Customer Reviews for CABELA'S XPG Cabela's Expedition 4-Season Tent – 6-Person

CABELA'S XPG Cabela's Expedition 4-Season Tent – 6-Person

Reinforced, continuous pole sleeves rigidly hold the 7001 T6 aluminum four-pole frame so this 6 person tent can stand up to  snow, violent wind, rain and sleet. Body is constructed of rugged, 70-denier 190T nylon taffeta. UV-resistant polyester rain fly is treated with a 1,500mm waterproof coating. The two doors on the fly have accompanying vestibules and dual two-way zips with snagproof cording. A clear window provides visibility. Shrouded mesh vents allow air to move through the fly while keeping out moisture. An organizer panel  keeps your equipment and personal items off the ground. Reflective guy lines. Tub-shaped floor for maximum protection from the elements. Heavy-duty extruded-aluminum stakes included. Heavy-duty YKK® zippers with snagproof zip cording. Imported. Capacity: 6 people.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.648 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(88 Reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 88 reviews
5 Stars
68
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
5
1 Star
0
82 out of 88(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Expedition 4-Season Tent – 6-Person
Review 1 for Cabela's Expedition 4-Season Tent – 6-Person
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lakewood CO.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A true 4 season tent

Date:March 20, 2008
From the high country of Colorado to the deserts of Arizona and in all types of weather my Cabela's XPG-6 expedition tent has performed flawlessly. In my humble opinion and 40 + yrs. of camping experience, the engineering, quality, durability, versatility, value and ease of set up of this tent are next to none! If you are looking for a tough functional tent. I highly recommend the Cabela's XPG expedition tent for any type of camping! Thanks Cabela's your R and D team did their home work, I mean field work on this one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's Expedition 4-Season Tent – 6-Person
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Westford, MA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Four Season Tent

Date:June 11, 2008
I purchased this tent based on the positive review dated March 20, 2008. This is a quality tent and I'm extremely pleased with my purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's Expedition 4-Season Tent – 6-Person
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Strong Weathertight XPG 6 Person

Date:June 30, 2008
I purchased the XPG 6 person version 1 (white and blue inner with olive fly) during the winter and just spent my first weekend camping with it.
Pros: Well built, quality materials, and definitely weather-tight. Fly extends to the base, shedding all weather away from the inner shell. During the weekend, my wife and I experienced nightly thunderstorms with moderate winds. Not a drop of rain entered the tent. We packed up following a night of thunderstorms fully expecting to unpack the tent after getting home to completely dry it. After waiting for the fly to dry, we noted the inside shell was completely dry, EVEN the base! The fly's roof vents and zippered inside screened flaps are a great feature, venting fresh air to the inside while allowing full closure during fall and winter cold weather. There are vestibules at both ends (one extending more than the other with a clear window), allowing dry entry and dry item storage (wood). A nice feature with the doors is the zippers which allow both the flap and screen to open with a single zipper.
Cons: I'm sure the fully enclosed pole sleeves contribute to the strength of this tent, but they are a bear to setup. Should you purchase one of these tents, be sure to practice setting it up in the yard. The 6 person unit is definitely a two-person setup, necessitating a daylight setup until comfortable with it. The instructions sewn into the sack were incorrect regarding pole insertion sequence and color-coded sleeve did not match the instructions.
Had this unit been a little easier to setup, I would have given it a 5 star excellent rating.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's Expedition 4-Season Tent – 6-Person
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: cleveland, ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great tent

Date:July 9, 2008
I bought the 4 person model in may and have been out with it four times and have had no real problems. I used it in the hills of Pennsylvania with winds of 40 mph and the thing was whispper quite while all my friends tents where bowed and to loud to get a good nights sleep. Its also been through very heavy rain as well and remained perfectly dry even the floor. It is constructed very solidly and when all buttoned up and all guy lines tight is a truly solid package. Setup isnt easy but is what is expected for a tent this heavy duty. Fly is very rugged, great poles, and stays well ventilated and cooleven in 85 degree weather (which suprised me due to its heavy construction). Cant wait to try it the snow.
I only have a couple of minor complaints, when wet, the zippers on the fly can get caught on the fabric above them. The vestibules could be a little bigger and the guy lines arent as reflective as I would like.
Overall I would recomend this tent to anyone
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's Expedition 4-Season Tent – 6-Person
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Eagle River, Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Narly Tent

