaback is that it is a little expensive, but a little dab goes a long way, and it is a small price to pay to protect myself from Lyme disease, and West Nile virus.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3M™ Ultrathon Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: sewell, new jersey
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great stuff

Date:October 7, 2009
i have ticks, jiggers, everything you can have in the woods i hunt in. I used this stuff one time while setting my stand for fall bow. and i have no signs of anything. no ticks no bites i didnt even have flys buzzing my head. great stuff for the woods but i dont know about durring the hunt it does have an odor
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3M™ Ultrathon Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

3M Ultrathon

Date:September 12, 2009
This stuff really worked for me. I had forgotten to apply any repellent before I left my truck for a hike into a remote lake. As soon as I started to set up my camp next to the lake the "skeeters" were in heavy dining mode. I removed the "Ultrathon" from pack, rubbed a small amount on the exposed skin and they immediately left me alone. I don't know how it affects ticks and such but it worked great with the High Cascade skeeters.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3M™ Ultrathon Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: SC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Peru Trip

Date:August 28, 2009
10 days in the cloud and rain forrests of peru in mosquito infested ares without a sing bite. Great Product!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3M™ Ultrathon Insect Repellent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Long Island, New York
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ultrathon

Date:August 24, 2009
I live on Long Island N.Y. and we have deer ticks everywhere. I use this lotion with the Sawyer Duranon Permethrin spray and I have not found a tick on me yet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 41