Date:July 11, 2008
This tent can stand up to anything I'll put it thru!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's Expedition 4-Season Tent – 6-Person
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

jerrytheroofer

Date:August 18, 2008
Despite this tent being a little heavy for the long backpacking trip, it is worth the extra weight. I love this tent!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's Expedition 4-Season Tent – 6-Person
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Haven,Vt
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Engineering

Date:August 20, 2008
Ive had a two-man for a few years and love it except for the snagging of zippers which I now think is an individual quality control flaw (some are good and some are bad and it's the luck of the draw).
I recently bought a four-man for car camping trips with my wife and have found the following:
Set-up is very easy and I'm confused about where people seem to be having problems--I set it up alone with no problem. Take -down can be a problem if you insist on trying to pull the poles through--just push them and keep going by bunching fabric and pushing--very easy and quick. My four-man zippers are fine thus my guess about Q.C.
Last site was in a hollow and the whole thing sat in a puddle for three days and nights--nary a drop. (I do use a groundcloth to protect the floor)
Very good buy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's Expedition 4-Season Tent – 6-Person
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lincoln, NE
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

XPG 4 season tent

Date:September 22, 2008
I have owned several Cabelas tents over the years. They have been great tents and this one is no exception. They have made slight modifications over the years making this new 4-season a great tent. My only complaint, (and its not about the tent) would be that they do not offer a "fabric" floor protector for this tent. The only one available is the plastic one. I do not like the plastic as well as some other fabric floor savers I have used. If I had to complain about something, I would say the vestibules could be a little larger, or add a pole or something to make more room/headroom in the vestibule.
Well designed tent!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's Expedition 4-Season Tent – 6-Person
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great 4 season tent

Date:September 23, 2008
This is my first tent from Cabelas. I am very pleased with the quality and ease of assembly. Our first night out was spent on the Pacific coast near Olympic National Park where we were subject to very high winds and some rain. The elements presented no problem for this fine tent. I would recommend it for anyone needing a little more room.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's Expedition 4-Season Tent – 6-Person
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Oh WoW!

Date:October 8, 2008
A bit heavy for backpacking but if you know that Mother Nature has rain and cold weather in store for you it is well worth taking alone. On the tent's maiden trip I was bleesed with an awesome rainstorm. In the morning I had to wade out of my campsite through shin deep water.......tent.....dry as a sunny day. No leaks, no ground seepage, and best of all no condensation. On cold trips I can get up on 30degree mornins and it is noticeably warmer in my tent, without a heatsource. Oh so worth the money!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's Expedition 4-Season Tent – 6-Person
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: North Carolina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great in Rain and cold

Date:November 18, 2008
Our first and only use (so far) of the 6 person XPG Expedition 4-Season Tent was a very good experience. It rained some one night and we were warm and dry. The next night was colder and it kept the heat in pretty good, but we also had a heater. I would suggest calling it a 3-season tent and a 4 person tent because we had 4 people and it left no room to spare and I can't imagine staying warm if it would have snowed. Overall...I really like the tent and it seems to be very well made and easy to put up and take down.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's Expedition 4-Season Tent – 6-Person
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Longview Washington
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

xpg expedition 4 season tent

Date:November 18, 2008
It rained 5 days straight on us during elk season. This Tent is the best tent I've ever owned. I'll take the weight any day for what this tent does for you. Just an amazing tent!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's Expedition 4-Season Tent – 6-Person
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Littleton, CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

winter car camping

Date:December 7, 2008
I have only used the tent two nights so far. My biggest concern is learning to manage condensation. The first night only dropped to 25 degrees and I opened the roof vents all the way and had minimal condensation, the second night dropped to 3 degrees and I kept the vents mostly closed. Condensation was worse but that was to be expected. I will use some type of sleeping bag cover from now on. I bought the tent for winter car camping near a ski area and found the price attractive. It would be too heavy, in my mind for packing into the backcountry. For my intended use, this tent is a great value.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's Expedition 4-Season Tent – 6-Person
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Orange County, California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

HIGH COUNTRY ELK

Date:January 15, 2009
Have used this tent (2 man) for two years on high country, backpack elk hunts in Wyoming. Withstands high wind and snow without any problem. Comfortable even in zero temps with constant snow and wind at 10,600' elevation. Must keep ventilation open in the cold to avoid heavy freezing condensation from breath during zero temp conditions and I have found that a fleece hood/face mask does the trick to keep my face and head warm in those conditions. Great tent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's Expedition 4-Season Tent – 6-Person
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Masontown, Pa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent quality and value

Date:January 20, 2009
I had purchased the two man and gave it a dry run in my living room. Two sleeping pads were right next to each other without any room to spare. I looked at the four man and justified the extra 3 pounds or so in return for so much more room. It was just the right size for 2 full sized sleeping mats plus a small amount of gear without being on top of one another. Its first trip was a 3 night trip into the mountains of West Virginia for late bear season. The first night was 18 degrees, followed by 25, then by 50 degrees for low temps. With all vents closed and 18 degrees, there was no condensation and it held up great! Very rugged design. The four pole construction held up well to the whipping winds. Very quiet with the rain fly installed and staked down.
I would absolutely recommend this tent, even for hiking in. The comfort is well worth the extra weight. I intend to buy the floor protector just to protect my investment.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's Expedition 4-Season Tent – 6-Person
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome Tent

Date:January 24, 2009
This is an awesome tent. As it says 4seasons. If there was a fifth season it could handle it. It is a good tent for the beginner or expert.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's Expedition 4-Season Tent – 6-Person
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Well-made Tent!!

Date:January 27, 2009
This past weekend we used 3 new XPG Expedition 4-Season Tents from Cabela's at our scout district's Klondike Winter Camp up in the Colorado Rockies. It snowed and the wind blew fiercely during the night. Our 3 tents stood the test and held firmly. I felt adequately insulated from the cold. They were well worth what we paid for them. Thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabela's Expedition 4-Season Tent – 6-Person
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Falcon, CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

XPG tent

Date:February 3, 2009
Great 4 season tent! Used already for a January Colorado campout. Easy to setup and it was warmer than traditional 3 season tents. It also stoodup well to the wind.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabela's Expedition 4-Season Tent – 6-Person
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Mexico
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Cabela's SPG Expedition 4-Season 6 person

Date:February 3, 2009
Very sturdy warm tent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabela's Expedition 4-Season Tent – 6-Person
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: pine buffs, wy.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

field use with horses

Date:February 5, 2009
1- need different colors
2- need a window on all four sides
3- make back vestibule like front
4- bring vestibules down to ground level
5- a few more pockets and florescent tie down strings
I rode my 2 horses out from broken bow ne. to cheyenne, wy.
I bought a orange exp 2 man tent and it stood up to 60 plus winds without the guide lines down. its light and it delivers what it advertises and now am getting a bigger 6 man version for now i have another person joining me and 2 more horses. The vestibules are great for storing the horse smelly stuff so its not in the tent with you. I will certainly try never to go camping without an exp tent from now on. As i said, ad those features and then leave it alone. Someone finally made a good tent. But ca'nt help but wonder how they will mess it up or maybe they'll just quit making it. That would be my luck !!!
p.s. will leave pinebluffs, wy. in the spring & ride up through the black hills then over to jackson hole,wy. then maybe down to southern utah if everything goes well. bye!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 88